We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and staff shame about the drinks and the cold swimming pools”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantica Aegean Blue
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel for families. The facilities are fantastic and there are lots of things to keep children entertained.

The staff are very friendly and welcoming and will go out of there way for you. The ladies that work in the pool bar are fantastic and always have a warm smile and like to chat :-)

The rooms are really nice, we were fortunate to have a very large balcony and a fantastic seaview (room number 215)

The food is very good and probably the best AI buffet I have experienced. The only things that let this hotel down that the drinks. They are awful. You can drink the Beer all day long without getting drunk and the wine and cocktails were very poor.

The pools are fantastic but too cold, my little one was not interested in swimming due to this.

If this hotel could improve its drinks it would be superb and I would highly recommend to anyone with kids

Room Tip: we had 215 which got the sun on the balcony all day and had pool and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 1,862 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from 1st oct 2013 for 11 nights. We had a really great time here and the hotel is really geared up for children, there were lots of thoughtful touches like a step in the bathroom, kid plastic plates, cutlery and cups. We stayed in a family room with the dividing wall which was a good size and offered some privacy for the adults.

The room overall was unfortunately not up to a 5* standard! it was a nice room and the finish was ok but the bathroom really let it down! the finishing in the bathroom was extremely poor grouting and sealing really messy. Sink plug would not close so you could not hold water in the sink! (Plunger too close to the wall). Another negative was having to pay €25 euros for the safe, this was a payment not a deposit which I find unbelievable for a 5* hotel.

Food - I have to say the food was excellent, best buffet meals we have ever had. Lots of choice and meals not repeated weekly. Food quality and taste was also to a very good standard. We only tried the oriental restaurant and to be honest was disappointed with the limited choice. Snak bar was great, perfect food for lunch time.

Pool areas were well maintained with plenty of comfortable sun beds and shades. Pool was freezing so hardly went in!

Kids club, entertainers and facilities were all excellent.

We were travelling with our 3 year old daughter but for me there was too many children, we travelled in October and 9/10 people had children with them. This is not a hotel for couples.

Free wifi in rooms and all over the hotel and pool was an excellent feature

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyB1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was my first experience of an all inclusive holiday and I can truly say I was very impressed. Our room was wonderful , we had twin beds instead of a double as is common in hot countries so asked for a double sheet to be put across both mattresses which happened straight away. The food was excellent every day , it was all very fresh and there was a huge variety of choice. The hotel was incredibly clean and all the staff were helpful and friendly. The entertainment was good and again very varied. Hire cars were available at the hotel reception for reasonable prices and buses were extremely cheap , although they were usually very busy. The water park is on site and free , there was plenty to do both in the hotel's 5 pools and the water park. The bar staff were really friendly and made great effort to ensure we enjoyed our stay. All in all it was a brilliant experience that we would definitely repeat if / when we have the opportunity!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Booked this online on late deal so did not know to much what to expect, but it has lived up to its description,lovely room and food very good staff very polite and welcoming, free wifi all around hotel and around the five pools, a must for family's with kids as well as five pools and numerous plat rooms soft play areas their is a water park opposite front of hotel just for the use of patrons absolutely brilliant, we had a toilet that broke and within 30 mins was fixed so overall very good, this is a multi national hotel with holiday makers from all countries so that tells you something,beach not that good but who needs beach with all their facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel are in shade most of the time at this late in the year last week in October...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I came here last year for my birthday and had such a good time last year we decided to book the same hotel again this year.

Before coming to the resort my partner emailed ahead to ask if we could have the same room as last year which we upgraded to a deluxe room, the reason being if you are not on the left side of the hotel then your terrace will be in the shade all day. This was accommodated and they did just that which I thought was good.

There seem to be a lot of familiar faces in regards to the hotel staff and waterpark lifeguards, most of which recognised us, which was really nice.

The main attraction for us with this hotel was originally the waterpark and although the weather wasn't as hot as last year we still managed to use it every day.

The food was just as good as last year, being a vegan means that I always have issues with food however once again this wasn't an issue, but the food is repetitive but I do not mind that.

The restaurant staff were also very friendly and efficient and the lady that welcomes you to the restaurant was always friendly and smiling.

Now the negative sides, for some reason the hotel did not feel or look as clean as I remember it and to be honest this is the first time I have actually thought the maid needs firing, she rarely emptied the bins and our room wasn't cleaned until at least 5pm, there were also lots and lots of little flying things especially in the bathroom, on the towels and even the toilet which wasn't nice and although I can appreciate that it was that time of year for them, what I didn't appreciate was the cockroach that decided to pay us a visit!! There was also an issue with the sink being blocked.

My boyfriend complained to reception twice to get this sorted and eventually the sink was unblocked but I really can't tell what they did to sort the cockroach issue.

As a frequent traveller once I get a bad experience of a place I do find it hard to return to the same hotel and unfortunately that is what happened in this case, and although its only minor issues, for me cleanness is a major priority and as a result I will not return to this hotel next year for my birthday.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dcg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 9th – 16th October. The weather was fantastic and we didn't see a cloud in the sky until the day we left! There are some negative comments on Tripadvisor, which are definitely not deserved, except that this hotel is more like a 4* than 5*.However I would not mark it down for that.
That said we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to others.
We arrived around 9pm at night and we were advised by reception to wait to check in and go to the restaurant to get our evening meal as it was closing at 9:30pm. Although there was sparkling wine waiting at the reception desk we didn’t have any as we went to eat.
Room - After finishing our meal, we checked in and were taken by buggy to our room. 2108B. The room was spotlessly clean and the twin beds pushed together but were very comfortable. The view out on the verandah unfortunately was of the room across the path. This gave us little privacy. That said this did not bother us at all as we were hardly in our room. The only toiletries provided were Lux soap in dispensers. Unfortunately there was no conditioner, body lotion, paper hankies etc., or any other little luxury toiletries you would expect to find in 5*. The fridge had water, soft drinks and juice and there were tea and coffee with kettle etc. These do not get replenished during your stay. If you want more bottled water you have to pay for it but don’t worry you can fill it up yourself at the snack bar or the bar staff will fill it up for you.
Drinks - The drinks were drinkable, but premium brands would have helped to make this hotel 5*. Served in paper cups around the pool area, but I would always expect this for health and safety.
Food - The food was very good (although I have had better) with plenty of choice although cereals at breakfast time were too bland for my liking. You were always greeted and seated, often with a drink as you go in.
• Lemincello on Italian night,
• Tequila Mexican night,
• Ouzo Greek night etc. Nice touch!
The Dine around experience I was advised had been a trial and was no longer on. So we had to choose from the Italian or Asian (you were only allowed 1 alacarte per weeks stay) We tried the Asian. It was very nice. If you wanted a plate of butterfly king prawn you had to pay 20 euros. Someone did order them and they looked delicious. You also had to pay for bottles of wine here. The snack bar round the pool cooked toasted sandwiches, panis, to order and piza, chips, nuggets etc kebabs, and popcorn fresh. There was a lunch box area in the restaurant where you could load up your cool bag (provided by hotel) if you were going out for the day.
Pools – There were plenty of sunbeds. Pools were very cold, so I never swam in them. Waterpark was very enjoyable, although the snack bar is not part of the AI package, it was only a 1 minute walk to the bar to get something!
Beach – Yes this is pebble and grey so make sure you take suitable footwear. The sea is warmer than the pool and we swam there every day.
Around hotel – It was always spotless. Pool, bathing areas, sunbeds, toilet areas were cleaned regularly, Bins and cup areas were also emptied regularly. The location of this hotel is below Tsambika mountain. We climbed this and the views were breathtaking. Anyone can do it. It took an hour to get up and half an hour to get back down. You really must try it. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel where you can get on for 3.50 euros and go into Rhodes town (40 mins) or Lindos.
Staff – This is where they get the 5* rating from I believe – it’s the staff! They are all so friendly and helpful. A special mention for Linda and her husband Lefteris who work on the bars and a small bubbly waitress with dark long curly hair, (sorry I can’t remember her name) they are all assets to the hotels team. There was only one member of staff who seemed a bit abrupt on several occasions and I never saw him smile. He was grey haired and worked in the snack bar area.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to others. It is unlikely that I will go back only because there are too many other places in the world to see. That said if there was a really good deal I might!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mamamyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our honeymoon. We were looking to travel somewhere quiet but with enough fun for our 2 year old son who was joining us.

Arrival was lovely. Staff were efficient and so welcoming. Our luggage was delivered to our room for us. Our room was a family room with a separate sleeping area for kids. The bathroom even had a little step for kids to reach sink. Room was clean and the room attendant who cleaned our room was so smily and pleasant.

We didnt take part in any of the day yime activities but they looked popular if thats your thing. Kids entertainment at night time was great for little ones. I have seen a few reviews complaining about the repetitiveness of the kids show. I admit it was a little bit thats exactly what my son LOVED about it. Repetition meant he learnt songs and dances for the coming evenings. We used the 2 hour creche slots on 3 occassions. I arrived with no intention of doing so but after a parents stay and play my son couldnt wait to go back to play with crèche workers megan and amy. They were amazing.

Food for every meal was fantastic. So much selection. All bar and restaurant staff worked so hard and provided outstanding service

Our holidays was almost faultless. I only have one single complaint. The pool temperature. It was so cold. my son would shiver when going in. The sea was warmer than the pool water. It was such a shame as the pools were lovely to look at.

Overall an around fantastic family holiday

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samiammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.8 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
9.6 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,743 reviews
12.9 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sun Palace Hotel
Sun Palace Hotel
#9 of 70 in Faliraki
1,710 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lindos Princess Beach Hotel
12.3 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Aegean Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Aegean Blue

Address: Kolimbia 85103, Greece (Formerly Atlantica Club Aegean Blue)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kolimbia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range: $123 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Aegean Blue 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of this hotel offers the most amazing views of the sapphire Mediterranean seas. The perfect place for families and children of all ages. So much to do, no one will ever be bored. If you're travelling with little ones, they'll have a ball splashing around in the children's pool and letting off steam in the playground. Direct access to the beach, club- style facilities and organized activities make the Atlantica Agean Blue the ideal holiday for everyone! Number of rooms :396 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantica Aegean Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Atlantica Aegean Blue Hotel Kolimbia
Atlantica Aegean Blue Hotel
Hotel Atlantica Aegean Blue
Atlantica Aegean Blue Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing