We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel we have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Kolimbia
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best hotel we have ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

The first word I spoke when I walked into the hotel was ‘wow’. This hotel is truly stunning. If we didn’t know better, we would have thought it had just been built – it was immaculate. Maintained and cleaned to a very high standard and the fixtures and fittings have obviously had some money thrown at them. We were greeted with a very prompt check-in and a glass of champagne and told to label our suitcases with the sticker provided so they could be transported to our rooms by the porter. It didn’t stop there – the rooms are definitely bigger than the average. We did upgrade to a superior room to guarantee a sea view but on talking to other guests, everyone said the rooms were very spacious. They were in keeping with the rest of the hotel – very clean and quality furniture. The bathroom was also more spacious than we have had at other hotels. Black and cream marble with a full-sized bath as well as shower. Everything about this hotel was excellent. All of the staff were friendly and very efficient. The food was amazing and there is so much choice there is something for everyone (including a vegetarian and gluten free selection). There was a great selection of salads and desserts, a good range of help-your-self dishes (meat, fish, vegetables, potatoes and pasta/spaghetti) as well as a freshly cooked fish and meat stand, a show cooking stand and one for anyone who likes a few slices of meat cut fresh from the joint. The entertainers worked very hard also providing daytime activities and evening entertainment. If there was one small annoyance it would be that we had to pay 25 euros to use the safety deposit box in our room which I thought was steep considering noone else can use it. Kolymbia itself is small with a few shops and taverna’s. It felt a little run down but was still visited by many people. There is a recently added Fish Spa where you can have your feet buffed by lots of little fish - we didn’t go and regret this but some friends of ours tried it and went back for a second time. There is a small beach near the hotel which has watersports on offer. You will be charged 3 euros a day to use the sunbeds on the beach though! Hotel guests can have the complimentary use of a pedalo each day but I’m not sure if this is for all-inclusive guests only. The drinks are quite expensive in the hotel but it is a 5 star so prices will match. You can upgrade when you arrive to an all-inclusive drinks package for 18 euros a day or I believe the All-Inclusive package is 22-24 euros per day. We chose All-Inclusive at the time of booking. There is an A-La-Carte restaurant which All-Inclusive guests can visit once per stay for free. Some people loved it so much they went back and paid. There is a standard menu to choose from or you can choose other things on offer for a cost. Many people went on trips to see Lindos and Rhodes Town and said they were stunning. We will definitely be visiting this hotel again and we think it’s going to be hard to beat now.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anni1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,127
    609
    151
    42
    14
See reviews for
154
2,407
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,005)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

Quality hotel in a good position but in a very run down, dirty and shabby resort. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Plenty of sun loungers and well kept grounds. We had a superior room on third floor of main building overlooking the pool and the sea. We would have been disappointed without this as some rooms have no views at all. Negative points are:- The air con is not switched on until June so at night the rooms become unbearably hot. If you open the patio doors then the mosquitoes come in and have a feast on you. Even in a superior room at a cost of £24 per day you do not get a fridge or the safe without extra cost.
The drinks are deliberately astronomically priced to make people buy the all inclusive option. House wine undrinkable at 18 Euro a bottle or 12 Euro for a half bottle. A bottle of Chardonnay 36 Euro but cannot be ordered on AL. Only able to purchase a litre of water in the restaurant at 3.70 Euro, nothing smaller available. Costs 30 cents in local supermarket. All inclusive was on offer at 26 Euro per day each instead of the normal rate of 35 Euro each. Over our 11 day holiday this would have cost us 572 Euro. An amount we would never spend on drink and lunch on holiday. At peak season this would have been 770 Euro. (approx £700)
A smell of sewage permeated the bathroom until the drain in the floor was sealed. It took 8 days for the water in the hot tap to get above tepid and for the brown colour to disappear. Early season teething problems.
Good selection of food available in restaurant although for a 5* hotel we would expect our eggs/omelettes to be individually prepared. As non meat eaters we were annoyed at the number of salad dishes that had small bits of ham or chicken added thus making them unsuitable for veggies. We had no idea if the soups contained chicken stock but were often far too salty for our taste. In addition, many hot dishes were only tepid even if they had just been put out.
Every morning we ate our breakfast on the terrace, which was excellent but did become very annoyed as our holiday progressed when more people started to smoke at adjacent tables. There should be an allocated smokers area outside to one side so non smokers can enjoy their food without the repulsive smell of smoke. The same should apply to the outside evening entertainment.
Daytime entertainment is too loud and drives people as far away from the pool area as possible. Most days I noticed that only a few people take part, so why do they not get the message that it is not wanted by the majority. The canned music played around the pool is also annoying when most people just want to read a book or paper in peace.

This report may sound very negative but it must be judged against the cost of this holiday. We managed to get a start of season last minute deal and a superior room with an excellent view, but if you were going and paying the Thomson normal listed price then the holiday would be very expensive. It may look a 5* hotel but is only 4* quality. We will not be returning to Greece again as we had a similar experience in Z ante last year.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geco16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea south wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

If you're looking for a relaxing week on the beach this is the place to go. There's nothing else there other than the hotel, unless you include a couple of shops a pharmacy and a few local tavernas. The beach is shingle but you can lounge on the grass area,immediately overlooking the sea or around the pool. Beds (with towels provided for a redeemable 20 euros)were plentiful but most had towels on them before breakfast! you can hire a bed on the beach for 3 euros a day if you want to.
If you were thinking of upgrading to all inclusive, it's cheaper to do this at the hotel after you arrive there, 26 euros per person per day, you get the last day free! Drinks are very expensive(3.50 for a coke 4.20 for a coffee, 18.00 for a local bottle of wine) as is lunch if you are not all inclusive, though i did speak to several people who went out for lunch and drank at one of the local tavernas. The Thomson entertainment team worked hard to involve you in daily activities but were no too intrusive. The nightly entertainment was ok but not brilliant. 2 british comedians were very funny. The resident duo were....resident!!!!
The one downside was the awful smell in the communal rest rooms by the end of the evening!! You are advised to throw your loo roll in the bin not down the toilet and this was not very pleasant to say the least. I understand this is the custom in all greek hotels! Despite this one fly in the ointment , all in all a lovely week and I would definitely go back

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debrah53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

Stayed for 2 weeks in June 2009 and would like to point out that Kolimbia does not just close down in October for the end of the season - it is closed even at the height of the season. This is a great hotel but the resort is run down and shabby with only a handful of shops and scruffy bars. There is nowhere in the resort to get a decent coffee - even in the hotel you get instant coffee and a sachet of evaporated milk!! Fresh fruit juice is also non existant - you get watered down cheap squash.
We chose all inclusive which was great, plenty of choice and we never had any trouble finding a table. Service in the restaurants and bars was good and the staff were very friendly. We had a superior room with seaview which was spotless. We did have a problem with flooding in the garden patio next to our room but this was quickly rectified after we reported it to reception. The beach was okay and only a few steps from our room - plenty of sunbeds available and okay to walk on the sand if you had shoes which were on sale for about 5E in the well stocked hotel shop.
We found the entertainment very poor which was a shame as the staff all worked hard but it was the same routine every night. The highlight of the week was the Managers Welcome party which was excellent - he is very proud of his hotel and his staff and there are fireworks at the end.
Visited Rhodes town and Linods which was a good day out but very hot in June!
There were some children at the hotel from other operators (not Thomson) but they were well behaved and the Thomson brochure does warn that this may happen.
We did enjoy our holiday but will not be going back to Rhodes unless it has a significant makeover.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castlesintheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

First of all- the food was delicious! The hotel has got a high standard and the staff is really nice and dedicated to their work. The place is very relaxing with breath taking views. The main hall is amazing! Swimming pools are large. What I missed was a sandy beach, but the resort compensates it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mniam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

I would recommend this hotel and island to amyone it has everything from ancient ruins to superb nitelife and excellent beaches and beautiful sea

Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lee9372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

First visit was in August 2008 with my husband, brother and sister in law and we had a superb holiday. In August 2009 my brother and sister in law returned, (husband and I had a stay- at- home building a patio holiday!) again first class stay, and the four of us have just booked up for August 2010. We could not fault anything about the hotel, clean, superb food and staff- I cannot believe the negative comments I have read are for the same hotel I visited and am returning to. Believe me, I would not be paying this amount of money which takes all year to save up if I was not absolutley thrilled with the holiday.
As for the review concerning the chicken nuggets and fish fingers for food choice- when we went we had a choice of about fifty different foods to choose from- and that did not include fish fingers or chicken nuggets!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.3 mi away
SENTIDO Port Royal Villas & Spa
12.4 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#4 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
11.4 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kallithea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
12.9 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa

Property: Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa
Address: Kolimbia 85103, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kolimbia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
#3 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Imperial Hotel Kolimbia
Atlantica Imperial Resort Rhodes
Hotel Atlantica Imperial
Atlantica Imperial Rhodes
Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing