We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last day here, sitting at the bar...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Village Rhodes
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Certificate of Excellence
Mirfield, West Yorks
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Last day here, sitting at the bar...”
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Last day here, sitting at the bar, excellent hotel, pay extra and go for deluxe rooms, we are in 4404 and it gets the sun all afternoon, if you do bring ps3 games for the kids

Excellent staff both locals and the entertainers, if you are going in the next two weeks and like a spot of volleyball find Matt as all his teams were leaving today!!

Negatives - (get ready for this, we found the sun beds round the pool to be bloody uncomfortable!!, that's our only minor minor gripe).

Oh if you like watersports, check out micheals watersports on the beach, really nice people and fifty euros for a good quality speedboat for an hour was good value. Oh the beach is naff by the way.

Little hint, if you want canned beer for your fridge go to the little hut at the corner of the royal deluxe's pool, they never check which your wristbands!!

Have fun we did!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ady_yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,405
    484
    208
    68
    32
See reviews for
1,687
167
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

i was expecting more from this holiday, the hotel could be really good but for us there is just a few problems.
what we did like was the staff, they were brilliant, we have travelled alot across the world and the staff there are second to none, always happy to help and really friendly.
I think if we stayed in activity area we would of enjoyed the holiday more. the problems for us was the fact we were in deluxe, theres no bar near the pool only a little shack.
also if you have children you are not aloud to use the indoor pool or the bar at night in deluxe even though this is suppose to be a holiday village for families (people who dont want children on there holiday shouldnt book a holiday village), so please first choice make your mind up and make sure you tell people before they spend alot of money on a 5 star resort they cant use.
I think you also get forgotten in deluxe area by the activity team, just because i like 5 star rooms dosnt mean im boring and like to do nothing.
my advice for anyone with children dont bother with deluxe you will have wasted your money.
i will recommend the hotel though, the activity side is great and the staff are excellant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whelband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Ok let's start with the positives...

+ Great range of activities for all the family
Hotel has a great range of facilities archery, astro turf football pitch, beach volleyball court, tennis courts, basketball court, splash park to name but a few.

+ Kids clubs excellent
Staff really enthusiastic about the kids activities and our daughter had a fantastic time at them. She also went to the Swimming Academy which at 30 euros for 5 lessons was excellent value, especially considering she was in the class with only 2 others.

+ Evening Entertainment very good especially for the kids
The i5Live team are really enthusiastic and our kids loved them. Our 2 year old son loved the Widgets and seeing Bob the Builder on stage too.

+ Good selection of food in the Main Restaurant and the staff were very friendly
Special mention needs to go to Katerina who our daughter loved and she always made us feel welcome whenever we came over for lunch.

+ Generally not too difficult to get sunbeds in the Deluxe area of the hotel
Usually beds still available at 10am.

+ All inclusive meant all inclusive
Yes cocktails and sparkling wine were included :)


So that's the good and if you've booked to go soon or are particularly squeamish I wouldn't read on. As you can see from the vast majority of reviews, people have had a fab time there and so would we if we hadn't had the bad luck to encounter the problems we did.


Our stay didn't start particularly well. We arrived on Wednesday at around 1:30pm. We were then waiting for around 20-30 mins for everyone to make their way to the transfer bus. Not complaining about that, but when we got to the hotel at around 14:30 we were told we would have to wait 10 mins for our room to be ready. We were staying in the 'Deluxe' section of the hotel in a Swim-up pool room.

Ok not the best news given we had all been up since 3am but 10 mins isn't too long. However, after the 10 mins were up we were then told it was going to be another hour!!! And the reason for the delay? "Oh its because it's a Wednesday, it is a busy changeover day" Not even so much as an apology. So the fact that the housekeeping staff were given an extra 30 mins with the transfer delay just compounded things. If the hotel know they're going to be busy and pushed to get all rooms ready for check-in at 14:00 then they need to get extra staff in!

We weren't even offered any goodwill gesture to make up for the inconvenience.

As I said we were staying in the Deluxe section of the hotel. This meant we could have breakfast in the a la Carte restaurant and also eat there in the evenings as part of the All Inclusive package. Whilst definitely convenient for breakfast, evening dinner was a let down with little choice and the meals were not of a particularly high quality. We ate most of our meals in the Main Restaurant a short walk across to the Activity part of the complex. We found alot more choice here and the food actually seemed to be of a better standard.

But on to our major problem of the holiday...mice!!!

One night in the early hours of the morning we were awoken to the sound of scrabbling and rustling.
To our shock we found a mouse on the counter rooting through the sachets of sugar in the tea making facilities!

We tried to chase the mouse out but it ran away and into a hole in the corner of the built-in wardrobes - between the frame and floor but not into the wardrobe itself. We immediately reported the problem and were told that the Hotel Duty Manager would come with a maid to search and clean the room.

Around 45 mins later the Duty Manager arrived alone and said nothing could be done that night but offered to move us to another room. However the new room only had 3 beds for myself, wife and 2 children. Given that our children were settled and still fast asleep we decided to stay in the room and try and block up the holes next to the wardrobe ourselves as best we could.


Sufficed to say myself and my wife did not get a very restful night's sleep paranoid about every noise or rustle!

The next morning, we spoke to the Deluxe reception staff who were unaware of the problem! We were then told a trap would be placed in the room to catch the mouse and that the room would be thoroughly cleaned. It should also be noted that the reception staff were not even particularly apologetic over the problem. We have been to other 5-star resorts where if there is even so much as a leaky tap they are mortified and seek to correct the problem immediately.

Later that day I had to go back to the room to collect our pushchair and found the mouse in the trap. I immediately reported to reception that the mouse had been caught so the room could be cleaned.

We eventually went back to the room in the afternoon and found that the trap had been removed but the room had only had beds remade and a cursory sweep of the floor.

Table surfaces had not even been wiped as coffee stain still visible! So much for a complete clean!

To make matters worse we then discovered a second trap underneath the dressing table behind the bin that had not been removed!
Obviously this could have presented a serious health hazard to our two young children!!

Anyway that was our first encounter and less than a week later we had another one. This time we chose to move rooms as thankfully it was our last night.

The following morning we then spoke to Alan Taylor the First Choice rep in the Deluxe side of the hotel. He was not particularly apologetic that we had had to move rooms with our 2 young children in the early hours of the morning and was very matter-of-fact about the mice issue as though this is something that we should put up with!!!. Apparently when the surrounding fields are cut mice can be an issue at the hotel. I would not even expect this at a 1-Star hotel let alone a 5-Star!!. And that's not me paraphrasing that's what he wrote on our Customer Service Report form.

So if mice are an issue why isn't anything being done to tackle the problem?

And why are we still waiting to hear anything back from First Choice on the matter? One would think this is a high priority problem.

So to summarize the negatives...

- 'Deluxe' not worth the extra money
Stick to Relax or Activity areas.
The Deluxe pool only has a shack for canned cold drinks, nothing 'deluxe' about that I'm afraid.

- Poor standard of cleanliness in room
Even without the mice the rooms weren't kept particularly clean.

- Room fixtures and fittings were of poor quality
Shower was missing button on temp tap making it hard to get the right temperature
Hole in ceiling above sink so we would get debris coming down from hole from time to time!
Permanent marker writing on window in bathroom
Jacuzzi didn't work - we were later told that these aren't meant to be on but throughout the first week we were there it would collect dirty water from the pool and of course dead insects...nice! It wasn't until the 2nd week that they fitted a cover and that was only because Maintenance had had to come to the room to sort out the mice.

- No hot water or no water at all on some nights

- Tiles in swimming pools coming up
As has been said before the tiles are coming up from the swimming pools and you do have to be careful not to cut yourself on the edges as I did a couple of times.

- Deluxe reception staff not particularly helpful or pleasant
We spoke to the reception staff on the Main Activity side and they seemed much more friendly and understanding.

- Not 5-star, more 3-star.
I'm afraid the only 5-star thing about the hotel is the price!

- Mice!!


Would we go again?
No!

Not because of the mice but because we feel the hotel staff and First Choice let us down in dealing with the problem and were not particularly apologetic about it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1starwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The staff at the complex were polite and helpful at all times. We stayed in the Royal Delux area. At first we had a room on the first floor but decided to upgrade to a swim up room. Alan, the rep, was very helpful and sorted this out for us very efficiently.
We visited the Relax area with the swim up bar and again the staff were lovely and the area was very nice.
We also went to the Activity side, I have to say that the entertainment team work very hard and are wonderful with adult and children guests alike.
We ate at both the delux restaurant and the buffet restaurant on the activity side and were not disappointed with either, we enjoyed the food very much.
The entertainment in the evening was fantastic. It was geared to children from about 20.30 and although we did not go with children we could see that they enjoyed every minute of it. The productions shows performed by the entertainment team was of a very high standard, thank you Kayleigh, Claire, Craig and Dave.
One of our party went on the high ropes course, it is a popular activity. Thank you Cameron.
I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone. A wonderful time was had by all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurse63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Me and my sister went for both a relaxing holiday and to have some good nights out - a holiday to remember.
We had never been to greece before and didn't know what to expect. But as soon as we arrived we were shown by all staff where to go and what to do, we arrived to a glass of champaigne and the reception were lovely and very helpful. The next day we went to our welcome meeting, which was helpful, gave us time to ask lots of questions and find everything out about the hotel. Our first night was a bit worrying as the entertainment was a bit crap & finished at 11 and they turn all the music n lights of by about half 12... & considering we are two young girls we wanted to carry on drinking,.. But the entertainment staff were very helpful and told us about a few bars up the road. it was about a 20 minute walk if u dont walk slow but was worth it! Statues bar is the best... open till about 6am with music to dance away to, people to meet although drinks can be expensive, about 5 euros for a mailbu n coke. The taxi's are also very expensive so its better too just walk but just make sure you remeber the way, cause finding the way back drunk can be a bit of a mission in the heat. The pool during the day was amazing, swim up room was lovely, swim up bar was perfect and it was very relaxing! Pool is not too cold but cold enough to cool down. kids entertainment was brilliant, always something for them to do. I recomend Craig to talk to for any advice about where to go, he is one of the evening entertainment staff and is a good laugh.
The trips were quite expensive so we didnt go to them, but i heard that the trip to rhodes town was good. Although we catched a bus to sambeka beach were we catched a good tan and was very relaxing. Also recomend going on the sofa bed water sports that was wicked. The food was good, lots of choice and a big variety. We wer full up every night so can't be bad..We always found a sunbed with no problem although finding a seat for evening entertainment was sometimes a bit tricky and also if your a smoker they seem to have a lack of ashtrays. But not really a big deal as the have little pots around the complex to put a fag out! Rhodes sunset cocktails are the nicest drinks ever, we lived on them. The rooms are spotless.. the maids are friendly and very good at what they do. they clean to perfection.. literally. There are a strip of shops about 20minute walk, same as the bars. The shops aren't amazing but they do.. or u can do a trip to do some proper shoppin. i do recomend going shopping in the evening not the day because we walked back and in boiling hot heat we felt like we were goin to melt.. Unless you can handle sweating buckets.. which we couldnt then you're be ok.

Overall it was an amazing holiday, Relaxing and one to remember. I would definatly go back but maybe with family not so much friends and a young group as you do have to walk a bit to get good entertainment and it was rather expensive!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewislining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We have previously stayed at the Pegasos Holiday Village in Turkey three times and when struggling to book a last minute week break for my wife and I, we knew we wanted five star, but looking at numerous hotels in the internet, we were left uncertain as to what we would really get. Then the "light came on", having been very pleased with the facilities the the Pegosos Palace in Turkey, we found that First Choice were now operating a five start holiday village in Rhodes. This then became an obvious choice for us on the basis that if it exceed Turkey, we would be very happy.

We were far from disappointed! The rooms, facilities and staff all at the very least matched our expectations. We were not certain what type of room we had booked other than we know it would not be "swim up", as it was the last room available on line for our dates. It was a first floor room on the Activity side. My wife has difficulty with stairs and so we asked to be moved to a ground floor room. We were moved on the earliest possible date, three days later.

The village complex is very well designed and works well. We visited the Relax side a couple of times and it is safe to say that it is very "chilled". Having said that, the Activities side is closer to the majority of the resort amenities and we found this very convenient. We did not expect to become bored with the food on a weeks stay, however, we did. The quality was generally very good, just not enough variety; especially with the deserts (could do better).

We found that the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and genuinely interested in fully addressing any questions or concerns we had. I particularly liked that fact that there were a lot of different style seating areas around the resort. A far cry from the stuffy hotel lounge concept. There are numerous beverage points and bars located around the resort, so never far away from a refreshing cold or hot drink. The snack bar is a great idea. This serves a variety of cold snacks (plus chips if you want) from 11am and is a convenient and healthy alternative to the dinning room for a midday meal.

The resort location was disappointing. The local beach is not nice and the nearest shops about 15 minutes walk away and uninteresting.

The hotel allows a form called Waterhoppers to market their scuba diving school at the pool side. We signed up to this, although rather expensive at 52.5 euros per head I thought. This was disappointing. At this location they operated out of a van parked next to a beach cafe. For our pre dive lesson we sat around a table in the cafe. We were then fitted with wet suites and diving paraphernalia. Some of the wet suites were ripped or in generally poor condition. One person was fitted with a ripped wet suite which then had to be changed. Why keep ripped wet suites? The oxygen regulators (the bit you put in your mouth had been used by the previous class and had not been sanitised or sterilized. I did not appreciate this full implication of this until about an hour after the dive I became ill with a sore throat which lasted several days, a heavy cold and a chest infection, which I still have over two weeks later. I discussed this with several staff at the hotel as I think they have a duty of care to their guests in allowing Waterhoopers to sell on their premises. Regrettably, both First Choice and the hotel management do not agree with me, which I find very surprising! As the dive experience was not that great (nothing to see other than sand and a few rocks and even few fish) and in view of the very real health risk, I would urge people not the purchase a scuba dive lesson from WATERHOPPERS and tell them why - hopefully this will bring about change in their health and hygiene procedures.

Just one concern to flag up about the resort complex, which I expressed to the hotel staff and hopefully will be acted on. There are a number of wooden bridges around the resort, which have steps on to then at either end. The steps are not illuminated and we found these very difficult to negotiate in the dark as they are barely visible. Hotel management please take note of this please - I know you will be reading this report (which is a good thing).

We are certainly minded to to holiday again that the Holiday Village Rhodes, however, for us one week is more than enough.

I should calso mention that decpite the hotel being full, there is a sese that is is not the case as their there is so much space for everyone and no shortage of sun beds. It is great to be able to finds bed when you want them and not restricted by the dreaded "towel blocking" that exists in every other hotel we have stayed in for the past 35 years.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boble000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FC_Holiday_Village, Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Hello, thanks for your feedback. It sounds like overall you had an enjoyable time with us at the Holiday Village. We will certainly take on board your comments about lighting for the bridges and hope to implement these in the future. This is the first complaint we have received regarding the diving company and their facilities. We have spoken with Waterhoppers and they have assured us they sanitise and sterilise all their equipment prior to each use.

Tracey and Nikos – Holiday Village Rhodes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

This hotel was beautifully clean the staff were very pleasant, there was no need to get up early to put towells on sunbeds which is great, who wants to get up early on holiday, the food was good but could get a bit boring if you were staying two weeks, the drinks !! not enough choice, was desperate for a decent bottle of wine or a nice gin and tonic no fruite in the drinks, gin and tonic needs lemon. The breakfast was very English, prefer fresh fruite when on holiday but their fresh fruite looked like it had been chopped up for the pigs, skin on it not too tasty either or you could have tinned, who wants tinned fruite for breakfast yuk. Otherwise ok.
Entertainment okish, very English and the majority of the entertainment was for children aged from about 2 to 10. There was entertainment for grown ups for about an hour from 10pm till 11pm. Very good place if you have young children, they don't really cater for adults and older children.
The reps are mostly lovely but never bothered to follow up on a complaint, or check you were ok if were unfortunate enough to have arrived very late. Child friendly only, didn't seem to be able to communicate with adults.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FC_Holiday_Village, Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Hi, thanks for your comments. We hope overall you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Village. We are sorry your complaint wasn’t followed up, we would recommend speaking to us again if this happens as it would have been an oversight and not intentional. We’ll take on board your comments about the fresh fruit.

Tracey and Nikos – Holiday Village Rhodes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.6 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.2 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#10 of 34 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
12.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.3 mi away
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
#6 of 34 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
16.6 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Rhodes

Property: Holiday Village Rhodes
Address: Kolymbia, Kolimbia 851 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Spa Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Village Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Rhodes Hotel Kolimbia
Holiday Village Rhodes Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing