We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some much needed family time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Village Rhodes
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Myself, my husband and our 9 year old son stayed here in June 2014. Our room was in the relax area, and we had upgraded to a swim up room, but unfortunately our room was swim up to a pond sized pool, not the main pool. Although to room itself was great the swim up was unused as my kid wanted to be in the big pool with the other children.

The resort itself is best described as a 5* Butlins in the sun. The food is great for an All Inclusive resort and the entertainments teams (day and evening) are superb. The buffet style restaurant was well run and the food was always well stocked and warm. We never waited more than 1 minute for a table to be given to us. The breakfast was varied but did get a bit tedious after 2 weeks. The drink selection is also limited in this area but you can always bring in a drink from another bar if you want to. Lunch time was just as good as dinner.

We (surprisingly) enjoyed the evening entertainment. It's Saturday night TV entertainment live on stage and the kids absolutely love i5live which is on everynight. During the day we used the aerial adventure, the lazy river and got a lot of time in the archery area hoeing our Katniss Everdeen skills!

Kolymbia itself seem to be suffering under the strain of the All Inclusive resorts but the shop keepers do not hassle you when you do venture out.

We also hired a car from Nigel through Rodos Cars that are on site all day and visited Rhodes Town (old, new and acropolis, all within walking distance), Butterfly Valley, Seven Springs and Lindos. All of which we would recommend, however parking in Rhodes Town is not easy so taking the bus is a better option.

All in all we got what we wanted, a luxurious, fun, relaxing holiday where we could spend as much or as little time together as we wanted.

Room Tip: Don't assume a swim up room is actually on a main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inga H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

Please allow me to thank you for your 5 star review, it was our pleasure to welcome you to the Holiday Village Rhodes and we hope very much to see you all return again soon.

Best wishes to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,086 - 1,092 of 2,406 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I am writing this review while still on holiday, using the free wifi, which is the only thing that you get good value for money for! We booked a HV as we had heard good reviews about the resort & as we were travelling with 2 small children (5 years & 8 months) we knew we needed to chose a hotel with a HIGH standard. We booked a 1 week break in the summer holidays (peak season) so we were very disappointed when we paid our hard earned £3,000 for what is turning out to be a very over priced butlins break! Food is ok, for a few days, we got bored of the same slop after our 4th day, the biggest thumbs up for in the food department is that they offer a little area to blend food up, with use of a steriliser & bottle warmer too! We stayed in the relax area which is actually located quite a distance from any of the food restaurants (unless you are a deluxe customer) the restaurant is small & the food is packed away approx 10-15 mins BEFORE it actually closes?! I'm sure this is not stated anywhere & surely this doesn't actually make a huge difference for the staff to start getting the restaurant cleared up & prepared for the lunch time stint, especially when there is about a 2 hour period between each time it closes & re-opens!!!
Our room was adequate, they catered for our baby in one sense-by offering a travel cot, but then completely contradicted themselves by putting us on the first floor (2 flights of stairs with no lift) with a push chair???? Not the best idea! We were not totally impressed by the entertainment but our 5 year old was, we can't complain about the hotel next door too much but it was very loud until 11:30pm and if you've got small children most would agree this is slightly too late to still be able to hear in your hotel room across the road?! (100% Not HV fault)
Another problem we had was with the 2 dining experiences (one of which we decided against) we felt we were tricked into thinking it was a break from the all you can eat/same old/fast food/all inclusive style grub, to find that actually it was infact the same food but served to us-well we were only partially waited on by the guys working in Greek steakhouse place, we got our own drinks because we waited so long for any service & actually walked out before pudding was served!
Highly disappointed in many areas & food was a big component! I don't think I'm wrong in saying food can make or break a hotel reputation, we were not impressed!
Pools were fab, clean & comfy sun loungers, really pleased with the cleaners!

Finally, tonight was the biggest let down in our holiday! After paying £3,000 for a 1 week holiday I did not expect to have to pack on my 5th day, or after my 3rd day ask reception about pre booking a different room for 1 hour before my flight to leave for uk! We were very upset to be told to pay €90 to use our existing room 5614 for any longer than midday?! We were told we can still use our al inclusive facilities but how this could be possible without use if a shower afterwards, I don't exactly know the answer?! I also find it insulting that the receptionist (who is not to blame for the rules) told a family of 4 with 2 very young children that we have to wonder the hotel & we do not get a private area to let our children relax or sleep before a 4 hour midnight flight?! We must check out by midday on the 6th day of our holiday which means we will have to pack in a rush before we can go get any breakfast which closes at 10am & my son them had his final swimming lesson at 10:45 so in order for us to attend both of these I am should have packed on the 5th night?! Stupid!

I WOULD recommend this hotel, but not to friends or family-I would recommend it to anyone who has £3,000 to waste! Thank you holiday village for this terrible memory of our first family holiday abroad!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Firstly off all,I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I would like to comment on some of the points you made in your review.

• You have said you were dissatisfied with our food on your stay and regarded it as slop.Our food scores are among the highest within the industry and previous reviewers are stating food as one of their highlights to their holiday.Your opinion though is taken under consideration.
• You have stated that you were not happy with the entertainment.Again like previous reviewers state, this is one of the highlights of their holiday and we are also very proud to be rated as No1 last weekin the Holiday Villages leaguefor Entertainment, from our Guests.
• You have stated that you were unhappy about checkout procedures. I need to inform you that check out time and procedures is the same internationally,at 12 noon.However we offer a late checkout service for the Guests that have booked the flights that concern this situation.This is stated from your travel agent at the time of booking these flights. The flights times are not controlled from the Hotel.Saying that, wedo offer a relax area for guests that do not wish to have a room extension. Please note here that your room was ready from 2pm on the day of your arrival.The delays that allowed you to arrive late is at no control of the Hotel.
• You have mentioned breakfast times; the breakfast buffet closes at 10am, as advertised, however we always keep the buffet open 10-15 min later for Guests that may have slept in.

Finally I would like to thank you again for your review, and wish you the best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Spent a very pleasant and relaxing week here and only wish we had stayed for longer, a week zips by very quickly but still we found the stay helped us switch off and recharge, and really everything is at hand; you don't need to step outside the complex, though if you stayed for two weeks there are various excursions available and I am sure other parts of the island are worth seeing. Our party consisted of two adults and a six-year-old. First off, he had a ball, loved it, it is a children's paradise. The reps there are really friendly and helpful as indeed are all the people working there, in the bars and restaurants. Next thing i'd say is that the food is outstanding, great variety of fresh food, wonderful salads and fish and meat dishes, deserts and so on, you are really living between meals! Most of your time will be in the buffet restaurant which is more suitable if you have children. There are some other a la carte options if you want some greater variety. The buffet is well run, and even in busy periods, it retains a pleasant atmosphere. We went all inclusive and had the run of their wines, decent local variety, cocktails and beer, again not bad for a local. There is daily entertainment for kids and adults and some shows on at night that attract the kinds like a magnet to the stage. The place is beautifully set, and delightfully laid out. One irritant which is true to most places i guess is that decks are not fairly distributed, in that people leave towels there early and clear off, so it is not very democratic in terms of how that pans out. But the hotel had tried to resolve this while we were there. Anyway, i would recommend this for people who want to chill and ensure the kids have a good time. Scores highly across the board, right down to the warm farewell as we got on the bus to travel to the airport and face home again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Dermot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

I Would like to thank you for your 5 star review, We are all very pleased to learn that you had a Excellent Holiday here At the Holiday Village Rhodes, It was our pleasure to look after you and we hope to see you all again soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Although we had a great time at the resort (great weather, relaxing time, good pools), this is by no means a 5 star hotel: Food is 4 star; the main restaurant is too small for the resort dimension, often having to wait for a seat and a having a stressfull experience around the food area in every meal; lack of open areas as the resort is overbuilt. The only 5 star feature are the swiming pools, very pleasant, warm water, and with our room leading directly to it.

Room Tip: Choose a room with direct access to one of the many pools. Avoid the "activity" area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gmbarreto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, operation manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2014

Dear Guest, i would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, i have noted the issues you have made and will continue to improve our hotel for 2014/2015, i do hope you have some nice memories to take home with you.

best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The resort was ideal for the our family ranging from a 67 year old in a wheelchair, me, to an 8 month old baby. The facilities for lounging by and playing in the pools were excellent although some of the ramps needed strong pushers for the wheelchair. All the staff went out of their way to be helpful. All of them were cheerful, friendly and efficient.
Have no hesitation in recommending the Holiday Village as a family resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

I Would like to thank you for your 5 star review, We are all very pleased to learn that you had a Excellent Holiday here At the Holiday Village Rhodes, It was our pleasure to look after you and we hope to see you all again soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were met by a warm receptionist who offered us champagne, check in was quick and we were sent off to our rooms, it was 3am and the cases arrived very quickly. The fridge was stocked with sandwiches, juice and drinks. The room was spacious, clean and the bathroom had a large bath an separate great shower. We did not have a swim up room and were on the first floor, however there was never a problem getting a sun bed.
After a sleep we headed to breakfast, an excellent choice bestowed us. It was all hot and stocked regularly. It was one on the best buffet breakfasts, quality and choice I've had to date.
All staff at the resort are extremely friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The kids clubs are fantastic and entertain and amuse the kids from morning to night.
We ate in 3 of the A la carte restaurants and were impressed by them all. The service at the bars is quick and friendly.
Rachel from customer service was very friendly, professional and efficient sorting us out a cake and decorating a table for a birthday.
The entertainments team where very energetic, lively and fun. Rory the main entertainer is absolutely hilarious, he had us belly laughing for a week, I really believe he is has the talent to become a big name in the entertainment world. Talking Techy is an asset to the entertainments team, with its huge screen and great voice over. The dancers and singers are all very talented.
We as a family had a great time here and only left the resort once to go on a pirate cruise. We spent hardly any money and would thoroughly recommend the holiday village to families looking for a friendly, safe and fun place

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

I Would like to thank you for your 5 star review, We are all very pleased to learn that you had a Excellent Holiday here At the Holiday Village Rhodes, It was our pleasure to look after you and we hope to see you all again soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Holiday Village Rhodes. We ( myself, my husband and our two daughters aged twelve and eight ) stayed in the deluxe area it was perfect. We had the added benefit of being able to eat in the clubhouse where the staff were superb. We ate in all the restaurants over the course of the week and the food and service was excellent in all of them. The village is beautifully clean and tidy and the layout excellent. Again being in the deluxe area allows you to dip in and out of the busier areas as and when you wish. The evening entertainment was fantastic. Rory Cunningham is a star in the making. We would return just to see him,the rest is a bonus !!!

Room Tip: Swim up rooms in the deluxe area offer shade during the day which is great if travelling with young...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

I Would like to thank you for your 5 star review, We are all very pleased to learn that you had a Excellent Holiday here At the Holiday Village Rhodes, It was our pleasure to look after you and we hope to see you all again soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.6 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.2 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#13 of 34 in Kolimbia
397 reviews
12.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.2 mi away
Kolymbia Beach Hotel
Kolymbia Beach Hotel
#9 of 34 in Kolimbia
784 reviews
0.3 mi away
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
#7 of 34 in Kolimbia
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Rhodes

Address: Kolymbia, Kolimbia 851 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Spa Hotel in Kolimbia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range: $107 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Village Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Rhodes Hotel Kolimbia
Holiday Village Rhodes Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing