We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Panic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Village Rhodes
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Blimey.
Some negative reviews lately on here for this place.
I've read them and can only assume that, although the people writing them have clearly had a bad experience on their holiday, I feel some of the comments on the type of clientele who generally stay at the Holiday Village greatly differ to the type of customer we shared the hotel with last August.

We're a family of 3 ( our daughter's 9 ) and stayed here for two weeks.
The weather was great, albeit very hot, the room was clean and the food was excellent. The people we met were, in the main, nice families and bore no resemblance to the ' Chavs ' and ' Jeremy Kyle ' types listed in other reviews.

If the hotel is happy to accept large groups for weddings in the quieter season they should maybe review this policy as it is marketed mainly as a family friendly resort. All I can say is that in high season when we were there it was mostly families and decent ones at that.


There are a few negatives though. You may not be in one of the village type rooms, instead being in the main hotel block itself. This might not be made clear enough at the time of booking and can maybe lead to disappointment. The sunbed race starts early. Some peeps are out at 6:30am. I got up for a pee at that time one morning, looked out and there they were! We're quick to slate the Germans but this hotel is almost exclusively Brits and we're just as bad. If you go down after 9 you'll struggle to get a bed in high season.

Plenty positives though.
I found the facilities great. The pools and waterpark were excellent. I read somewhere a complaint regarding the lifeguards? If anything I found them to be a tad over zealous, which I suppose when you see the tragic event in Egypt last week, surely can't be a bad thing.
The food was excellent. Really good and varied, and always fresh.
Our room was kept immaculate and was very modern.
The staff were mostly great. Always smiling and very helpful.
The kids club staff, particularly the theatre school ( which cost extra ) were really good and worked very hard.

We had a great holiday. Sure there were a few niggles but nothing major.
I would say the hotel isn't a five star.
More a quality four star. I'm not arguing with anyone's negative reviews by the way, I'm simply giving a truthful review of our experience at the Holiday Village Rhodes in August last year.

As a footnote, we never go back to the same hotel, and as such are booked into the hotel down the road from this one this July.
The Atlantica Agean Blue.
Review to follow...........

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank sonnycrockett68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,370)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Village Rhodes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,475 - 1,481 of 2,370 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

We booked our holiday over a year ago, we have 2young children, aged 3 and 11 months. We were dreading the flight but it was really good. Both children slept most of the way. (Luckily)
When we arrived at Rhodes airport the reps were waiting with a clipboard telling us what coaches to get on. Pretty straightforward. Took about 45 mins to arrive to our hotel. When we arrived at the hotel it was dead, it was awesome, hardly any1 in the pools and restaurants.
We were welcomed by the hotel staff with sparkling wine and orange juice, very quick check in, and left suitcases with porter. We had a few problems once we got to our room, the door card wouldn't work, cot was broken, shower was freezing, but these problems were resolved very quickly, :-) the room was so nice, cleaned everyday, maids were really good. TV not too good, as all in Greek. Jacuzzi bath was awesome, kids loved it. Beds were very comfy and spacious. Tea and coffee replenished every day. We were getting married whilst on holiday here, we met up with our wedding co-ordinators the next day ( Charlotte, Karl, Jamie) they sorted everything out for us, and were really helpful, thank u guys for everything. We had a few family members fly out to us but others couldn't make it unfortunately.... :-( the wedding day was amazing, we all had a brill day.
Food was nice, a bit repetitive but what do you expect. Best night was Chinese night.... Mmmm yum. Little girl loved gettin her own tea, as they have a separate children's area, perfect height. Snack bar was nice, same most days though, a bit more choice is needed. Slush puppies and ice-cream went down a treat with the children.
Entertainment was good for kids, especially Keith and Gee, they made the nights, so funny and nice. They all work so hard.
We stayed in the deluxe area, well worth the extra money stayin here, not too noisy at night time, and nice in the day too. Pools were cold, but once u get in you soon warm up. Our children loved it. Would defo return back here. Thank you x

Room Tip: Deluxe area all the way, rooms amazing. :-)
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Naomi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Iv just got back from rhodes holiday village this morning... After spending £4000 for a week on the activity side with swim up rooms.. The pool was not cleaned once during my stay or the surrounding area.. No sun on balcony so didn't use swim up which cost us an extra £500 and used sun beds elsewhere. Rooms are nice in decore but showers grimy and need a good scrub .Staff are really friendly but defiantly not a five star resort... Defo not as good as the lanzarote holiday village... When I was by the pool yesterday I watched a cleaner cleaning a room after a family went home she changed the bedding swept the floor and all the muck she swept up was then swept into the pool then closed the door and that wAs it. I will defo not recommend this holiday village to People it looks great in the brochures but total different story in real life. First choice needs to pull its socks up and sort out then cleanliness of the resort. The food was bland and the same everyday ice cream was cheap rubbish and if you went to the 1 bar near our pool you waited ages and kids were just ignored.. Life guards in the water park just stood talking very rarely seen in the correct places.. Do not waste your money on this resort..

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissMc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos_Stamoulos, Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear reviewer

Thank you for taking time out to feedback your experience with us here at Holiday Village Rhodes. I am sorry if certain aspects of your stay, did not live up to your expectations.

Cleanliness is of paramount importance to us and we have cleaners on site each and every day, any cleanliness issues reported are immediately actioned and resolved. Also our pools are cleaned daily. I am sorry if you found them to be unsatisfactory at times.

Thank you and I hope you have taken away some nice memories of your stay with us at Holiday Village Rhodes.

Kind regards

Stamoulos Nikos
Hotel Manager
Holiday Village Rhodes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable 11 nights at the Holiday Village with my husband, mum and three year old son. We stayed in the relax area which we preferred as it meant we could dip in and out of the activity area as we liked but return to chill out in relax. Our rooms were modern, comfortable and cleaned daily.

The food in the main restaurant was varied, plentiful, of good quality and replenished regularly. The service was fantastic with a lovely welcome each meal by the managers and hostesses. We also ate in the Greek and Deluxe restaurant and again the food was good particularly in the Greek, although we found the drinks service a bit slow in the Deluxe.

The first choice reps (advisors, kids and entertainers) were also very welcoming, Gee and Keith introduced themselves to us with in minutes of arrival. They all work extremely hard and yet remain, enthusiastic and friendly at all times. They are very easily accessible in the activity area, but leave you to the quiet calm in the relax and deluxe area, which in reality is only a few minutes walk away. The kids club is great, well run, varied and fun, as are the day time activities.

As others have said Nigel at Rodos cars is very helpful. We visited Rhodes Town, Lindos, Kallithea Spa, Seven Springs, Agathi and Tsambika beach, all of which I would recommend.

As indicated below there were a number of large groups, although we didn't observe the negative behaviour mentioned. I think the root cause of the issue is that wedding parties will bring with them a cross section of guests, not just the families that Holiday Village would normally target, for example young adults without children who I'm sure otherwise would not have selected this type of hotel either. I think Holiday Village need to seriously consider this and decide whether they want to position themselves as a wedding venue or a family holiday resort as the two don't necessarily go hand in hand.

A few other areas of improvement:

1. Ensure room requests are actioned - we had requested two adjacent rooms and despite two e-mails back from the hotel confirming this had been added to the booking on arrival they stated it wasn't on the booking so we were allocated different blocks. To their credit this was resolved quickly but I suspect this was due to us being there the first week the hotel opened.
2. Clearer labelling of food particularly anything containing allergens such as shell fish.
3. Enforce the dress code in the main restaurant (and deluxe also), this would raise the whole standard further.

Finally in relation to whether this hotel deserves its 5* rating, I believe it does, but am also realistic as to the difference between 5* hotels predominantly aimed at adults with limited children's facilities, or boutique hotels catering for small numbers and those aimed at families on a large scale such as this. If you want a quiet, adult focused holiday, this is not the place for you, however if you want a family holiday with great facilities, good food, and excellent customer service then this is a fantastic choice.

Room Tip: Be careful with booking activity side as some of these rooms are in the main hotel above the restaur...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank hollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our family (2 adults and 2 kids aged 10 and 11) stayed in the Holiday Village 11th May to 18th May.
We stayed in the Relax area and due to a some sort of hassle when arriving, we got an upgrade and we were given a swim up room - this was great, we loved it!!
The room was big, clean and more than we could have asked for.

Unfortunently the weather was really bad for the first three days and we had a lot of rain and thunder, but since the room was so big and we had a big terrace, we were able to play indoors. Nice surprise was the tv and the choices of the channels (Discovery Channell and Nickeledeon for kids.. last year in Turkey the choices were local News and dubbed telenovelas)

The water in the pool was a bit cold, but when the sun finally came up it really didn´t matter!
The room was cleaned daily and when compared to other hotels we have stayed in, this was the cleanest one by far! The hotel roots for Green thinking and that´s why we didn´t quite understand why the towels were changed daily, but apart from that there is nothing to say about the cleaning.
The room floors are really really slippery when wet, so be careful when stepping inside from the pool!
The staff in the hotel, especially in the restaurant were super friendly and loved kids. My kids don´t really speak english but still they loved the staff and their high fives daily! :)

The food in the restaurant was superb and we really loved it. We felt like there were enough (and then some!) to choose from and there were something to everyone!
We tried to avoid the rush hours in the restaurant and that´s why we never had to wait for long to be seated (we usually had the breakfast at 08.00, lunch around 13.00 and went to dinner around 19.00)
Entertainment was completely for English, but we still enjoyed the i5Live show every night - I think the guys were hilarious !! All the pink shirted reps and football coaches were super nice to us and made time to talk to our kids even when they didn´t really know how to talk back..

Kolymbia is really small little place, but it was nice and had some really nice shops in it. It really wasn´t that expensive either!
We took a bus to Rhodes old town on one of the rainy days, It was really simple (time tables available in the reception) and the bus stop was right around the corner (bus ride was 3,50€/adult and 1,80€/kids) The drive was about 40minutes. It was really nice, the weather there was completely different from Kolymbia and it was sunny the whole day! The old town was beautiful and definently a place worth to see!

We had no problems with any of the other guests probably because we stayed in the relax area and only went to Activity side when eating and watching the i5Live..

Would I recommend the hotel to others? Absolutely, already have! Would we go back? Absolutely and hopefully will - soon!

Room Tip: Our room was in Relax area it was nice and quiet, it was far away from Activity side and all its noi...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MariLin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Frankly put, this place was unpleasant to stay: a lot of alcholic parents drinking all day around and everywhere. The resort should consider to open a rehab club for these people.
The positive is about the resort is that it is indeed a children friendly but all this drinking brits spoiled it totally. There are a lot of activities areas and pools. My son loved the football school!
The food is good in my opinion: a lot of healthy choices.
The resort plays a loud music in an activity area from 11am to 5pm which is very annoying, they don't even take a siesta. Choose a relax area for staying.
The service was good especially in a restaurant. Room cleaning is good too.
The beach closed to hotel is abandon and dirty, we rent a car to get around.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have just returned from a seven day trip which took in a friends wedding.
sounds like our wedding was less eventful than some....
the hotel was ok, looked nice and on the whole was clean and tidy. contrary to some reports I used the WiFi around the whole site on phone and ipad and it was good
food was Ok and the staff in the deluxe side were always friendly and helpful. I was amazed by the sheer number of small children even in our Deluxe side, they were everywhere turning breakfast into a banana and toast throwing extravaganza
anywhoo wouldn't go back because of the kids but its probably not too bad if you have a family
Nigel from Rodos cars sorted us out with a great car at a sensible price and gave excellent advice on where to go, check him out in reception if you need a car

Room Tip: Deluxe area, is a little quieter, but not much!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gunner712004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.6 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.2 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#13 of 34 in Kolimbia
379 reviews
12.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.2 mi away
Kolymbia Beach Hotel
Kolymbia Beach Hotel
#8 of 34 in Kolimbia
765 reviews
0.3 mi away
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
#6 of 34 in Kolimbia
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Rhodes

Address: Kolymbia, Kolimbia 851 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Spa Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range: $130 - $705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Village Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Rhodes Hotel Kolimbia
Holiday Village Rhodes Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing