We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for...”
Review of Hotel Anavadia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Anavadia
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Located in the middle of no-where! The room was adequate for our needs, though the bed was too hard. Bathroom sub-standard, jacuzzi bath was lush though! Food was repetitive - poor choice. Not for us!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank benjo1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anavadia, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Hotel Anavadia, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear benjo,

Considering your comments about food, we are going to change our food menu and having more variety of choices and not be repeatable.

Many thanks

Anavadia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 682 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

The rooms were spacious but the shower cubicle...get rid!! rip out and have a wet room. it makes sense. we arrived on 2 oct for 1 week. it became apparent that the food and drinks on offer were terrible. we brought our own wine to the table on the few evenings that we ate there! pool was freezing. had to pay for safe facilities and no pool towels which should be included in a 4* hotel. On my 1st morning after showering...which was a feat in itself. my towel was covered in silicone!! not only that they and the sheets were grey,(should be white) the hotel was clean but basic, nice and quiet.all self service but would have appreciated coffee and tea in the mornings to be served. On the positive side we met a lot of nice people with the same gripes, in the end we had a laugh about it. on the whole i felt that if it was advertised as a 2/3* hotel then you would be happy. A must is to frequent Vasillis and Michels bars, they are lovely.And finally and through no fault but mother nature it was the coldest early October in 30 years!!

Room Tip: take your own beach towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at Hotel Anavadia it was fantastic.
I cannot fault any this and as for the food it was terrific so much to choose from at each sitting.
I would recommend this hotel to any one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel is in a quiet location and not overlooked by other hotels. It was clean but not spotless. Towels and sheets were stained/grey and need replacing. Shower cubicle was very small with small soap dish hanging off the wall. Nowhere to put any toiletries except on the floor of the shower but then you could not bend down to pick them up. Bathroom would be better as a wet room rather than a bath and shower cubicle. We had no hot water 2 mornings out of our 7 day stay. The sheets were arranged on the beds in a fan shape which is nice for arrival but got a bit annoying as we had to make up our own bed every day. Had to pay 20 Euros for the use of the safe. The pool area is clean and plenty of beds however the pool is freezing. The food is repetitive but edible. Breakfast was the best meal but had no fresh fruit juices (The island is covered in fruit trees?). Salads were okay but no olives. (The island is covered in olive trees?). The bar was poorly stocked and there were no alternatives to be purchased. The local area has some good restaurants and bars but this made the holiday more expensive than anticipated as we ate out instead. We found Michaels restaurant and Vasilis bar very welcoming. The Hotel staff were friendly and tried to help where they could. We had a couple of cold days and they provided extra blankets (Heating/Air con is extra). As it was sold to us as a 4.5 star hotel by Olympic holidays we were expecting a lot better. Altogether not a total disaster but 3 stars at best.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank petervmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

In summary- as a base, this hotel is clean, very helpful reception staff and was adequate for our needs. The food was NOT good! Orange squash and tinned fruit for breakfast! There was the usual bacon, hard and cold fried eggs/cold scrambled egg and beans (also cold) having completed a food hygiene course recently, I am aware of temperatures required for food to be stored at in the food heaters and the figures were lower and the 'hot' food was never hot!! The evening meals were not good, no skill required at all! Best part of evening meal was the salad starter, which we ended eating twice as main meal was so bad! We used the room fridge, bought local yoghurt & honey and ate that for our breakfast & ate lunch out at the beach & ate out some evenings, however, this is additional costs that we're not expected. Our room was a lovely size & cleaned daily. Towels were also changed but had seen better days (grey & hard) shower cubicle .. Interesting but did have a nice whirlpool bath which was lovely whilst it was working!
Overall: staff helpful, hotel clean and would consider returning IF the food was massively improved!

Room Tip: We had the 'middle' block and it was a very good sized room with outdoor terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anavadia, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Hotel Anavadia, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Alison M,

Considering your review we would like to inform you for some changes that we are planning for the new season.We are replacing the old Chef with a new one more experienced in food menus.Also thank you for your advice to improve our breakfast, using more fresh goods, and we will enrich our lunch and dinner as well.

Many Thanks and hope see you in the near future

Anavadia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

In summary:
- beds are really hard and very uncomfortable
- shower is ridiculously small, no more than 50cm square and utterly impossible to bend over in (felt like how imagine a coffin might feel)
- sheets/towels not changed regularly enough, and even when they were fresh they were grey and stained. Not plesant
- food choice is pretty appalling. Very small range of average to below average feel
- I'd expect free wi-fi from a 4 star all inclusive. Not the case.

However, these are the worst points. Rooms and whole hotel are clean and well kept,. Very small hotel so always guaranteed sun beds at the pool - even if you turn up mid afternoon. Staff are all lovely, local area is very quiet. It should not be a 4 star but if you get a good price by buy on a deal and go expecting an average hotel you won't be disappointed. Just don't expect 4 star, over the top all inclusive deluxe luxury!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I didn't have a massive problem with the hotel like the rest of the reviews. It is far from luxury or five star but my room was clean just passable. The pool was freezing as others have mentioned. Beds were very hard. Think of this a tired 2/3 star and you won't be disappointed.

The food was just terrible. I never expect a huge amount from all inclusive, eating out a few of the nights anyway but this really set a whole new baseline. Breakfast was just edible. Lunch and dinner far from it. Amazingly the cook managed to make even the most basic and simple dishes horrible. It was so bad it was almost funny. The wine and beer, again terrible.

Staff tried, but the weariness of defeat wore heavy on their demeanour.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolimbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#13 of 34 in Kolimbia
410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.4 mi away
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
#12 of 34 in Kolimbia
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kolymbia Sun
Kolymbia Sun
#16 of 34 in Kolimbia
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lutania Beach
Lutania Beach
#19 of 34 in Kolimbia
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
#7 of 34 in Kolimbia
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anavadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anavadia

Address: Al. Panagoylh Str 20, Kolimbia, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Price Range: $70 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Anavadia 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Anavadia is an elegant place for your vacations, with big and spacious rooms making it a pleasant stay for couples, small families or for vacations with friends seeking peace and quiet. Our hotels rooms are divided in two blocks, one of the blocks is next to the reception and between the two pools that the hotel is providing, the other block of rooms the Relax area is perfect for a vacation to relax with renovated modern rooms and a panoramic view of Panayia Tsampika monastery. The all inclusive meals are served at the main restaurant which provides American breakfast accompanied with brand name coffee and juices. Lunch and Dinner are accompanied with local brand name soft drinks, beer and wine. At the bar you will find all the drinks provided by the All Inclusive formula along with some snacks, delicacies and ice cream served periodically, the all inclusive for the bars starts at 10:00am when the bar opens and stops at 22:00pm. The bar continues to operate with the end of the all inclusive formula and the drinks are upon payment. Inside of the hotel operates a Mini Market. You will find two pools, one of them playing accompanied with music and a bar and the other one for relaxation. Hotel Anavadia offers a Greek night with Greek music and dance once a week and live music (jazz, pop etc) once a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Anavadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Anavadia Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing