We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed our holiday BUT!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Anavadia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Anavadia
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Kolimbia
UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our holiday BUT!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

At first sighting the hotel is pleasing. It seems to be the best in the Olympic collection judging by the many less attractive places we stopped at on the way from the airport. The site on one side borders a main road which is reasonably well hidden. There is no seaview. The other borders overlook scrubby farmland with grazing goats and hills in the middle distance. The pool area is attractive with comfortable sun beds. The rooms are clean and recently refurbished. The hotel is small with limited staff numbers who were always keen to please. The pool bar stafff were always ready to serve and at no time did we encounter rudeness or a need to tip in order to get good service as some have found.

We enjoyed our holiday because the weather was good and we were comfortable enough. The beer was fine and the wine drinkable. After all one does not want to be miserable on holiday.

The significant and perhaps only major problem for us was the food. We had problems on the first day. Very poor quality fish fingers served at lunch (which we left on our plates) were cut up and added to a salad at dinner, new ones we trust! Much of the buffet style food was cold. We asked Neil the Olympic rep whether he got complaints about the food. He denied this but did agree people made comments. Nevertheless he passed on our complaint returning to us saying that the management accepted that this was inappropriate.

As the week went by however the nature of the problem became clearer. The hotel has more than adequate kitchens but does not seem to cook much fresh food at lunch or dinner.relying almost exsclusively on frozen or canned commercial catering packs. Breakfast is fine in that there are adequate supplies of boiled and fried eggs (sometimes overcooked) and cooked meat and cheeses. The bread is excellent. The Anavadia has a good baker. The orange juice is really undrinkable coloured water but the coffee is good enough. During the course of the week people were complaining and the staff agreed they got many complaints about the food. The soup served at dinner and all the sauces were simply eurogloop with that obviously commercial aftertaste. We do not eat this rubbish at home so why should we on holiday? We did not expect gourmet food just good Greek home cooking. Indeed we went out on one occasion turning left at the main road and choosing the first restaurant we found. This was even worse than the Anavadia. I had a peppered hard overcooked steak with a tasteless sauce and my wife had a square of moussaka from a catering tin floating in a bowl of olive oil. We left it and went hungry but in fairness we were only charged £10.00. Others who went out more often found better food than this elsewhere.

On our last day we did make an appointment with the manager who struggled as he had he said ten other hotels to look after. He wrote down our complaints not denying that they relied so heavily on catering packs but neatly side stepped our query about whether Olympic gave him adeqaute funding for his food. We have copied this review to Olympic and if we receive a reply we will post it on Tripadvisor.

Meanwhile what would we advise? If you have not booked here do examine your priorities. If you have get in touch with Olympic and ask whether the hotel is cooking fresh food following the many complaints we are aware of.

We were told at a small supermarket nearby that the owner has two daughters hence the name. If I were him I would be concerned about his reputation for decent food.

Room Tip: There are three blocks one, two and three. We were in room 103 which was fine with a balcony overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diandaveuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    159
    126
    70
    49
See reviews for
132
312
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Myself, my husband, my daughter and her boyfriend stayed here in August. i had read previous reviews and was wary before we got there. We arrived in the early hours of the morning and the night receptionist was very pleasant and quickly had us checked in and carried my bag to the room. We were in room 113 and the first thing that hit me when we walked through the door was the smell of damp coming from the bathroom. In fairness, my daughter's room smelt fresh so I think this was a problem specific to our room. While the shower was compact and bijou ... it was big enough for us. The room was nicely decorated and the balcony was lovely. From our balcony we could see Peter feeding his goats in the evening and my husband joined him for barbequed octopus and ouzo one evening. The local people were very friendly. The pool area was lovely but we spent most days at the beach. The small harbour beach was a lovely sandy beach and Ellie in the beach cafe was a star as was Costas. the beach was about 20 minutes walk from the hotel so we tended to have lunch there rather than at the hotel. In the evenings we ate out qute a lot as the food at the hotel was not great. There was a lovely taverna about 5 minutes away from the hotel. The staff at the Anavadia were wonderful. A special mention to Melissa, great girl and to the waitresses in the restaurant as nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a lovely holiday but I wouldn't stay all inclusive at this hotel again.... If they had a bed and breakfast option I might consider it. I would definately visit Rhodes again

Room Tip: Avoid room 113
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KateB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Please check the Hellenic chamber of hotel's website: www.grhotels.gr/EN/ this is the official body that awards Greek hotels their official star rating. The website clearly states that the Anavadia is officially a 3* hotel.
We had a very disappointing time at the Anavadia. This is by far the worst hotel and holiday experience that I have ever had.
Our room was very dirty and I have attached pictures. It was covered in dust when we arrived. The bathroom smelled of mould. The sheets and towels regularly had stains on them and smelled musty. The bed, bath and wardrobe had 'personal' hair in them. There was new hair on the mirror after the room was 'cleaned' suggesting that the cleaners do not rinse their cloths out between rooms, We told the hotel staff. The situation was not remedied. A cleaner waited for us to leave our room one day to have a confrontation with us.
I have never made a complaint about a holiday before now; this experience has been horrible. The air conditioning unit was covered in mould and also leaked water on the floor. The hotel did not produce safety documents to prove that it had been routinely checked when our rep asked her to. Our rep wrote a report while we were there agreeing that there were 'cleanliness issues'. In contrast to our room the public areas of the hotel were spotless.
Some members of staff were lovely, especially Julian (night reception) and Flora (day reception).
Meals were basic and repetitive. There was a bowl of fruit put out every meal time for the week until it was rotten.
The pool was small. More than 10 in it at a time was a squeeze.
Many reviews are great. I am glad that others have had a wonderful time there, and that their rooms were clean. Ours however was not.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidaygoer4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolimbia hotels

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Been back two days and have spent them waiting for JET 2 to find my suitcase.

I fully agree with the earlier expressed positive reviews.

I will just list a few random thoughts in no particular order .

On Tuesday 28th there was a large fire.The smoke and light ash were noticeable even in the Anavardia. We were told that was in the area of Petaloudes, the Butterfly valley. Four waterbombing planes were visible from the Anavardia and it seemed to be out by the evening.

A visit to the "Seven Springs" about 15mins drive is well worth a visit. Small taverna on site.

The best and coldest Mythos was at "Sexy Billies" small bar down on the shingle beach. (Courtesy bus from Anavadia).

Nice VAP beer in Anavadia but glasses never chilled.

Feet eating fish...about E10 in center but 5 mins walk from hotel you can get 25 mins for E5 with kids at E1(with adult) and a massage in a mechanical chair thrown in. (You will see it from the train)

There is a tourist train that you can stop outside the hotel. E3.50 for the round trip. Get on,get off in town, get on back to your start point.

Bored in the bar.....try looking at the mountains for "Popeye" the "Scotty Dog" the "Yacht" and if you have a small set of Binoculars the flags on the peaks and sometimes walkers up the mountain.

Lots of narrow streets in Rhodes old town and absolutely no hassle from shopkeepers.

I dont know how big a size ten is but I do know my 40(something) waist just would not get through the shower doors and I had to make do with the hand held in the bath.

Outside costs. We ate out four times. Mixed starters for six of us and main courses. With beer/wine averaged out at E95.

We went to the comedy Hypnotist night but left before the start as kids were falling asleep at 10pm and it had'nt started.

We booked in 2011 and for just over £600 pp for two weeks all in we had good value.

Enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewyorkAlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

me and my wife have visited rhodes 9 times now and the anavadia was great place to stay very centrle if you want tto hire a car and jump about the island its great for lots of good deaches and after lots of hard graft suning yourself all day its great to know when you get back to anavadia mellisa is at the bar till 1 am every night to give realy cold and frosty drinks and abeautifull smile she made the long hot nights cool for us thanks mell c if u read this

Room Tip: try for rooms facing the mountain and monestry as you will see plenty shooting stars if you are thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I returned with my partner from the Anavadia this week and felt the need to review the hotel. What frustrates me most about the other reviews are these people know what they’re booking before booking! Don’t then moan about a hotel after you’ve been! You’ve had every chance to look at reviews and research it before you book. Also, you’re getting what you pay for. Whilst I’ll talk about the hotel next, ultimately whilst it’s very lovely, it’s still classed as a ‘budget’ holiday. You cannot go having only paid 500/600 pounds, expecting the Ritz! Just typical moaning Brits in my opinion.

The hotel.

A quick and stress free arrival and helpful check in.

The rooms and very clean and tidy and decorated nicely. Lovely balcony or terrace on every room! Beds are fine! Their not too hard as some people say.

The pool area again is clean and tidy with plenty of sun beds to go around (and parasols). The pool is fine for the size of the hotel and is never freezing cold.

The food! Whilst it is a buffet style restaurant the food is fine! I cannot believe people moan about the food. There was always something to choose whether it was meat or veggie options. My partner was gluten free and they even specifically went out their way to cook special dinners. It’s also worth noting you’re in Greece! Get some fresh fruit and salads down you! There was plenty of it!!

Drinks in the bar were fine! You have to remember that Greece is a country in a horrible financial situation…not every drink under the sun is going to be free! If a cocktail isn’t on the all inclusive list, just pay 2 Euros for it and help them out!

Location is fine. Lovely 10-15 walk to the town centre and plenty to do there. 10 mins walk to the beaches.

Nothing to say about the staff apart from how helpful and friendly they were. All working hard with a smile the whole trip. The bar maid Melissa (most people didn't even bother to learn her name when she's English) was lovely! Even stayed late one evening to make us drinks on our last night, when we were the only one's left.

It seems the problems with these reviews are they come from people who want everything but are not willing to pay a thing. It really frustrates me when people moan and say ‘a staff member ruined my holiday because they didn’t smile’ or ‘there’s a crack in the wall’, you are in a country where the heat exceeds 40 degrees daily!! There will be a crack or two! When the British public get a grip, everyone will start having the lovely time as we did and yes we’d stay there again.

A great little hotel for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank robert_coello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

stayed at this hotel from the 8th aug untill the22nd, cracking weather, met some great people, (jill,pete and family)hotel was spotless, dinner could be quite bland. as far as the staff, you could not meet nicer people, from mellisa, flora ,kostas,ect,in fact , not one complaint about any one.so dont know where "eyes 1983" is coming from, should have got some more ouzo down them!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank inusbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.4 mi away
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
#15 of 33 in Kolimbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marianna Palace
Marianna Palace
#19 of 33 in Kolimbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.7 mi away
SENTIDO Port Royal Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lardos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#10 of 33 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
11.3 mi away
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#5 of 5 in Koskinou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anavadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anavadia

Property: Hotel Anavadia
Address: Al. Panagoylh Str 20, Kolimbia, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Anavadia 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Anavadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Anavadia Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing