We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN ALFA BEACH HOTEL”
Review of Alfa Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alfa Beach Hotel
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The worst service we ever had. The owner of the hotel unfriendly. Domestic employees not polite and foreigner employees very polite as FTI animatours super. We don't recommend this hotel for family with children and young people looking for fun. Beach access terrible for children and water level very high. We had stray dogs on the beach. On our way to the beach was unpleasant stink. We had all inclusive but we didn't have any bottled water in the fridge and between main meals any food even snack. Every day same food and low quality also drinks. This resort is missing positive spirit and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank batigolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Alfa Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 117 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2011

We booked to stay in the Alfa beach annex which was a special offer. on our accomodation voucher it clearly states this and that the accomdation was 4* AI.
On arrival this was not the case we were told we were staying in the hotel opposite which is called Alfa Hotel. We thought that this would be ok as the hotel was only acroos the road but was told that we could not use any of the facilties in the Alfa beach Hotel. No drinks at the beach bar and no food in the restaurant.We explained and showed our voucher but was told that to be able to stay in the Alfa Beach Hotel and use the facilties that we thought we had already paid would be an extra charge. Deciding that we would do this as the other hotel was not very impressive...we then had to go to a cash point to get cash as they only except cash. We felt that was a bit of a con and since arriving home have put in a complaint.
The hotel itself was ok...staff at the pool side bar came and went so often had to make the walk to the beach bar just for a glass of water...the smell around the hotel was not too good and sittin at the beach bar in the evenings it was unpleasant. The entertainment was in german and was not constant. Food was ok but cold breakfast every day...cheeky that u have to pay for the sunbeds on the beach !!!! Rooms were nice and to be honest they were cleaned everyday.
Make sure when booking this hotel that u r in Alfa Beach and not Alfa Hotel as they will charge u more money when u get there...this did not only happen to us but other people who arrived when we did and after we did.( do not book special offer annex room)
some will tell u that they r sister hotels and others will deny this !!!!
They really do need to clean out the swimming pool as there was so much sand at the bottom and I did not see the pool cleaned once.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank twright1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Not much to do at night except drink cocktails and listen to the sound of the Med lapping the shore, cheer up, your on holiday! If you want a break from the grind with good food and friendly staff in a quiet location by the beach this is for you. Good AI program but you do have to pay for sunbeds and aircon isn't turned on till 1st July. There are shops around the corner if you want a change of scenery and the bus stop is at the front of the hotel to take you to Lindos/Rhodes for 7 euros return. All in it's a good hotel with great staff to help you if you have a problem, Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chr1s8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We were veryyy disappointed to stay in this hotel !!! Everything is BAD !

We have just been back from our holiday in Rhodes and were so regret to take All inclusive package at this hotel. Promise myself "Will NOT go back to this hotel anymore". They claimed to be 4 stars hotel and we paid quite expensive; however, this is not true; we would give only 1.5 stars hotel because of following reasons:

1. The bedroom is veryyyy OLD, dirty and small. The style and decoration is like 1 star hotel. Bedsheet had blood stain. Insects always in the room. The toilet smells extremely bad. Light and water were not working properly. In the bathroom, there is no separation between dry and wet areas; that means when you have shower, the water spreads and it is wet everywhere on the floor.

2. Bad and low quality foods. No taste at all, there were some Greek foods searving but they didn't taste like real Greek. Foods are inedible! Not many choices. Lunch and dinner are exactly the same, and everyday repeated same foods; very boring! We were on All-inclusive and every time felt like we got a punishment when it was time for lunch/ dinner.

3. Drinks at bar are also awful. They tasted like low quality drinks. Even we are on All-Inclusive, we prefer to buy drinks outside.

4. No snacks, ice cream serving during the day, not the real All-Inclusive!

5. Staffs at the reception (2 fat ladies) were not polite and not helpful when asking information. However, the foreign staffs at the restaurant and bar were very good and this is the only one positive point we found in this hotel.

6. Isolated location. Nothing to visit around the hotel, only other hotels. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel BUT buses didn't come regularly or sometime only 1 bus a day for some routes. Sometimes, we were waiting for a bus for 2 hours. Not practical at all for travelling around the island.

7. Beach is very pack and not beautiful. Too crowded with many guests from the hotel and other hotels around. Not soft sandy beach, but it is sand mix with stones, not ideal for children. Have to pay for sun beds. Hotel doesn't provide beach towels.

Sincerely, we felt veryyy disappointed choosing this hotel and lost our holiday time there. We will definitely NEVER go back to this hotel anymore and will not recommend to anyone.

We think the management of the hotel should make an improvement in all aspects and a renovation of this hotel is indeed essential.

Room Tip: NEVER go back anymore to Alfa Beach Hotel,Kolymbia
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AngelLife2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

positive things about hotel food and drink impressive entrance reception area/lounge and friends we met while we where there lesley and tom they made our holiday lesley english and tom german what lovely people thanks for making our holiday
negative things about the hotel humididity in basement area around the indoor pool and our room 119 and all the basement rooms as there is no ventilation complained but no joy asked for differant room but said none available couldnt unpack as wardrobe smelt also couldnt open patio doors as loads of these creepy crawleys so couldnt air the room and the veiw was grass verge and banarna trees and we felt like we where in a dungeon. the hotel only catering for german guest no notices for english guest entertainment in german complained and was told to put up and shut up havnt got problem with german people as found most of the german people where nice to us and its not the germans fault has one german woman complained and they change her room so why not for us she had to wait for new room the next day but at leased she got moved. even if there where no available rooms at the time we checked in the leased they could have done is come and have a look and spray the balcony to get rid of the crawleys and give people free air con in the basement rooms they need air vents to get rid of the humidity its not good for guest staying in them rooms as its health hazard we had late flight and they said to keep room on it was sixty euro's wouldnt pay one euro to stay in 119 we stayed out of the room as much as we could because it depressed us to stay in it so if your english avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charmaine50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I accidentally noticed this hotel a few weeks ago and looked a little into it. The photos were not very clear or abundant and it did not seem all that impressive, in addition to practically all reviews being in German. At this point, I suppose most people would not bother any further and move on. Big Mistake! I noticed that most people were saying good things and decided to ring the hotel and find out a little more info. I was heartened by what I heard and given the very reasonable prices for four of us, we decided to give it a try. What a great choice!
Firstly the photos do not do the hotel justice. when we arrived we were greeted by a rather impressive/imposing entrance. Because our arrival was late (around 10.00p.m) we were told that although the restaurant would be closed some food would be left for us at the bar and very welcome it was too.!! Equally pleasant was our impression of our rooms which were quite spacious, well appointed and had lovely spacious bathrooms full of marble and nice units. The air con was a blessing as it was 30 Celsius at that time...! We had a really good night's sleep in our double bed which actually had a very comfortable mattress.
The following day we were again pleased to note how near to the beach the hotel is and that the pool and all public areas were really tidy and nicely laid out. The breakfast was very good indeed, with plenty of choice and more than enough variety to please most people. Another pleasing thing was that the clientele was quite international, comprising English, Germans, Slovaks, French, Czech and polish people. The pool never actually got uncomfortably busy and there was great camaraderie and pleasantness among everyone. Not once did we witness any arguments or a tense atmosphere. There is a separate children's pool in the specially designated children's Play Area and a big Jacuzzi for adults, Adjacent to the main pool. A few steps down from the pool you have a great Pool Bar with a big sitting area overlooking the beach, which is right in front of you, literally 20 steps and you are in the water! This area soon became everyone's favourite not only because of the lovely views across the sea but also for the great cover and shade offered during some very hot weather...!! We all commented how we loved sitting there sipping a cool drink and just chatting or reading/relaxing totally. We went on an all inclusive basis and despite the boring stuff you sometimes get in these circumstances, I am pleased to report that every day the food was excellent, any time of the day you care to mention!! - Lovely, tasty food, great sweets variety and refreshing fruit, really all anyone could wish for. Incidentally, free drinks, alcoholic and soft, were available from around 9.00 am to 12.00 pm daily!
The Kolymbia village is not that far from Rhodes Town (and a trip there is a good idea) but it is also only about 10 Kms from Lindos and only 2 Kms from the most beautiful sandy beach in the whole of Rhodes, called Chambika! Make sure you go there, as it has to be one of the top beaches I have seen anywhere in Greece..!
As always what makes a hotel good , over and above its fixtures and fittings , is the Staff! They are absolutely marvellous. They genuinely want you to have a good time and will do anything for you. The service is outstanding, always with a smile and you get served in seconds!! The majority of staff in the restaurant and the Four Bars are young trainees from Slovakia, Poland and Russia but you would not guess it from the Level and Quality of service you enjoy. There is a small number of experienced Greek staff who complement an excellent team.! Equally good is a small team of Animators whose skill constantly brings all guests together in a harmonious and enjoyable atmosphere. They organise quizzes, Volley-ball and water polo matches ( in an Olympic size pool located below ground but with masses of natural light) and all sorts of other shows getting people to mingle, laugh and enjoy themselves. By the time we left, we met and got to know many people of different nationalities, had a few laughs and a really great time, as if we went there with a group of close friends.!
This has been for us one of the very best holidays ever, to the point where our 19 year old twin boys said they would happily come here again! They have never said that before... and I think this speaks volumes...!! There is something about the ambience and atmosphere in this hotel that you have to experience, to understand why it is so special.! It may not be a five star super colossus but it is that, in terms of service and quality of time spent there! We would like to thank Ms Kiki Symiakou, the Hotel director for making sure we always had what we needed and for being the main reason why we went there, in the first place!! Georgia and Irene at reception, Tsambika, Georgia, Eleni, the two Veronikas, Natalie, Errikos , Yakob ,Gabriella and everyone who worked so hard for all of the guests. It is not easy to run around endlessly, quickly and with a smile when the temperature ranges from 38 to 42 degrees Celsius, all day long, every single day!!....
Finally, if you fancy going to a Taverna for a change, let me tell you NOT to believe those spreading rumours about how eating out has become so pricey in Greece. With the value of the Euro having taken a serious dive in the last 3 months, there is really great value to be had. The four of us had superbly tasty meal out ,in a Taverna called "KYKLAMINO" at the top of the road that leads out of Kolymbia and Joins the main road to Lindos and / or Rhodes, consisting of 6 starters and 4 mains with 3 beers and 4 cokes and the total bill was £60....!! Yeap, exactly...!! ...Dare I say it???..Try matching this anywhere in the UK....! Not likely...!
Overall this was a really great holiday for us and we might very well go there again in the very near Future!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VAGGYPAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2009

Alfa Beach Club is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. After we complained, we were basically blacklisted by the staff. We ended up staying out/eating out because we felt so unwelcome. The pools are not regularly cleaned--I believe once a week, especially the children's pool by the playground. We first got a room basically in the cellar without any kind of a view. The food was quite bad. The hotel charges you for everything! You'll have to pay to use the beach towels, the chairs and the umbrella on the beach, the baby bed, and the air conditioner that we had to also pay for that never seemed to cool the room. Everything was charged. There is no bar in the reception area. There is no place to drink and relax during meal times. You will have to finish eating and go down to the beach bar to order another drink and have a cigarette. The beach bar is quite a ways down from the rooms, so you end up paying for the drinks yourself at a market. Oh, the pool was quite small. I recommend not staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrankfurtaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolimbia hotels
0.1 mi away
Alfa Hotel
Alfa Hotel
#29 of 34 in Kolimbia
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kolymbia Bay Art Hotel
Kolymbia Bay Art Hotel
#17 of 34 in Kolimbia
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lutania Beach
Lutania Beach
#20 of 34 in Kolimbia
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kolymbia Sun
Kolymbia Sun
#16 of 34 in Kolimbia
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Niriides Hotel
Niriides Hotel
#24 of 34 in Kolimbia
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#13 of 34 in Kolimbia
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfa Beach Hotel

Address: Berlin & Athens Streets, Kolimbia 851 03, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Kolimbia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range: $92 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfa Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alfa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Beach Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing