We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunshine Rhodes Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Ialyssos
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel first 2 weeks of June 2013. The setting is absolutely fantastic, right on the beach. Views from the restaurants are wonderful. Restaurant manager was lovely and extremely helpful, there were 6 of us and he always found us a table. Fabulous sunsets too from both the restaurants. There were 3 generations of us and this was the perfect hotel for the age range we had, starting from 7 to 80! Food was good, not amazing but there was always something. Wine drinkable. Beer good. Soft drinks a little iffy but ok. Ice cream plentiful and kids all liked it. Animation team were terrific day and night. Rio, Rocky, etc. All of them worked very hard. Most of the shows were in-house and I was pleasantly surprised, they were great! Lots of effort and imagination went into them and Rocky's tap dancing was second to none. Lots of activities in the day and even stuff for our token teenager - archery, volleyball, aquaball, etc.
Room was fine. We didn't get a view but it was central to everywhere and we were hardly in it. Had a balcony with late afternoon sun and a view of the tennis courts.
It was 50 Euro to keep the room for half a day when we were leaving so we didn't bother. They have 2 showers by the hairdressing salon so we used those.
Hotel is right in the centre of town. If you turn right out of the hotel and cross over, the second supermarket on the right The President is wonderful. Really nice couple who give you a drink whilst you pay and 10% of the profits goes to Autism.
Further along this road on the same side is Holidays Essential run by Maria and they do excellent trips at the best prices. Way cheaper than the tour operators and bang on time so don't be late. We went to Lindos which is a must. The town is just beautiful and you can take a donkey upto the Acropolis and/or down to the beach afterwards.
Also went to Symi Island which is gorgeous. Another must. Well worth the long boat trip which whizzed by. Symi made me think of Port Merion only it's real!
Maria also does diving trips cheaper than anyone else I found.
Took the local bus to Rhodes old town but a tip is definitely get a taxi. It's about 20mins walk to the bus stop and then the bus is packed, so when you finally get on one you have no seat for 25 mins. Taxi is 12euro each way and worth every euro cent.
I would recommend the Sunshine Hotel for a good value, easy, family holiday in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank andreadavies36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 912 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel last week. Excellent food buffet, with assorted meals every meal and really tasty food and drinks. The rooms are really comfortables and the staff is very very nice! We didnt meet even one person from the staff people that didnt smile, or talk to us. From the reception staff to the cleaning staff. Really nice to have good and happy people around. The animation team is also amazing! Really the best animation team we've met (and we've travelled a lot). They do their work entertaining people, but also caring for them. Always asking if everythings okay, if we're having a great time, what they could do to make it better. Well, just very awesome! We're very satisfied. Thank you so much fo making our vacations great!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fernanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Having stayed on many Greek islands in everything from a 2*studio to a 5* hotel this hotel is 3*. Even the taxi driver who brought us to the hotel said, after a long pause," it is OKish - you could do a lot better for the same cost".
We arrived late in the evening and were disgusted when we went to our bathroom to find a filthy unflushed toilet and no soap in the soap dispenser holder (luckily we always carry a small bar of our own). The room was like an oven and we thought the A/C wasn't working. When we brought up these issues at reception the next morning we were treated as if we had made the whole thing up. We were amazed to be told that the A/C is not switched on until June - hardly a 4* standard (our room temperature never went below 25 C all week which made sleeping difficult). Our room did get a decent clean later that day, but standards fell again gradually over the week we were there.
A few days later we woke up bitten to pieces with mosquito bites. The little beasties seemed to be originating from the bathroom ceiling. We asked reception if the bathroom could be sprayed with insecticide. Their response was that "it is that time of year!" However the receptionist put the issue on her list. We went out for the day and on out return found even more mozzies in the bathroom and it was obvious that it had not been sprayed. In the end we just went to bed each night smothered in mozzie repellent!
It was my partners birthday while we were there and a lovely plate of fruit, a bottle of wine, plates glasses and napkins were delivered to the room. However when we left the hotel several days later the dirty plates and glasses were still there.
Prior to our arrival we had emailed the hotel to ask for a quiet room and if possible an upgrade to a superior seaview room. We got no response, but did get a nice 3rd floor room in Block 5 (the hotel doesn't mention in its brochure that there are little 2 person lifts in block 5 and maybe in other blocks).When we asked at reception we were told rudely that we had got what we had asked for. When we mentioned the upgrade to the superior room she said we were in one already (which we weren't) and that was all they had. It would appear that the superior seaview rooms are in Blocks 1and 2.
My last gripe is about the Mamma Mia restaurant. We went there for a meal one night . There was an excellent meze starter but the main course souvlaki was let down by over cooked meat. Our table was near a window and we notices several armies of ants over the window ledge and crawling up the walls- not exactly good hygiene and could easily have been remedied by some ant powder at their source ( we got some bites on our feet) -we never saw armies of ants like that anywhere else on the complex.
The food in the main buffet was excellent. There were always lots of fresh salads, live cooking and a good choice of food at all meals. We generally ate at the Taverna at lunch time as we wanted a lighter meal then. The salads were always excellent and varied each day and the hot food good quality. The buffet should have a "Kids Rule" over the door .Much as we like kids, tiny tots were let run rampage throughout the dining room and buffet , screaming their heads off and handling food, with the parents oblivious to the danger their children were in - a quiet peaceful meal didn't exist no matter what time we went. Definitely the fault of the parents and not the hotel.
The Animation Team seemed excellent and weren't pushy. We didn't go to their shows (but saw a rehearsal for one , which was good) as I had had a major operation a few weeks previously and found I was too tired to wait for the 21.30. start. They did a wonderful job with the kids
The outdoor areas were excellent with beautifully clean pools. We didn't use them much as they were quite chilly. There was never a problem getting a lounger- always plenty to spare ( no need to get up at 7am!). We generally sat at the smaller relax pool, which tended to be quieter ( the pool bar there wasn't open so it might be noisier in high season if the bar was open). There are good toilet and shower facilities at it.
I had a massage in the "spa" facility -it was excellent. My partner had the dry skin on his feet "nibbled" by fish - they did such a good job he went back a second time!
When you check out there is no secure room to put your luggage if you have a late flight. You have to put your luggage in an open pergola area in front of the hotel - a large sign over it saying "The hotel accepts no responsibility for any belongings left there" - you don't have any alternative. This area is quite near the main gate and there is a security guard so hopefully your cases are reasonably secure.

Room Tip: A seaview room on a higher floor in block 5. A little further from reception and the buffet but quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milliemax64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

just arrived home from this hotel its lovely and in a great position. The all-inclusive is very good value and the food and drink excellent. Just on the doorstep is a lovely town lalyssos which has lots of shops and low key bars if you like to have a wander in the evening Varachios is one which is a short walk from the hotel drinks very reasonable as are all of them in the town.The service in the hotel is very good so are the staff who work very hard to make your holiday enjoyable. 10/10

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paul596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

this hotel is very good the beds are comfy and the rooms are modern and clean. the animation team are friendly and funny also the service is in the hotel is at top standards. in the restaurant the food is nice and every morning they do fresh pancakes and eggs there is a wide range of foods in the night time as well . the quality and the soft drinks could be improved and the range is not very good and i would of liked better cups there is an archery place a tennis place a biking place a rifle shooting place and a DJ box where all the animation work i loved it xxx

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgirl1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I have just arrived home from this lovely Hotel and a lovely time we had too. I always try to be honest with my reviews so I will get the niggles out of the way first, and they are just niggles and personal views not complaints. The air conditioning was not working so a couple of nights were very uncomfortable, we were told that the air conditioning is not turned on until June, So we slept with the patio doors open and the first night we did this we were bit to pieces by mosquito and so were other guests, so take plenty of repellant if you visit in May. We were in a room in the second block over looking the pool bar to the rear was the theatre and on one occasion there was noise from both areas which was deafening and we couldnt go to sleep until the early hours, however when the entertainment was from one area only either the pool bar or the theatre the noise was acceptable and enjoyable when sat on the balcony over looking the pool bar. You would only be affected by noise if you was in blocks 1 & 2. And lastly there is no free wi-if but you can purchase from reception.
The good bits - The animation team are wonderful with the children and work very hard to entertain everyone during the evening, my husband and I didn't travel with children yet the entertainment team took time out to chat and were all very pleasant.
The hotel is very clean throughout , there is no rubbish anywhere to be seen and during the day someone walks around the pool just in case you haven't used one of the ample bins provided but most guests use them so this makes the pool area spotless. The restaurant is lovely and clean and there is plenty of choice with lovely fresh salads, fruit, fresh fish and fresh bread and lovely deserts, the staff are excellent and very friendly you should not have any difficulty in finding something to eat.
Our room was lovely , very spacious , clean and over looked the pool with a sea view, there was a fridge and a modern Samsung flat screened tv with English tv channels. The bathroom was small but adequate ,however the shower door was not correctly sized so water ended up on the bathroom floor but there was an harmer drain which seemed to accommodate the overspill. Our bed was made every day and changed at least once during our stay with clean towels provided every day.Talking of towels do not fill your case with beach towels as they are provided by the hotel.
The hotel is situated right on the beach and within minutes you are in the village. Overhaul a very pleasant stay we would definitely return. Not a 4 star when compared to Turkey 4 Star but lovely place to stay would recommend. In the village you will find plenty of restaurants go visit the sports bar food is lovely and plentiful at a very good price.

Room Tip: Go -you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank missblowfuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a week at this hotel. It was very good value for money, as we had two single rooms which in actual fact were double rooms. It is advertised as 4 star, but remember you are in Greece. Having said this the rooms were very clean and comfortable, they could do with an update but the deal we got was amazing value.
Food was fine and lots of choice ( lovely greek yoghurt and feta cheese), drinks were all local brands but OK. Position of hotel was amazing right on the beach, lovely pools, pool bar and excellent snack bar. Staff were very hard working and friendly, from reception;bar staff; waiters in the restaurant's; and the cleaners who did an excellent job.
Lots of entertainment for young children, which of course we did not want, but the team were not intrusive. There were very few English people there, but that was fine.
Some aircraft noise, but that did not bother us, and it was by no means excessive.
We had a lovely relaxing holiday which is just what we wanted. If you want a value for money break, then this is it!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for garden view. I think some of the rooms have been updated, but even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.6 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,714 reviews
0.8 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,791 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dodeca Sea Resort
Dodeca Sea Resort
#22 of 31 in Ialyssos
842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Sun Beach Resort Complex
#3 of 31 in Ialyssos
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Rhodes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Rhodes Hotel

Address: 1 Platia Rapti, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ialyssos
#5 Spa Hotel in Ialyssos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range: $89 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Rhodes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 1 minute walk from the beach. 4-star Sunshine Rhodes is situated on the sandy pebbled beach in the ancient town of Ialyssos, 7 km from the city of Rhodes. Guests have access to a private beach, 3 pools and a tennis court. The Rhodes Sunshine offers air-conditioned, elegant rooms, some of which enjoy sea views. Each is equipped with a bathroom with hairdryer. In-room facilities include a mini fridge and satellite TV. Wi-Fi access is provided upon charge. Dionissos Restaurant serves breakfast and lunch buffets. Mamma Mia Restaurant serves Italian cuisine and the Sunshine Bars serve cocktails and juices. Mountain bikes are available to rent and aerobics classes are provided. Younger guests can have fun in the children’s pool or the playground. Butterfly Valley is 16 km away. Diagoras Rhodes International Airport is at 6 km. Free private parking is possible on site. Families particularly like the location — they rated it 8 for a stay with kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunshine Rhodes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Vacation Club Rhodes Hotel Ialyssos
Sunshine Vacation Hotel
Holiday Sunshine
Sunshine Rhodes Hotel Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing