We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel and amazing animation team!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunshine Rhodes Hotel
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My friend and I have just arrived back today and we both had a really wonderful all inclusive holiday. I don't usually write reviews but felt that this hotel Cant understand some of the previous poor reviews as our own experience was first class.
Our room was very nice with comfortable beds and pillows. It was well maintained and clean. We had a problem on arrival with air conditioning but once I had contacted reception they were onto it immediately and we were offered another room and was pleased with alternative. The staff reacted swiftly and the issue was resolved. We understood that in a big establishment things can break down same as if you were at home.
The location could not have been better it was right on the beach and towels and loungers were available free. Sun loungers were plentiful around the pools and on the beach but as in many hotels its first come first served. We managed to get loungers everyday.
The food for all meals was excellent with a huge variety on offer with salad bar, pasta bar , grill,hot food choices, sweets, Fresh fruits like figs, pineapple, melon, grapefruit as well as usual oranges and apples, cheeses , ice cream and much more we were amazed at the choice,
Drinks were freely available with meals wine, beer and soft drinks on tap as well as all the usual drinks and cocktails at the pool bar where the staff get to know the guests and even remember what you like!. Again this area was managed well and kept clean with staff making regular checks to ensure no rubbish was left hanging around.
The staff were attentive and table cleared quickly and areas kept clean.

By far the thing that made this holiday memorable for us was the Animation Team. They worked tirelessly all day and evening long to ensure that guests were entertained and they were without doubt absolutely OUTSTANDING!. Although we only joined in a couple of the activities we enjoyed the theatre shows, Disco Inferno, Lord of the Dance and Abba nights and loved watching the darts and taking part in the music quiz....ooozo ooozo ooozo !!! (Team manager Nemo may change the drink in the future though) ha ha ha . Every member of the animation team made contact with us and ensured we joined in but did not push if we preferred not to, I don't usually join in but they made it so much fun I am so glad I did. I promise you will come away humming and dancing to the music they play and get you up dancing to!. Thank you guys!!!!

Room Tip: second block is ideally located near to the pool and main
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank toots111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 913 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

On arrival at the hotel you really do think "are we in the right place" as it is absolutely stunning and far surpasses any expectations, based on how much it costs. The grounds of the hotel are beautifully manicured and maintained to a high standard and the pool areas are so clean and tidy. The bars are well stocked and offer plentiful choice and the staff are helpful and friendly. The hotel has 3 restaurants, the main buffet, zorbas taverna and mamma mias. All beautiful. The food is exceptional with a varied choice. My boyfriend has a trick tummy so I packed lots of indigestion and 'other' kinds of tummy remedies and didn't need to use any of them. That's high praise indeed! The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed with plenty storage. The bathroom is huge! There is aircon and a complimentary safe which is very handy. The animation team try to involve you but if you don't want to partake, just kindly decline and they leave you be. There is entertainment on every night, ranging from a Greek night to a film quiz with cabaret and shows in between. There is a well stocked supermarket, a gift shop, hairdressers, internet room, mountain bike rental, archery, tennis, football, massage, sauna, tv lounge, air hockey, table tennis, car hire, watersports, complimentary towel station, all on site! The hotel is right on the beach which, granted, isn't the most spectacular in the world as it is mostly pebble and shingle but it is beautifully clean with crystal clear water and stunning views over to the Turkish coast with the headland of Rhodes town to the right of the vista. The resort of Ialyssos is a five minute stroll and is quite small and quaint with just enough to keep you occupied on a post evening meal stroll. There is a small motortrain which stops outside the hotel on the hour which takes you through the resort and through to the ancient city. It is 5 euros pp and I really do recommend it. All in all I would fully recommend this hotel. My boyfriend and I booked a week for May and we both really wished we had booked for a fortnight. We enjoyed it so much and told my family how wonderful it was that my parents have now booked and we are going back 29th September! Book this hotel, you won't regret it

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank birdo41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Booked over 5 months ago for 2 weeks in a superior sea view room. Cancelled by hotel with less than a week to go before arriving. Spoke to Front of House Manager who stated he was an expert in maximising hotel profits therefore they overbook rooms. Also he said it was unfortunate that he had to cancel mainly the British bookings (we had paid the least?) We noticed the Union Flag had been removed from the numerous flags outside the hotel.

Make your own mind up if it worth risking booking. If you get a good deal you are likely to be cancelled!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
6  Thank Realityracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Me and my family were here for one week and we liked it. Good food, good weather and good staff. We also enjoyed the activities that found place at the hotel as well, especially for the kids. The animation team was also quite good, Rio, John and the Swedish girl were our favorites.
The shows were average, but the kids recognized the kids-disco routines from our vacation in Mexico which was fun. The rooms were good but the water were missing one day and the AC not working that well. But over-all it was very good and we can not wait until we come back in August.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helge J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I was staying in Sunshine Vacation Club Hotel in Rhodes in August 2011.
Hotel provides good standard of services. Large selection of food was available in restaurants, taverna and bars. You can rest by the sea on a private beach or by one of 3 swimming pools. There is only an "all inclusive" option, so there are no additional fees (also beach towels, as well as sunbeds were for free, which is not always provided in other hotels).
For those who prefere spending time in a hotel, there is reach animation program - fitness, gym in the open air, team games during the day, as well as theater, greek dance show, games etc. in the evening. There is also a lot to do for children - animators take really good care of them.

If you are going to stay in the hotel, you should equip yourself with swimming shoes, as the beach is stony and it is not a good idea to go barefoot into the sea (you can slip on the rocks).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank magosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel for a week only, and wish we have had more time in it. Superb Family Suits in Block 6 with see view. Food extraordinary, with several restaurants by the pool side and a fabulous food choice. Plenty of entertainment. Great Location.The only down side is that is always very windy. Recommended 100 % but not many British tourists. Mostly Swiss, Dutch & German.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lily9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I really dont understand how this place has any good reviews. english not catered for at all. the germans an russians ran the place. the food was cold and gave us upset stomachs, we were sick for 2 days an had to go to the chemist. hotel generally filthy and room wasnt fit to be occupied. sheets smelt of sweat an bedding all stained,the aircon didnt work and bathroom not cleaned an had a big leak.the electrical sockets were hanging off the wall and mould surrounded the air conditioning unit. Basically was a horrible week and i have never been so glad to see manchester airport. even the filthiest council estates in mcr would make better holiday complexes than this dump. to top it all off even thomas cook didnt want to do anythin about it an neither did the management. dont waste your money on this place

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisd30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.8 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 32 in Ialyssos
1,715 reviews
2.4 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Di Mare Luxury Suites
Villa Di Mare Luxury Suites
#56 of 126 in Rhodes Town
160 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#23 of 126 in Rhodes Town
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Sun Beach Resort Complex
#3 of 32 in Ialyssos
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Rhodes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Rhodes Hotel

Address: 1 Platia Rapti, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ialyssos
#5 Spa Hotel in Ialyssos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range: $92 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Rhodes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 1 minute walk from the beach. 4-star Sunshine Rhodes is situated on the sandy pebbled beach in the ancient town of Ialyssos, 7 km from the city of Rhodes. Guests have access to a private beach, 3 pools and a tennis court. The Rhodes Sunshine offers air-conditioned, elegant rooms, some of which enjoy sea views. Each is equipped with a bathroom with hairdryer. In-room facilities include a mini fridge and satellite TV. Wi-Fi access is provided upon charge. Dionissos Restaurant serves breakfast and lunch buffets. Mamma Mia Restaurant serves Italian cuisine and the Sunshine Bars serve cocktails and juices. Mountain bikes are available to rent and aerobics classes are provided. Younger guests can have fun in the children’s pool or the playground. Butterfly Valley is 16 km away. Diagoras Rhodes International Airport is at 6 km. Free private parking is possible on site. Families particularly like the location — they rated it 8 for a stay with kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sunshine Rhodes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Vacation Club Rhodes Hotel Ialyssos
Sunshine Vacation Hotel
Holiday Sunshine
Sunshine Rhodes Hotel Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing