We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family run place”
Review of Paleos Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paleos Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I would highly recommend the Paleos apartments. The family who run the place couldn't do enough for you including getting you the best deal on car hire and organising the airport transfer. They also gave advice on the best places and beaches to visit in the area. The apartment and pool were very clean and you could always get a sun bed. The walk into town was approximately 15 minutes walk away which after dinner was a good thing to work off some of those calories just consumed! Ialyssos is a good base as its not far from Rhodes town, only 20 minutes on the bus and the bus stop is just across the road from the apartments. Hire quad bikes if you can. At 45€ per day it was well worth it. My only criticism, and it is a minor one, was that there was no washing up liquid, cloth or tea towel in the kitchen which I would deem necessary if you are in a self catering apartment. Overall a fantastic stay in a great place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millie2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 550 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

I came for fourteen sleeps with my Mam. We had room number twenty two and it was a nice room near the pool. I made friends on holiday, Alario and Ada. We had fun in the pool and liked it when Maria splashed us with water. She likes Angry Birds like me so I let have her my Angry birds t-shirt because she made me nice pancakes. She is nice and my Mam said she liked to talk to her. I liked everyone but Maria was my favourite. I liked to play in the park in the bar and my Mam would drink wine and I would play with my friends. We went to Rhodes and I liked the submarine boat. They had a diver and he showed us fish underneath the sea. We stayed at Lindos and I liked the sea and the sand and we had pizza on a night which was the best pizza ever. We went to a Greek night and I was tired but I liked the fire and the fireworks, my Mam wanted me to dance but we didn't so I had the iPad and she drank wine.

My Mam said we will go back to see Maria and everyone as we had a lovely time and I liked the banana tree near the pool, the bananas were still growing so I when I come back I hope they have grown. I don't want to eat them as I don't like bananas. I would like to see how big they get. My Mam said to say the fresh orange was the best in Rhodes and she liked the food but I liked the crisps the best.

I was sad when we had to leave and I miss my friends but I have to go to school as I'm in year 3 now and my Mam said she would go to jail if I stay off any more.

Thank you for the pancakes Maria and hope you don't get angry.

Love from Antonio age 7 and my Mam Jules. Xxx

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank JulesAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Anyone who is about to read this review needs to understand that I am not easily pleased so what you read is the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth!!
I stayed here for one week...first impressions are super. Beautiful LARGE apartment, very clean, more than basic but quite minimalistic. Lovely fitted kitchen, dining table, fridge-freezer etc. Quality fitted bathroom complete with glass shower cubicle...yes! Really...in Greece!!
Everywhere around the place is kept well...pool etc
There's a newly built glass entrance foyer and overall the place looks great.
I wasn't mad about the food...a bit bland and not 'Greek' enough for me. However, the ambience around the outside bar is second to none I've come across before on my travels. This is down to the exhaustingly hard work of Giannis, the owner's son. He scurries around endlessly and nothing is too much trouble and he remembers much about you very quickly. (His sister, Maria, runs the daily pool bar.)
The downside for me was the distance to the nearest supermarket and the beach. I like fresh rolls in a morning but don't always want to pay hotel prices. The beach is full of large pebbles and very uncomfortable to lie or walk on.
The main point about these apartments is that dozens of people return year after year so the owners are obviously doing lots right. I never return to a place as there's too much to see in the world....for The Paleos apartments, I may well change my mind.
Thanks to all the staff for a fantastic holiday......in the words of Arnie S....'I'll be back....'

Room Tip: Rooms nearest to the pool are best for those with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 days,the apartment was cleaned properly,the food served at the pool was very average,8 Euro's a day for airconditoner,total rip off,the way the apartment was designed,the room where the kitchen was situated had no aircon and you had no choice but to hire the aircon which was situated in the main bedroom and the doors had to all be left open therefore no privacy.Our travel agency told us that the 2nd day would be cheaper as agreed with the owners and because we left Sunday the owners would call us and confirm pricing and refund us once they spoke to the travel agent,still waiting.We also exchanged dollars for euro's,he gave me the exchange rate which did not sound right,still waiting for that call as well.
Will never go there again and will advise people not to go there.We went to the Sun Beach resort there after,the best service etc,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Panagiotis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just back from a week staying in Paleos Aparts as a family with 2 and 4 yr old.

Get your own taxi from the airport rather than arrange transfers - costs 14 Euros (set fare) and taxis right outside all the time. Hotel less than 10 mins drive from airport. There is some noise from planes but our kids found it interesting rather than annoying. The aparts are slightly off the flight path rather than the rest of the resort which is directly on it.

Lovely apartments with 2 separate rooms (which isn't made clear - so it was a bonus). Full fridge-freezer in the kitchen. Pool was lovely and quiet, never had to worry about sunbeds which was a major plus. Great chilled out atmosphere. Be aware that it is about a 15 mins walk into town though or 7 Euros in a taxi (5 Euros back).

Tips:
Major Supermarket - about 5 mins walk. Turn left from aparts and is on opposite side of the road. Get your icecreams here and save a fortune.

Walking into town - Not pleasant if you walk down the major road that runs past the front of the hotel. Alternative route: Turn left from aparts until you reach the pharmacy, turn left down there and keep going through the grounds of Ialyssos Bay Hotel until you hit the beach. Turn right there and you start hitting the restaurants nearly right away. A bit quicker and much nicer.

Restaurants - Cheapest with good food - Greekland - big portions several euros cheaper than the others with entertainment from 9pm and 3 Euro Cocktails. Alkonis sports bar (opposite) also good with big portions. Stefanos was another favourite (not far from Ialyssos Bay Hotel). Meals generally cost about 8 Euros though Greekland start at 5 Euros. Beers range from 2 Euros (1 bar) to 3.50 Euros. If you eat at Paleos the food is nice, though you don't get any trimmings with it.

I would recommend this hotel. The pool being so nice and relaxed was worth the trade off of being further out of town. Also the breeze on this side of the island is much more pleasant than if you go to a resort on the Lindos side.

Room Tip: Doesn't really matter. Small complex and all the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gunner7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Totally enjoyed our holiday at Paleos Apartments. The place and the apartment was spot on. The family and staff were efficient and friendly at all times. The apartment and pool were very clean. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
4  Thank MGilly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our first visit to Rhodes as a family and what a fantastic holiday it was. We arrived in the evening to be greeted by Yannis. He got us checked in and we then headed back downstairs to the restaurant for some food. We immediately felt at home and Yannis was happy to answer any questions we had. Other people at the bar were very chatty and welcoming too.
The apartment was clean and spacious and had plenty of storage space. The blinds were an absolute godsend and kept out the light brilliantly. What a great touch!
Maria made herself known to us the following morning and went out of her way to chat to our boys aged 5 and 6. The pool was brilliant and the small shallow section was just perfect for small children. We spent many days hanging around the pool and happily chatted with other families. The hotel is just the right size and we felt safe and comfortable all the time. It was full but never felt too busy or overcrowded.
We hired a car for a few days (Maria sorted this out for us) and we visited Lindos, Tsambika beach and the butterfly valley which was stunning! We also took a bus into Rhodes town. The bus stop is just across the road and is very cheap and runs frequently. We also went to the local water park at the Blue Bay hotel. Not very big but good for young kids who want to splash about in the water fountains and play on the pirate ship.
Mama and Maria serve breakfast in the pool bar (Mama makes a great bacon roll!!) and lunch and snacks throughout the day. We made use of this but also went to the local supermarket and stocked up so we could have lunch in the apartment to cool down when the sun got too much!
In the evenings we ate at the restaurant quite a lot and really enjoyed the fabulous complimentary entrees that we were presented with each time. Delicious! The food was good and Mike was always around to chat and make a fuss of the boys who were often found playing in the small playground. This kept them happy for ages. Yannis makes a good selection of tasty cocktails at the bar too!
We ate out locally some evenings and would recommend Whispers and in particular Maestro where you can sit and look out onto the beach and watch the sunset. We went there several times and ate incredible local dishes and had brilliant service. Definitely worth a visit.
Overall this holiday was excellent. The family run business feels like a home from home and because the other people staying there were so friendly it was a shame to leave. We feel we have found a little gem and will definitely be returning. Thank you for a great 11 days! Louise, Martin, Finley and Jude

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LouiseScarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.3 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Area Blue Beach Hotel
Area Blue Beach Hotel
#23 of 31 in Ialyssos
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,933 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#13 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,243 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunday Hotel
Sunday Hotel
#43 of 127 in Rhodes Town
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paleos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paleos Apartments

Address: 20 Leoforos Iraklidon, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Ialyssos
Price Range: $29 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paleos Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paleos Apartments rests just 700 metres from Ialyssos Beach, near the ancient town of Ialyssos, and 8 km away from the Medieval Town of Rhodes (a UNESCO world heritage site). Guests to the family-run Paleos Apartments can enjoy delicious meals and plenty of sun and relaxation by the swimming pool. Situated with direct access to shops, restaurants and cafeterias, this delightful 4-star complex has 30 apartments equipped with everything needed for a relaxing holiday. The Paleos Apartments restaurant serves homemade Greek specialties and BBQ nights are also organized. The bar serves drinks and cocktails, and features a large TV screen. Paleos Apartments is close to a number of attractions and places of interest such as the Acropolis of Rhodes, Grand Master Palace, Modern Art Gallery, Casino, and Ixia area-conferences halls. Rhodes Airport is at 4 km. Sports, games and activities include a pool for children, pool table, children's playground, video games. Additionally the reception lobby and friendly staff can take care of currency exchange, safe deposit box hire, free Wi-Fi Internet access and free private on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paleos Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paleos Apartments Hotel Ialyssos
Paleos Apartments Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing