We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good cheap holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunland Hotel
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good cheap holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just returned from the Sunland hotel flight was 4.5 hours late so did not arrive till early hours got a taxi and arrived 10 min. later. The night porter booked my daughter 2 grandchildren and myself in.
The room(902) was on the 3rd floor was clean and fresh. We had to go to bay blue for all meals breakfast my family thought was rubbish all the others were very good and the snacks very good the beer was weak but tasty only gin vodka and oozo on the all inclusive The staff on the whole were very cheerful and helpful. The Bay Bluewas very packed and entertainment great for the kids.
I was glad I was booked into our hotel as the pools were not as packed the grandchildren loved them but the Bay Blue pool was packed also there was a small water shared by both hotels kids(and adults loved)
It was a good experience and my daughter said she would love to go again. I would go again
I did read the reviews and was nervous but I don't know what people expect for the price.
I paid £1000 from Thomas Cook for 2 adults and 2 children for all inclusive so I can't complain
I would rate 7.5 out of 10
Don't book transfers only 14-15 euro by taxi also if you look on site you will see all fares from airport in Rhodes and they are plentiful
Travelled11 June-18 June

Room Tip: 3rd floor room 902 was large the block above reception are smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    34
    20
    29
See reviews for
68
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Sunland is a fab hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the main Blue Bay hotel. Meals are served in the blue bay and the food is the same every day with hardly anything for the kids. The manager of the hotels is a very rude man who has no time for his staff or guests staying on the hotels. all the other staff are really nice and the animation team are fantastic

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

After booking a very reasonably priced 11 night all inclusive trip to the Sunland Hotel, we can't complain too much as we were never going to get 5* luxury! We didn't, however, expect to be greeted by a room adjoining another with a wooden door and keyhole you could see your neighbours through! (Tip #1 avoid room 618!)

We complained at our own reception but were sent to the Blue Bay where after a while staff agreed we could be moved. (Tip #2, room 725 was as good as we could expect for our budget with a balcony overlooking the pool.)

The Sunland itself is dated and tired but small / low-cost improvements such as repairing or removing the pool's bridge so you had a nice view would make all the difference. Luckily we had visited Blue Bay over the road last year when in Rhodes and knew the bars, meals, etc there were much better. We therefore spent our whole holiday at Blue Bay's pools, bars, beach plus the waterpark (when it was open) and only slept at Sunland.

The night before we left we heard guests talking about the second pool at Sunland which we'd not even seen! (Tip #3 explore the gardens to find a much nicer pool and kids play area.)

Rhodes is a beautiful island with beautiful weather and your hotel is simply a place to rest your head overnight. Don't let the bad reviews on here put you off if you are looking for a cheap holiday to a gorgeous island. (Tip #4 hire a car! Only 25 euros for a day from the main hotel and we did over 220km for 15 euros of fuel).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haswalts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ialyssos hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We booked all inclusive for a week of rest. On arrival around lunch time, we had to check in at the Blue Bay Hotel and then were walked around the "closed" water park as in the pictures for the Blue Bay to find a building that was in desperate need of a face lift This was the Sunland. The reception/lounge area had a non painted ceiling and Roman blinds falling down, it was tired and dated. The walk ways to the "up-Graded room" were in need of refurbishing and a good clean and had rubbish being blown around.
The room was dirty with greasy fingerprints all over the doors & very old TV, The bedside table still had spots of cream and make-up on and the bed cover when pulled back revealed dirty sheets that could not have been changed from the last guests. When we complained to the reception we found another family doing the same and were told that he hears the same complaints "all the time" We moved to another hotel that was clean.
This is the advert we responded to: "Sunland Hotel is a newly renovated building that is located only 300m from Blue Bay Hotel. Although it belongs to the Blue Bay Resort Complex, it is an "autonomous" unit, with its own restaurant, bars, pools, gardens and entertainment programme." But we were told we had to go to the Blue Bay for all meals and entertainment

Room Tip: Just don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolNight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Well i was initially aprehensive after reading some of the reviews.
How wrong they were, the hotel was clean and staff friendly and helpful... especiallly Taisha the receptionist.
The rooms were cleaned daily and the staff work very hard. The food was repeated, but a lot of variety so something for everyone. The entertainment not great but Dex and Billy work very hard to keep the kids amused.Sunland is a smaller hotel alongside the bigger Blue bay, i preferred the sunland as on many occasions we had the front pool to ourselves.
Be careful if hiring a bike on the island, we did and were not told that helmets were law, as 98% dont wear them, and the hirer did not warn us.
All in all a great holiday, dont be worried, just enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 742julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

stayed at the sunland and had a great room overlooking the pool the room was basic but clean and the staff friendly if you and your mrs want a quet holiday this place is for you. TIP; if you want a hot shower have one no later than 4;30pm after that its cold if you are going to book ask not to be put in a ground floor room they are very dark and no sun gets to them. Unfortunately you have to eat at the blue bay the food was not good and mealtimes was a battleground if you were lucky enough to get a table you had to fight your way against the many ignorant germans and russians. Around the complex roams dogs these animals are riddled with fleas and at night they sleep on the comfy sofas that are around the cocktail bar in the complex this to me is totally out of order and i complained to the manager who just shrugged and said "what can i do"? the beach a bit gritty with stones and you have to pay 3 euros each a day for a sunbed dont bother paying for wifi as you can go just down the road to the bars and get it for free . sadly the immediate area does not have that much of a choice of bars/restaurants i felt a little too secluded although you can go to the main town for around 9 euros but that can mount up over a week all in all i really enjoyed the sunland but having to share food/entertainment with the blue bay let it down

Room Tip: dont have a ground floor room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dillyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
epsom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have been there now, and still love it. We were given a better room this time and the children had their own room. It is safe and secure for them.

The hotel is linked to the Blue Bay hotel but is quieter than the main hotel, given you the option of the lively entertainment, but being able to escape to the quet hotel at the end of it.

We had to go to the restaurant at the hotel this time as the Sunland one was being renovated. The staff are lovely there, and so helpful.

We hired a car from the hotel this time and went travelling more. This places get better each time we go. Quite a few Russians there which unfortunately made things a little unfriendly at time as the children just push in when queuing for both food and drinks.

The entertainment staff are brilliant, and the greek night is worth the extra money. It was lovely being able to spend our 9th wedding anniversary there and will definately be going back with the kids again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ialyssos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terinikos
Hotel Terinikos
#13 of 32 in Ialyssos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Niki Hotel Apartments
Niki Hotel Apartments
#15 of 19 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trianta Hotel Apartments
Trianta Hotel Apartments
#2 of 19 in Ialyssos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Graziella Apartments
Graziella Apartments
#13 of 19 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antomar Apartments And Studios
0.4 mi away
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Sun Beach Resort Complex
#4 of 32 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunland Hotel

Property: Sunland Hotel
Address: Ialyssos Beach, Ialyssos 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ialyssos
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunland Apartments Rhodes
Sunland Apartments Hotel Rhodes
Sunland Hotel Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing