We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice relaxing holiday(with issues at the blue bay)”
Review of Sunland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunland Hotel
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Ialyssos
Reviewed September 27, 2013

stayed at the sunland and had a great room overlooking the pool the room was basic but clean and the staff friendly if you and your mrs want a quet holiday this place is for you. TIP; if you want a hot shower have one no later than 4;30pm after that its cold if you are going to book ask not to be put in a ground floor room they are very dark and no sun gets to them. Unfortunately you have to eat at the blue bay the food was not good and mealtimes was a battleground if you were lucky enough to get a table you had to fight your way against the many ignorant germans and russians. Around the complex roams dogs these animals are riddled with fleas and at night they sleep on the comfy sofas that are around the cocktail bar in the complex this to me is totally out of order and i complained to the manager who just shrugged and said "what can i do"? the beach a bit gritty with stones and you have to pay 3 euros each a day for a sunbed dont bother paying for wifi as you can go just down the road to the bars and get it for free . sadly the immediate area does not have that much of a choice of bars/restaurants i felt a little too secluded although you can go to the main town for around 9 euros but that can mount up over a week all in all i really enjoyed the sunland but having to share food/entertainment with the blue bay let it down

Room Tip: dont have a ground floor room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dillyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 115 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have been there now, and still love it. We were given a better room this time and the children had their own room. It is safe and secure for them.

The hotel is linked to the Blue Bay hotel but is quieter than the main hotel, given you the option of the lively entertainment, but being able to escape to the quet hotel at the end of it.

We had to go to the restaurant at the hotel this time as the Sunland one was being renovated. The staff are lovely there, and so helpful.

We hired a car from the hotel this time and went travelling more. This places get better each time we go. Quite a few Russians there which unfortunately made things a little unfriendly at time as the children just push in when queuing for both food and drinks.

The entertainment staff are brilliant, and the greek night is worth the extra money. It was lovely being able to spend our 9th wedding anniversary there and will definately be going back with the kids again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Sunland is basic but clean, pools were good, waterpark was very good, i enjoyed my stay and i was there with my two teenage children and my mother, food was ok, but they did repeat the same menu most days but there was always something for even the fussiest of eaters, i would go back, only grumble is they said laundrette on site, so we packed allowing for this so a bit disappointed to find out there wasnt, lesson learnt !! all in all for price was a good place to stay

Room Tip: 16 euros by taxi to Rhodes old town, bus stop is a good walk from hotel,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

we just came back from an 11 night holiday. I went with my partner and two children age 2 and 6.
we all had an amazing time!
the sunland is one of 3 hotels on the complex with a small waterpark based in the middle.
all meals are taken at the blue bay which i felt was alot better as the sunland was kept clean tidy and quiet
out of all 3 hotels the sunland although being the smallest for us and some other holiday makers was the best. we stayed in a family room which was very nice with two bedrooms.
the entertainment was very good starting with a mini disco then the adult entertainment.
i would say get to breakfast for 8am lunch at 12.30 and dinner for 6.45 to make sure you dont have to Que. and then get a seat at the entertainment.
if you drive i recommend hiring a car to drive around the island, its very beautiful and quite alot to see and do.
defiantly invest in beach shoes as the pebbles can be a little annoying but the sea is lovely and warm.
i honestly couldn't fault any of the holiday everyone was very friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: request a family room on the end of each corridor 738 being the best for the same price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faye b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

we arrived dinner time checked in no problem . meals were taken at the blue bay hotel food was good , could be a bit much if you dont like pork.pools good at both hotels , beach was not ideal but it was a bit cooler with a nice warm breeze. staff were very good cocktail of the day was a bit rank ie gin or ouzo based but on the whole a lot more enjoyable than i expected from this hotel do not be put off by bad reviews good value for money.if you want to go bowling for a night check out the lucky strike bowling club 3.5 euros a game we had a great night and staff were great also no fee for borrowing the bowling shoes about 5 to 10 minutes away on the main road

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dmuk0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Sunland sits in beautifully kept gardens, with loads of space, and boasts two fantastic pools. The room was basically furnished, but the furniture was of a good quality, including very comfortable beds. The bathroom is basic, but there were lashings of hot water at all times. The room also boasted air conditioning at no additional charge, as well as a fridge. There was maid service 6 days a week with clean, but not particularly fluffy, towels every day.
Meals were taken at the Blue Bay over the road in one of 2 restaurants, either the main one in the hotel or the one overlooking the beach - a location many upper class restaurants would give their eye teeth for. The only issue was with the breakfasts, where the facilities were badly overstretched, resulting in lack of cups and long queues.
You have the use of multiple pools of varying sizes and liveliness, as well as the beach. Try sitting outside the beach bar after dinner watching the sunset - magical!
There was aircraft noise, but after the first day you don't really notice it.
Overall, a great holiday, with just a few minor grouches - we'd go back tomorrow and we only just got home!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AnnieB023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was a last minute for us (4 adults and 17 year old, 16 and 12) we were a bit concerned that there wasn't any positiv remarks about the Sunland hotel, so when we arrived, we were pleastantly surpised> Hotel is very basic, rooms are cleaned regulary and towels and bedding changed. We had a ground floor family room, which was very spacious, the children had thier own room, we had a double bed and thier was another sofa bed in long side the bathroom. The shower had to be held by hand as it would not stay in the backet on the wall, this was probably because the shower was very powerfull. We had air con in both the bedrooms, ours seemed to be a little out of date, but the one in the childrens room was very good and the room was always nice and cool, which was needed as the temp was in the 90's every day!
The pool area was good, two big pools and a small baby pool, we spent our mornings down at the beach as it was a lot cooler, thier was never any problems getting beds. There is a snack bar that serves drinks and ice creams, there isn't any snack during the day, but you can go across the road to The Blue Bay Hotel and get snacks there, not really anything exciting though! you can use all the facilities of the Blue Bay, this is where the entertainment is by the Animation team, usual water polo, keep fit etc. The Blue Bay is very busy, noisy (music piped all day) and after speaking to other guest, you have to be up at 5.30am to get a bed! Sunland is the opposite!
Food at the Sunland was good, having fussy eaterswith us, they found something to eat, be it pasta chips or salad! after the second week the menu was repeated, but if your willing to try what's in front of you, you won't starve. Get your desserts when you get your main meal, this disappear rather quick, but there is always fruit. Drinks are local so don't expect your usual tipple and the soft drinks don't taste the same, the children liked the lemon and lime the best.
the resoirt itself is very quiet, a couple of bars, but alot of closed down ones, which is a shame, but I think the all inclusive has probably added to the Greek Euro crisis and the locals are finding it very hard. The staff at the Sunland we're great, especially Yacob, after speaking to him, we found out that the staff had not been paid by the owner for 3 months! they worked very hard and yet they did not complain!
There is a regular bus service to Rodos (Rhodes Town) about 20 minutes, worth a visit for your holiday fridge magnet! when you get the bus back, buy your ticket first from the kiosk in the drop off point, and its a mad scramble to get back on!
We went to the Aqua Park by coach from the hotel 20 euros each, have visted this park in the past, but this year it was not as busy. They do snacks there, but we made up some rolls from breakfast and just bought drinks.
The Bluebay Hotel looks impressive on arrival at night, but on closer inspection it isn'l kept as clean as the Sunland, toilets we're smelly and messy and the dining area was a bit chaotic. In the evening we went to the Blue Bay for drinks and entertainment, our first night there, we thought you got your drinks at the main bar, but was told by the very rude Coktail Waitress, that we had to use the pool bar, just outside, there was only one barman, but he was very quick and you never had to wait more than 2 mins to get served. The Animation team were good, the usual entertainment, Dads from the audiance dressed up and kids and Mums laughing. We went to the nighclub/disco down stairs once, it was ok, not alot of people in there, but those that were, seemed to have had enough vino!!!
There is a small aqua park between the 2 hotels, as a quest you are allowed one visit, which was enough for us, after that you had to pay 10 euros, small children may like this as there was a pirate ship with fountains and pools etc.

As you are only 15 mins from the airport, you do get the planes passing overhead, but after a couple of days you don't notice them and you don't tend to "duck" cause there so low! there not all day long and there are hours between each flight.

There are a lot of Eastern Europeans there, who seemed to keep to themselves, but are very grumpy looking, we met some lovely English people and some great Greek people.

Overall we had a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday, we were surpised at what we got for our money.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms at the front of the hotel are cooler during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank harr896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ialyssos hotels
0.2 mi away
Labranda Blue Bay Resort
Labranda Blue Bay Resort
#6 of 31 in Ialyssos
270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,714 reviews
0.7 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Vivian Studios
Vivian Studios
#7 of 31 in Ialyssos
117 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Sun Beach Resort Complex
#3 of 31 in Ialyssos
890 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dodeca Sea Resort
Dodeca Sea Resort
#22 of 31 in Ialyssos
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunland Hotel

Address: Ialyssos Beach, Ialyssos 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ialyssos
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunland Apartments Rhodes
Sunland Apartments Hotel Rhodes
Sunland Hotel Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing