We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good”
Review of Sunland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunland Hotel
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Ialyssos
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Basic but good”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was a last minute for us (4 adults and 17 year old, 16 and 12) we were a bit concerned that there wasn't any positiv remarks about the Sunland hotel, so when we arrived, we were pleastantly surpised> Hotel is very basic, rooms are cleaned regulary and towels and bedding changed. We had a ground floor family room, which was very spacious, the children had thier own room, we had a double bed and thier was another sofa bed in long side the bathroom. The shower had to be held by hand as it would not stay in the backet on the wall, this was probably because the shower was very powerfull. We had air con in both the bedrooms, ours seemed to be a little out of date, but the one in the childrens room was very good and the room was always nice and cool, which was needed as the temp was in the 90's every day!
The pool area was good, two big pools and a small baby pool, we spent our mornings down at the beach as it was a lot cooler, thier was never any problems getting beds. There is a snack bar that serves drinks and ice creams, there isn't any snack during the day, but you can go across the road to The Blue Bay Hotel and get snacks there, not really anything exciting though! you can use all the facilities of the Blue Bay, this is where the entertainment is by the Animation team, usual water polo, keep fit etc. The Blue Bay is very busy, noisy (music piped all day) and after speaking to other guest, you have to be up at 5.30am to get a bed! Sunland is the opposite!
Food at the Sunland was good, having fussy eaterswith us, they found something to eat, be it pasta chips or salad! after the second week the menu was repeated, but if your willing to try what's in front of you, you won't starve. Get your desserts when you get your main meal, this disappear rather quick, but there is always fruit. Drinks are local so don't expect your usual tipple and the soft drinks don't taste the same, the children liked the lemon and lime the best.
the resoirt itself is very quiet, a couple of bars, but alot of closed down ones, which is a shame, but I think the all inclusive has probably added to the Greek Euro crisis and the locals are finding it very hard. The staff at the Sunland we're great, especially Yacob, after speaking to him, we found out that the staff had not been paid by the owner for 3 months! they worked very hard and yet they did not complain!
There is a regular bus service to Rodos (Rhodes Town) about 20 minutes, worth a visit for your holiday fridge magnet! when you get the bus back, buy your ticket first from the kiosk in the drop off point, and its a mad scramble to get back on!
We went to the Aqua Park by coach from the hotel 20 euros each, have visted this park in the past, but this year it was not as busy. They do snacks there, but we made up some rolls from breakfast and just bought drinks.
The Bluebay Hotel looks impressive on arrival at night, but on closer inspection it isn'l kept as clean as the Sunland, toilets we're smelly and messy and the dining area was a bit chaotic. In the evening we went to the Blue Bay for drinks and entertainment, our first night there, we thought you got your drinks at the main bar, but was told by the very rude Coktail Waitress, that we had to use the pool bar, just outside, there was only one barman, but he was very quick and you never had to wait more than 2 mins to get served. The Animation team were good, the usual entertainment, Dads from the audiance dressed up and kids and Mums laughing. We went to the nighclub/disco down stairs once, it was ok, not alot of people in there, but those that were, seemed to have had enough vino!!!
There is a small aqua park between the 2 hotels, as a quest you are allowed one visit, which was enough for us, after that you had to pay 10 euros, small children may like this as there was a pirate ship with fountains and pools etc.

As you are only 15 mins from the airport, you do get the planes passing overhead, but after a couple of days you don't notice them and you don't tend to "duck" cause there so low! there not all day long and there are hours between each flight.

There are a lot of Eastern Europeans there, who seemed to keep to themselves, but are very grumpy looking, we met some lovely English people and some great Greek people.

Overall we had a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday, we were surpised at what we got for our money.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms at the front of the hotel are cooler during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank harr896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    34
    20
    29
See reviews for
68
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

first of all we had a great holiday sun sand and safe
yep ok its not the best hotel on the island neither is it the worst but when you take into consideration how much youve probably paid for your week or 2 and compare it to the uk with the massive exception of when you wake up in the morning you aint got to worry about the weather your only worry is how burnt am i going to get and that to me is worth more than the sort failings of the sunland
accomodation_2 star at best fairly clean rooms changed bedding daily bathroom more like a wet room just a place to get your head down
food_get there early 6.30-7.00pm and you will be at worst ok depends how fussy you are we arent fussy but i will be honest we did struggle a bit a week you will survive 2 you may encounter problems compare this to a basic meal we had out in rhodes town at 78 euro for 4 drinks 3 pizzas and a carbonara and suddenly the hotel food looks great breaky better but again dont hang around till later they really do clear up once its gone its gone
pool area_not bad at all cleaned at end of day loads of sunbeds pool at the back of hotel quieter and loads of space with lazyriver/whirlpooljacuzzi thing and a big grass area
drinks_lager- unpredictable good some nights awful on others coke_ much the same usual local alcohol _cheap cheerful but not wonderful
aquapark_good for everyone safe clean and well managed free now every day after the 1st sept
sister hotel blue bay_as you may well know comes part of the package all the facilities snacks, drinks, sun loungers, entertainment ,activities ,ice creams beach, wifi, internet and probably more i will be honest without the blue bay we may well have struggled but prior to booking this cheapy we knew what was on offer so it came as no shock to us
price_ where else would you get a flight, drink, food, entertainment and most inportantly sun and lots of it for £1100 for 4 adults if you want better than the sunland/bluebay i suggest you pay more money

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mccarianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have just returned from sunland and had a fantastic week. The hotel is clean and we found the food to be fine. The staff were so friendly and couldnt do enough to help us. The pools were very clean and cleaned everyday. Our room was spacious, and perfect for what we needed. This hotel has had reviews that it really doesnt deserve. If you want 5 star then pay the money. Lastly we used our manners and the locals appreciate this some were very rude to the staff please and thankyou cost nothing. Enjoy this hotel we did and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just arrived home from the bluebay / sunland apartments and on the whole enjoyed a fortnight. Taxi is 12 euros from airport. When you arrive take a left between the carpark and the water park and enter the hotel by turning right - dont carry your cases all around the pool like us (there are no signs). The rooms are clean and spacious in the 3 story block & daily fresh towels apart from sundays. Air con works just fine. If you are all inclusive you have a wide choice of places to drink - beach bar, blue bay pool bar, main bar and the sunland pool side bar. The rear pool at sunland is cooler than the main pool and there are plenty of sun beds. The main pool is dirty & ear infections were common.
If you are in the Sunland then you have to eat there and the chef tries his best with the limited range of vegetables and processed meats on offer. The fish is also appauling with a jelly like panga-fish at every meal. Chicken cuts are boney, thigh or leg. Veal is stewed. Its very difficult to enjoy the food apart from breakfast. This hotel is really penny pinching with sickening food.
Head to Billies bar to cheer the kids up at a reasonable price 25E for 4. Zorba's & the chinese on the main road cost about 50E to feed family of 4.
Drinks are strong but very limited at sunland - beer ok, red white wine was sharp, vodka, ouzo, brandy all 40%.Mixers are the squash cola self service.
There are two supermarkets near the hotels and they are pricey. Anactasia is the cheapest local market (ciggies 3.70 a pack 400g golden virginia 69E) & there is a Carefour in Illalysos 3 miles & Kremasti 2 miles. Kremasti is a nice village but illaysos has the nicer sea front.
Car higher is 40E a day and a lap of the island takes about 40E in fuel. I recommend 2 routes - East Coast - Anthony Quinn bay just south of Falaraki (lakido beach), Tsampika Beach, Lindos & Agois Pavlos, Prassonisti on the very south - West Coast - Limani beach lagoon on the S east a secluded cove down from monolithos over the mountains to Kamiros (ancient city & pricey restaurant). Valley of the butterflies nr Theologos is over priced at 5E each. There is also a basic zoo with camel rides up there. The acropolys at Illalysos is also worth a visit entry 3E and a free climb up the cross for breath taking views.
There seemed to be a wide mix of people in Sunland- mainly UK, Netherlands & French, few Russians & Germans
Back to the hotel, I was going to click poor but when I think of the bar & restaurant staff (apart from the pool bar lady in the day) trhe facilities at the main hotel and the water park which was free, then I'd border on a average.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 4 story block with reception have been refurbished & spacious, the block to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lurkio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

As the previous post I thought I had booked the BLUE BAY HOTEL,...AND HAVE POSTED ON THAR REVIEW TO....... Again on arrival late at night I arrived at the hotel to be told that I wasn't staying at that hotel and was lead down a dirt road and presented with the ''SUNLAND HOTEL''. The best way to describe this property is ''A HOSTEL WITH A POOL''. I was furious and refused to check in,.. I went back to the Blue Bay Hotel and asked to see a Manager, at the same time there was another British family with the same issue. We were told that if we paid another 230 Euro they would move us to the Blue Bay Hotel,... I REFUSED as I thought it wrong. I had to stay in the Sunland the 1st night as It was Sunday and could not get in touch with anyone back in UK. Monday we spoke to someone in England from Sun Master - Global Holidays. I explained the situation and they said they get back to me, They called back the day after to tell me they could move me to another hotel for 360 Euro,... I argued that the hotel I booked was advertised as 4/5 Star, The hotel they put me in would be lucky to be given a 2 Star. Lots of families out there in same situation. There is clearly a SCAM going on and the holiday is being MIS SOLD. My booking was booked for the Blue Bay Holiday Village,... I was put in the Sunland Hotel which is separate. I am a single mum of 2 children and saved all year for this holiday and am furious ova the con. The rooms were bare with a fridge that didn't work. Holes in walls, bedding & towels ripped, wires hanging out the wall, bath only big enough for a child, sewerage cumin up in bathroom floor, the bar area FILTHY,.... AND THE GLASS BALCONY ON WAS CRACKED,... I asked to be at least moved to another room, as the balcony was dangerous for my children and was REFUSED, Air conditioning was broke and took them 4 days to fix it. HOLIDAY FROM HELL AND WILL BE TAKING MY COMPLAINT FURTHER

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ialyssos hotels

t24ant
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

As I posted previously, (see my review on 'Blue Bay Hotel') we didn't book to stay in the SUNLAND Apartments, we booked to stay in the Blue Bay Hotel. I won't go over that saga again as i've already covered it in my 'Blue Bay Hotel' review.
This is solely going to be a review on the SUNLAND APARTMENTS which we were told were 4 star.
We arrived late on the night of the 13th June 2012. We were given our room which was 525. It was very sparse, consisting of 2 single beds pushed together and a concrete slab with a long cushion on it.
When i tried to go onto the balcony the handle came off in my hand. (see photo) The balcony looked onto a brick wall (see photo) and was shaded by a walk way above. (see photo)
On leaving the room to return to reception to complain, the handle came off the front door!! (see photo)
We were told by the night porter to make do with the room for the night and go to the Blue Bay Hotel and complain in the morning.
We returned to the room, and made do for one night. In the morning, while taking a shower, the shower kept falling off the wall. That was the final straw!!
We went to the Blue Bay Hotel to complain and we're told that we couldn't be moved, but the problems would be fixed. We said this wasn't acceptable and in the end, after much ranting and a few tears, we were moved.
To be fair, the room we were moved to (813) was ok. It was bigger, and everything was in one piece!
The food was ok, it was hot and i always found something different to eat.
The pools (x2) were nice. The one tended to be preferred by children, and the other by adults, which worked well.
The included drinks were not bad (local beer, wine and spirits) although BOTTLED WATER was NOT included.
The biggest thing was the aircraft overhead. The hotel is right on the flight path of Rhodes airport and as its right next to the hotel the aircraft are REALLY LOW! (see photos)
In the end we didn't have a bad holiday, but this was mostly down to the people we met who were in the same situation as us. (Booked one hotel and sent to another.)
One final note is that I can highly recommend the IDEAL BAR run by the lovely SASKIA. Its open all day, she does a great breakfast for €5 and then Pete Jackson does karaoke in the evening.

Room Tip: Avoid the 'Garden Floor' rooms at all costs. With regards to rooms, the higher the floor, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t24ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Don't listen to people who're saying the hotel is horrible unless you expect luxury for the money you pay for a 3 star hotel.
The rooms are basic but they're clean, everything works fine (even the air conditioner was working although we were told by the travel agency that it functions starting from July for extra cost).
The food is really good. It's repetitive but always fresh and nicely cooked. There's a choice from 2-3 meat dishes + fish every lunch and dinner. Fresh fruit (orange, peach, kiwi, watermelon, apricot: 2-3 types at a time to choose from), unlimited ice-cream, various alcoholic beverages of ok-ish quality.
The beach is just 5 minutes away in Blue Bay parent hotel. You can also use all facilities (excluding meals in the main restaurant) there. There's animation, disco, bars, snacks, pools, playground and mini-club for kids - all at your disposal for free.
Local car renatal is cheaper than you can find on the internet, so don't bother to book beforehand. Type A car is only 25 Euro per day (including full insurance). So it's way cheaper to drive around the island than buy guided tours.
People is mix: Britain, Netherlands, Poland, Russia - are the main nationalities. But since most people spend days and evenings out of the hotel (either traveling or on the beach) the hotel territory is pretty quiet and you can always find sunbeds around the pool.
To people with negative reviews I'd like to tell that whatever problem occur, all you need to do is ask one of the stuff members. Greeks in general and hotel stuff in particular are known for hospitality. They'll do everything they can to help you resolve your problems. Although keep in mind that their pace of life is much slower than the one you're used to if you come from a big city. So don't judge them by your own standards, relax and enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgorizontova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ialyssos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terinikos
Hotel Terinikos
#14 of 31 in Ialyssos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Niki Hotel Apartments
Niki Hotel Apartments
#15 of 19 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trianta Hotel Apartments
Trianta Hotel Apartments
#2 of 19 in Ialyssos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Graziella Apartments
Graziella Apartments
#13 of 19 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antomar Apartments And Studios
0.4 mi away
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Sun Beach Resort Complex
#4 of 31 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunland Hotel

Property: Sunland Hotel
Address: Ialyssos Beach, Ialyssos 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ialyssos
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunland Apartments Rhodes
Sunland Apartments Hotel Rhodes
Sunland Hotel Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing