We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel. Great Value. Not So Great Bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Electra Palace Rhodes
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is really nice, I really liked almost everything about it. The food, the pools, the beach, the launge, the staff - I really enjoyed it all.
The only thing that didn't make it perfect was the beds. There's no double beds, they just join two single beds together and it's not so great for a couple's getaway...
Also the matress is hard as a rock but I still reccomend this hotel because of everything else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank guylev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 1,715 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

A suite by definition is usually a series of rooms and a junior suite has a seperate seating area, which corresponded with the picture on their website,which was a bed and seperate sofa seating aea, so I paid extra for a Junior Sea breeze suite. We arrived late approx 10.30pm were offered no refreshments. I entered a single room, which in no way resembled the website photo?? I contacted reception who told me it was a suite, and I would need to speak to reception next morning. They had left a bottle of "complimentary" wine, but no corkscrew and two apples?? It was blowing a gale and the wind howled all night through the patio doors. The following morning I spoke to the receptionist(Olga) who was very proffesional but offhand, she produced the hotel floor plan with our room highlighted in yellow stating it was a suite which, because it was highlighted in yellow, was somehow supposed to convince me that a room is a suite?? She then produced their brochure to show me pictures and when I showed her the photo shown on the website she said that junior suite was for four people not two!! Didn't state that on their website!!! She said our room was a suite as we had extra's?? A plasma screen t.v. and DVD player and seaview. The tv reception was poor with only two english speaking channels(CNN, worldnews), and she failed to inform us that DVD's were available from reception, also a seaview, which half of the hotel had anyway. Wow £200 extra well spent there then!! She did tutt,(a lot of the staff tutt) then offered us the suite pictured, but none were available at that time and we may have to wait a few days?? Ah!! so she thought we were after a free upgrade?? Insulted by the assumption we declined. I have checked the website today and the junior suite photo has been changed to the room we were given.

Once you get the hang of it, you begin to understand that this hotel is operated entirely for the benefit of the staff!! Stand too long in the dining room trying to choose what to have and you will be asked to move with a tutt and "excuse me" as they rush around you doing their thing!! If you can't find a table set up for two and sit at a table for four, be prepared to be cross examined by a young waiter as to why you did not wait for a table of two to be set up, followed by a lot of tutting and lots of pulling of faces to the other diners at our stupid blunder!! if you want clean beach towels, don't bother going to the pool before 10.30 as stated in the pamphlett. You have to go back to your room and hang about waiting for the chambermaid who will be on your floor about 9.30 to get them changed. Don't ask for an ashtray, as the bar attendant will give you a lecture on smoking and start coughing around you. The other young receptionist (Bogdana) made eye contact and then walked off to chat with another member of staff as i stood at the desk?? Why are some of the staff like this?? Probably because the hotel manager never leaves his glass cubed office to see what is going on. Not once in the ten days we were there did I see any sort of manager wandering around, spot checking, or speaking to guests.

Food...... on the whole cheap!! To be fair they did do some interesting sides to go with the dishes. Canapes, stuffed mushrooms and vol au vents, stuffed cheese potato skins, the potato wedges were really nice,but the meat are cheap cuts. 101 ways to use chicken, veal, pork (which I can't eat) rabbit turkey and meat loaf or fish. Never any lamb or beef, apart from burgers. Only one carvery whilst we were there of turkey. The restaurant is open until 9pm but if you go after 8.30 you will get the dregs. The hot food station shuts down at 8.30. Didn't use the Italian or Chinese as they fail to do plain meat without a sauce or coating for my hubby who dislikes food "Messed about with" we have always been able to get a good plain steak in other hotels we have visited in their speciality restaurants.
In my humble opinion, if they didn't blow the food budget on catering for the gluttons who are served snacks from 3.30 to 4.00pm and then cakes and pastries from 4.30 to 5.30 follwed by sandwiches from 5.30 to 6.30 they would be able to offer a better grade of food.
However the biggest insult was the packed lunch!! We didn't bother checking it before we left for the day trip. Two hours into the trip, opened it for a drink!! NO DRINK!! What kind of 5* hotel sends it's guests out in soaring temperatures without a drink?? The most basic of needs?? Luckily we had got chatting to a few other couples on the trip and they were kind enough to let us have a bottle of their water!! Although suffice to say they were now intrigued as to what was in this packed lunch?? A sandwich of ham and cheese with dry bread, a dried out bun, a peach which was also dried out, and a medium(chinese style take away container) which was packed with shredded cabbage and carrot with a small satchet of mayonnaise to make up our own coleslaw!!! This caused much laughter as the amount of cabbage and carrot compared to the small satchet only a majician could have made it into a coleslaw. The laughter reached a climax when we found the card from the hotel which served as a remider that the packed lunch was instead of our meal at the hotel!!! Half of that coach trip went away that day ready to tell others. Domino effect Electra!! Take note!!!

Drinks...... there was more alcohol in my perfume than in the wine. The cocktails were too sweet and limited on the all inclusive. They only allow two satchets of coffee per day in your room, even though we didn't touch any of the tea satchets etc... so obviouslywe were coffee drinkers. fridge is not replenished no daily bottled water left you have to buy your own or fill up in the pool bar.

Bed sheets only changed if you place a card on your bed requesting a change. Their supposed "eco" policy. Really??? then how do you explain that you do not have re cycling bins for the plastic cups which are put in the ordinary bins. More like cutting costs.
Had good nights sleep as beds firm and pillows soft like at home. Some planes do go over in the early hours.

There is no such thing as budget 5*. This hotel needs to up their ante or stop trying to masquerade as chic.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank summersunshineWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Back at Electra Palace for the 5th time and will certainly be going back again. Love the hotel, the location and the staff, especially, Gorgeo, popi and especially Vicki (who we wanted to bring back as a future daughter in law) also the Italian looking waiter, who was Greek, who has worked there for 9 years. Olga and the girls on the reception. Just love the place. so clean, and although spotless so laidback.....

One recommendation, go back to soap, my skin was becoming dry with the liquid stuff and please refill the mini bar, cant cost that much.......Will book again for next year and the next and the next.............

Room Tip: not a promo room, all the rest great, especially over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bamk1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Pros:
1. A very very pleasant and informative staff,
had a quick question for every little question we've had.

2.It's located right on the beach! all you need to do is go down
the stairs and that's about it - you're swimming in the beautiful
mediterranean sea

3. The mini-bar is free of charge :)

Cons:
1, it's very far from the main city,AKA Rodos (the old city)
where the main nightlife area is, plus it's even far from the main
road leading to the old city! you have to walk for about 15 min
just to get a taxi or a bus!

2. They haven't heard of the term "king/queen size bed".
All rooms apparently have twin beds lying next to each other
plus they're on wheels. so that means if you wanna cuddle with your wife - forget it!

3. The breakfast buffet - the SAME. EVERY. MORNING.

4. There are two restaurants in the hotel (Italian and asian) -
In order to eat in any of them you have to make a reservation,
which means you have to know already by morning
what you'd like to eat for dinner, I totally didn't like this
because it's constraining and really damaging the 'all-inclusive hotel' experience.

5. You only get two towels per person per day. that's it.
want another one? you gotta hand in a dirty one instead.

6. WIFI is 2 Euros for a half an hour. that SUCKS!!!
plus knowing that all other hotels in the area give Wifi for free doesn't really make you feel better. Oh yeah, and there are no other open wifi networks around that you can use.

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the sea,it's clearly better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here sept 4th to 11th 2013 and have to say We (our party of 3 adults) thought the place was great. We arrived to check in at 9pm just as the main buffet restaurant was about to close so were ushered into the Italian which was fantastic. We had a sea view room on the 4th floor which we really liked and was definitely worth having. Aeroplanes passing overhead were not a problem and not, as suggested in earlier posts, a problem at night.
FOOD. Main buffet restaurant was very good with lots of choice for everyone I thought, but then I'm not a fussy eater and will try all foods. At breakfast you can have an omelette freshly made in front of you with your choice of topping which was excellent. We did eat in the Italian another night and again it was excellent and made a nice change to have waiter service. We had a meal in the Chinese and it was very nice although I thought u didn't get alot but was tasty especially the ribs!
Around the hotel and pool was exceptionally clean and tidy and very popular for photos in the evening when all lit up.
No sandy beach but nice warm sea to swim in.
Some of the evening entertainment was a little lacklustre but good for a laugh especially Les Dawson on the piano!
Rainbows over the road was good for the 2 England games we watched there plus a late drink and shots!!
Overall the place was fantastic and the staff we all brilliant and always smiling despite the stupidly long hours they all seemed to work.
Definitely worth an evening trip into Rhodes old town to see it all lit up and have a relaxing stroll around.
Will be putting the Electra Palace on my list of places to return to.
Perfect relaxing break.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rickw111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Returned yesterday from a ten night holiday at the Electra Palace, we had a lovely time. We were upgraded on arrival. Room safe and beach towels, in the room, at no extra charge.

The hotel staff are mostly great, food was very good in the main restaurant, the Italian and Chinese were even better, the service let the Italian down a little, ate in there 4 times, lunchtime on the day we arrived was faultless, late breakfast was also good, the other times we ate in here was not so good, were ignored and other people served ahead of us on the second lunchtime we ate there, we had already had an evening meal in there at this stage and the service was chaotic then too so we didn't go again, I'm sure we weren't missed :-)

The bar staff were all extremely friendly and quick, no queues at all, special mention to Viki, lovely lady. All other staff were helpful and friendly too, this can make a holiday.

Plenty of sun beds around the pool, no need to rush down there early unless you want a specific spot each day. Only went on the beach a couple of times because the sea was not calm, very windy on this side of the island.

Location is great, on the beach, with the local shops steps away if you turn right at the beach, town starts where 'Patty's' taverna is, big orange sign. The little train also picks up there and tours around Iallysos for 50 minutes, very reasonable at €7, a good overview of what there is locally.

Rainbow taverna across the road from the front entrance is good for beers and football, also free wifi. Walk to the main road, 10 minutes if you go left out of the front of the hotel, to catch the bus to Rhodes town, outside Leonidas shop, €2.30 and about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alison Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Needs to improve to be a 5 Star,, Main restaurant food ok,, Italian Very good, Chinkie Poor.
Wine on tap like paint striper, On the wine list very good, (in the Italian and Chinese) should be on the tables in the main restaurant. Staff Brill. Cleaners Brill. All in All ok. Needs little touches to be Elactra Palace excellents..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.2 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,244 reviews
5.5 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,938 reviews
5 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
27.5 mi away
Rodos Princess Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Rhodes

Address: Papaflessa | Trianta beach, Ialyssos 85101, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ialyssos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ialyssos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ialyssos
#2 Spa Hotel in Ialyssos
#4 Family Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range: $97 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Rhodes 5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of an Aegean island full of butterflies, on a sparkling beach with clear waters: there lies the Electra Palace Rhodes, bright and colorful, a modern resort with clean lines, made for you to have the best summer holidays of your life. Bright and colorful: such will be your days, and your nights, here! Start your day with a hearty breakfast in Electra's Restaurant, our main restaurant. Enjoy the magnificent views of the Aegean - and plan your day: will you be spending it all at the beach or by the big central pool? How about a tennis match at the resort's court, or maybe a friendly game of volleyball or basketball? The kids are going to love it! After lunch you can enjoy a refreshing nap in your spacious, cool room, or maybe read some more of that exciting novel you found at the hotel's reading room. It's your "me" time - the children are well taken care of at the kids' club, playing fun games and learning new things. As the evening approaches, you start to think about dinner: Chinese, or Italian? Don't forget to check out tonight's menu at Electra's Reastaurant too - its variety is so tempting! After dinner, how about a drink at Waves beach bar? Or, how about asking for our childcare services and taking a long romantic walk with your significant other on the moonlit beach? Such are the days at the Electra Palace at Rhodes, laid back and relaxing, full of fun things to do. Aiming in creating a contemporary resort worthy of our guests, we have taken care of every little detail, so that you can spend your holidays having a real holiday: there are sports courts and a gaming center. There are four restaurants, two serving ethic cuisine. There are five bars - one is certain to suit your mood. There are kids' and teenagers' clubs with qualified staff and special kids' menus and tons of fun activities for the young ones. And there are also five star services and amenities: crisp linen and fully equipped bathrooms and bathrobes for all, and safes and double glazed windows and air-conditioning and DVD players in the rooms, and views of the sea and green gardens and concierge service and so much more! And then there're the smiles. The smiles of our staff, happy to welcome you, keen on helping you make the best of your vacations. And the smiles of everyone around you, having the time of their lives! Won't you join them? Welcome to the Electra Palace Rhodes. Welcome to the hospitality you deserve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Electra Palace Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Electra Palace Hotel Ialyssos
Hotel Electra Palace
Electra Palace Ialysos
Electra Palace Hotel Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing