We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there ...”
Review of The Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Residence
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Totally misrepresented hotel - only one restaurant (not the 5 advertised) - food luke warm and very boring - nothing for kids to eat. There are 5 other restaurants in the chain but you have a limited menu, then pay 50% of the bill and all the drinks were very expensive - not what you expect from an all inclusive hotel. There were no snacks during the day at all.
Absolutely no entertainment at all, very boring - apart from the nice people who were also staying there. If you wanted something to do you were expected to walk to another hotel and join the crowds to find a seat or fight your way to the bar. One swimming pool (not three as advertised) no kids club, no entertainment whatsoever.
Really like Rhodes but would not go back there after this experience.
Helen from Yorkshire

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evansYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christos P, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Since 2011 the Residence Hotel have a new management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 128 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2009

After what seemed like a lifetime of looking for a holiday, we decided on the Residence in Rhodes - we couldn't really find any reviews, but it looked nice and facilities and location sounded right for us.

First impressions on arrival were good - the place looked clean, check in was quick and the Absolut bar was impressive. The room was a good size, clean and with a nice bathroom and our balcony has a sea view. We had problems with the air con when we first got there, but the manager was called and he gave us free drinks in the bar (all inclusive time had ended) while the problem got sorted. For the rest of our stay the air con worked fine.

The pool area always had plenty of sunbeds available and the water and surroundings were always kept clean. When advertised, we were advised that snacks such as burgers, sandwiches and pizzas were available throughout the day at the pool bar - but although they had the equipment, this service wasn't offered. Pizza's were cooked from time to time and there was always a supply of little sausage rolls and pasties, but not a lot else. However we didn't need anything after having a big breakfast and knowing we had lunch shortly after.

The buffet restaurant was always clean and normally had a good variety of food. At the time of booking, all adverts for this hotel stated your could 'dine around for free' at thier 5 restaurants. This was not the case - the buffet was free, but you had to pay for the other 4 a la carte ones. However you got a 50% discount and this made the bill so reasonable that we did eat at the Greek restaurant and the oriental place a couple of times - service and food was great on both occasions.

Location wise this place was great for us - few minutes walk to lots of restaurants and bars. The beach was also just across the road. A taxi into Rhodes town was 10 Euros and we did this a couple of evenings - the old town is lovely.

We would reccomend the water park at Falaraki (we hired a quad to get there, but from Rhodes town they do a free bus service), Rhodes Old Town and also a lovely restaurant in Ialysos called 'Knights of Olde' - the food is gorgeous and the service very friendly and welcoming.

Over-all we had a really fantastic holiday here. We loved every minute, but it all depends what you are looking for. If you are the kind of person looking to complain then you will find fault - the evening entertainment is at the hotel opposite, the plane flight path goes over head, the bathroom drainage isn't great - but if you are looking for a lovely location to enjoy yourselves, as we did, then this place is great.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelAndSim0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Just returned from our trip and thought you might like to hear our thoughts. Firstly the rooms at the hotel are excellent and there were plenty of sunbeds as the hotel was far from full, but I'm afraid they are the only good points. I have just reread the hotel descripion in case I misread it first time around, but I can confirm that there is NO entertainment, day or night, You cannot eat at any of the restaurants advertised unless you pay, apart from the main Aethrion buffet, which I would liken to Pontins Holiday Camp food. The only bar where you can drink without paying is the pool bar, which during the day is fine but not where you want to spend your evenings. We had to go out most nights which as you can imagine is not why you go to an All Inclusive Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunlover33London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christos P, Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Since 2011 the Residence Hotel have a new management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

I stayed at Forum Residence with a group of friends for 2 weeks in July of this year.

First complaint: The architecture of the rooms was terrible. The rooms were small and crowded but could have been so much nicer with just a little bit of change.

Second complaint: The maids were not very good at their job. Once we put our towels on the floor of the bathroom (as I have always done when I want the towels cleaned in any hotel I've stayed at) and when we came back they had taken the dirty towels and piled them on the shelf where the clean towels were kept. We also had to ask for the clean sheets for the bed.

Third complaint: Some of the people from the reception were just plain rude. I mean of course it's annoying to have a group of 20 year olds in your hotel, we did party but nothing too excessive. There was a nightclub at the hotel on the first floor so our noise wasn't that much compared to the music that was in there.

Fourth, and last complaint from me (I know that many of the people I traveled with had more complaints though): On my 3rd day I think I thought I had lost my Visa card and asked the receptionist if I could make a phone call. She told me to call from my room. I asked about the price and she said: "0,2 EUR per minute" or so I thought. I repeated her answer and she pointed to a pricing list and there it said: "Phone: 0,2 EUR" So I believed her, went up to my room, made my phone calls and then later on I found my Visa card. I was surprised how cheap it was to call so I made a few calls to my mother and my boyfriend (on his birthday etc) and also to my cc company because my bank because none of my cards were working properly. After a few days (maybe a week or so) I was telling my friend about this and he said it just couldn't be this cheap so I went to the reception to find out about my phone bill (that was supposed to be, according to my calculation, around 15 - 20 EUR. There I found out it was over 70 EUR and that it wasn't "0,2 EUR per minute" but per unit, a term I had never heard about before. I spoke to the woman that I had spoken with before and she told me that she had said that on the night I needed to make the phone call she had told me to call for about a minute, come back down and see how much it had cost.
I do not remember her saying that (I was a little upset about my Visa card but I would have remembered to come down if she had told me to). A few days later a friend of my talked to the hotel manager for me (because I'm so shy) and the hotel manager was extremely rude, said we were thieves and trying to scam the hotel. He said that the receptionist had been very "brave" to have come to him and admit her mistakes (his words) and she should not be held responsible for "MY" mistake, which was clearly not mine as she admitted it was hers. When I was checking out I spoke to him myself, tried to be as polite as possible and asked him if it were possible for me to pay half or something because this wasn't my fault. Again he was very rude and blamed me for all of it. I tried to reason with him but I just started to point fingers and in the end he just walked away from me, almost in tears (I'm very fragile..) because I was so upset. I yelled something at him or just something into the blue and walked away. I was even so mad I hit a wall with my fist and I'm pretty sure I broke something.. or at least fractured something. In the end I had to pay 70 something EUR and I left there so disappointed at this hotel I will NEVER stay there again even though I enjoyed the area and the island very much.

Just so you know, I work at a hotel and I am told to do anything to make the customer happy and for him to leave happy so he'll come again or recommend us.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SteinunnOsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christos P, Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Since 2011 the Residence Hotel have a new management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2007

If you’ve watched the film ‘the beach’ with Leonardo Dicaprio and seen the part where he checks into a pit of a hotel in Bangkok with trellis in the wall!?! Then you have a picture in your mind of a room at the forum hotel apartments, it was a pit don’t waste your money… also don’t let the impressive reception/foyer or ‘The Residence’ fool you, the rooms that they actually book you in are out to the side above two restaurants… this hotel was awful and the communal areas smell of blocked drainage... we booked this hotel for one day as we were on a late 5am flight but had to be out of our room at the sunbeach for 12pm… I am only grateful that we didn’t need to stay any longer as I would have come home clinically depressed.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank vibealite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2007

Filthy, unfriendly, boring and any other bad word under the sun. The hotel is a tip these people have not got a clue how to run a hotel.

Stayed: June 2006
1  Thank Shlavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Piotr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.7 mi away
Dodeca Sea Resort
Dodeca Sea Resort
#22 of 32 in Ialyssos
843 reviews
0.7 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 32 in Ialyssos
1,715 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Anavadia
Hotel Anavadia
#17 of 34 in Kolimbia
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunshine Rhodes Hotel
Sunshine Rhodes Hotel
#10 of 32 in Ialyssos
913 reviews
1.3 mi away
Labranda Blue Bay Resort
Labranda Blue Bay Resort
#7 of 32 in Ialyssos
273 reviews
0.8 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence

Address: 14 Ferenikis Street, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Ialyssos
Price Range: $62 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RESIDENCE, set in two blocks and separated by a small public road, has recently undergone a complete renovation and promises a new experience for the demanding holidaymaker. Set on the green and lush north-west coast of the island (100 meters from the public pebbles and sand beach), 8 km from cosmopolitan Rhodes New town & the historic Old City, 900 m from the lovely city center of Ialysos with various gift shops, bars & nightlife supermarkets & restaurants, 11 km from the airport.ROOM DEFINITION: One bedroom Apartments (2 – 4 persons): the completed renovated and tastefully decorated apartments have a separate double bedroom, combined living-sleeping area including kitchenette with two electric rings, fridge, individually controlled air conditioning, safety deposit box, television set, bathroom, balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing