We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Barbie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barbie Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

we booked a 2 bed apartment and on arrival found out we were given a 2 separate apartments
and how anybody could think that a family of 5 with 3 children under 9 could utilise 2 separate apartments is beyond me.
Had evening meal at the hotel it was very poor decided to try their breakfast very poor also so we had to eat else where would not recommend to anybody
the pool area was tidy but shabby
the staff where pleasant enough but we felt that they could have made more of an effort to let you know what entertainment / tourist attractions where available they were not helpful unless asked directly what you required

the best thing about this holiday was eating out at the alkionis sports bar turn right out of hotel turn right end of dirt track road the meals are value for money and really good size portions and the staff are friendly and always have a smile (for got to mention this local area looks like helmand province ) (afgan)

Room Tip: stay well away
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sammylee1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    34
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
56
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Returned from a 1 week break at the Barbie. Great value for money, don't expect luxury accommodation basic but spotless. The pool area lovely always plenty of sunbeds and brollies although we did travel end of September so hotel fairly quiet. Food fantastic and, plentiful. Don't book if you want 5 star accommodation for the price of 2/3 star. Barbie and Vangelis great hosts. Would recommend a torch for getting back along the unmade road on an evening.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rustico0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Just returned from Barbie Appartments. Had an excellant holiday. The hosts Barbie + Vangelis are most abliging and helpful. Appartments are very clean and well looked after. They are cleaned every day, bed lining and towels changed every other day. Adequate size swimming pool, plenty of sun beds, very good pool bar with good service. Reasonably priced food and alcoholic drinks. Very good barbeque evenings. The complex is situated in a quiet area with a 5 - 10 minute walk from bars, restuarants, shops and the beach. Very well located. I would recommend this as a holiday for families and couples. Will be returning next year for another very good holiday !

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

10 of us stayed for 2 weeks in August and had an amazing holiday. Basic but spotless apartments and the pool area was perfect. Food was lovely and the drinks really cheap.
Not bothered about the lack of utensils who wants to cook on holiday when you have loads of nice places to eat on your doorstep. Lots of really friendly like minded people to meet around the pool and bar and we will deffo return.

CHEERS!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Howiewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cranleigh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We went to this hotel as a family of six . We had two apartments one for two people the other for four. the entire place is very tired and run down and in need of attention. one of the apartments didn't have a kettle. the other one only had things in for three people .when we asked for extra pillows, chairs,kettle, anything it was met with a stoney glare....
the sunbeds half of them broken the rest just too tired rubbish was never cleaned . that is also a fault of other holiday makers who take their own rubbish away. there is no entertainment at this place but thankfully at the end of the unmade road there is enough going on if you like karaoke sports bars all very samey. the weather was excellant if you travel down the east coast of the island it is much nicer. however we survived but try to avoid this area and especially this hotel!!! at one point after a three day struggle we were able to change rooms but this still only had everything for three people very poor ....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank davinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed a week with familymembers in a two room appartment and found everything very clean . Basic kitchenwear provided, but wouldnt attempt to cook a full meal in the very small kitchen ( more like a kitchenette ). Perfect for breakfast and storing cold drinks though. The appartment is quite worn out - towels with holes in them, rust on oven and so on - dont mind this as long as cleanliness is ok so not a problem for us.
It was a problem though that the staff kept leaving us with only two sets of bedlinnen and towels( 3 adults ) - we had to go to reception twice and ask for extra sets and they took forever everytime to understand our problem and give us what we needed ( as if a worn out towel was part of the crown jewels ).
Nice size balcony with room for drying clothes.
Rented a car at reception, delivered to hotel- nice service.
Also ate twice at hotel - large portions of good food at reasonable prices.
Very nice and relaxed around the poolarea where we spend a couple of hours everyday after searching for a sunchair that wasnt broken - on last day also a broken step into the pool. Hope managers spend winterseason on repairs as we would love to come back again.
Overall a good experience taking in mind the very cheap price we paid - especially loved the cleanliness on whole hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank permatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Very bad. I had the good price and changed hotel the pool was dirty

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank aris_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.5 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 32 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.6 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Villas Duc-Rhodes
Villas Duc-Rhodes
#7 of 32 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#4 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Sun Beach Resort Complex
#4 of 32 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbie Hotel

Property: Barbie Hotel
Address: Near Trianda Beach Mikinon, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barbie Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Barbie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbie Hotel Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing