We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Barbie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barbie Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

10 of us stayed for 2 weeks in August and had an amazing holiday. Basic but spotless apartments and the pool area was perfect. Food was lovely and the drinks really cheap.
Not bothered about the lack of utensils who wants to cook on holiday when you have loads of nice places to eat on your doorstep. Lots of really friendly like minded people to meet around the pool and bar and we will deffo return.

CHEERS!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Howiewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    35
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cranleigh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We went to this hotel as a family of six . We had two apartments one for two people the other for four. the entire place is very tired and run down and in need of attention. one of the apartments didn't have a kettle. the other one only had things in for three people .when we asked for extra pillows, chairs,kettle, anything it was met with a stoney glare....
the sunbeds half of them broken the rest just too tired rubbish was never cleaned . that is also a fault of other holiday makers who take their own rubbish away. there is no entertainment at this place but thankfully at the end of the unmade road there is enough going on if you like karaoke sports bars all very samey. the weather was excellant if you travel down the east coast of the island it is much nicer. however we survived but try to avoid this area and especially this hotel!!! at one point after a three day struggle we were able to change rooms but this still only had everything for three people very poor ....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank davinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed a week with familymembers in a two room appartment and found everything very clean . Basic kitchenwear provided, but wouldnt attempt to cook a full meal in the very small kitchen ( more like a kitchenette ). Perfect for breakfast and storing cold drinks though. The appartment is quite worn out - towels with holes in them, rust on oven and so on - dont mind this as long as cleanliness is ok so not a problem for us.
It was a problem though that the staff kept leaving us with only two sets of bedlinnen and towels( 3 adults ) - we had to go to reception twice and ask for extra sets and they took forever everytime to understand our problem and give us what we needed ( as if a worn out towel was part of the crown jewels ).
Nice size balcony with room for drying clothes.
Rented a car at reception, delivered to hotel- nice service.
Also ate twice at hotel - large portions of good food at reasonable prices.
Very nice and relaxed around the poolarea where we spend a couple of hours everyday after searching for a sunchair that wasnt broken - on last day also a broken step into the pool. Hope managers spend winterseason on repairs as we would love to come back again.
Overall a good experience taking in mind the very cheap price we paid - especially loved the cleanliness on whole hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank permatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Very bad. I had the good price and changed hotel the pool was dirty

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank aris_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Arriving at the apartments, we got a bit worried. The apartments are located up a little road the transfer busses / coaches can’t get up the road, with nothing but houses and villas - many are half completed - surrounded it and we felt like we were placed in the middle of a private housing area.

But just a 3 minute walk from the hotel and you are in one of the mail roads at Ialyssos. Here you will find restaurants, mini-markets, shopping, pharmacy, car rentals and so on.

We had booked a 2 room apartment and were placed in the building across the road. These apartments sleep 6, we believe with six in these it would be a real squash, the cooking facilities if you wanted to cook might be difficult, as in our apartment there was a lack of seating for six and cups, glasses and crockery, Fine for 4!!!
We had two bedrooms one a double and the other a twin and two additional beds in the lounge area. The air conditioning units are only in the bedrooms and if using for 6 persons in the height of the season we can imagine sleeping in the lounge area could be difficult due to the night time heat.

Cleaned and linen changed every other day. The hotel is very clean, the pool area is clean, the bar/restaurant is clean, the food is okay not over priced, and there is a pretty big play area / playground next to the pool. There is a pool table and air hockey table

Location a 3 minute walk from the main area of the resort. When you walk down the very dusty and uneven unmade road that leads to the resort don’t do what we did and at the bottom of the road look to the right and think that’s it. Walk to the right and around the corner and there is plenty more. Plenty of places to eat, of various qualities and prices to suit most budgets. Our favourites were the Knights of Olde – always very popular and the locals eat here, and the ‘Cake Box’ try their Nutella Waffles!!!
It is located very close to every this you need, and is also 5 min. walk from a bus stop where you can take the bus into Rhodos City for about 2 euro.

For the essential holiday bit’s, we suggest a walk to the bigger supper market on the main road. Cheaper than those in the restaurant area, walk out of the reception area, turn left up to the top – t junction, turn right and walk to the end, turn left and up to the main road, supermarket is at the top of this road, 7 min walk away.

Overall we were very pleased with our holiday; these apartments are a Greek three star and are good value for money. All in all this is a fine hotel, fine location, clean, friendly staff.

We travelled in August 2011, 1 adult and 2 teenage boys.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMS4189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

If you are looking for a laid-back relaxing holiday, this is the place for you. Having holidayed in Turkey for many years, this is completely different. There were plenty of sunbeds and no-one bothered to get up at horrendous hours to put towels out despite being there in August. You could still get a sunbed mid-morning! The food is fabulous in the restaurant as well as being good value for money. Big helpings and freshly cooked to order so you might have to wait if its busy but well worth it. Try the Greek dishes. The breakfast choice is also superb. If you are looking to be entertained at night then this is not the place for you. Despite previous reviews, there was no entertainment during our 7 day stay which suited us perfectly. We were provided with big, fluffy towels every 2 days and sheets changed every 3 days. Kitchen was adequately stocked although a toaster would have been good as the grill takes ages to make toast. Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnneMarieO64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Stayed two weeks at the Barbie and found it a lovely relaxing place to stay. No problem getting a sunbed by the pool but we went in June so was fairly quiet. If you have young children it is perfect by the pool area with large grassy space and very good childrens playground.
We found the apartment very comfortable and the mini oven is very handy to have.
We were lucky that there was a Greek night while we were there. We would not normally go to something like that but having read the reviews decided to give it a go.Glad we did
as it was a good night, very friendly and a laugh, also loads of lovely food,people were going back for seconds and thirds!
The resort itself has plenty of bars and restaurants the best value was Greekland.
The beach not very nice and not at all suitable for children.Lots of litter which is never cleared up on the parts of the beach which is not fronted by hotels. We found the best bit of beach about 20minute walk away with trees to sit under. When you hit the beach turn right going away from resort centre and past all the sunbeds.
Easy to get to Rhodes town by bus, but to visit elsewhere you really need a car. You can get other buses at the bus terminal but looks like a nightmare!
Would recommend Barbie especially if you are not bothered about good beaches.

Room Tip: We emailed before arriving to get upstairs apartment, the ground floor ones are a bit below ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillhaylingisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.5 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.6 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Villas Duc-Rhodes
Villas Duc-Rhodes
#7 of 31 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Sun Beach Resort Complex
#4 of 31 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbie Hotel

Property: Barbie Hotel
Address: Near Trianda Beach Mikinon, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barbie Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barbie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbie Hotel Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing