We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Allote MUST be visited.”
Review of San Allote

San Allote
Ranked #33 of 88 Restaurants in Ialyssos
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“San Allote MUST be visited.”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

As much as we thought all the home cooked food in Rhodes was of a very high standard, this was by far the best. Dimitria's hospitality was welcoming, friendly and appropriate. She remembered her returning customers and even what they'd eaten before, so she was able to recommend something new that was guaranteed to satisfy. Our four year old son was well looked after with home cooked chicken 'nuggets' and, his favourite, meat balls. And for a particularly picky eater, that was a miracle! We were so impressed we went back at least half a dozen times in our two weeks. We ended up comparing all other restaurants to the San Allote. If we ever go back to Rhodes, we will definitely be returning to this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahRMMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    31
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Restaurant of Quality”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Have just returned from Ialyssos, Rhodes and during our two week stay we enjoyed many excellent dishes at the San Allote. As has already been said, the food is traditional, fresh and of high quality. Added to this is the very special hospitality. San Allote is a family business and it is so obvious much pride is taken in quality and presentation.
TripAdvisor have most certainly not placed this Restaurant in the correct category as there is no way it can be compared to the coffee shop further down the road.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Trip advisor got it wrong!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I think that putting a restaurant in the same brackett as a coffee shop is a bit harsh. The family that run the san allote are amongst the most hospitable we have met, they continually have diners which go back for 2nd , 3rd and 4th visits. The food is extremely tasty, is always hot and as if this wasnt enough it is great value for money. On our 2nd trip here the restaurant was packed out but the lady that runs the front of house made room for us as she had recognised us. She is extremely friendly without being over powering or intrusive. As if all this wasnt amazing enough the toilet facilities are also immaculate. I would highly recomend a trip here to anyone staying in ilalysos.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilovegreekholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food and hospitality. Great value too.”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The food was excellent and the hospitalty even better. You are treated like a friend, not just another customer. Dimitra would come and sit with you and talk about the menu that her husband, Nikos, would cook from fresh ingredients. My wife needs gluten free food. This was no problem as they would adjust the recipe to suit her needs. We made a second visit 4 days later and Dimitra remembered what we ate before (we couldn't remember, but she was absolutely correct) so that we could, maybe, try something different. On both occasions we had 2 starters, 2 mains and half litre of wine for around 30 euros. Great value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulShardelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
1 review
“The best restaurant in Rhodes”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I have never ever eaten as good food as I did in San Allote. Me and my family ate stifado, greek salad, lamb chops, souvlaki and gyros plate and we all were in heaven. The mom is a wonderful person who creates a lovely atmosphere in the restaurant. Dad cooks an exellent food with lots of taste and love. I really hope to go back to Rhodes and San Allote restaurant. My castronomic heart is in there!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helmutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Allote also viewed

Ialyssos, Rhodes
Ialyssos, Rhodes
 
Ialyssos, Rhodes
 

Been to San Allote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing