We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what was advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kassandra Family ApartHotel
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We booked a week break at Kassandra apartments for the last week in September through Thompsons, paying over £900 for the week. When we arrived we were given a room in the new block (this is apparently the best block!) to find our bedroom the usual arrangement of twin beds, wardrobe and cheap furniture - our other room containing the well equiped small kitchen only had 3 more single beds and a 2 foot by 3 foot table with 4 rickety chairs. No soft furnishings of any description. Laying on the beds felt like rubble shoved into large sacks and were very uncomfortable. When we complained we were told all the rooms were like that. When we asked George, the bar/restaurant manager when the advertised Greek night was, "No Greek night". The gym shown in the pictures doesn't exist and you take pot luck getting a shower as hot water seems to be available at random short periods throughout the day. You cannot see the bottom of the pool (3 feet deep) at the shallow end due to lack of filtration and very high chlorine content (Rhodes harbour is considerably clearer!). The electricity goes off when you leave the room, including the fridge which clearly had not been cleaned for some time, so the ice box was quite literally full of ice and water/drinks couldn't be chilled unless you stayed in. That said, the maid service is very good, and is probably the best thing I can say about the apartmet,. Our apartment overlooked the road at the back and the dogs from the residents there never stopped barking morning, noon or night. One thing to remember about Greece is that it is a nicotine junkies paradise as smoking is allowed everywhere - by barmen whilst serving you, by shop assistants serving you, and at every table in every bar, restaurant,cafe. I would rather spend a week in my leaky shed at the bottom of my garden in winter than go back to the Kassandra apartments!

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms in the new block are the best - if thats the case I dread to think what the old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 444 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

I decided to take a last minute break with my 2 daughters for week at the Kassandra apartments in Ixia. I was very disappointed in the accommodation. It is certainly in need of some Tender Loving Care. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which although reasonably clean certainly needed some modernisation. There was a problem with ants around the sink area in the kitchen. The welcome meeting was tedious and didn't really tell you much about the area surrounding the hotel. We used the pools the first afternoon we there but decided to walk the mile or so to the beach every day due to the water in both pools being very murky! We found that the reception staff weren't very helpful. We don't like to spend too much time in the rooms when we are away but wouldn't have wanted to spend any more time in this room than we had to. The air conditioning is only available in one of the bedrooms so doesn't help when you are in the room that hasn't got a unit! Very disappointed felt like I was back in 80's greece when I was a youngster and didn't know better! Won't be returning to this complex I'm afraid :(

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bernie2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Been back from the kassandra appartments...2weeks now...an miss elena an eiriena very much ...they was our maids that cleaned our appartments very well every day...they started as maids an ended as friends forever...we loved it there...it was very basic...but very clean...we was in a two bed apartment in the old block...the food was good...the karaoke was great on a Friday night...that was the best...the staff was lovely...we hired a car an went all over the place...so it was a good base...we went there as guests and left as friends...If you want GOOD food down by the beach theres MR GREEKS...GEORGE owns it an the food is great ...all cooked fresh for you...so when you go say...Sandra.mal.len ...also ken sent you...miss you all ...see you next year...

Room Tip: rooms above reception basic but clean...222.223,224...bright loved it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra4446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KassandraHotel, Ιδιοκτήτης at Kassandra Family ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

Dear sandra4446

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a personal review here on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Kassandra Family ApartHotel.

It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide service and hospitality are so much appreciated.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back
Kassandra Family ApartHotel in the near future.

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best.

With our warmest regards from Rhodes
Sincerely.

Manolis Zampellakis, Hotel Manager
Kassandra Family ApartHotel
mail to: hotelkassandra@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

In the Olympic brochure, the Kassandra Apartments were described as having lifts. Now I mention this because the person I was travelling with is disabled and was the reason I booked. When we arrived, only one block had lifts and it was a great strain on my travelling partner. The room was very basic and in need of some modernisation, it was right out of the 80's. 49 Euros for air conditioning (I thought that was a bit steep), radios on the beds that did not work, in fact the wires hanging on the floor suggested they'd been disconnected. The T.V. (also from the 80's) had no channels working as well (probably extra) and no toaster. The general atmosphere in the hotel was friendly and the staff were helpful, the pool area was well laid out with a bar and taverna. The bar advertised various nights, Greek, Karaoke and live music, there was only the Karaoke. My overall feelings about this hotel is that it needs some money spent to bring ALL the blocks up to scratch, not just the one shown in the brochure. Because of that they are hanging on to the three stars at the moment. Having said all that, I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room from the main block shown on the brochure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peteeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Though it's a half year ago we still enjoy the rememberance of our stay in Ialyssos. The personell is friendly and helpfull. The restaurant in the back serves the best Gyros. Thanks to George. The beach is nearby and the pools are nice and clean. The bars have friendly waiters and waitresses. I never liked karaoke, but when personell is joining in with their performance it makes this event special. Buy a pair of swim shoes. With bare feet it's not pleasant to climb out of the sea, while the beach is made of pebbles instead of sand. Rent a bed from the old blond and have your breakfast in one of the restaurants at the boulevard and your beachday is complete. Restaurants in Ialyssos are a bit poor. They don't have the cosyness of the ones in the Old Town of Rhodes City, but that's just a statement. The food is good. Try a visit to the restaurant with the watermill just at the end of the road. Mama makes the best dishes, while the son is taking the credits. The rooms are a bit small, but I don't rent a room to be there all the time. The sanatary is good and clean. You don't have to walk around to get wet from the shower. You make a visit to Rhodes city very easy by taxi whenever you like to breath the history of this Island. Besides the old city their much more to see in the surroundings.

Room Tip: The rooms around the big pool have nicer balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeroen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KassandraHotel, Ιδιοκτήτης at Kassandra Family ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

Dear Jeroen S

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a personal review here on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Kassandra Family ApartHotel.

It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide service and hospitality are so much appreciated.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back
Kassandra Family ApartHotel in the near future.

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best.

With our warmest regards from Rhodes
Sincerely.

Manolis Zampellakis, Hotel Manager
Kassandra Family ApartHotel
mail to: hotelkassandra@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our accomodation at Kassandra was basic, but clean. We had a two bedroom room with small kitchenette, bathroom and a veranda. The room was cleaned and tidied each day of our stay and although the room was somewhat dated, we didn't spend a great deal of time there as we were out & about.

The Kassandra is a short walk from the beachfront and the restaurants, cafes and bars, so not far to walk for a swim and a choice of food & drink. The swimming pools at the Kassandra were always busy so we didn't use them much at all, choosing instead to spend our time on the beach. The sea was 27 degrees and was probably cleaner than the pool water too.

There is a large supermarket nearby making life pretty easy if you go self catering as we did for the week.

In ou experience, the only downside of Kassandra was having to pay extra for the airconditioning, which in the heat of the summer nights was pretty well essential.

Overall, Kassandra offers basic, clean, no-frills accommodation that is close to both the beach and the town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheChampions11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband & myself have just come back from 2 weeks at Kassandra apartments, we can honestly say that while yes the rooms were basic they were always clean. All the staff were very friendly.The food in the restaurant was very nice also. We would also like to recommend The blue angel café bar Amelia was so good to me & my husband. We would also like to thank stelios & the guys at the restaurant we ate at most nights although we never saw the name the food was beautiful,everyone was friendly & Stelios helped us with some greek. So thank you to all those at Kassandra,amelia at the blue angel café bar & stelios & friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KassandraHotel, Ιδιοκτήτης at Kassandra Family ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

Dear Theresa l

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a personal review here on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Kassandra Family ApartHotel.

It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide service and hospitality are so much appreciated.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back
Kassandra Family ApartHotel in the near future.

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best.

With our warmest regards from Rhodes
Sincerely.

Manolis Zampellakis, Hotel Manager
Kassandra Family ApartHotel
mail to: hotelkassandra@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.2 mi away
Sunday Hotel
Sunday Hotel
#40 of 126 in Rhodes Town
153 reviews
24.6 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
Alea Hotel
Alea Hotel
#12 of 32 in Ialyssos
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Anixis Apartments
Anixis Apartments
#13 of 32 in Ialyssos
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heleni Beach Hotel
Heleni Beach Hotel
#15 of 32 in Ialyssos
60 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#9 of 126 in Rhodes Town
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kassandra Family ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kassandra Family ApartHotel

Address: 1 Rimini, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Ialyssos
Price Range: $21 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kassandra Family ApartHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to Rhodes and at Kassandra Family Apart Hotel and we hope you will enjoy your stay with us. Kassandra Family Apart Hotel is an independent hotel owned by a family. The Hotel first opened in 1989 and consisted of three buildings, which were extended into five building in the year 2000 and counts a number of 147 apartments, which can accommodate about 450 guests. Kassandra Family Apart Hotel is an ideal place to be for families and people who would like to enjoy their holidays in a friendly, relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your Kassandra Family ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kassandra Apartments Hotel Ialyssos
Kassandra Family ApartHotel Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing