We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymooners return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Ranked #24 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Honeymooners return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

We decided to revisit our honeymoon destination 14 years after our first visit with our two daughters (4 and 12 years old). We wanted somewhere central to Rhodes old town and somewhere we would want to return to each night.
The Avalon Boutique excelled at both requirements, we were warmly welcomed by Spiros who seems to be around 24/7 and is always willing to help. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he was always happy to go that little bit further than required.
The hotel is small and has six suites, all surround the courtyard which is fantastic for drinks and dining outside either in the sun or the shade under the many trees.
Our suite (Thalassa) was very well laid out and the air conditioning was set to provide a temperature that was perfect to walk into after a day in the streets of the old town.
The suites have plenty of hot water, the toilet and washing facilities are great (compared to other hotels in Rhodes we have stayed at).
Food was also excellent, breakfast was as fresh as it gets.
Housekeeping was excellent, with the mess left by our children cleaned daily. We managed to break a couple of items (sorry Spiros) but it was shrugged off and we were told not to worry!
The hotel has had some pretty famous guests which they choose not to publicise but we found out out during our stay (by royal appointment!?).
Our only complaints?
Not being able to stay forever and the hotel location!!!.......they really don't tell you what a fantastic location it's in.
The hotel is set about 10 metres off a side street of the 2nd most photographed street in Rhodes old town opposite the Italian consulate in the Street of the Knights. Set in the area that was the Auberge of the Spanish Knights!
You truly could not have a more perfect location, the entrance to the grand palace is 50 metres up the hill and the bustling Market streets are 100 metres away.
It is possible to book direct with the hotel, just ask for Spiros and he will make your stay perfect.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Justinyoung1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    42
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
134
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We've been staying at the Avalon for the past four years and have always had a superb time.
This year there were a few issues that needed to be addressed; leaking air conditioning unit, broken door entry unit etc. The rooms are starting to look tired and need to be refurbished, maintenance needs to be carried out. I have emailed the proprietor and advised him of these issues, enquiring if he is going to invest necessary funds to put things right; I've had no response.
I do hope that he does, as this place is such a gem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We are regular travellers and have stayed at many hotels.
Recently we visited Rodos, Greece 3 times, each time staying at the Avalon Boutique Hotel in the Old Town part of Rodos.
We have found the owner, Chrysoula and all the staff to be extremely friendly, courteous and helpful at all times.
On our stays we have been placed in 3 different rooms.
We have found each room to be very spacious and well appointed with large bedrooms, lounge/sitting areas and separate bathrooms. All are very comfortably furnished and kept spotlessly clean at all times, as was all linen and towelling.
The breakfasts are generous servings of a large variety of fresh, healthy and tasy dishes prepared to each guests individual liking.
The hotel is easily accessible by taxi or hire car which makes moving suitcases very easy.
Particularly useful is the free WIFI access.
We are happy to recommend Avalon to family, friends and all else.

George & Sylvia Varsamis.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Situated in the heart of the medieval town of Rhodes, just off the Street of the Knights, Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel is in a wonderful location to explore both the old and new towns. Eight elegant, spacious suites are housed in stone buildings around a shady courtyard and garden offering a quiet tranquil oasis.
Each suite is individually and tastefully planned and decorated. Our suite, Anatoli, was comfortable and spacious with a really good sized shower (hard to find in Greece) with a great shower fixture. The bathroom was a good size. Our king size bed was comfortable and there was plenty of storage for clothes. The living area had a comfortable sofa bed, a fireplace, dining table, flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Extra nice touches are candle holders, a vase and a small library of books including English ones.
But one of the nicest surprises was that we had a huge terrace with 3 private, separate seating areas with sun or shade, and a lovely outlook.
The owner and staff were very hospitable, friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were generous, fresh and varied. We enjoyed one dinner which was a traditional Greek meal and a nice change from the usual touristic meals offered in the majority of restaurants in Rhodes. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatsyNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the Avalon Boutique Suites and were glad we did. Spiros was very helpful, both when we arrived and to contact a Santorini Hotel (left clothes behind...oops) and a car rental place in Turkey. The hotel is in a quiet side street, close to the Grand Palace. The building would date back many hundreds of years and has been tastefully decorated. There is a lovely courtyard for breakfast or other meals. Our room had 2 levels and a balcony. It is family run and they do it well. We hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FergusPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

What a disappointment! The location is wonderful and the garden terrace romantic. Beds are the most comfortable I've slept in but.........there was no attention to detail which would be expected for a hotel in this price range.
No water glasses
Nowhere to keep our water cold - we had to decant the mini bar
When we arrived, 2 light bulbs did not work and the cups , coffee and milk had not been refilled.
There was no information pack in the room
The 'posh' shower leaked
The safe was in a cupboard but not attached to anything - you could just pick it up and take it out with you!
Few channels on the TV - none in English - not even BBC world news.
No armchairs - just an uncomfortable sofa bed to sit on to watch the Greek TV
We were promised bathrobes and slippers in our Greek Sun brochure but they were not there
As for breakfast....
we ordered the night before and the waitresses brought the items to our table one at a time in random order. One day we had coffee first the next day it was last. Fruit juice usually came after breakfast! We had bread but no jam or butter for 5 minutes so we couldn't start. My friends and I had bets on which order the breakfast items would come.
One of the waitresses was particularly dour - she did not smile at all.
Despite all, Spyros tried hard to deal with all our problems and we thank him but why is a large Mythos the same price as a small Mythos? Both 4 euros - I suggest a large one with a spare glass for those who can't manage a large glass.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

The staff at Avalon were amazing! We couldn't have been happier with the service they provided. So friendly, & would do anything for us. The room we stayed in, was spacious and very comfortable. The wi-fi was excellent. If we had to make any negative comments, it would be the shower taking a while to warm up and some globes needing to be replaced, but nothing that would stop us going back in a second. So quiet and just wonderful, yet so close to the centre of the Old Town. Just fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherrin_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
#31 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#33 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
#30 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
#42 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kokkini Porta Rossa
Kokkini Porta Rossa
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel

Property: Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Address: 9 Haritos Street | Medieval City of Rhodes, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#19 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon Boutique Hotel is a unique Medieval Property with modern features and high quality services. Located just a breath away from the famous Grand Master's Palace and Knight's Street is an idyllic gem in the heart of the Old Town of Rhodes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Boutique Hotel Rhodes Town
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing