We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culture and quality in the medieval old town. Little gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Ranked #24 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Culture and quality in the medieval old town at this little gem! We stayed at the Avalon w/c 23rd Sept 2013 on a sunshine break to Rhodes.
The Avalon Boutique is in a quite location to explore Rhodes old town, enjoy the mesmerizing beauty of the medieval old town and its imposing castles, if you favour high rise hotels and swimmings pools then the Avalon is not for you. Sorry. The owner and staff at the Avalon are excellent (no complaints - thank you to all at the Avalon for making our stay memorable Xx) nothing was too much bother, breakfast was simple and relaxing in the courtyard. Enjoy a late night drink in the courtyard an oasis of smells from the plantlife. The rooms are very comfortable, clean, cool and really quite. Not your usual modern day hotel room "Quirky" comes to mind.
Turn right out of the hotel and walk two minutes you can engage with the local markets traders and its many tavenra's. Turn left into the culture of years gone by.
Rhodes being the island of the Knights it has a long history and has developed a significant culture throughout the years, from the Avalon it's right on your doorstep. Enjoy!
"Highly Recommended" GCD
Transport in Rhodes... If you want a degree of fun and mix with the locals in Rhodes catch the local bus, (forget the car hire) the entertainments is well worth writing home about. Especially getting on and getting off - there are no queue's its every man for him self. A big bag helps to path the way! Have fun x

Room Tip: This is based on what you pay and availability. All the rooms seem generous. There is no disco noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 249 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was our third year staying at the superb Avalon .........
If you want to stay somewhere where you can chill out in complete serenity, this is the place. The owners and staff are welcoming and so helpful. The suites are spacious, very comfortable and tasteflly decorated, with sun trap patios.
You have to try this place, we've already booked for next year !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

It was really like arrive to Paradise...... A wonderful and quiet place, old building with all the modern equipment, great suite, we were 3 days in the Eros suite, like Honeymoon...... fully furnished with air conditioned, frigidaire, balcony and tv. The staff is very nice, very helpful, wonderful breakfast in the patio, a lovely garden with little birds, plants of mint and lots of flowers and trees......

We liked it very much and we hope come back to Avalon next time!!! Thank you Greek people we love you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susa48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is so beautiful, situated in the old town so close to all the busy shops and restaurants, but amazingly quiet. The courtyard is an oasis and delightfully lit at night. The staff are very helpful.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Avalon Hotel, in Old Rhodes City, is like the frosting on a beautiful cake. We stayed in one of the six rooms that was more like a well furnished apartment. The patio, where breakfast is served, is beautiful, with cascading bougainvillea of many colors. Breakfast was typical of food on the island. The staff was outstandingly helpful. They found us a very good guide, fora 3 hour tour, who knew so much about the history of the area that it brought the ancient city to life. The owner is a highly trained dentist who offers packages including a stay and very good dental care. As a dentist myself I was very impressed by his services as well as the prices he charges for them. The hotel is planning expansion into the adjoining property, perhaps w itch a pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrYBrokos, Owner at Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Mr Calman,
Thank you so much for your kind words. The pleasure was all our, having you and your lovely wife in Rhodes and in Avalon Hotel. We hope to see you soon in the near future. Best Wishes to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Any romantic notions I had about staying in a castle and now dispelled. The rooms were clean but there was a subtle musty smell that lingers. The breakfasts were disappointing on many levels.
We stayed here at the end of a month long trip island hopping in Greece so had a number of comparisons to draw on. With only 6 rooms to provide for I expected good food and great service (I work in the food industry service) but this was not the case. The staff serving breakfast seemed disorganized and breakfast arrived piecemeal, not what you had ordered, limited in quantities, and trying to get a second cup of coffee was painful. Not memorable!
The day clerk was helpful when approached but the night staff appeared to be busy smoking and working on his computer and was reluctant to provide information or service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I wish I could give this place 3.5 stars. Three isn't enough but 4 is too many.

It is a fantastic property in an ideal location that has a lot of potential.

I'll start with the good.:

It is in Old Town and convenient to everything you'd want to see and do as a tourist in Rhodes.

The suite we stayed in had a great floorplan for two couples or a couple guys. Living and bedroom down another bedroom up.

The people who work there are friendly and helpful.

The property is beautiful. The courtyard is a great place to eat or just relax and the place is small enough you get to know everyone.

Now the bad.

If there is Air Conditioning it doesn't work. Each time I asked I was told it needed to be turned on at the front desk. In May we were awoken early each morning because the room reached an unbearable temperature.

The telephones either do not work or they were just not answered. I couldn't tell which..

The hotel is VERY short staffed. We had no maid service the first couple days. I had to hunt down towels and toilet paper. There was no one to work the desk because they were busy in the restaurant. At night everyone was gone. I saw a grand total of four employees. That just wasn't nearly enough.

The people who were there were hard working, friendly and helpful. They just needed twice as many people.

Room Tip: The suite (I believe there is only one) is great. I can't imagine you could go wrong as far as l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
#41 of 126 in Rhodes Town
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 126 in Rhodes Town
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#35 of 126 in Rhodes Town
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
428 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bellevue Suites Hotel
Bellevue Suites Hotel
#37 of 126 in Rhodes Town
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zacosta Villa Hotel
Zacosta Villa Hotel
#46 of 126 in Rhodes Town
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel

Address: 9 Haritos Street | Medieval City of Rhodes, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#22 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $93 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon Boutique Hotel is a unique Medieval Property with modern features and high quality services. Located just a breath away from the famous Grand Master's Palace and Knight's Street is an idyllic gem in the heart of the Old Town of Rhodes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Boutique Hotel Rhodes Town
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing