We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must - both for the building and for the exhibits”

Archaeological Museum of Rhodes (Hospital of the Knights)
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.50*
and up
Medieval Segway Tour in Rhodes
Ranked #3 of 108 things to do in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must - both for the building and for the exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Beautiful building, courtyards and gardens make this site a must-visit, let alone for the sculpture and pottery collection of Ancient Greek art - and the pottery was accompanied by excellent explanations, so you could understand what you were looking at. And don't skip the garden with great mosaics and the rooms on the far side of the garden with the earliest exhibits.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bernstes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    897
    499
    123
    18
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Gorah
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth the walk....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

You should visit this museum just to see the building. The exhibits are fascinating, but the place is massive! Great architecture!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harikleia1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caesarea
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A museum with a hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

As we came up the large stair way to the second floor, we turned left and entered a large medieval hall which was the Knights barracks. When we exited we turned the corner and came across a series of rooms along two sides of the court yard that housed an incredible pottery and artifact collection. The only problem was viewing these were a real torture. No air conditioning or even fans, sealed windows and stiffling heat. However, by the time you get back to the top of stairs where you began there are surprised in store. A well ventilated room with beautiful sculptures, especially Aphrodite bathing. We were just about to leave having been exhausted by the heat, when we say a sign saying to the garden. We followed it and into a patiopast pleasant cafe and into the most incredible garden filled with a remarkable collection of mosiacs lifted up and mounted on the walls. Don't miss this, it is truly a great experience to wander through this garden.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leganes
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Do not miss !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Try it in the middle of the day, taking refuge of the sun, you won´t regret. Is almost a spa for the eyes, and for the mind, you can relax for the ugly tourist scene around being amid marvels. And the building is magnificent

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank patanete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

nothing special about it, was nice to see but not an absolute must see. every time we entered a room, we were disappointed to see just pots...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartyQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archaeological Museum of Rhodes (Hospital of the Knights) also viewed

 

Been to Archaeological Museum of Rhodes (Hospital of the Knights)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing