We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a fab time”
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #63 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2007

I was dreading this holiday after reading the reviews, this was my first holiday as a solo traveller but as it happens I ended up having a fab time. This was more down to the people I met, Marilyn ,Bill, Sheila and all the other lovely guests there were some great characters. It got of to a dodgy start (3 rooms in 1 hour) but I was to tired to care. The breakfasts were a hoot! the morning we only got 3 slices of toast instead of the usual 4 was seemingly because the slices of bread were larger!!we laughed till we cried!It was basis accomadationbut if you want 5 star pay for 5 star..Poppy was always friendly and the two gentlemen on reception could not do enough to help. the prices in hotel were a bit highif rduced them i'm sure mre people would stay round hotel on an evening.The town of Afandou is lovely plenty of tavernas I never had one bad meal,Then there was the bar on the square where the owner was a right joker with everyone(Richard was mine Mags)There was a festival on when I was there to thank the tourists, people were dressed in traditional Greek dress with free food and drink.magical.
The lady at the end of the drive in the supermarket is just the nicest person as is her son and my thoughts and prayers are with you both. so everything went fine until the last day when i got either bit or stung by something on the beach oh it was so painful and by the end of the day i was convinced it had been a snake(I tend to exagerate a little)So all in all it was a peaceful holiday better than I could of ever imagined.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie20077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 167 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2007

My friend, her daughter my son and I have just spent a great week at the Sivila. Having read the reviews before I went I was more than anxious about what to expect, and had even thought of cancelling my holiday, my friend had thoughrt of upgrading to another hotel. We were very plesently suprised when we arrived at the Sivila. The reception was clean and bright and the receptionist was friendly and helpful as were all the staff at the hotel, as we arrived in the middle of a heatwave we paid for the aircon which was 56 euros for the week. We had booked bed and breakfast, the room I was in was lovely, although it was basic it was very clean and there were no sockets hanging off the wall. The bathroom was clean and the water was hot the whole week, my towels and bedding were changed 3 times during my stay, the room was cleaned daily and the bin was emptied. The supermarket on the complex was a little expensive, but there was a little supermarket at the end of the drive to the hotel and the lady in there was lovely, she had a smile every day and even gave my friend and I a little gift on our last day. The pool at the Sivila was a good size and exceptionally clean. There were sometimes bugs floating but what can you expect in such a hot climate, the one day I asked for a net to move a few bugs that were floating and within seconds the handyman came and cleaned the pool out. There was no debris in the pool and it was cleaned at least twice a day. The sunloungers were free and there were plenty of them. Most nights we went into Afandou on the ditto, which was great. The Ditto is a little road train which pulls up outside the hotel, takes you along the beach and then into Afandou, it costs two euros per person not bad, on the nights we mised the train the receptionist would call a taxi for us you were asked to pay 20cent for the call and the taxi cost 5 euros. I would strongly recommend eating at Sergios and the Four Seasons, the food is lovely and very reasonable priced, the service is excellent. We would return back to the hotel around 10.00pm, it was not noisey even though the bar was open, I never heard any noise during the night and had no problem sleeping. I did not see any cockroaches during my stay at the hotel. I would recommend going to the Sivila if you want a quiet break to get away from it all it is very peaceful and the people are very friendly and helpful. I am definatley going to try and go next year if not the year after. The Sivila is a 2.5 star hotel, it is not the Ritz but it certainly isn't dirty and full of rude people. All in all I had a most excellent holiday, remember if you want the Ritz then pay for the Ritz, if you want a quiet break to get away try the Sivila.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kittikit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

we are a family of 4(2 adults and 2 teens) we stayed at the silvila hotel for 2 weeks on a self catering basis.the self catering facilities were very basic,2 electric rings contained withing the metal sink unit,2 pans, a few items of crockery , a fridge, no kettle, no toaster and no cooking utensils.
room were cleaned daily and clean towels and bedding given every 3 days.
there is a good size swimming pool at the hotel that was kept clean most days and plenty of sun loungers available free of charge.
the only problem with the pool was that the management insisted on playing very loud music from 8am -6pm everyday(this included xmas carols in july!!!)this made relaxing hard.
the majority of the staff were helpfull and fairly friendly.
prices of food and drinks at the hotel were very expensive as with the onsite shop (good supermarket 2 mins walk away at the end of the drive)
the food at the hotel was edible but nothing special
we encounterd a few cockroaches in the bathroom but this is to be expected in a hot country
enetertainment at the hotel was very poor(1 kareokee night and a greek night )the greek night was ok but a little expensive at 30euros each.
the hotel is situated a good 25 min walk from the town (not recomemded in the heat) so we had to budget 6 euros for a taxi each way. local transport does pick up during peak season right outside the door (2 euros each)
afandou itself is lovely and the locals more than ready to help and give advice.
there are plenty of lovely places to eat (i recomend four seasons.mikes bar on the square and neon)
don't be pushed into takin the reps tours they are VERY expensive. diy much cheeper and easy to do. timetable and prices for buses displayed on the town square and the taxi rank nearby also dislpays set fares.
i would not recomend this hotel for anyone with walking disabilities as ther are steep steps into the hotel and the 1 ramp we saw was more like a ski slope with no hand rail.
to sum up the silvila hotel is not too bad for a 2* hotel, but the location may prove to be a problem for some.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank del3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

I booked this holiday with my boyfriend for two weeks. It was our first holiday together and we were 18 years old. We thought Rhodes was a beautiful island, but the Sivila left a lot to be desired.

The reception staff were extremely unhelpful. We nicknamed one lady the Bride of Dracula, she was very pale and seemed to be permanently cross with the customers. Never a kind word, and I did not see her smile once during our two week stay.

On the plus side the bartender Sam was a great laugh if you got him talking. We made really good friends with him and he even took us down to his parents' beach where they run water sports and boat trips along the island coast. We took one of these trips and it was great - stunning scenery and Sam anchored at a bay along the coast so we could swim. Would definitely recommend it.

The pool staff were friendly to us, but I agree that the food in the little supermarket next to it was over-priced. We had booked bed and breakfast, and the breakfast was awful. You had to pay if you wanted anything cooked, and the continental choice was nothing like what's on offer in English hotels usually.

The room was stifling. Being mere students we could not afford air conditioning, so we spent a week cooking. Finally we bought a fan from a local shop, which I don't think the Bride of Dracula was too pleased about. She also tried to make me pay 50 EUROS for ONE towel that I accidentally got some henna on. All in all I think that they were just trying to get as much money as they could out of customers. There were also sockets with wires hanging out of them in our room, and we never had hot water in the shower. The bathroom was just shabby overall and relatively grimy. The cleaners did come regularly though.

Do make the most of the little train into Afandou and along the beach (2 euros a trip), and also the coaches into Faliraki, Rhodes Town and Lindos. The food was fantastic wherever we ate, even at the Sivila (although significantly pricier than in town - no surprises there). Mosquitos were a problem, so be sure to take repellant.

Afandou was a lovely town. Minas' cocktail bar was great and he's very friendly. The beach was also fantastic, amazing views and relatively warm sea. Faliraki is nearby for those who want clubbing and it was 10 euros for a taxi, I seem to remember. A must-visit is Rhodes Town which is split into an old and new part. The old town has a huge market throughout which was brilliant for browsing and haggling. The acropolis at Lindos was also a good day out, absolutely breath-taking views that were worth the long thirsty trek.

All in all Rhodes was beautiful, but the Sivila left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Scarlet20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

Just returned from a weeks stay at the sivila hotel, Hotel was ok, but a bit out of the way,caught train into town for 2 euros.
Arrived early morning staff at the hotel were very unhelpful, but thought this was just because of the time we arrived.
But the next day they weren't any better. The receptionist was very abrupt everytime you asked a question, as if everything was just too much trouble,aircon very expensive as were the food and drinks in the hotel and the supermarket in the hotel. The supermarket just opposite the hotel was much cheaper and very friendly too.
Afandou is a lovely village with lots of places to eat, some good bars too, Mikes for cocktails and the bar on the square, that Minas runs, both great places.

On the whole the Sivila Hotel could be a great hotel if the staff were changed and a few upgrades made.

Yes to afandou and definatley no to Sivila Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mojoBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

We read some reviews about this hotel before going away and some were not very good.
We had a very nice holiday at the Sivila and the only complaint we would have is a lack of hot water most of our two week stay, it was luke warm at best mostly.
The self catering facilities are basic, two rings, one saucepan, a frying pan and small pan to heat water for drinks. Three plates and bowls. Suffiecent to cook breakfast but not much more really, did not bother us as we ate out each evening.
If you have booked Bed & Breakfast be warned ... you will not have any catering facilities at all and NO FRIDGE. We met a couple who booked B&B and they had to pay extra for a fridge for a week. Also the breakfast is continental and not very good.
Air-con is 56 Euros per week and well worth every penny, the temp for the last two weeks was into the 40's in the day and around 30 at night, very little relief from the heat. The main areas of the hotel do not have air-con (normal for Greece) so it was nice to go back to our room and cool down.
The beach is a 5 mins walk but do it early mid summer, v hot!
Afandou is a 5 min drive in a taxi which is 6 Euros, or you can catch the local tourist train for 2 Euros per person.
There are plenty of restaurants/Tavernas in Afandou and the staff are all very welcoming and friendly, you must try SERGIO'S just off the square and off to the left, it is on 3 floors and the top has air-con ... really was nice to eat with some cool air rather than struggle with the heat ... food is lovely here, wide and varied menu and the home made bread rolls are very nice with garlic butter. They also serve very nice roast potatoes.
We would also recommend The Four Seasons, we had a nice meal there also and so did others we spoke to.
Aparently the food is also good at the Sivila hotel, we only tried the Greek Salad which was very nice.
Excursions - Rhodes Express is basically a coach that takes you to Rhodes town and leaves you there, no guided tour and it will cost you 18 Euros per person - if you take a taxi and DIY it will cost 17 Euros each way and take up to 4 persons for this cost.... much cheaper. Lindos is similar, the coach just drops you off.
The taxi rank in Afandou displays taxi fares which are all set and they go to all the main attractions. The hotel reception will call a taxi for you.
If you like history and excavation sites, then a visit to Ancient Kamaris is a must, very interesting. Also the Acropolis at Lindos, quite a walk, take plenty of water and wear good footwear, the stones are a bit slippy with the heat. We took the Grand Island Tour and thoroughly enjoyed the day out, it covers most of the Island highlights apart from Lindos and Rhodes town.

Hope this info helps, have a good holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ScorpionBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Марина К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#84 of 126 in Rhodes Town
90 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sunday Hotel
Sunday Hotel
#43 of 126 in Rhodes Town
151 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Parthenon City
Hotel Parthenon City
#111 of 126 in Rhodes Town
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
7 Palms
7 Palms
#46 of 126 in Rhodes Town
73 reviews
4.1 mi away
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
#87 of 126 in Rhodes Town
45 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Galaxias
Hotel Galaxias
#35 of 126 in Rhodes Town
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Address: 114 Kolokotroni Str, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $23 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sylvia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Afandou
Sylvia Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing