We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grande Albergo delle Rose
Ranked #87 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We spent 5 nights at this hotel in May 2013 on a 2 month trip through the Greek Islands. It is a magnificent property, gorgeous old art deco building beautifully "done up" and perfectly positioned to the "old town" and restaurants. Unfortunately,service rather let it down. Perhaps it was off season, but no welcome drinks, carry your own bags (up stairs to boot), an unmanned reception desk for much of the time (we were referred to the Casino and the staff there were distinctly rude ), a very basic breakfast, a running toilet one night and the so called butler never made an appearance. Not exactly five star! This was meant to be a "highlight" stay but turned out to be the worst stay we had. Definitely not a good ambassador for Greek hospitality - which we experience in lavish quantities at properties a quarter of the price!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ruthledger_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 24 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel has a huge amount going for it, although there are one or two slightly rough edges. The location is fantastic, and it is a ten minute walk along the sea front to the Old Town. This walk is beautiful with amazing old structures (but be prepared to walk away from beggars who start with the question "where are you from?"). Alternatively, you can take one of the roads through the new town (e.g. Amerikis) taking you past shops and restaurants. There are a large number of restaurants around the casino, serving a range of Greek and Italian cuisine. You get much better value for money here than closer to or inside the Old Town. The hotel itself is very nice, only 30 rooms and our standard room was decorated to a very good standard. Although there is a smell of smoke in the communal areas, there is none in the bedroom. The air conditioning is quiet and efficient. Tea and coffee was delivered free by the butler and you can borrow DVDs from him as well. The hotel gym is fairly well equipped, and the butler needs about half an hours notice and will meet you with the key. The downsides were the lack of courtesy on arrival...we were given our room key and that was that. We had to ask all the usual questions...where are the rooms, what are the facilities at the hotel etc. There was some renovation work ongoing, and unfortunately it commenced at 8am and the staff thought I wanted to use the gym when I phoned to ask them to postpone the work for an hour. Finally, there was frequently some noise in the corridors around 10pm-11pm. I think this was a mixture of hotel staff and guests. The very late check out on the final day convinced me that the hotel deserves 5 rather than 4 stars but there is definitely some room for improvement in some elements of customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel, the junior suite we occupied was of a very high standard. The bed was huge & very comfortable, butler service is complimentary & the rooms are superbly clean, with at least 2 changes of towels daily. Room service was good with food delivered as it would be in the restaurant, a table with all the settings laid. Our room overlooked the sea & the view was lovely. We had fruit & roses in the room & the staff were very friendly & professional.
Breakfast was a buffet with fruit, cereal, poached or scrambled eggs or omelettes cooked to order, there were also pastries, salad, cheeses & cold meats. We were more than happy with the options & ate out each evening. This hotel is a city hotel as opposed to the usual touristy types in resorts, so there is not the usual info available on local attractions, events or excursions etc. If you are wanting a base in Rhodes town to explore the old town & visit shops, the harbour & have access to a beach, this hotel is a great choice. The only issue we had, was that the lovely pool was next to the aqua bar which played very,very loud music all day! If you are looking for quiet relaxation or reading a book by the pool then this is probably not the best place. If you don't mind the noise, there are places saved for hotel residents, as it gets very busy with anyone using the pool bar from the public beach. The Aqua bar itself is very good, the food is excellent & if resident, they will do you a take away meal for the beach. The outdoor garden restaurant is also very good. Service & food was better than anything in the old town & not much different in price. Live entertainment in the evening was good quality & pleasant, sitting having a cocktail or coffee was a good end to the evening, even if you did not want a meal. Elli beach which fronts the hotel is very busy, the sea is clear & fairly calm, take footwear as the beach is pebbles & stones. The best sunbeds were in front of the Ronda restaurant, they were the same price & had pillows. The Ronda staff also supply drinks & really varied tasty food or drinks to order. We would certainly recommend this hotel as a place to stay in Rhodes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emmagloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Lovely huge rooms that are frequently tidied, a huge jacuzzi, separate bathroom and great air conditioning. The beds were very comfy and the food at the bar (or delivered free to your room by the butler) was very tasty indeed - cocktails at the bar were also very nice as well.
Breakfast is continental style, so nothing cooked apart from eggs but it was tasty and filled us up for the morning, not to mention the wonderful view out past the bar to the sea.
Complimentary towels for the beach or pool if you ask, as well as free access to the casino if you like that sort of thing.
Complimentary bottle of champaign when we arrived (we were on honeymoon)
Staff were always friendly, polite and very helpful. Wonderful hotel, probably one of the best I've ever stayed at - was very sad to leave!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrRobinL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the Grande Albergo delle Rose for our honeymoon, at the beginning of June 2013. We were treated wonderfully and the service was very good. They upgraded our room and we arrived to champagne and flowers, a lovely thing for them to do for our honeymoon.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a continental breakfast, buffet style, but they always asked us if we wanted them to cook us anything or provide any drinks that were not on the buffet.
The butler service is brilliant, they really can't do enough for you, we felt spoilt. One night we had food and cocktails brought to us in our room from the garden cafe downstairs, it cost nothing more than going down to the cafe. The cafe and restaurant prices were similar to the restaurant prices we encountered elsewhere in Rhodes, they were not the hiked up prices that you may expect from a 5 star hotel.
A wonderful place to stay. The rooms and clean and beautiful, the atmosphere timeless and luxurious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed the week before the May half term and the hotel was relatively quiet. The staff are so professional and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Great food, luxurious suites and beautiful pool area. A big thankyou to Yanni (Pool attendant) who was magnificant!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewportGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

By far the best hotel in Rhodos town.Premium personalized service and breakfast,magnificent rooms with nice views of town and sea.Unique building with character and history well decorated and preserved.In the same place you can find a casino,a beautifull outside pool with an elegant bar and organised beach.If you can afford it don't hesitate to stay at this property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 831seaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
3.2 mi away
Villa Di Mare Luxury Suites
Villa Di Mare Luxury Suites
#57 of 126 in Rhodes Town
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Suites Hotel
Bellevue Suites Hotel
#36 of 126 in Rhodes Town
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,935 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,792 reviews
2.9 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 126 in Rhodes Town
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo delle Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo delle Rose

Address: 4 G Papanikolaou Georgiou, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#42 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $200 - $2,500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Albergo delle Rose 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grande Albergo delle Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Delle Rose Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing