We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Athineon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athineon Hotel
Ranked #44 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My stay at the hotel was really good. The 2room appartement is big enough for 4 persons although the balcony is small 4x1 m with sea view. The hotel is on walking distance from the old town (100m) and ferry to other islands and turkey (400m). If you like shopping and partying i would recommend the new north town. I would recommend this hotel to peoplewho like to visit the ancient sites and enjoy a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aad82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    65
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
53
68
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel is just 200m from the old town of Kos. It has a great pool where you can spend your time if you don't want to travel to the beaches outside Rhodes.
The stuff is friendly. The rooms are big although I would not rate this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tilo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

To start with the hotel is for some reason rated 5 stars but even on a Greek scale it is not even 4. Our travel agency advertised it as 3+ which certainly is OK. The rooms are basic small apartments which is very convenient when you have children with you. The interior lacks quality and fine-tuning especially in the bathroom. The mattresses were worn out and bad to sleep in. You also need be sure not to get our room (120) since this one and probably also 119 have just a not so nice view into the neighbour’s kitchen. Rooms facing the street will have to deal with noise from the (one way) traffic and from the open ait theatre close by.
The hotel itself is very well situated just a couple of minutes walk from the medieval town and has as such good access to restaurants and shopping. There is a very good tavern just around the corner facing the harbour which I can recommend. This harbour has also a beach which is quite interesting. It is not official (no showers and not cleaned often) but it has far better sand than the famous overcrowded Elli (which has no sand at all). The Athineon is the only hotel around this area which makes it much quieter than the dreadful north of Rhodes. The hotel is also not too big so there is bearable number of customers around, mostly Scandinavian-Dutch. This can be seen so far that you can enjoy your breakfast in peace and you most likely will get a sun chair when you want it. For both though I must say that the breakfast was very basic and never changed and at least a third of the sun chairs were broken. The pool however was very usable. With about 8x16 meter and a small part for children plus a 3 meter deep part to jump in it serves your cooling needs perfectly. A bar close to the pool also provides the needed drinks. The lobby of the hotel is very open and continues to the bar and the restaurant of the hotel. It further offers billiard and table tennis as well as a couple of TVs and computers. You can also access the wifi for free in the lobby. For those seeking for a cool place to wait for the bus I must disappoint you. There is no air conditioned place but the hotel rooms. The hotel offers furthermore a small super market where you can buy all necessary (also to make your own breakfast), a small gym and a sauna. For need to shop more versatile there is a bigger supermarket about 400 m away (Canada road).

Room Tip: Do not take rooms 120 or 119. Rooms 101, 102 and 103 (perhaps also 201, 202 and 203) will face the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IndianaKari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Sorry but This hotel is definitely not 5 stars... 3 at best. Ok location, basic rooms, outdated decor, and uncomfortable beds. With so many options around I would not go back to this hotel...waste of money

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Merve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed there for one night in mid-September before heading to Patmos and decided to come back before our return flight to the US. Its biggest advantage is location: Stay here if you want to be close to the old town (less than 5 minute walk) and you do not want to stay in an old, although "boutique" hotel in the old town. The AC works great as does the internet. It has a very nice and warm pool, the room (apartment really) is spacious and clean, the bathroom is OK and the breakfast is OK as well. It would probably rate as 3* in the US. Service was great as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STEVE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My family and i stayed at the Athineon in June 2011 for 5 nights and found it great. Apartment we stayed in had an abundance of room for myself, my husband and my 2 teenage boys. They were serviced daily by the very happy and very helpful cleaners (it was great to see cleaners that took pride in their jobs). The pool and surrounding area was always clean and the bar and waitstaff were great. It was in walking distance to the port, the Old Town and the Mandraki. The whole time we were there we didn’t need to catch a Taxi as we walked it everywhere.
I would definately recommend it to families.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiana72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

This is a modern block hotel and the photo on tripadvisor is a picture of Rhodes old town not the exterior of the hotel. This is typical of our experience, we were expecting a 5 star hotel and I think it would struggle to make 3 stars.

The 2 room apartments are ok if you have small children as there is a kitchenett and 2 bedrooms. The beds are hard and low and whilst it says the rooms have recently been refurbished and are deluxe it has not been done to a high standard, painting the bath (we could see the dribbles) and the age of things like the cooker and wall mounted hairdryer clearly show they have made a cheap effort.

The common areas of the hotel are much better than the rooms, but they let it down by sticking A4 paper notices on the walls of the lifts advertising restaurant times and menus and opening hours of the shop. The carpet in the corridors has seen better days and it looked dirty and worn, not very inviting as we approached our room.

The aircon was off when we went but we were not told when we checked in and I had to go down and ask about it. They said it was cooler so it had been switched off for the winter but we couldn't sleep it was so hot and the noise from the road outside meant we got no sleep at all with the windows open and bitten by mosquitos.

We did not eat here but went into the old town which is conveniently close, we didn't fancy the menu (see photo) it didn't look 5 star.

This hotel would be fine if you were a party of young people wanting a cheap base or a family that did not want to be 4 in one bedroom. But don't go expecting a luxury hotel.

It says it has a fitness centre - a couple of machines in a room, and a childrens playgorund - a few plastic slides and toys by the pool, and a 24hr shop that closes at 3pm.

Its ok for a cheap hotel but its not 5 star.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lemans24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
1.0 mi away
Oktober Downtown Rooms
Oktober Downtown Rooms
#61 of 126 in Rhodes Town
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#9 of 126 in Rhodes Town
378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#25 of 126 in Rhodes Town
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Villa Di Mare Luxury Suites
Villa Di Mare Luxury Suites
#51 of 126 in Rhodes Town
147 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
997 reviews
0.4 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#36 of 126 in Rhodes Town
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athineon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athineon Hotel

Property: Athineon Hotel
Address: 17 Vironos, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Athineon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athineon is located in Rhodes city, five minutes’ walk from the historic quarter, the medieval city, the port and the new yachting marina of Rhodes. The hotel offers 70 beautiful apartments 46sqr meter each with view to the old town, the harbor or the swimming pool and the hotel gardens. Each unit consists of one large bedroom and separate living room with private balconies and kitchen and bathroom. All the rooms features air condition, satellite TV, direct dial telephone line, safe and WIFI (free of charge) and cable internet connection. The master bedroom has two single beds attached to each other, private desk with large mirror, side tables and night reading lamps, as well as a double wardrobe. The living room has two sofa beds a private desk with mirror, side tables and a large wardrobe and suitcase desk. Both rooms have balcony with soundproof double glazed windows. The kitchen is separated from the living room and the bedroom and it is fully equipped with all the cooking facilities (cooking ring, coffee machine, fridge etc) a dinner table and chairs. All the areas are with tiles as well as the bathroom which features a bathtub, WC, hairdryer, bathrobes and complimentary amenities. Athineon Hotel offers 24hours reception and concierge facilities, air - travel ticketing and rent a car options. There is a large swimming pool area with combined pool bar, sitting area with sun beds, a children’s playground area, sauna and gym, pool table, ping pong, table games, an internet corner with computers. The a la cart restaurant offer a great variety of Greek and international specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athineon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athineon Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing