We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“run the other way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
Ranked #68 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
austrlalia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“run the other way”
Reviewed October 4, 2009

"recently fully renovated" - said the travel agency brochure - not in this life time! the position was good, but everything else woeful. the room stank of mould the the bathroom and cupboards were full off it and the old furniture was rescued from some monestery a few hundred yrs ago. reception staff after daylight respond with standard " i'm not allowed to make a decision - you'll have to wait till tomorrow for manager". yes it has a mini market attached but you can buy bottled water 10 yards away for 1/5th the price. forget b'fast - full cooked b'fast available for 1/2 the price within 50yds. will attach photos once downloaded off camera, but give it a miss.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oztraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    51
    43
    22
    28
See reviews for
28
70
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

If you think you go there to have a 2 week rest, you must be wrong!!! The hotel is not very clean (crawling insect inside a drawer and another one taking a ride inside the restaurant), the noice from the bars around th corner almost killed me, and I couldn't sleep at night because of it!!! The hotel is full of Scandinavian teenagers, shouting and screaming just like lunatics all night long, running to and fro in the corridors!! The receptionist didn't do anything to stop this, even if I complained!!! STAY AWAY!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ellinika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rhodes Town hotels

Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

VERY noisy hotel, because it is located next to Scandinavian bars, which make noise up to 4 a.m. All the Scandinavian people used to speak loud at night and know on room doors with both their hands and feet! If you are a young unrestless Scandinavian, go there, if you look for peace and a quiet atmosphere, AVOID this hotel!!! The stuff will not be of any help! Anyway it's not a very clean hotel, I saw crawling insects!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellinika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gästrikland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed for 7 nights at Europa Hotel in May '07.
The room was fully Ok, with a (quite stiff) double bed (or two single beds put together, really).
Balcony overlooking the neighbours shabby house, but who cares? It was warm and nice!
Really great to have your own kitchen in the room! The bathroom was very small, and it got flooded every time we took a shower. We threw the hotel towels on the floor to dry it up as a quiet protest.

I didn't experience any noise at all during the nights, (and I REALLY CAN'T sleep if there's any noise). The balcony door shut it all out really well.

Great location, close to both the bar street, the beach and the sea side promenade a little south of the west-side beach (you really should go there). I'm not handicapped, so taking a 15 minute walk in the nice weather to the other end of town was no problem.
Overall we had a really good stay. But we're not the kind of people who spend our entire vacation at the hotel. (If you are, perhaps you should pick a more expensive one).

I'd definitly go there again.

PS: Don't take the attached picture (shot from our balcony) too serious, it's really not that bad :-).

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik_SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2008

The room we had was OK - basic and fairly small, but clean enough and fine as we didn't spend much time at the hotel. The staff were all nice, especially the lady at the pool bar. The little shop attached to the hotel is very reasonably priced. The location is OK - very close to the beach and a 15 minute walk to the old town/harbour area. The new town is a bit tacky in my opinion, but each to their own. The pool was nice. Small, but sufficient. It was very cold though and by 4pm the sun was off the whole pool area as the hotel casts a shadow over it. Having said that it's a minutes walk to the beach, but not a sandy one.
Problems for us were the bathroom - it was miniscule and you had to squeeze past the sink to get to the toilet which is at a bit of an angle to jam it in next to the tiny shower cubicle. The rail for the shower curtain wasn't quite correctly situated and so it was impossible not to flood the bathroom - which would be OK, as there is a drain in the bathroom, however when I came out I realised the water had travelled out of the bathroom and halfway accross the room/under the beds/suitcase etc. The shower pressure is quite high which is nice, but the shower curtain can't contain the water with that pressure, even if the shower curtain could be tucked in to the base of the shower (which wasn't really possible). The noise was also an issue and the hotel is boiling hot - even though it was October and not that hot outside. Air con is 7 euros a day. We opened the door to the balcony and to the corridor and it just wasn't pleasant. As for the self catering - well unless you have your own pots and pans, plates, cups and utensils then you would struggle! The room is really too small anyway to cook in and would be even hotter and more unpleasant if you tried. There are cheap eating places all around. Overall I wouldn't recommend the hotel - we stayed a couple of nights at a studio in the old town which was cool, quiet, air con included for less money, and the location was much better. It didn't have a pool though, so it depends what the purpose of your holiday is.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — noise, bathroom. Also note that there are stairs to the lift and no porter. dirty outside.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelkitkatnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen/Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2008

I travelled with a norwegian travel agent, since I'm norwegian. This hotel is a great place to stay when travelling alone!
It has a central location in Rhodes town, the Mediterranean is just across the road (bring swimming shoes, it's a bit difficult with rollling stones on the beach not sand (and no oldies rockband either ;-) )
The reception service is nice, they help you when you ask, whatever it is you're wondering about, the pool-bar serves the best souvlaki wraps ever and the lady who works there is really sweet and serviceminded When you lay at the sunbed by the pool and go to order lunch, she brings you your warm food to your sunbed shortly after
You can also book either a double room or apartment room (with cooking facilites) You can also buy breakfast for only 6 Euros (not included in the apartment room) When staying alone is it nice to have the apartment room Small bathroom, but rooms are good sized and I enjoyed my breakfast on the balcony in the morning sun (had a balcony facing the pool, 4 th floor)
The location is good too, about 10-15 minutes walk (depend on how many shop-windows and restaurant menus you stop and look at) to Mandraki harbour, old town and Elli beach, 10 minutes to Aquarium by the scenic ocean road, taking right leaving the hotel
The hotel has guests from France, England, Skandinavia, Italy and Germany It gave it an international atmosphere
The nearby restaurants did not bother me at all, if you're a light sleeper you should bring ear-plugs, I forgot mine but did have no trouble sleeping all night anyway. Only distant "mute" sound from a lively city
I recommend it for single-travellers, couples, young at heart (its only one slim elevator and many stairs)
Have a great stay, I know I had!!

  • Liked — Location, staff, food at poolbar
  • Disliked — Can't think of any, maybe the small bathroom?
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NorwayFemaleTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2007

We have recently returned from the Europa and give the hotel a mixed review.

The room itself was cleaned daily and was quite spacious. It was on the sixth floor but, despite this, the noise from the road made sleep difficult at most times of the day. I dread to think how noisy the rooms on the lower floors were. The shower facility was not good as the curtain rail wasn't very effective in that the bathroom floor was flooded more or less every time we showered. We stayed on a B & B basis and found the breakfasts to be a little basic; lots of bread, cake, vegetables - the sorts of things one wouldn't really choose to eat for breakfast back home. That said, there was omelette and bacon/sausage served up most mornings but they don't taste very much like the stuff we eat back in England. The swimming pool was adequate except I am pretty sure I picked up a chest infection from it.

The staff at the hotel were generally friendly - particularly the old chap (from Chester!) who sat behind reception through the night. I won't go into that. Anyway, we were perhaps most pleased with the location of the hotel, which is a stones throw from the beach and numerous tavernas. Bar Street was just round the corner, which was a good night out. It is a 10-15 minute walk away from the harbour and the Old Town.

Another thing: I wouldn't come to this hotel if you want English company as the guests were 90% Scandanavian - which didn't bother us in the slightest!

My girlfriend and I would give this hotel 6/10 and would certainly return to Rhodes Town and maybe even this hotel?

Mark

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank katonahottinroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#67 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angela Suites + Lobby
Angela Suites + Lobby
#59 of 127 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esperia Hotel
Esperia Hotel
#70 of 127 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nafsika Hotel
Nafsika Hotel
#66 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#35 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manousos City Hotel
Manousos City Hotel
#110 of 127 in Rhodes Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios

Property: Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
Address: Eikostis Ogdois Oktovriou 94, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Europa Hotel is located in the center of Rhodes Town directly opposite from Psaropoula beach which is one of the cleanest beaches on the Island. The hotel offers great self-catering studios and guest rooms for 1up to 3 persons all decorated with excellent modern Mediterranean style with tiled floors and balconies. Most of them overlooking to the sea or to swimming pool. The hotel's ideal location allows guests easy access to all amenities and local sightseeing . Hotel guests will be within walking distance at Mandraki Harbor, the Casino Rodos , the historic Medieval Old Town ,the Palace of the Grand Masters, the Archaeology Museum, the Rhodes National Theatre, and Rhodes Aquarium. The hotel is also very close to a large variety of restaurants, bars, shops , banks etc. Guests can easily reach the hotel by public transport or taxi. Outside the hotel there is bus and taxi station. It is located 15 km from Diagoras International Airport and 1.5 km from the commercial port of Rhodes. The Europa Hotel staff provides friendly and professional service, which will assure guests a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Rhodes Town
Europa Hotel Rooms And Studios Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing