We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff and not so nice guests”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #84 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a pretty traditional-looking beach resort hotel in the Mediterranean area. It is located near the "windy beach" and "party district" so everything is near if one desires sun bathing, swimming in the sea and staying up late in the bars and restaurants nearby. Don't expect to meet many local people in the area. Mostly the people you are going to see are coming from Scandinavia, UK and Netherlands. Extremely young, many just over 18. If you want to see any local life you have to walk a little bit to the direction of the old town, which is of course a obligatory for everybody travelling in Rhodes town.

Athena has been serving tourists for 45 years and it has a certain charm in it's appearance. The surprising thing was that we were given old-fashioned hotel keys instead of modern keycards. There were no safety lockers in the rooms and instead they were near the reception at the base floor. These things reminded me of my childhood back in the 80s. It was nostalgic I guess, but not so practical.

The room we stayed in was a two room flat with a large balcony and a small kitchen corner with fridge, sink and stove. The interior was typical Mediterranean hotel room decoration and nothing special.

The walls were extremely thin and me and girlfriend got awaken in the middle of a night by our nextroom neighbours who decided it was ok to play music loud no matter what the time is. Our neighbours were a group of young swedish boys, who were probably having their first vacation abroad without their parents. They played music and banged doors throughout the day and night.

When we complained about this to the reception, we were treated very kindly and a nice lady told us that she is going to tell our neighbours if they would move to another floor and if they would refuse, we would get another room. Luckily the boys agreed to move to another floor.

Thanks to you both Mrs. Stela and Mrs. Soula! I can't praise the two wonderful ladies at the reception enough.

As we soon found out the hotel was full of groups that consisted of young, mostly Swedish girls and boys. We were not the only guests that had troubles sleeping at night. Apparently there were noisy groups at every floor. The ladies at the reception were baby-sitting them and changing rooms full-time!

The hotel breakfast buffet was ok. The menu stayed the same throughout the week. The staff in the restaurant was not very pleasant and didn't say anything. Simple good morning would have been appropriate. The food consisted of cereals, bread, vegatables and water melon. There were also cheese, ham and pretty good selection of bacon, eggs and sausages.

There was a smallish swimming pool in the hotel area. It is situated in between tall buildings so the sun hardly reached the pool area. There is also a bar, television, and snooker board in the base floor. The hotel lounge looked very nice, clean and welcoming.

To summarize: this a quite good hotel, but I would recommend it only to those people who are partying all night and sleeping during daytime. There are much better hotels for families and people over 25 years (maybe 20 is enough!). If you want to sleep at night, please choose another hotel!

Rhodes town is wonderful and unique but it deserves a well-slept observor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 179 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

Hotel was looking old, rooms were small and not suitable to accommodate 4 persons. Receptionist were not very friendly. Breakfast was poor and by 7th day didn't feel eatable. Only positive thing was location, near the center and walking distance from Old Town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelli_R81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Hotel ok, rooms a little tired, the walls were like paper, short walk to beach, strange internet system, noisy street and nights.. Poor breakfast, the same all week..
Nice and helpful staff. But holiday was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marku07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel twice now. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The ladies on reception are very nice and the two bartenders Miquel and States (Stattis) are absolutely wonderful. They make you so welcome. The rooms are spacious and are cleaned everyday Including the day you are leaving if you are leaving later on in afternoon. There are many bars and restaurants around the Athena and it is a minute walk to the beach. We cannot wait to go again next year. Would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christos P, Διευθυντής at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2015

Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

The staff was super! The lady in the reception was always helpful and did everything with a big smile on her face! The lobby bar was super, as well as the bartender!
Rooms are big and clean.Free wi-fi in the lobby but with very poor connection inside the room.
Very good breakfast: toast, croissants, cheese, meat, eggs, bacon, beans, yoghurt,honey.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Panos_Kz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Location is fantastic! Beach, shops and restaurants right around the corner! The staff was super! The lady in the reception was always helpful and did everything with a big smile on her face! The lobby bar was super, as well as the bartender! We really felt welcome!
Rooms are big and clean, free air condition. Free wi-fi in the lobby.
Very good breakfast: toast, croissants, cheese, meat, eggs, bacon, beans... and the best youghurt and honey in the world!
We stayed there in October, so it was quiet, but I would think that in June-August it will be quite noisy, because the "Bar Street" is just around the corner...
I would defineltely go there again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sirpa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great hotel next to Bar street, friendly staff, very clean rooms and nice breakfast. Stratigic location, next to everything. I book though online system and I found excellent price. Only few meters from Mandraki harbour, Ask from the receptionist how to visit Lindos village.

Room Tip: I don't know how, a had a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Alexia Premier City Hotel
Alexia Premier City Hotel
#32 of 127 in Rhodes Town
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
#68 of 127 in Rhodes Town
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#24 of 127 in Rhodes Town
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantis City Hotel
Atlantis City Hotel
#50 of 127 in Rhodes Town
472 reviews
1.2 mi away
Athineon Hotel
Athineon Hotel
#42 of 127 in Rhodes Town
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#16 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Address: 27, G.Leontos Str, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $44 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Athena 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athena Hotel is a beautiful three star hotel in the center of Rhodes Town. Located only fifty meters from Elli beach and in short distance from the luxurious Casino, the Medieval city of Rhodes, the Hydro-biological Aquarium, the Museum, the Palace of the Knights, and the nightlife of Orfanidou Bar street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Rhodes Town
Hotel Athena Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing