We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but..........”
Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Center Hotel
Ranked #105 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Northampton, England.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK, but..........”
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Stayed for 7 nights, 7th to 14th April 2010.

The upside.

The best part was the staff, very friendly, cheerful, and helpful, can't fault them.

The bed was good, the bedroom was a good size, and bathroom 'compact' but good, except for smell of drains, and you should not put toilet paper down the toilet. Primitive, or what?
We also had a balcony, with what a UK hotel would call 'a sea view'. (This hotel does not describe it as such). You could catch glimpses of the sea through the trees between the buildings.


The downside.

There was a reasonable choice of food for breakfast but, unfortunately, the 'hot' food was, at best, luke warm. However there was plenty of it.

Our room was on the top floor (4th), at the front of the hotel, overlooking a main road. Traffic noise was intrusive, especially when the refuse lorry came round at 3am. To be fair, we live in a very quiet village, because of that we were perhaps more aware of traffic noise that we would have been if we lived in a town.

The worst noise came from inside the hotel. The room door could be made of cardboard for all the soundproofing it offered. I'm pretty sure it's not a fire rated door. It let in the sound of people just walking and talking.
Again, we may be more sensitive to the noise due to the quiet location in which we live.

Parking in the area is difficult.
Despite what I read in some write ups, the hotel does not have a car park.

The advertised hotel restaurant was not open, but there is plenty of choice within a very short walk (five minutes)
There are computers giving internet access costing one Euro for 20 minutes.
Also wireless access, I think there is a small charge for this, but I'm not sure.

Would I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    77
    56
    28
    26
See reviews for
33
126
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
David4325
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

I just spent three nights at the City Center Hotel and it was a really terrific place to stay on this wonderful island. I'm on a round -the-world trip and really looking for value at this point. At City Center, I was impressed with the size of the rooms, decent furnishings, the up-to-date (modestly sized) bathroom and the deck, which in my case, had a view down to the water even though it's not a seaside hotel. And while the free internet access is only in the lobby, it gets a strong signal and I could readily use Skype without calls dropping etc. Finally, George, the front desk manager is a gem. He gave me lots of tips for sightseeing which made it a bit easier and more enjoyable as I ventured around the island. And, to his credit, when there was a taxi strike the last day, he arranged for the owner to give me a ride to the port which I really appreciated and made my departure hassle free.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Right across from the casino and centrally located to all the action. Short walk to old town and beaches nearby. Hotel was clean and staff was friendly. Furnishings are basic but room was fairly large. Good selection at breakfast though quality of the food was fair. Internet access in public areas only. Overall we were very satisfied considering how inexpensive it was. Great overall value.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Can't really fault this place especially for the price, we had nowhere to stay and booked it 2 days before we arrived for a REALLY reasonable price and definately were not dissapointed. Staff were helpful, great restaurant attached to it called Victorias which was lovely. So close to everything as well. Really would recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2009

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and I was just as delighted with it. The place was clean and well run, the staff were unfailingly courteous and amazingly helpful and the Buffet breakfast was excellent. I would never stay anywhere else on Rhodes

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

The hotel is decent and good value for money, especially if one prebboks quite in advance through the internet as we did. Sure you could have better accommodation and services if you pay double or triple, but not everyone can afford that. Staff friendly and helpful. Great location, walking distance to the beach, sight-seeing train, medieval town, harbour, two car rentals, good restaurants. Breakfast and lunch decent, room clean. 60 Euro/night for a double room in mid summer, in Rhodes, one of the most beautiful islands of the Mediterranean, in these conditions is good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kythira
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Great location! close to everything. The reseption staff especially the Manager George are very-very helpful. All rooms recently renovated, free internet (WI-FI). Very nice breakfast with good service and all these for a really reasonable price. Me Andreas and my wife Eleni from Kythira island would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Butterfly Boutique Hotel
Butterfly Boutique Hotel
#101 of 126 in Rhodes Town
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astron Hotel
Astron Hotel
#89 of 126 in Rhodes Town
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esperia Hotel
Esperia Hotel
#73 of 126 in Rhodes Town
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Amphitryon Boutique Hotel
Amphitryon Boutique Hotel
#60 of 126 in Rhodes Town
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#103 of 126 in Rhodes Town
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel International
Hotel International
#52 of 126 in Rhodes Town
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Property: City Center Hotel
Address: 2 Iroon Politechniou, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"City Center Hotel” is a modern property on a vibrant street front in the center of Rhodes town, next to the Casino and 100 meters from the beach. The old town, 500 meters away, offers an array of dining options, as well as a medieval castle, a charming harbor and souvenir shops. Diagoras Airport is 20 minutes by car, 15 kilometers from the hotel. All 52 guest rooms are equipped with air conditioning, cable television, bath, direct-dial phone, and refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Rhodes Town
City Center Rhodes Town
Hotel City Center
City Center Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing