We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty towels”
Review of ALS Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ALS Hotel
Ranked #108 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dirty towels”
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

What's bad: I didn't expect much from this hotel and was still dissatisfied. As others say you can't expect to get new towels every day. Sometimes we had to bring them down to the reception and ask for new ones. The breakfast is a joke. We tried it a couple of mornings but it was so bad that we gave up and had breakfast in one of the local restaurants instead. Small rooms with small beds. I am only about 173 cm and my feet where hanging out. There are chairs on the terasse but no table.

What's good: location..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kleiveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    13
    14
    7
See reviews for
7
20
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skotterud
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Just came back from a week's stay in the Als hotel.... The location is great; but the hotel lacks personality and comfort. It was certainly not the cheapest hotel, but it seems they are stuck in the past when it comes to breakfast especially. Terrible coffee, awful "juice"! My advice is to visit a nearby cafe; they serve an excellent breakfast and also provides half of the guests at Elli Beach with good baguettes! :)
Als has not been updated in 20 years, or so it seems...
The maid did a very good job of keeping our room clean, changing towels every day, and even bedlinen twice. I don't think we got value for our moeny here, and will not be recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room at the Cactus Hotel.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronita67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rhodes Town hotels

Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

It is a cheep hotel and I knew that room wouldn't be much but the thing that disappointed me was that there were no clean towels and they picked the old towels from the floor and served them as new. When I went to the reception to ask for new ones the receptionist gave me dirty ones from someone else. Then I went again and he gave me clean ones.. I hope.
But the next day they took the clean ones and again served dirty ones. After that I gave up.

The small room and the small dirty bathroom were no problem, I knew where I was going. But at least I expected clean towels every two days.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My sister and I stayed at Als Hotel 10 days ago and we would recommend it only to teenagers or students who don't care where they sleep. Our first night was awful, we were next to some girls who were shouting and drinking the whole night and everybody was slapping doors no matter the time of the day....Breakfast was not much, every morning the same things. The room seemed clean but we had the impression they didn't clean the toilet thoroughly...The only good thing was its position....So, if you have to go there - good luck!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manama294454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The hotel owner was very rude, and made us feel uncomfortable. We did not get clean towles every day, instead they picked up the dirty ones from the floor and folded them together again. And the fact that we were five people sharing a room, we never knew who's towel we eould end up using.

The breakfast was terrible, and impossible to eat. The bathroom was small, and did not feel very clean. When you went to the bathroom, you had to have your feet inside the shower. The location is the only think i liked about this hotel, and I would never go back there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marl004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Als Hotel is located in a very central place in Rhodes (near the restaurants and gift shops district and near the beach and the Casino). It's a small and "straight to the point hotel".

While the room (room for one) was OK and had all the basics I needed (clean, enough space, comfortable enough bed, small fridge and TV) - the bathroom was really a "Deal breaker". It was really tiny, not even big enough for one person. The toilet is so near the shower, that you don't even have room to stand in front of it (only next to it, which is quite weird). There is just a small shelf below the mirror, that wasn't enough space for my toiletries bag. I had to make "juggling" and move it from side to side.

The shower itself is also very small, and the curtain doesn't reach the floor. This means that every shower makes the floor very wet, and you need to use a towel to cover it. It's a real pity, since the room is quite decent (even had a view to the sea). But using this kind of toilet+shower is really uncomfortable.

I tried the breakfast once, and all the food was not tasty - the eggs, bacon and sausages. Not recommended.

One good thing: The reception area has free Wi-Fi, that enables you to connect your laptop to the Internet. Using the Desktop computers that are there costs money.

For conclusion: I would recommend Als Hotel only if you are on a tight budget, and don't mind handling a problematic bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank assafl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Before we arrived at the hotel i was terified - would the hotel be located at some dump? will the floor be coverd with ants? will the service be afwul? ( considering the low price we paid)- It took no more then 5 min' for the fears to faid away.
Once we entered, Christo, the lovley manager welcomed us with a big smile. (all along the trip we had a strong connection with Christo, which has a great sence of humor.
Once entering the room we saw a nice clean room with a balcony to the sea (!) .
The only problem we had with the room was a leaking AC that was fixed as soon as we asked.
My friends and i didn't eat the breakfast- but the food seemed fresh, tasty and simple.
I would warmly reccomend for anyone who's looking for a basic hotel with a good price and awsome atmosphire !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yael_mami6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vassilia
Hotel Vassilia
#82 of 126 in Rhodes Town
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esperia Hotel
Esperia Hotel
#70 of 126 in Rhodes Town
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#87 of 126 in Rhodes Town
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#118 of 126 in Rhodes Town
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Noufara City Hotel
Noufara City Hotel
#116 of 126 in Rhodes Town
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manousos City Hotel
Manousos City Hotel
#104 of 126 in Rhodes Town
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALS Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALS Hotel

Property: ALS Hotel
Address: 10 King Paul Square, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ALS Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your ALS Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Als Hotel Rhodes Town
ALS Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing