We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the 70's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitsis Petit Palais
Ranked #15 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Back to the 70's”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Oh dear! Thought previous reviews re all inclusive we're just comments by never satisfied bunch but... True I am afraid! Drinks on AI package not worth having! Got pulled pint from non AI pump by accident n this actually tasted of lager! Food v. Mediocre! Seems hotel is trying to please all nationalities but failing! Please stick to local specialities.
Good points as said by others; cleanliness, room size and good ish location to old town n beaches!
Best thing; young woman on reception- so helpful and pleasant (needs a pay rise)! Worst; male bar staff! In essence you get less than what you pay for!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt Kimble L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEORGERodosGR, Διευθυντής at Mitsis Petit Palais, responded to this review, May 21, 2017
Thank you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    235
    107
    35
    12
See reviews for
161
339
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Disappointing after reading reviews prior to our stay here. I've divided my comments into three parts:

1. The Good:
Spotlessly clean hotel and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Bar staff fantastic and generous drinks.
Perfect location for Rhodes Old Town which is fantastic and a must to visit.

2. The Bad:
Restaurant too small and gets overcrowded. ( Even though staff do their best) Leads to a frantic collection of plates by waiters as they 'need' your table for the next. Hold onto your plates as they'll take your food away before you're finished!

Food: Oh dear! The best thing was that it was hot. But, monotonous and boring. Our party got to the point by day three that we knew what to expect at Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. If you'd sent us in 'blind-fold' we could have found the dishes we knew would be there! No prizes then for variation/imaginative cuisine and so bored were we that we ate out three times at night. Definitely not 4* food.


Not enough chairs and tables in bar areas which leads to people behaving like removal men. I watched as five tables became emptied of chairs as larger groups needed the extras! Funny, but, annoying. The bar areas are overall too small.

Pool area adequate but very small. Again, just about enough beds for low season as we've just experienced. What would happen in high season? Pool itself very, very small.

Balconies: On the road side appear to be normal, as you would expect- decent sized. Ours, on the pool side - what a joke. Not only are they micro, but, rickety old wooden and frighteningly supported by one lower support beam. Not for the faint-hearts. Our friend who is a Health and Safety Consultant will be making a full report of advice to the travel agent.

The Bad:

Poolside view of buildings in ruins, one of which used to be a hotel as we discovered. Not exactly your usual scenic balcony scenery. Also, those balconies!!

Food, though edible, boring.

O.k. This is probably the first hotel I've not rated highly. So here's my Conclusive Points:

Hotel management are probably aware of the overcrowding problem in restaurant/bar as they have a restaurant manager who seats you at your table to avoid parties of two taking a four seat table; and one night, after failing to find our own seats in bar we sat in lobby by cards/computer tables only to witness waiters removing some of these chairs to the bar.
The hotel has unused spaces either side of main entrance which could be incorporated into restaurant and bar areas. This has already occurred anyway which becomes obvious when you stay there and you see the existing layout. ( An over-spill extension already exists to both restaurant and bar)

Food: Vamp up your turn around of cuisines, creating a more varied choice. There is nothing wrong with the standard of cooking just the variety offered.

Balconies: On poolside need to be updated. View from poolside....oh well..!

Verdict:

A good 3* plus not a 4* based on the problems we encountered.
4* cleanliness, rooms and friendliness of staff makes this a pleasant hotel, but, I've stayed in much better for the same money.

Point of Interest: The buzz was that the 4* Mitsis Grand Hotel was even worse on the food and drinks but, the setting/facilities were much better. We walked to look at the hotel and the pool/gardens/ lounge bars were gorgeous. It was the same cost to have stayed there. But, at least our food was edible.

Room Tip: Hmm... stay on roadside, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucketandspade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEORGERodosGR, Διευθυντής at Mitsis Petit Palais, responded to this review, May 21, 2017
Thank you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel is really lovely. We were there for a week all-inclusive and it delivered great service and value for money. The waiting staff in the restaurant were all very friendly and polite, the food was really varied and delicious, whether people wanted very standard or plain food - soup, sandwiches, salads, burgers & chips etc, or the delicious wood-fired pizza, or wanted to try some of the Greek/European specialities, there was something to suit all tastes.

The pool area is quite small and if you want a sunny spot in the morning you have to reserve a sunbed before 9.30am. Towards the late afternoon it gets more shaded and is a lovely place to have a drink before dinner.

Our room was basic but this is fairly standard in my experience of European hotels. It was clean and the beds were comfy, but our air-con started to leak water all over the floor after more than a few hours' use. The one brilliant point was that we had the only poolside room in the whole hotel!

The hotel is well-placed for the beach and a short walk away from the picturesque Old Town area. There are some nice bars in the area which I would recommend trying out, as the hotel bar can get a bit same-y after a few nights (despite the hilarious Greek dancing and karaoke nights...) I would also highly recommend the boat trips to the caves around Kalithea, and a trip to the ancient acropolis is worth the climb to the top of the hill!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pink_and_glittery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEORGERodosGR, Διευθυντής at Mitsis Petit Palais, responded to this review, May 21, 2017
Thank you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The half board we purchased was the best thing about the hotel stay- the food was amazing along with the service.. Location is close walking distance to the old town & beach. On the down side the beds were terrible - we ended up sleeping on the floor.. the hotel is quite old and the view from the pool is of the back side of the hotel air con units & balconies. Would not stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chikky1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEORGERodosGR, Διευθυντής at Mitsis Petit Palais, responded to this review, May 21, 2017
Thank you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Have just spent a week at the Mitsis Petit Palais, and it has been a very pleasant stay! Good size rooms, clean and decent bathrooms. Balcony big enough for two, and the staff level of service was very good. We had breakfast and dinner included, and it worked really well for us - supertasty food, fresh and quite a few traditional greek courses among the selections on the buffet!
Fresh towels every day, fridge in room, a/c working fine. 5 min walk to the beach, 15min to the old town, a few shops in the local area as well.
Can absolutely recommend staying here, and if I should give any negative feedback it would be that the mattresses in our room were hard and worn down, and the shower could not be made to hang on the wall.
Also, I missed the convenience of having wifi in the rooms - however they did have free wifi in the lobby and bar area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khelger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bromsgrove
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We are just back from a lovely week at this hotel, we could not believe how friendly and helpful the staff were. The food in the restaurant was so nice, excellent quality and selection of food, particularly the wonderful freshly cooked pizzas and freshly cooked in front of you gi-normous prawns! amazing! The salads are truly lovely, tzaziki every day!! loads of choice, which fresh herbs, and spices to put on. Breakfast was nice and the lady on the grill was lovely, and cooked me a fresh ommolette with cheese each day, nothing was too much trouble. The chap in the restaurant kept a tight ship, and led you personally to your table, which was nice, he was very nice in putting you where you wanted to sit.
The pool area was so small, and not much area to sun bathe as sun shades take up too much space. However why use the pool? when you are totally surrounded by wonderful beaches, take your pick, from windy to sheltered, with beautiful warm sea, and clear water, fab!
You will not believe the colour of the sea! truly amazing. Temperature is hot, very hot, but a lovely lovely breeze. Lots of lovely walks, and you can walk right round, and also to loads of bars, and to the old town of rhodes, which is extremely touristy, with more shops and restaurants!!
We found the hotel a bit boring at night, as entertainment only on 2 nights, and hotel is very sedate, nice to sit in verandha bit after dinner though as there is super breeze. We mostly ventured out, why wouldn't you? lots to do and see, loads of different bars, eating places, and big smart town also with designer shops.
We went to Falaraki on the bus one day, which was nice, so cheap, although it was amazing how many people they can manage to get on one bus!!!!
All in all a lovely very very clean, friendly, nice hotel, in fab area, Rhodes is lovely, we are already planning to return.

Room Tip: we were in room 121 on first floor, no sea view, but lovely large room, and no need to use lift!! so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane4pat1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEORGERodosGR, Διευθυντής at Mitsis Petit Palais, responded to this review, May 21, 2017
Thank you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Petit Palais during the last week of August when the hotel was full. Found the staff very friendly and helpful throughout the hotel – reception, bar and restaurant. The restaurant manager was always very helpful, finding us seats near a breeze from the windows as were the reception staff who took the time to reallocate us rooms so we could be next to friends. Food was fresh and delicious, especially enjoyed the freshly cooked pizza cooked in a wood oven and meats prepared on the griddle in the dining room in front of you; also pancakes and eggs for breakfast.

The hotel is about 50m from the nearest beach but worth walking towards the Aquarium and the Blue Flag Elli beach which is about 200m away and much less windy. Evening after dinner strolls along the beach and old harbour to the old town are very pleasant in the cool breeze and a taxi back is 5€ (flat fare to anywhere in Rhodes Town including the Acropolis). We took in a show at the moat theatre, an ancient Greek tragedy updated to modern times and culminating in sharing a cup of wine and dancing with the cast. Fabulous evening.

We went “all inclusive” which was excellent value – lovely cocktails prepared by friendly bar staff and beer and wine for lunch, dinner and drinking whilst relaxing by the pool. Also enjoyed after dinner coffee and brandy here (no “decaff” available). One evening there were 2 musicians and 4 dancers in Rhodian dress who entertained us in the bar area. The pool area is small but even though there were 4 of us, never had trouble finding loungers. For the days we went out, the hotel provided lunch boxes which included a bottle of water.

Our room was on the 6 th floor and spacious, certainly large enough for a 3 rd bed. Air conditioning worked well but as with all such units a little noisy. We did not use the balcony preferring to spend time in the bar, but some might find it a little cramped. We had a problem with the balcony door not closing properly, but this was fixed between us reporting it and returning from shopping an hour later. I would stay here again - excellent staff and great location.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front above the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Med_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#7 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,095 reviews
2.1 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#16 of 127 in Rhodes Town
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#17 of 127 in Rhodes Town
443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
#20 of 127 in Rhodes Town
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel
Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel
#50 of 127 in Rhodes Town
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Petit Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Petit Palais

Property: Mitsis Petit Palais
Address: General Griva 3, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#23 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#25 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mitsis Petit Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsis Petit Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Petit Palais Hotel Rhodes Town
Petit Palais Rhodes Town
Petit Palais Hotel
Mitsis Petit Palais Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing