We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When the Bad outweighs the Good!”
Review of Nafsika Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nafsika Hotel
Ranked #53 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Good points about this hotel are the location, it's close to the beach, just around the corner in fact. The rooms, lobby and dining areas are of a reasonable standard, dining area and lobby were very clean. The lift worked well.
The bad......if this hotel was located in somewhere like Egypt then it would get 4 or even 5 stars.....but this is Greece which relies on tourism for a substantial part of its foreign income so I am drawing comparisons with similar accommodation I have stayed in elsewhere in Greece.
Room cleaning.....stayed here several days, very hit and miss, some days cleaning forgotten about, other days a reasonable job.....although after 4 days still finding someone's blonde hair in the bathroom.....not mine I am a bit follicularly challenged.
Breakfast......very average at best, self service but food sometimes not replaced when plates empty, and during this time the hotel was at least three quarters full with guests.
Wi fi.....advertised as free in the lobby....it was, but trying to log on? Best to go to a nearby restaurant and use theirs. Available for exorbitant prices in your room......tried it once, it was just as bad as their free option.....after complaining they did not charge me which was a positive, this is 2013, not only is it free in most hotels but more importantly it works.
Also the hotel can be difficult to find for the first timer in Rhodes, my taxi driver dropped me off in the wrong street.....the hotel is also known as the Nausika Hotel.
The hotel is not a terrible choice, but until they get their act together there are definitely much better options around for similar money.....if this is your first time on the islands you may think its ok, but if you have stayed elsewhere you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ziggy154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nafsika Hotel R, Manager at Nafsika Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear guest Ziggy154,

Thank you for giving us feedback with this review. We read carefully your comments and we still cannot explain the very negative impression you have of Nafsika Hotel.

The cleanliness of the hotel is considered to be of high standard, as one can see from other reviews in tripadvisor, in booking.com and elsewhere. It is weird that you mentioned a blond hair in your room, since none of the hotel’s cleaning ladies is blond.

We apologize if it happened that the plates were not quickly replaced at breakfast. The service gets more difficult and demanding when the breakfast room is full and the consumption is fast. However, we are trying to do our best in order to improve the service requirements.

Concerning the wifi, we wish that you had told us about the difficulties you had to log in. Neither you nor any other guest ever complained that it did not work properly. On the contrary, we had the opposite impression, since you and many other guests spent much time enjoying the wifi in the bar area. Our hotel advertises that wifi is free only in public areas, so anyone who would like to have free internet in the rooms can choose another hotel. However, still in 2013 it is not only Nafsika Hotel that does not provide free internet access in the rooms. If you check the internet policy of the other hotels that are close to ours, you will see that it is the same. Yet, some hotels charge the internet access in the lobby as well.

We are sorry if you had a problem finding Nafsika Hotel but it is not at all difficult to find. The taxi drivers know the hotel and it is not even necessary to say the address. However, the address is Parodiakou Syllogou Amerikis and not Amerikis. If the two streets get mixed up, it is likely that someone finds himself in the wrong place. Nausika Hotel is just the greek name and Nafsika is how it is called in english.

Overall, we do not think that you were so disappointed, since you extended your stay two more days and did not choose to move to another hotel. Probably you could not find a better option, given the fact that -although one person- you were staying in a twin room (505) with the very cheap price of 32 euros per night during July (high season).

We hope that your next vacation will be more pleasant.

Best wishes,
Nafsika Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 143 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel twice this year and on both occassions met people from before.
This is a hotel that people return to year after year and it has a great atmosphere all probably to do with the owners Nancy and Theo who run the place.

Well appointed rooms with some sea view and the hotel is a stones throw from the Rhodes beach

Close to lots of restaurants and Rhodes bar street for the night owls only a few minutes walk away

The casino is a mere 10-15 minute walk away

I will be popping back in May 2013 to enjoy this place once more

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icmeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in Nafsika for couple of days with friends. Our friends decided to join us last minute and Owners responded very fast to our request for additional room. They were very nice and professional and helped us to find almost all attractions on the island within very limited timeframe. Rooms were clean and neat. Overall we received a much superior service vs. the amount we paid. It was the first time that we had been to Rhodes, but its almost for sure that we will visit Rhodes and will stay in Nafsika again...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrBurakAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I booked this place based on good reviews and the price they offered. Via a booking site I paid 60 Euro per night for a double / twin, which I feel was a good value at the height of high season. I was very satisfied with the hotel and some things have even exceeded my expectations. Would gladly stay there again.
- Location in my view is superb. It is near the beach with magnificent sunsets. The beach is on windy side of the island with good waves, which was all the better for me, as it was less crowded and less hot. There are several top restaurants (also from Tripadvisor rating and others) which are 5 minutes walk from the hotel. I had a really outstanding eating experience; I think the prices are about the same or even cheaper than in Old Town but the quality was really good. Finally to go to Old Town, Casino, bus station, Marina to take the boat tour - was all in the walking distance (about 15-20 minutes). It was overall very convenient.
- Room was fairly large, very clean, with two very comfortable beds, nice balcony and a glimpse of sea view. Everything worked well: tv, aircon, good water pressure.
- Owners were very friendly and gave some good tips about places to visit, where to eat, etc; the staff was also very helpful and you could see that they do their best to make the guests happy;
- Breakfast was nice, I would say typical: some fruit, vegetables, eggs, cheese, cakes, cornflakes... enough to start the day :).

Things which I would improve:
- wi-fi was only at the reception and not in the rooms;
- there was no shampoo provided;
- at breakfast I really missed Greek olives, for some reason they did not offer them :).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anchi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for almost one week this August. My stay was pleasant and I have no major complaints. The price was fair and the location was good. You are not exactly in the Old Town, but it is a 10-15 minute walk away (once you know where you are going :-/). This location is convenient as there are many supermarkets, shops and bars/restaurants close by. There is also a beach right across the street which is good for a dip and to watch the sunset.

The rooms are absolutely spotless. The cleaning crew was beyond nice.

We were lucky enough to get a room with a beach view. The view was beautiful and the area is relatively quiet at night. We had no problems sleeping.

My major complaint is that the bathroom is tiny. The shower is even tinier. We attempted to take quick showers, but no matter how quick you were, the water literally went all over the place. We had to use all of our towels after we were done to absorb the water.

Free breakfast is served..its basic but fine.

There is 24 hour concierge. Most of the time, there was a nice gentleman at the desk. The rest were pretty aloof.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvangeliaK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed there for 2 nights. The hotel is old-fashioned.The room (1 bed) was tiny so was the bathroom & bed. The lighting in the bathroom was so poor that I couldn't shave my self. At least it was very clean. Location is good if you want to swim in the nearby beach or if you have a car. Overall, you can find much better hotels in Rhodes at this price (55 Euros).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofoklis p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

stayed there as a couple for 5 days , the owners and the personel are sincere and sympathetic. The natural breeze in our room via Aegean sea was very welcome at night,especcially as we kept the bathroom window and door open.either way,not any mosquito dared to fly in this breeze ...The breakfast was delicious,with all tasty scrambled eggs,watermelone,feta cheese,ham,joghurt and honey .....the price-value correlation is really good in this hotel compared to other 2 hotels we had visited in rhodos.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank soleny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Filmar
Hotel Filmar
#70 of 126 in Rhodes Town
79 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#65 of 126 in Rhodes Town
167 reviews
3.8 mi away
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
#86 of 126 in Rhodes Town
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pine Trees Art Hotel
Pine Trees Art Hotel
#30 of 126 in Rhodes Town
214 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#9 of 126 in Rhodes Town
691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes
Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes
#45 of 126 in Rhodes Town
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nafsika Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nafsika Hotel

Address: 8, Parodiakou Sillogou Amerikis Str. | Psaropoula Square, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $45 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nafsika Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nafsika Hotel is a friendly, family - run hotel, situated at Psaropoula, Akti Kanari, a central location of Rhodes town. It is only 50 meters away from the beach and very close to good restaurants, cafes and bars. The Aquarium, the Casino, the Mandraki Harbour, the Old Town and all famous city attractions are in a short walking distance. Nafsika Hotel has 40 rooms, all recently renovated. It offers a cozy stay in a cordial and relaxed atmosphere. It is an excellent accommodation choice for travelers who would like to discover Rhodes island and Rhodes city center. The hotel took its name after the princess of Phaeacia, Nafsika (Nausicaa). According to the Homer’s Odyssey, Nafsika helped the stranger Odysseus when he was found shipwrecked on the coast of the island. She gave him clothes and sent him to her father’s palace where he was welcomed as a guest. The name of the hotel symbolizes the kindness and the hospitality to all people who arrive at a place different from their homeland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nafsika Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nafsika Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing