We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel , good position , excellent management and staff”
Review of Africa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Africa Hotel
Ranked #61 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
new zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel , good position , excellent management and staff”
Reviewed November 21, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at this well run clean value for money ,hotel.It is rare to find such friendly helpful management , it was a treat to stay in this lovely property , if staying in Rhodes dont miss the chance to experience this great value money hotel .

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    71
    29
    12
    3
See reviews for
15
74
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2008

My wife and daughter spent a wonderful 2 week holiday in Aug 2007 in greece,island hopping and a 1 week stop in Rhodes,We stayed at a small coastal Hotel called Africa,steps away from the beach,and walking distance to everything,the hotel staff were great and the rooms were clean.we have stayed many times at 5 star resorts in the past,however we were pleasently surprised at the service and staff and rooms of this family owned hotel.we rented a car to tour the coast and to visit many sites.

  • Liked — loation and staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

We were shocked at first sight: Very old, sheets were incredibly thin, tile in bathroom was broken, shower was just a shower curtain in the corner: you could not avoid flooding the whole tiny bathroom. However! -- the room was actually very clean, sheets were changed every day, towels were nice and thick. I loved the balcony, it had a great light for reading in the evening, you could look down on the street action. The location of the hotel is excellent, you can walk to Old Town, and you are beside the beach. The staff were very nice and friendly. Breakfast was adequate. I heard that some rooms have bathtubs with showers: if I could get one of those, I would actually consider staying again!

Stayed September 2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2006

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one week in August. We had a great time! No the room was not updated but it was comfortable and large with a large balcony. The people working at the front desk were wonderful and extremely helpful. Car rental, bakery/convenience store, and laundry service were right outside the hotel and it is near the beach and 10 mins from Old Town. If you come to Rhodes to spend your time in a hotel room then Hotel Africa is probably not the place for you. If you come to Rhodes to spend your time exploring the island, relaxing on the fantastic beaches, shopping in the Old Town, and only need a clean place to rest in between all of these activities, then the Hotel Africa is perfect!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — Rent a car and check out the amazing windsurfers at Prassonissi Beach
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 7, 2006

We stayed at Hotel Africa for 3 nights. The front desk service and the location was the only good thing. 10 min walk to old town and close to beach. The hotel room was outdated, bed were hard as a rock, the sheet were not cleaned, noisy hall ways, bathroom was small including the shower, the breakfast had hardly no variety and it was served only between 7:30am - 9:30am. The hotel rooms need a total update.. The lobby and bar was ok.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parthenon City
Hotel Parthenon City
#96 of 126 in Rhodes Town
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel International
Hotel International
#52 of 126 in Rhodes Town
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
#70 of 126 in Rhodes Town
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#87 of 126 in Rhodes Town
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nafsika Hotel
Nafsika Hotel
#64 of 126 in Rhodes Town
123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#63 of 126 in Rhodes Town
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Africa Hotel

Property: Africa Hotel
Address: Alexiou Diakou 63, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Africa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africa Hotel Rhodes Town
Africa Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing