We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful...”
Review of Carina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carina Hotel
Ranked #107 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed May 19, 2007

Our heart sank when we shut the door of our taxi and glanced up at the eyesore of a building named the Carina Hotel that was awaiting our arrival. If it weren't for the fact that we were so tired and strapped for cash, then we may have climbed back in to the taxi and asked to be taken to a more suitable hotel as our initial feeling was to look the other way.

The hotel itself can best be described as an awful high rised block, that is poorly crammed in to a street surrounded by shops, bars, restaurants, other hotels and other hideous buildings. It is very difficult to find as it is situated amongst streets away from the beach. The room itself was so spartan that we may as well have been on the streets with only the clothes upon our back for comfort. The hotel provides no facilities at all and it seems lie they were even too poor to afford some carpet cleaner as the carpets around the hotel were filthy and smelly.

The beds were awful, hard, without adequate sheeting and the room was overbearingly hot with no air conditioning. We woke with stiff joints as the beds were that uncomfortable. The view from the balancy was horrific; a grey wall of another building meets you as you sit down in the plastic seat by your table as you settle down for the night to embrace the warm air (please remember to also wipe the years of accumulated dust off your seat and table before preparing yourself for this outstanding view, as the maids won't bother wiping them for you).

Breakfast was a joke - a lovely stale bread roll awaits you, coupled with jam and cheap and nasty orange juice. Yes, to be sure a basic breakfast will be all you will find at the Carina hotel as you arise from your not so peaceful slumber.

The only good thing about our stay here was that the hotel is only a short walk from Rhodes old town. I know it is a budget hotel, but surely some basic standards are necessary even in such a cheap hotel?

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank XenaWarriorPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Carina Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 116 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2007

I have been in this hotel this summer, and I would recommend the fellow travelers to skip it. It has great location but everything else about it is quite bad.

Food: we had just breakfast, and I'm happy about it. Not about the breakfast itself but the fact that I did not have to eat at Carina frequently. Every morning the same: bad jam and disgusting orange juice.

Room: it smelled odd. Good side: it had a small terrace. Bad side: the terrace looked at neighboring building. Beds were fine, sheets clean, but we could not get the beds together (the floor was quite slippery so during the night the beds would move away). Toilet/bathroom was also small but acceptable for the price we have payed.

Location: great. both beaches (the windy one and the calm one) are not far away from the hotel. Lots of restaurants, clubs, bars in the immediate neighborhood. Harbour and fortress were not too far away as well.

Price: low. That is why I picked this hotel, since $$$ was the problem.

General recommendation: if you have some more money, pick a better hotel. But in Rhodes city! If you cannot afford a better one in Rhodes city, Carina will do. Do not go to smaller cities, you will get very very bored. On the contrary, Rhodes is a great place for vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bratislav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Giovanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Mette715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank fannizsofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Tino K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katestavraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vassilia
Hotel Vassilia
#83 of 126 in Rhodes Town
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#89 of 126 in Rhodes Town
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Noufara City Hotel
Noufara City Hotel
#114 of 126 in Rhodes Town
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#68 of 126 in Rhodes Town
150 reviews
770.0 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#118 of 126 in Rhodes Town
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esperia Hotel
Esperia Hotel
#72 of 126 in Rhodes Town
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carina Hotel

Address: 56 Griva Street, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $33 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carina Rhodes Town
Carina Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing