We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great staff”
Review of Cactus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cactus Hotel
Ranked #30 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great staff”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

For 52 Euros a night, we got a week in a brilliant location, with a superb pool and staff whose welcome never faltered. Our room had a sea view, was very spacious and the air con was very efficient - just what we needed as the Greek summer kicked into action. The breakfast buffet was the best we've had so far in Greece (and we've stayed at a fair number of hotels, including one rated 5* in Athens where I couldn't find anything I wanted to eat) and we looked out at the sea every morning as we ate. We made good use of the pool and the cafe there which serves nice meals and snacks from 10am until 6pm. The hotel's location - right at the tip of the island, overlooking the Turkish coast - was unbeatable. It was only a ten minute walk round the harbour to the spectacular old town and we were able to park our car, rented from the airport, right outside the hotel for free every day with no problems. The hotel bar is staffed by a very friendly barman and the drinks are actually cheaper than in the bars outside - you can have a half litre of good retsina for 3 Euros, for example. What else? During our visit I celebrated my birthday and opened the hotel room door that morning to find a member of staff bearing a bottle of wine with a card wishing me 'happy birthday' from the staff (I assumed they'd got the information from my passport)! It's the small things that often make you want to return, isn't it? Cactus isn't the flashest hotel in that area, and you can certainly pay 3 times as much to stay in a glitzier place - but we'll definitely be returning there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenFNafplio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    126
    61
    13
    10
See reviews for
73
156
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We have just returned from our fifth stay at the Cactus Hotel. We love this hotel and would not stay anywhere else in Rhodes Town. We always book direct and we have no problems in organising our holiday ourselves.

The hotel itself is situated in a fantastic position. Overlooking the sea and lovely views from most of the rooms and within easy walking distance to local shops and tavernas and about 20 mins to the old walled town. The staff are really nice and very helpful. We stayed B&B and the breakfasts are quite adequate with a choice of hot or cold buffet.

The rooms are very spacious and are clean and comfortable. The swimming pool is lovely and the beach is just across the road.

We would recommend anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel to stay at the Cactus.


We hopefully will return again soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grecianlady60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

We booked directly with the Hotel online and it was amazing value for money at this time of year.(May) The weather was wonderfully warm.This Hotel is very clean, comfortable and in a great location. Staff are friendly. Our room was spacious, spotless had a balcony and fantastic sea view, it was within easy walking distance of Old Rhodes town. The shower tray was a bit small but there was good drainage if the water went overboard.The Hotel offers a very generous buffet breakfast and a good little snack bar by the pool if you want a meal mid-day. There are dozenes of eating places nearbye for evening meals.(Try 'Louis' if you want good cuisine.) We certainly will be back next May!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredandroving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We are a family with 2 young children and we stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The hotel is 3 star hotel and its decor is average and maybe a little dated, but certainly adequate. Our room was a family room with magnificent ocean views and overlooking the Rhodes Aquarium. The decor in the room was average but fine and we loved this hotel because the rooms were light and airy and the view from the balcony and the windows was amazing it was 180 degrees views. The bathroom in this room was small but good with a bathtub. The location we found was fantastic we walked everywhere and even the old town was only between a 10-15 minute walk but a lovely scenic walk. The beach was directly opposite the hotel and there were lots of cafes and restaurants surrounding the hotel. The casino is across the road as well. The breakfast was included and there was lots of variety and adequate. The breakfast room is huge with lots of tables and great ocean views as well. The service was good and rooms always clean. The pool was great for the kids and the pool cafe/bar served good meals and drinks. There is a small gamesroom as well that the kids enjoyed and internet access which was great.We enjoyed this hotel because it is an average hotel in an amazing location with great views and service and for a family travelling th price was excellent. We loved Rhodes, the children in particular loved this island and we would definately go again and stay at this hotel, I don't think I would bother looking elsewhere as the price at this hotel is great for the family.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samis27red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2009

I stayed here with my girlfriend and my brother and his girlfriend. We had a great time at the hotel, very nice rooms with AC and great view from the rooms. At the location of this hotel there is windy, be aware of this. But is was OK. Took 1 min to go to the beach ( look at my photos. I will but up a lot of photos )

It took about 15 min to the centre of the town, but there is a lot of bars and taverns along the way. The hotel had a OK breakfast and the staff was friendly.

If you have any questions, please email me: jonasmagnusson.mail@gmail.com

Best regards;
Jonas / Sweden

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tempore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

the hotel is in a very good position. centraly.
but it needs to be renewed (especially the rooms).
i whouldn't go to this hotel again. unless it is renewed.
breakfast is very good.
the pool is not very big.
I paid a lot of money for this hotel.
with this money i can go to a better hotel in rhodes, also in good position.
they have other price to the website and other if you call them.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pascalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

We stayed at Cactus for 2 weeks. We were a family of 5 with 3 children 7, 10 and 13. The hotel had central air-con, good breakfast, pool area with poolbar and poolrestuarant. In the first floor were 3 pc's and several games and a large bar. In the bar you get the best Daiquiri ever. Thanks.
The location is great. At the end of the island you always have som wind and you can choose two beaches; either the windy side with waves or the quiet side.
It's also a few minutes walk to the old town and the new center.
Tip: Eat on the restaurant Red and ask for different starters.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RHPOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#16 of 127 in Rhodes Town
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#17 of 127 in Rhodes Town
951 reviews
0.2 mi away
smartline Aquamare
smartline Aquamare
#20 of 127 in Rhodes Town
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Suites Hotel
Bellevue Suites Hotel
#41 of 127 in Rhodes Town
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#90 of 127 in Rhodes Town
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel
Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel
#52 of 127 in Rhodes Town
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Hotel

Property: Cactus Hotel
Address: 14 Kos Str, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cactus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Cactus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cactus Hotel Rhodes Town
Cactus Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing