We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location and Awsome Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cactus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cactus Hotel
Ranked #31 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Awsome Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

We are a family with 2 young children and we stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The hotel is 3 star hotel and its decor is average and maybe a little dated, but certainly adequate. Our room was a family room with magnificent ocean views and overlooking the Rhodes Aquarium. The decor in the room was average but fine and we loved this hotel because the rooms were light and airy and the view from the balcony and the windows was amazing it was 180 degrees views. The bathroom in this room was small but good with a bathtub. The location we found was fantastic we walked everywhere and even the old town was only between a 10-15 minute walk but a lovely scenic walk. The beach was directly opposite the hotel and there were lots of cafes and restaurants surrounding the hotel. The casino is across the road as well. The breakfast was included and there was lots of variety and adequate. The breakfast room is huge with lots of tables and great ocean views as well. The service was good and rooms always clean. The pool was great for the kids and the pool cafe/bar served good meals and drinks. There is a small gamesroom as well that the kids enjoyed and internet access which was great.We enjoyed this hotel because it is an average hotel in an amazing location with great views and service and for a family travelling th price was excellent. We loved Rhodes, the children in particular loved this island and we would definately go again and stay at this hotel, I don't think I would bother looking elsewhere as the price at this hotel is great for the family.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samis27red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    114
    58
    12
    10
See reviews for
71
140
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2009

I stayed here with my girlfriend and my brother and his girlfriend. We had a great time at the hotel, very nice rooms with AC and great view from the rooms. At the location of this hotel there is windy, be aware of this. But is was OK. Took 1 min to go to the beach ( look at my photos. I will but up a lot of photos )

It took about 15 min to the centre of the town, but there is a lot of bars and taverns along the way. The hotel had a OK breakfast and the staff was friendly.

If you have any questions, please email me: jonasmagnusson.mail@gmail.com

Best regards;
Jonas / Sweden

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tempore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

the hotel is in a very good position. centraly.
but it needs to be renewed (especially the rooms).
i whouldn't go to this hotel again. unless it is renewed.
breakfast is very good.
the pool is not very big.
I paid a lot of money for this hotel.
with this money i can go to a better hotel in rhodes, also in good position.
they have other price to the website and other if you call them.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pascalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

We stayed at Cactus for 2 weeks. We were a family of 5 with 3 children 7, 10 and 13. The hotel had central air-con, good breakfast, pool area with poolbar and poolrestuarant. In the first floor were 3 pc's and several games and a large bar. In the bar you get the best Daiquiri ever. Thanks.
The location is great. At the end of the island you always have som wind and you can choose two beaches; either the windy side with waves or the quiet side.
It's also a few minutes walk to the old town and the new center.
Tip: Eat on the restaurant Red and ask for different starters.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RHPOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

The hotel is located at the center of rhodes town and this made my holidays excellent! he rooms was quite good espsecislly to their low price, i recon to everyone to book there cheap and clean

James, london

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank joneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2007

We just returned from a 7 days stay in Rhodes, and I want to share this experience with everyone who wants to spend some time on this island, because there are beautiful places, and one should have a proper place to stay...
First I want to mention that we booked a room in this hotel, and our travel agent has paid for it entirely on 20 of June. Despite this, on 7th of August evening, when we reached the hotel, they said that it was an overbooking situation, and sent us to stay for 2 days at Esperia Hotel, that is a few blocks away inside the city. All this after we have chosen this hotel (Cactus), amongst lot of others, especially for the sea view (to both Seas). I want to emphasize that staff at Esperia is much nicer and friendly than at Cactus, however Esperia hotel is a city hotel, with much noise at night. We accepted this situation, since at Cactus they said they are fully occupied. After 2 days, we took our luggage back to Cactus Hotel (they paid for the taxi). Here, at 11 o'clock a.m., they said our room is not free yet. We went to the beach, and at 2:30 p.m., when we returned, the same situation: room occupied (check-out time is 12 o'clock!!!). After a lot of arguing with the hotel manager, we finally received a room (no. 623) at the last floor of the hotel, with no balcony. Tired to argue anymore, we accepted this room, and went to town. The big surprise was at night, when we tried to sleep. We discovered that our room was situated right underneath the air-conditioning system of the hotel, that produced a noise similar to a plane taking-off every minute. My husband complained at the reception, and they said (like they did not know about the noise in the room!!!) that at that hour they cannot do anything. We managed to sleep for around 3 hours that night, and at 7 a.m. we took our luggage to the reception, and said that we want the decent room we paid for. During the day we were out to Marmaris, and when we got back, at 7 p.m., we received exactly the same room as in the other night! Near to collapse, we tried to call the tourist police, but we got no answer. After another 2 hours of yelling, or begging for a decent room (that we paid for almost 2 months before!!!), the management of the hotel continued to treat us with ignorance and disrespect, like any other days. They said they could not offer any solution to this, not in this hotel or Esperia Hotel. Finally, under the perspective of sleeping on streets, the Greek representative of our agent travel found us another hotel, where we finally managed to relax and continue our holiday. But the price paid in nerves, money (hours of telephone conversations) and time was a little too high for a vacation that we expected for a whole year.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Manuela75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2007

The hotel has a beautifull location with an excellent view. It's an interesting sensation to live in the most extrem hotel from this island and either u're looking right or left to see the Mediteranean sea with it's magnificent blue water. The hotel has a great location not only because it's view criteria but is in the town, you have all the restaurants next to you, the harbour is only 5 minutes walking and the old town is also close to it.
The Aquarium garden is also very nice and the hotel beach is right outside of the hotel with seats for everybody for only 1.5 eur per day.
The rooms are quite simple but with enought free space to enjoy the staying. Regarding it's cleaness I don't have anything to say..everithing is as it should be.
The breakfast is plenty and with a good variety of food and deserts. The best aspect of the breakfast is the view you get while sitting and enjoying you're coffe....you can see the islands of Turkey (Marmaris ) in the horizon and I can guarantee is an unique view.
I definitlly recomend this hotel to everibody who wants to see the real Rhodos Town and it's unique beauty.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The sound of the A.C instalations...is needed a refurbish.
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gabidunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#22 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#15 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.2 mi away
smartline Aquamare
smartline Aquamare
#20 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Suites Hotel
Bellevue Suites Hotel
#43 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#87 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel
Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel
#52 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Hotel

Property: Cactus Hotel
Address: 14 Kos Str, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cactus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Cactus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cactus Hotel Rhodes Town
Cactus Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing