We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good...”
Review of Cactus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cactus Hotel
Ranked #36 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed in the Mediterranean suite on the sixth floor, so our opinion of the hotel’s rooms will probably differ somewhat from some other reviewers. The room is really big, and having two bathrooms is really handy (even though only one has a shower, which was a bit strange). Waking up to the sun shining through the windows was also lovely, but the balcony is not really usable besides sitting out there in the middle of the day (the cool breeze in the evening meant it was a bit cold), and even then it is cramped.

The pool is quite protected from the wind, which made it a good option in the afternoon – plenty of loungers and the food out there is simple but nice.

Location is pretty good, though a bit of a walk (1km) to the Old Town or to places where the food isn’t rubbish that is tailored solely to tourists (all the restaurants with touts out the front). Having the beach across the road is certainly handy, though.

We’re not the type to spend too much time in the hotel, so I can’t comment on the bar, but the breakfast is only just ok. The scrambled eggs and sausages weren’t edible, but the fruit, vegetables and assortment of breads made up for it.

All in all, a good stay in a really good room at a reasonable hotel (wi-fi in the rooms would make it a bit better).

Room Tip: Mediterranean suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank branners31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELCACTUS, Director of Sales at Cactus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for choosing Cactus Hotel for your vacation and also for posting your nice comments about us.
We are a little bit surprised that you weren't satisfied with our breakfast because this year we have made a lot of changes and we upgrade the quality of food so we can satisfy our guests.
We would also like to inform you that in our future plans is to provide wi-fi internet also in the rooms.
We hope to see you again in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 353 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

There is a fine line between the rating average and very good. If I could I would choose the rating good.

THE FIRST IMPRESSION
We arrived the hotel late at nigth. Our first impression was quite good! The staff seemed friendly with a few exceptions. When we got to our room I started laughing. Not because of the room, witch was quite ok. It was because of the balcony! The balcony was not really a balcony. You could barely stand out there and you had to go sideways to get to the two chairs and the table they had squizeed in there! The beds were hard and the bathroom a bit small, but nothing big to complain about. In the shower it said to go easy on the water, so we practically had to shower together..
The rooms were cleaned six times a week and the maids were lovely! So sweet and welcoming!
The view was beautiful. We had a room at the third floor, so we spent quite a few evenings sitting at the balcony watching the sun set in the ocean.

HOTEL LOCATION:
The hotel has a perfect location. It lies close to Rhodos town and you only have to walk 15mins to get to the old town. If you like to go sigthseeing the old town will be a gold mine for you! A lot of suvenires, restaurants, local products and a good dose of history! Rigth next to the hotel at the very tip, there is an aquarium! There you can see all the local marine life live! I found it quite facinating! the Beach in front of the hotel is quite windy, but if you go on the other side it is much more quiet. I loved the waves though.

BREAKFAST
We had breakfast included on our holiday and I have to say that I didn`t always know what to choose! So much of everything. Many different breadtypes, every kind of chesee, ham, fruits, vegetables and even bacon, scrambeled eggs and sosages! The Juice was not so good, but not the worst. This was a definitively great start on our day! And the quality was great!

HOTEL BAR
The hotelbar was awesome! The main bartender was so lovely, fun and kind! He always smiled and made some jokes now and then. He always refilled our bowl of chips and nuts and he made the best drinks ever! There was karaoke there once a week and the karaoke host made my day! Such a sweet old man :)
I would say that the bar was the best part of the entire hotel!

THE POOL
The pool was not so big and it was dirty!
I never saw anyone clean it. The reason why I say it was dirty is because we tried out our underwater camera, and there was no such thing as a crystal clear image. But I can not say for sure that no one cleaned it though...
There were enough sunbeds, but quite a few reserved ones, so if we could not get a bed and the time went by, we just removed the towels! No one dared to make a fuzz of it.
We spent most of our time at the local beach snorkeling and swimming with the fish.

ALL IN ALL
All in all this was a better holiday. I would come back if not only just to visit the bar man and the karaokehost. Well worth a visit if you are a couple or friends, and it is a bit better than an average hotel, but not in the category: very good!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELCACTUS, Director of Sales at Cactus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for choosing Cactus Hotel for your vacation and also for taking the time to share your experience with us because your comments help us to uprade our services.
We are delighted to read that generally you had a nice time during your stay in our hotel.
we always try to do our best for our guests!!!
We wish to see you again in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

All in all my stay at Cactus Hotel was decent. The location of the hotel is excellent with a beautiful view of the sea, also as it is in Rhodes town with just 15 minute walk to the Old town makes a great place for a stay in Rhodes town. However there is the standard of the hotel. It is worn down and overdue for a renovation. At least that can be said for my room on the third floor with a sea view. With newly renovated rooms i would definitely consider staying at Cactus again, but as is today it would not be my choice in Rhodes town.

Room Tip: Be aware that you will hear noise from outside the rooms in the hallways as the rooms don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonwir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELCACTUS, Director of Sales at Cactus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for choosing Cactus Hotel for your vacation .
We would like to inform you that we have already renovate our common areas, such as the reception, the breakfast area, the bar, generally the lobby area and also some of our rooms, including our suites.Our goal is to renovate all of our rooms but this has to be gradually.So, after the information that we gave you, it will be our pleasure to see you again in our hotel and in our new, renovated rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Last summer me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel for two weeks. I have travelled a lot and I have seen many bad hotels, but this was the worst i have seen so far. Because we were young with my boyfriend they tought they could give us terrible room. There were very dangerous broken electric wires in the shower and everything else in the room was in really bad condition. When we tried to change the room the staff was very rude to us and they didn't understand why we weren't satisfied. The breakfast was also really bad.. The location was good but that is the only positive thing I can say about this hotel.We are never coming back to this hotel again :)))))))) thanks for this unpleasant stay in cactus.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Inka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELCACTUS, Director of Sales at Cactus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Guests,

we are really sad for the fact that you left our hotel unsatisfied. We always try to do our best for all of our guests, regardless their age. Especially for our staff we had never before claims for their behavior, they are friendly, kind and always try to find a solution to all the problems if it is possible. It is a little bit strange that you mention that after so many months, although we are glad, because you give us the opportunity to inform you that we have totally renovate our breakfast and all the common areas and we have also upgrade our services concerning the rooms. Once again we are really sorry, that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I spent two weeks in hotel Cactus in late September 2012 with our friends.
Hotel Cactus has officially 3 stars but in my mind they are strong stars. The sea view is superb, breakfast is good (a little bit loud), staff is nice and hotel is clean enough. The price/quality relationship is also good.
And of course the location is just great. Very clean beach is just a few steps from the hotel door. (There are many Chinese (!) masseurs walking around and almost harassing people.)
The hotel Cactus has a new manager (a young lady). We were surprised see how she was facing the customers in the breakfast table, in the lobby and even in the bar in the evening. She also arranged separate evaluation sessions with the customers to find out our likes and dislikes. We’e been travelling some thirty years and this was the second time to notice something like this. This promises a lot.
It would be nice to have free WiFi in all rooms because many people are travelling with pads.
We all four liked the hotels atmosphere so much that we have already booked two weeks in next September. We are curious to see if any improvements are implemented when hotel Cactus is on the way to have four stars.

Room Tip: Take a sea view on either side. It is so nice to sit in the balcony and watch so many ships sailing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pentti_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELCACTUS, Director of Sales at Cactus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Cactus Hotel for your vacation and for taking the time to post your nice comments about us!
We are very glad to know that you had such a wonderful time during your stay in our hotel.
It is a pleasure for our manager to meet our guests and hear to their opinion for the hotel or their suggestion for improvement .
We are looking forward to see you in September.

P.S. We will have many changes at Cactus Hotel!You will be surprised!!!!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ordered seaview and got a small room with the smallest balcony and a tinyest shower we have seen. Although a good stay, good breakfast and wery nice people working there. Wery near the Elli beach where you in september always get a sunbed. Near the town vith lots of restaurants. If you are trawelling to Rhodos to see the town, this is the place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank logo205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELCACTUS, Director of Sales at Cactus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Cactus Hotel for your vacation.
We are really sorry for the fact that you have taken a "small room" for your expectations.
We hope that in the future we will have the chance to serve you, sending us by e-mail your request for the size of the room. We hope to see you again in our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very good service and excellent breakfast. Wish they had a double bed instead of 2 singles joined together.
Other than that the hotel was great- clean, nice pool, good view, good breakfast and they even allowed late check out as our flight was late evening.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank savithaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELCACTUS, Director of Sales at Cactus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear guest,
We would really like to thank you for choosing Cactus Hotel for your accomodation.
We are really sorry that you were not satisfied with the beds according to your requirements.
We hope that we will have the chance in the future to satisfy you, by sending us an e-mail asking for the type of beds that you would like to have.
Although thank you very much for your nice comments.
Looking forward to see you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#17 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#23 of 126 in Rhodes Town
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#83 of 126 in Rhodes Town
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#10 of 126 in Rhodes Town
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
#22 of 126 in Rhodes Town
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
smartline Aquamare
smartline Aquamare
#25 of 126 in Rhodes Town
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Hotel

Address: 14 Kos Str, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $65 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cactus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HostelWorld so you can book your Cactus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cactus Hotel Rhodes Town
Cactus Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing