We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option - take a room with sea view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aquarium View Hotel
Ranked #60 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed August 12, 2007

The best value of the hotel is the position - close to east beach. By the way, if you want to stay in Rhodes, be aware - the west coast is very windy.
Rooms are very nice on the sea view side. The other side deserves half the number of stars.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mkivu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 135 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2007

I' ve lived in Rhodes 10 years ago, so I knew exactly where to look for when I started searching for a place to stay on my vacations there.

You can not find a better spot in Rhodes city. Siravast is near to anything, plus it has ample parking space, should you want to use a car. I' ve also read and heard that the hotel was renovated a year ago or something like that, so Siravast was my immediate choise.

If you want to stay in a convenient place and you don't care for anything else, it is perfect. But don't expect to stay in a 4 star hotel (despite the fact you are paying for such one!). The room had been partly renovated - the bathroom was OK, but the sleeping room was NOT. Take a look at the attached photos for further information... Plus, I don't think our sheets have been changed despite the fact we stayed there for 5 days.

Overall, it's not a place to avoid, is nicely situated, but the next time I'll be there I will take my chance with hotels Ibiscus and Mediterrenean which are situated right next to Siravast and look quite modern.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LiFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2007

Siravast is one of the best places to stay in Rhodes. The location is perfect (right on the beach, quiet area at night, walking distance to everything), the view from the rooms is very nice and being in Rhodes city allows you to combine the joys of beach life with the entertainment, food and shopping variety of the city. You can find places with better beaches (stoney) and hotels that are more modern and fancier (70's style), but the total experience makes this a place to fall in love with (Thanks for the Christmas card Siravast, nice touch!)

We stayed at the neighbouring hotel Cactus one year (same owners as Siravast) and the rooms there are a bit less dated, but the athmosphere at Siravast is more relaxed and friendlier somehow.

Things to do:

-Eat Gyros, the greek fast-food, it is cheap and tastes great.
-Walk to the end of the beach and continue on the path along the sea to find your own private mini-beach...very cosy.
- Shop till you drop all around the town, lots of stores with modern clothes for men and women.
- Walk to the old town; visit the shops, walk around in the narrow streets where people live, and have a drink at one of the hidden, but fancy bars.
- Take the free bus to the water park outside Faliraki, lots of fun. Faliraki itself is fake and cheap tourist land, do not go there.
- Visit Lindos for a change of scenery, a nice sand ybeach and dinner on the roof of a restaurant overlooking the town.
- Have a meal in one of the restaurants at the front of the Bazar in the harbor, the one closest to Siravast has very good seafood pasta.

Things to avoid:
- If anyone gives you a lottery ticket you will win and be offered a taxi to a neighbouring town to receive the prize...this is all a scam to sell you expensive useless travel packages. Do not be fooled.

  • Stayed: May 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank M07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

The Sirivast was our first stop after arriving from the US. The location of this hotel cannot be beat if your goal is convenience and view. Our room overlooked the Harbor and the beach. Our balcony was a fantastic place to hang out and relax before going out for the evening. The rooms were spacious and had a good bathroom setup. Furnishings were in good shape but clearly were decorated in the late 70s.

The Staff was absolutely fantastic. 5 out of the 9 people in our group had their luggage misplaced somewhere between Home and Heathrow. The staff worked with the airport and with Swissport and was actually able to have the bags transferred to the hotel. It was quite nice when they would be there waiting for us when we got back from the days touring (it was kind of like getting a present when you got back to the hotel!). Front desk, breakfast, bar, and cleaning staff were all first rate.

Bar was nice for a drink or so before heading out. The bartender was fantastic company. Breakfast was a nice selection of hard and soft eggs, breads, cakes, fruits, meats and cheeses. A nice view of the beach made for a good start to the day.

The location allowed you to easily walk along the beach to the harbor and to the old town with ease and had beautiful sights along the way.

We did not use the pool at the Cactus so I cannot report on it.

All in all great people, great location, decent facility.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joels96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2006

I had a weeks stay at the Siravast this August with my wife and found it to be a great place for Rhodes town and a base for touring the island. The hotel is a bit dated but very clean and friendly. Our room was furnished from the '70s but serviceable. Fresh towels every other day ( a bit grey in colour it has to be said) and beds changed at least twice a week. The air con is good and essential in summer.
The balcony was its best feature with stunning views across the beach and up to the harbours. Breakfast is OK but the cooked food is a bit lacking in imagination and sometimes quantity. The staff are lovely and friendly. If you want a good evening meal try Jacks on the corner of Griva and Kritis, great menu and lovely blonde Scandinavian waitresses!
We enjoyed every day and evening in and around Rhodes town and would recommend it to couples and families - but not the gangs of youths who frequent Faliraki.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank millomite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2005

We stayed at the Siravest Hotel in Rhodes Town from 8th to 22nd June 2005. This is a sister hotel of the Cactus next door. The room was large and spacious with plenty of storage space (17 drawers and a large wardrobe.) The bathroom was on the small side, but adequate and actually had a shower curtain! There was no shortage of hot water at any time during our stay. Clean towels were supplied daily and the beds were changed at least twice per week. We were on the second floor and had a balcony which overlooked the beach with excellent sea views. We watched the ferries and the cruise ships as they sailed into the harbour whilst enjoying a pre dinner drink on the balcony most evenings.
Breakfast is self service with boiled and scrambled eggs every morning and occasionally bacon and sausages. There is always ham and cheese, feta and salad. A plentiful supply of bread, cakes, biscuits etc. is also always available. You can choose from coffee, tea, orange and grapefruit juice.
The hotel does not have its own pool, but you can use the one at the Cactus next door. The terrace around the pool can be slightly cramped,which is true of most Rhodes Town hotel pools, but there is a large grassy area which can be used for sun bathing. There is a limited number of sun beds and parasols, and unfortunately the early morning reservation system was in practice during our stay,which is grudgingly acceptable if people reserve the bed and come to use it soon after breakfast, but some beds were covered in towels and not used until mid afternoon!
The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially Dimitri in the breakfast room and George the night receptionist.
Over all, the hotel is in an excellent situation,across the road from the beach, ten minutes walk to Mandraki Harbour and fifteen to tweny minutes to the Old Town. There are plenty of good restaurants within the immediate area, and I would recommend the following-
Thomas & Charlotte - authentic Greek dishes
Scalinis - very good value 3 course set menus
Red - A new place opened in May 2005 more up market a bit different, excellent food, try the goats cheese and rocket salad, I had it 4 times!
For coffee and an excellent choice of cakes, the Finnish bakery just a few yards down Palm Square from the front door of the hotel is a must.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Siravest for your stay in Rhodes Town,it is clean comfortable,friendly,well run and excellent value,we will certainly use it the next time we visit the island. We booked flights only with Thomson from Glasgow and the hotel direct by e-mail.

57  Thank dmel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AQUARIUMVIEWHOTEL, Διευθυντής Πωλήσεων at Aquarium View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#17 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,064 reviews
0 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#10 of 126 in Rhodes Town
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#23 of 126 in Rhodes Town
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Sky City Beach Hotel
Blue Sky City Beach Hotel
#38 of 126 in Rhodes Town
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
smartline Aquamare
smartline Aquamare
#25 of 126 in Rhodes Town
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexia Premier City Hotel
Alexia Premier City Hotel
#33 of 126 in Rhodes Town
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarium View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarium View Hotel

Address: G Haritou Square, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece (Formerly Siravast Hotel)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#39 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $66 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquarium View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aquarium View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarium Hotel Rhodes Town
Aquarium View Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing