We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miss Howell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows
Ranked #20 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from Avra beach yesterday. All i can say is what fanastic holiday we had. The staff are lovely friendly and very helpful. The food was lovely and plenty of variety for all tastes.Animation team brilliant all so friendly. What a great job all the staff do. Will return there and recommend it to others.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Julie,

We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for your holidays and also for having taken the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We have shared your kind words with our staff.

Once again thank you for your wonderful words and for your recommendation to other guests. It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

502 - 508 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

had a great week at the Avra Beach from 2nd july to 9th july stayed in room no 432 excellent views of the beach and pool area had a problem with the first room owing to a disability problem to be fair we were moved straight away with no fuss. went as a couple in what is a family hotel but enjoyed every minute of our stay the staff were brilliant always cheerful the service in the restaurant first class staff at reception always courteous and helpful the food was very good and enjoyable. the staff at the pool bar work hard and deserve every credit as it can be very busy .
all in all no regrets and will return .

Room Tip: go for the main hotel a lot quieter loads of sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Brian,

We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for your holidays and also for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay in our hotel.

We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you were especially pleased with the services our staff provided. We have shared your kind words with all of them, it is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback.

Once again thank you for your wonderful words. It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was our second visit to the Avra Beach hotel. We find it a welcoming and friendly hotel, which is generally well maintained with pleasant grounds. The food is good with plenty of choice and we like the fact that you don;t have to queue up to be seated in the restaurant.Meal times were pretty relaxed. The waiters are all efficient and helpful. The lack of sunbeds by the pool is a bit of a nuisance at times and it is a little frustrating when people get a bed, only use if for a short time but go away leaving their stuff there to come back in some cases several hours later. Our room was always well cleaned and the facilities more than adequate. The first year we went we did find our room a little noisy as it was quite near the road but this time we had a lovely room in one of the bungalows. Rhodes is a beautiful island and not difficult to find your way around by car. We don't need the evening entertainment but those who did appeared to enjoy it, an air conditioned quiet comfy lounge would be a good addition. This year there was a spa available which I enjoyed using. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a side sea view away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Ruth,

We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for your holidays and also for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay in our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback.

It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My first time in Greece, in Rhodes and this hotel. I liked it well enough, my mother not so much. I guess, it is reasonable for 4 stars, so you can't expect much luxury.
To begin with, you'll need to carry your suitcases yourself. The receptionist will just point out the directions. Speaking about reception staff, during my stay, there were 2 girls, blond and dark haired one (sorry, i am not so good with names). All important deals are better dealt by dark haired girl, her english is better and she is more efficient. Otherwise, all staff in hotel are hard-working, friendly people and they do smile enough. Animators team is really just as wonderfull, as mentioned in all other reviews. Gustav, Michelle and Sisi will never forget to ask you to join morning stretch, water gymnatics, darts game, volleyball or other daily activities. Pity, that evening shows are rather weak. The ones, worth mentioning, would be Greek night, ABBA and The Beatles shows, as well as Il Divo show.
The hotel grounds are medium sized, clean and tidy, with lots of greenery and even a fountain. There is shingle beach with lots of sunbeds by sea and just amazing pool with rather overcrowded pool area and not enough sunbeds. You can play football in front of main building, volleyball in beach or tennis in tennis-court. The game room with pool table and different slot-machines will attract not only children, but their parents as well. Ixia town, where hotel is based, is windy by itself, there were waves every day and water is not so clean. As a result, there were a lot of people , sunbathing by the sea, but mainly swimming in pool.
The first great disadvantage of this hotel would lack of sunbeds by the pool and towel treatment. it was our first holiday in late spring/early summer (we stayed at the end of may/beginning of June) instead of late autumn and our first time to experience very annoying towel treatment. You literally have to get up at least at 6 AM in the morning to get one of the ,,prestigious,, sunbeds by the pool. Sunbeds by the sea were still available by 8 or even 9 AM. The other option is just sit by the table or if your room is close to the pool, just put your towel on the ground and take a quick dip to swim.
The second huge drawback would be food. As always with AI, food does get repetitive after a couple of days. Perhaps we are spoiled and picky, but there was one evening, when I survived on just salads and deserts. My mother however complained about her food almost every time. You can drink pepsi, sprite, fanta, orange and apple juice as well as wine from a machine. Snack bar by the pool offers pastries, slices of pizza and cakes as well as free ice cream everyday from 10 AM till midnight. I am not british, but I loved breakfast - poached eggs with roasted ham and toast with jam,not to mention freshly baked buns and doughnuts. Sadly, lunch and dinner were far worse. Salads were plentiful, but I got bored with chips and pasta. Fish was hard-boiled , meat and stuffed vegetables really spicy. Deserts such as jello with fruits or cakes were better than in 5 star hotel in Turkey, but thats just my opinion. Fruits choice: watermelon, apples, peaches, apricots, sometimes bananas. We loved cocktails, since we do not drink pure alcohol or wine.
Main nationalities in hotel are scandinavians and british people, a few families of french, russian. The animators are mainly from Sweden. All in all, main language in hotel would be english.
I cannot fault our room. After a couple of emails with hotel management, we were given a bungallow (we paid for standard room) without any extra charge, with seaview. We had 4 beds in 2 rooms, enough closet place and balcony. Also our bungallow was conveniently situated just by the pool, we had rooms in first floor. We stayed before the beginning of official season (the 15th of june), so there was no air-con. it was windy enough , if you let your balcony door open, to keep both rooms cool. But it could a problem, if your room does not get sea breeze, and paying for air-con is really expensive. The safe is chargeable and you will have to buy water. Though we bought a pack of 6 bottles for about 3 euros and then filled them by juice or lemonade from machines in cafeteria or snack bar. The rooms were cleaned daily, but warning for the picky - sheets or towels are not changed every day, except the bath mat. Also the biggest fault in the room is shower curtain, the cheapest thing ever. Generally this thing should keep the water in, however after shower you could literally swim in your bathroom. I wiped water with bath mat every time to avoid slippery floors in bathroom. Hotel does provide you with 2 bottles of shower gel, shampoo, body lotion for 2 people for 10 days.Then they do not replenish them, so you have to take your own, as it won't be enough. The other setback would be lack of sockets. if there are more than 1 person, staying with a few smartphones, tablets and other devices, there is just one socket in all bungalow to charge them. I switched off my bedside lamp to charge my camera and kindle at the same time. Also you have to pay for internet even in reception area - 3 euros per hour.
AVRA hotel is very nicely situated about 15 min from Rhodes airport by bus and about the same distance from Old Town. Hotel opens up right to a bustling street with lots of restaurants, little souvenirs shops and travel agency nearby. Drivers can rent up a car to take a look around Rhodes island. Visiting Rhodes old town is a must at least once, it is after all UNESCO heritage site. The bus stop to town is righ across the street, you can and should by tickets (it will be 4,40 euros for tripto and back from town per erson) beforehand in local supermarkets to avoid massive queues in Old Town bus station. After approximatively 15 min bus will stop in main bus station, situated nearby Tourist information office and New market square as well as entry to Old town moat, where everybody will have to get off. You will leave the Old town from the same place, where you‘ve arrived. One of the employes from bus stations will always shout directions, where specific busses are going and all the information is displayed on the walls of tickets kiosk. Warning for bus users – be patient, when waiting for the bus. If you‘re lucky,it will arrive in 10-15 min, if you‘re not – it can be 40 min. Old town is well worth the visit, with lots of restaurants, bars, shops, impressive old buildings, The Knights Street, The Grand Masters Palace (entry 6 euros). The Archaeological Museum deserves the visit – entry 6 euros.
All in all – Rhodes is worth a visit. AVRA beach hotel is basically, what you pay for.

Room Tip: Well naturally bungalows or at least rooms on first floor , overlooking the sea or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Agne,

We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for your holidays and also for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay in our hotel.

We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you were especially pleased with the services our staff provided. We have shared your kind words with all of them.

It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had a good all round holiday. Great staff. So helpful. All ways plenty of food and to think how many nationalities where staying there we think they did a good variety of food. The hotel was well located but you had to be careful crossing the main road. Brilliant animation team. Good evening entertainment. Thank you Avra beach for a good two weeks. Shame we had 11 1/2 hour delay with the plane coming home !!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Brian,

We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for your holidays and also for having taken the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel.

It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We recently returned from a fantastic holiday at avra beach the location is stunning the people are lovely we found them to be very kind and helpful and made our holiday one of the best so far. The food was good for an all inclusive love the pool bar with the snacks although this would of been better with a different variety still can't complain it does the job. The cocktails are fantastic the measures are like none I have seen they really are generous. The hotel was nice clean our room was cleaned daily the only thing I wasn't overly pleaded with was the floors around the pool area are so slippery my daughter had a few accidents we all on many occasions nearly slipped again not much can be done about that really. Now to the animation team who really made our holiday without them we wouldn't of come home without our voices due to laughing and cheering so much they are fantastic I have never met a team so dedicated to making your holiday just what you want it to be if you want to join in you can if not you are not forced into it really really lovely people I would defiantly return to avra beach in a heartbeat many thanks for the most amazing week.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank becsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for your holidays and also for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay in our hotel.

We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you were especially pleased with the services our staff provided. We have shared your kind words with all of them, it is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback.

Once again thank you for your wonderful words. It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My partner and myself have just arrived back from a week in Rhodes, Avra beach hotel and would definitely say we would return to the island, however not this particular hotel. The rooms extremely basic, two beds pushed together, following a third infront of the balcony door (not sure why!), this bed made the room a whole lot smaller. The balcony flooded after showers were taken making it sopping. Throughout just one week we had 3 cockroaches in our room, and when we told the reception staff about this they just flipped it off and did nothing until we refused to move until someone came up to deal with the issue. Finally a cleaner came up and after 10 minutes of trying to spray and stamp on the cockroaches she left (with them still alive!!) and said they will die soon, however five minutes later they were up and running around again. Not happy. The food within the hotel was extremely limited and mostly cold, and therefore we ate out at a lovely friendly restaurant across the road (Napoli.. definitely recommend!!), apart from this the shop staff in the hotel were particularly lovely and the pool was gorgeous. The boat trip to Lindos was a let down as we got told by the rep that we would be in lindos for 6 hours allowing us to have a decent look around and a meal, however we were only there for about 4 making things rushed and not allowing us to look around as much as we would have liked. Rhodes old town is so beautiful and would definitely recommend!! Taxis very cheap and would choose them over the busses as very cramped and confusing!
Overall it was a lovely holiday due to the gorgeous island and friendly people outside of the hotel, the hotel had some good points but the staff (on a whole) the rooms and the food let the hotel down massively. Would recommend Rhodes to everyone but not this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chloe l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Chloe,

We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for your holidays and also for having taken the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We do take all comments seriously and we reviewed your comments regarding our food during your stay with us.

It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#17 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,674 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,791 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows

Address: Lalysos | Ixia Beach, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#7 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#29 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $82 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel bungalow apartments Avra Beach Resort is situated on the beach of Ixia, 6km west of Rhodes town and 7km from Rhodes International Airport. The hotel covers 18.000 square meters of blossom garden and well kept environment. The hotel is closer to the beach than any other hotel in the area (literally on the beach!) and very close to local shops of Ixia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Resort All Inclusive
Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing