We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nathalie Hotel(Rhodes Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sentido Ixian All Suites(Rhodes Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunny Days Hotel(Rhodes Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Filmar(Rhodes Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,175)
Filter reviews
1,175 results
Traveler rating
491
418
192
50
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
418
192
50
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teambeach barfather and sonbeach volleyballpool areajersey boysmini clubevening entertainmentwater polountil midnightgreat holidayair conmusic quizplenty of choicedaily activitieskids clubrestaurant manager
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
519 - 524 of 1,175 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2014

very good hotel for famely young old kids all is good
had a great holliday because the staff give me that on poolbar kyriakos renna take care to all natasha maria in evening rest perfect the boys and girls make you feel home.
rena photuna aggeliki xoulia popy dimitra thye all take care
last holliday was perfect ty all for that but also reception and pr great

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Rudy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay in our hotel. It is our real pleasure and gratitude to receive positive comments from very important guests like you.

We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you were especially pleased with the helpfulness, courtesy and professionalism of our staff. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback. We have shared your kind words with all of them.

Once again thank you for your wonderful words regarding our hotel. It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Visit this hotel for a "girls holiday". Travelled for 1 week on the 4th June. The hotel was grat value as we only paid £490 each for all inclusive. We initially booked a standard room for 3, these rooms are not big enough for 3 adults, we couldn't even walk round the beds easily, we were then offered a family room for free. Note these rooms are all together on the ground floor of the hotel main corridor. Nosiest room i have ever been in..... We upgraded to a bungalow for 20 euros each, well worth it. The bungalow had 2 bedrooms, with 4 beds. The rooms are clean, although our cleaner didn't clean our bathroom for 4 days. 1 beach towel for each of us was provided for the week.

Food and drink was good, nothing fancy. Cocktails not so good. All inclusive finishes at midnight but the bar was dead by this time, most people went to bed when the entertainment finished at 11. The entertainment was very good most nights. Beatle and Il Divo tributes band were the best.

During the day the activities included: darts, table tennis, water polo, stretching, water aerobics and beach volley ball.

The hotel is on a stoney beach not far from Ixia centre, 5 minutes walk. You can get to Rhodes Town by either bus or taxi, taxi was 8 euros each way, Rhodes Town Old Town is a must early evening it's beautiful. Taxi to airport is 21 euros if you don't fancy waiting for a coach transfer and takes 10 minutes.

Would only visit this hotel again if I got another good deal.

Room Tip: Bungalows are a must.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Julie,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Avra Beach Resort and we are happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We were a party of 8 adults for a weeks stay. We found the place itself well situated, clean and friendly. The main fault was the overcrowded sun terraces, seating areas and dining room. There wasn't really a quiet area to relax xx we as in my husband and myself used other local facilities. The food wasn't too bad at all but again ques for food was an issue. We decided to eat out a few nights to avoid the crowds. They catered well for children from what we saw so if you are a family this would be a good place to go.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Maxine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Maxine,

We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for your holidays and also for having taken the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Also we would like to thank you for your useful remarks regarding the restaurant.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I enjoyed the holiday overall, but I felt rather let down by the hotel and the island... We arrived early hours of the morning, the check in was smooth (it was only the two of us checking in at the time) and our passports were kept overnight, which was fine with us. We felt the air-con prices were a bit of a rip off (we went in May, it was free from June- September which isn't stated by First Choice website) so we went without. They also charge 3 Euros for an hour for internet access and we paid roughly 20 Euros for the safe for our 2 week stay. Thankfully, the fridge in the room was free. Our rooms were cleaned daily but the bathroom floor wasn't mopped often and the drain in there smelled quite badly almost every day (I could see the dirt and grime below the drain cover, even though it was a drain just for the shower), so we had to leave the door open and leave the balcony door open too. We had a reasonable view of the sea but mainly of an alley beside the hotel. You could also hear, very loudly when someone in the next room or above flushed their toilet or had a shower. The drinks were really nice, but found the beer a little too gassy - so we stopped drinking it and stuck to either soft drinks or cocktails. The food was something else..... some days it was lovely and other days I would have rather just starved myself. Thankfully some of it was the same everyday (spaghetti bolognese which was nice and edible), but there were occasions where both my boyfriend and i looked at each other and were like 'what is this we are eating' e.g chicken nuggets that were clearly not chicken - they were brown and stunk to high heaven! I felt sick all day.
If you're after a sand beach, Ixia is not the place to stay. When it states a shingle beach, it literally means a stone/pebble beach. I thought there would be a few pebbled areas, I was wrong. The edge of the hotel area is VERY close to the 'shingle beach', as in when the tide is in it would take 2-3 steps before you're in the water. You can see Rhodes town and the Aquarium from the hotel and are also able to watch the planes come in low to land at the airport.
We went to the Waterpark which was nice as it was quiet season, I doubt there was more than 100 people there the day we went. No queuing, it was great. I would recommend just about every ride there if you want to be scared!!
The Aquarium was very disappointing, I've been in a few and this by far was the smallest. All very small fish and other sea creatures that are repeated every other tank..The Old Town was nice, except when you go into the centre of it and are harassed by restaurant workers who want you to go in and eat, even though they can clearly see you saying no to the other worker infront of them. Also, the locals and their driving was horrendous. I've never felt so scared being in a car before. They will overtake on hills, bends and even when there's hardly any space for them, they will still go for it. We saw a few accidents, almost every car had a dent in it and we saw someone beside the road who had been hit by a car - thankfully they were being attended to! They also don't pay attention to road crossings for pedestrians, you literally have to take your own life into your hands wanting to cross the road, or until someone nice finally stops to let you cross that part of the road.
Lindos would have been more enjoyable if it hadn't have been raining heavily when we arrived. Be prepared to walk up a steep hill if you want to visit the castle (which we skipped on), it took about an hours drive to get there from Ixia. Ancient Kamiros was lovely, really enjoyed walking around there and I felt was worth the 4 Euros each which I believe they are using the money to re-develop some of the area. There's also a bee museum....
Overall, it was nice being away even if the weather was disppointing for most of the time we were away and aweful food at the hotel, we did find a little place called Zorbas which was great for food! I recommend going there. However, if you're after a holiday were you want to chill and maybe visit some local areas, Rhodes would be great but if you want somwhere with more going on I would recommend going somewhere else. I know every place will have good and bad comments, this is more of a negative review but it may be that someone else will love the place and not find anything wrong. On a positive, the staff of Avra Beach were lovely and the women are very pretty.

Room Tip: We had the first floor, room 118 which faced the alley. Quiet until the binmen collect the rubbish at 5.30am
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leiwilson87 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at our hotel.

We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we apologize that your stay was below your standards. We want all of our guests to enjoy their stay and we hope that you will consider staying with us again and give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed there very recently and can attest to it being a fabulous place to stay with a great beachside location and fabulous pool. The food was varied and very good. All the staff could not be more helpful. Very clean throughout. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

John

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jsp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear John,

We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for your holidays and also for having taken the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you were especially pleased with our staff. We have already shared your kind words with them. Also we would like to thank you for your recommendation to other guests.

It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews