We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows
Ranked #25 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Just returned home after two weeks at the Avra. The hotel was nice and clean and the service in reception was very good. The rooms were not fancy but plenty big enough and clean and comfortable the dining room was well run and the food ok . The bars were run by pleasant staff and the drinks were great. The pool was well located with a good view turkeys coastline during the day the activities were well run and particularly enjoyed by guests who were regular visitors to the Avra.while the animation team did a good job during the day it was a pity this was not the same in the evening. One of their shows ended with them spitting water at each other and all jumping in swimming pool. Other shows were quite good in particular the four tenors. During the day we walked a lot into nearby towns and also visited Rhodes town we really enjoyed this despite the irritating timeshare sales touts we would visit the Avra again as other guests who went year after loved it and we also met some nice people. On the way home a lady fell on the aeroplane steps and broke her wrist. She wasn't able to fly so we wish her well and hope she was treated and got home ok

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear John,

We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for holidays and also for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
There are newer reviews for Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

We arrived at avra beach after being moved from a bad hotel and I can honestly say what a fantastic place it is very welcoming fantastic food and the entertainment team well what can I say they are absolutely fantastic they made my 4 children cry and not want to leave we will be returning year after year I would recommend this hotel to anyone thankyou to all for making are holiday perfect

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Leanne,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays. Your review was a pleasure to read and your feedback is much appreciated.

We are very glad that you had a pleasant stay at Avra Beach Resort and that you were especially pleased with the services our staff provided. We will let the staff know how much you appreciated their efforts.

Once again thank you for your wonderful words and for your recommendation to other guests. It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Having just returned from 2weeks at Avra Beach I must admit I am very disappointed. We had a family bungalow which was spacious and had a fantastic view over the pool and out to sea with morning sun on balcony but the good ends there. The cleaners came everyday but only seemed to make beds, no mopping and very little sweeping, the towels which I thought were changed regularly were actually just folded and put back as the same marks were there daily. Ladies take your own shower gel shampoo etc as there were 2 of us staying 2 weeks and only had 3 of each on arrival and no more left during our stay. Only 1 plug socket which for a family size apartment is very poor. Although the restaurant had a reasonable choice of food it was only ever luke warm. Pool bar though was advertised open till 24.00 was usually closed by 7p.m. Sunbeds round pool taken by 7a.m but staff turned a blind eye to that so I don't know why they bother putting signs up asking guests not to do this. Again signs asking no shorts in restaurant there were more in shorts than not. Evening entertainment one night consisted of animation team taking large mouth fulls of water and spitting it at each other (no that wasn't kids club having a stupid hour) Surrounding area of hotel had many derelict buildings so was not pleasant to walk out on an evening. So would I return to Avra Beach? No thank you

Room Tip: E-mail first and ask for bungalow with full sea view. Ours was 730 although you had to carry cases u...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Sandra,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at our hotel, we appreciate your feedback. Also we would like to thank you for your useful remarks regarding our hotel.

The pool bar was closed by 7 o'clock due to weather conditions but our guests could be served from the main bar which is open until midnight. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we apologize that your stay was below your standards.

We want all of our guests to enjoy their stay and we hope that you will consider staying with us again and give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week a the beginning of May. The weather was nice for approximately half of our stay, although due to the refreshing breeze when the sun was hot it was very easy to get sunburnt (bright red). Hotel is lovely and clean. Cleaners can be seen to be cleaning from early hours until late in the evening. Room clean and comfortable.

Food OK, not too much choice - only 4 dessert trays to choose from.

Few things to mention though. Firstly drinks were served in glasses around the pool and beach areas. A number of times these were knocked over and children could be seen walking round in bare feet around the childrens pool.

There was only one person serving at the only open bar day and night. When there was big queue another person assisted for a short while though but always a long wait. When the sun was out the bar outside opened during the day and the inside bar was closed, but again they served drinks in glasses - although we asked for our beer in plastic cups during the day.

The evening entertainment was not great. During our six evening stay there were three acts which were rather good actually (4 Tenors, greekdancers and a group), but when the reps did the show ie comedy night, it was dire. I know it was their first week and early in the season but we actually paid good money for our holiday. Bingo cost 5 Euros for one game which was for one line only - horizonal line only (not vertical or 4 corners) A table to elderly ladies told the team after the game that they had paid 15 Euros between them for the one short game and the prizes were not too good either - feet in fish in the spa, bottle of wine etc - you usually get cash prizes where i've been before (not that I go on holiday for the bingo) Most people only seemed to play Bingo the once. The children seemed to enjoy the kids disco though.

The snack bar also was not up to scratch. There was a warm cabinet (which was not very warm) where there was pizza (2" x 2" slices) some slices of cake, rolls in clingfilm (these were ok) and biscuits. Coffee, tea and Ice cream were also located in the snack area as 'help-yourself' up until midnight. No hot drinks were available from the bar, even in the evening.

To sum up, we had a relaxing holiday. Very clean and spacious hotel. There is room for improvement in areas above - especially to discourage glass form around the pool and beach areas. Would not go to again, have been to better hotels in greece.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Joanne,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Also we would like to thank you for your useful remarks regarding our hotel. Your feedback is much appreciated.

We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we apologize that your stay was below your standards. We want all of our guests to enjoy their stay and we hope that you will consider staying with us again and give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Our seventh visit to the hotel was as good as always and we can't wait to return. Without exception the staff and animation team are all warm and friendly and will do everything possible to help and make your stay a pleasant one. We have made so many friends at this hotel and the fact that we and so many others keep returning speaks volumes.

The rooms are no frills but they, along with the rest of the hotel, are comfortable and very clean. There is a fridge, hair dryer and TV in the room. The view over the pool down towards the sea is beautiful, as is the view from the terrace outside the dining room if you choose to eat outside. Food is good and there is plenty of choice. The sun bathing around the pool is very pleasant and there is good music throughout the day, although there are quieter spots for those who want them. We don't travel with children but it is obvious that the children are well looked after with a mini club and other activities for the older children.

The entertainment is good with a daily programme of activities and shows every evening, including regular live music and a good mix of entertainment. We saw four shows this time which we have never seen before and we really enjoyed them.

The hotel has added a spa this year which was a nice bit of added relaxation.

Thank you to Photini for such a warm welcome, to Nikos for managing the dining room so well, to Nicolas, Natasha, Maria and Kiriakos for keeping the drinks flowing and of course to our wonderful DJ Balu and his team, Gus, Michelle and Cissi for all the entertainment, comedy and fun. Look forward to seeing you all again very soon.

Room Tip: We like to have a room facing the pool side of the hotel so that we have the sun on the balcony and...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolineSandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Caroline,

Thank you for choosing for the 7th time our hotel for your holidays in Rhodes Island. Your review was a pleasure to read and your feedback is much appreciated.

We are very glad that you had a pleasant stay at Avra Beach Resort and that you were especially pleased with the services our staff have provided. We will let the staff know how much you appreciated their efforts.

Once again thank you for your wonderful words regarding our hotel. It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you in October for the 8th time.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We have just returned from Avra Beach our seventh visit.As always we received a very warm welcome( the staff are the backbone of this hotel and we see the same faces visit after visit)We had requested a room in a similar position (not always possible but they try to accomodate if at all possible).The hotel is spotlessly clean inside and out with the team of eagerly beavering away throughout the day and the pool area is cleared of sun beds and cleaned daily.
The bar staff are absolute stars (Nicos and Kiriakos will have to teach me how to remember exactly what a party of 8 are all drinking when there are another 300 guests in the hotel) and with Natasha and Maria serving drinks and clearing tables they are a great team.The food as always is great with lots of choice various meats and chicken dishes, pasta, french fries salads and various sweets .I cannot do it justice in this review but there is always something different and the bonus is you can eat outside on the terrace overlooking the Agean sea (priceless).
The entertainment has changed slightly this year with a few more Tribute shows like Abba and the Beatles , African acrobats Greek night and the Dancing girls appearing in the evening along with the usual mini disco for the children and the superstar Animators who organise bingo, comedy night(hilarious), karaoke , easyquiz (not) and the music quiz (with shots Brilliant).

The entertainment team headed by Balu are tireless in their pursuit of keeping you and your children busy they have a toddlers group (Sissy) a teenage programme (Michele) and Gustave looking after the adults.

Room Tip: Overlooking the football pitch/pool
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dartschampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Mark,

We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for the 7th time for your holidays in Rhodes Island and also for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at our hotel.

We are very glad that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you were especially pleased with the services our staff provided. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback and we have shared your kind words with our staff.

Once again thank you for your wonderful words regarding our hotel. It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you in October for the 8th time.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Last week we were at the Avra beach hotel for 11 days. We have had a great time, with an excellent restaurant, beatifull accomodation and a very high service level. Our room was cleaned up every day and foreseen with new towels, daily.
The animation team ( consist of Balu Balazs, Andris Zentai, Michelle Selnert, Ádám Attila and Dórika Cserháti ) was busy the whole day to entertain us, from the morning to midnight with their very nice programs for juniors and adults.
We will advise our best friends to visit Avra beach. !

Thanks
Best regard Morris and his parents from Holland.

Stayed: May 2014
4  Thank Hoeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear Morris,

We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for holidays and also for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you were especially pleased with the services our staff provided. We have shared your kind words with all of them.

Once again thank you for your wonderful words and for your recommendation to other guests. It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#18 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,614 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,824 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sentido Ixian Grand
Sentido Ixian Grand
#22 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Di Mare Luxury Suites
Villa Di Mare Luxury Suites
#54 of 126 in Rhodes Town
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunny Days Hotel
Sunny Days Hotel
#58 of 126 in Rhodes Town
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows

Address: Lalysos | Ixia Beach, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rhodes Town
#7 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#8 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#29 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $84 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel bungalow apartments Avra Beach Resort is situated on the beach of Ixia, 6km west of Rhodes town and 7km from Rhodes International Airport. The hotel covers 18.000 square meters of blossom garden and well kept environment. The hotel is closer to the beach than any other hotel in the area (literally on the beach!) and very close to local shops of Ixia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Resort All Inclusive
Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing