We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows
Ranked #18 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and spacious. Good choice in food. Good views out to sea. Would recommend to anyone and will be returning next year.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Megan148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    360
    170
    46
    21
See reviews for
415
356
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just got back from avra beach, had a fantastic time the staff are great and really helpfully. The food is great for 3 star + hotel.The hotel is only 15 minutes from the airport,and 10 minutes from rhodes town by bus.I would recommend this hotel to anyone.Good job avra staff

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We have just returned from our stay at Avra Beach. As two girls in their 20s, we were looking for a week of sun by the beach with some local nightlife (not Faliraki style!). We were disappointed on first arriving with the standard of the rooms, which are dated and the 'side sea view' which in reality means a concrete view with sea in the background. We rang reception straight away to ask how to work the air conditioning as the room was unbearably hot but it turned out that the aircon is not included at this time of year, despite temperatures of 30-35 degrees. We had to pay 11 euros per day for this. When we asked to move rooms the following day, we were told there was nothing available and to come back the next day. In the end, we just accepted that we were not in a 4 star hotel and to make the best of it.

When it comes to nightlife, Rhodes Town is great - the old town is beautiful and its where the locals go to party. The 'Bar Street' in the new town is very tacky but Colorado nightclub was good fun with live entertainment. However, you must be prepared to pay 10 euros each way for taxis as we waited for buses that never came a number of times! The hotel itself I would say is suited to families and older people, it's really not targeted at our age. Entertainment is great for young kids but there's not much for adults to do within walking distance.

Having said all this, the food is delicious and varied - there's always great choice and the waiting staff are lovely. The hotel is also extremely clean and well kept.

Overall, we had a great week, our trips to Rhodes Town and Kalithea were superb but I would not personally choose to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyHallEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Booked a very last minute holiday with Olympic to this 'All Inclusive' hotel, excellent value for money, everything was just what we expected. Rhodes is one of our favorite Greek islands.

Positive points: Good sized comfortable rooms, everything was very clean, food was very good with lots of Greek and European options, the beer was good and the wine was enjoyable when eating (less so without food), coffee and soft drinks were good, packed lunches were available if you were going out for the day, the staff were very friendly, the pool was a good size, its right by the sea and it was easy to swim in the sea if you have reef shoes, the animation team worked hard with a daily programme of activities (if you are into that kind of thing!), hotel is in a good location for visiting Rhodes town and other sites (car hire was on offer at €60 for 3 days from RIO just up the road).

Less positive points: The choice of alcoholic drinks was a bit limited/seemed like cheap brands (no Metaxa!), it got very crowded around the pool/sometimes we had to look hard to find a sun bed and avoid all of the broken ones, a lot of the sun beds were on a concrete platform covered in pebbles which was a bit unattractive and dusty (and we once saw one of hotel cats use it as a litter), the entertainment at night was not to our taste (e.g. at 9.45pm one of the following each night: Mr Avra Hotel, Karaoke, televised football, cheesy dancers).

Everything considered we would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants Greek sun on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

just got back from avra beach on 13 june had great time animation team great run by arta and anya food good also good local beer spirits no half measures some good local taverners meal for 4 people with beer is about £40 plenty of sunbed space need your own towels as not provided have stopped in 5star plus hotels but for what we paid this ranks up there with them went with jet 2 good flight times no one eslse could match the price needed to pay £400 extra to get same times plus all inclusive package great place give it a go sure you will find it ok

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank graham b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Me and my girlfriend got placed at this resort 2 weeks before we was meant to arrive. We stayed between 6th june and 13th June. Obviously we were a bit worried as we had not initially booked here.... BUT worry not ! When we arrived we was welcomed and given a upgrade, in reception we spoke to another couple who had also had their accomodation changed. The room was clean, with a safe and air conditioning. The maids cleaned the rooms and changed the sheets daily. The resort has plenty to offer with a big swimming pool, and the animation do their best to entertain everyone, specially the youngsters. Me and my girlfriend looked forward to lunch times and dinner times as the range of food is great, choices of about 5 different meats every meal with potatoes, chips, salads and a great choice of desserts. The food is top quality and is fresh and cooked onsite. We found there was plenty of sunbeds avilable either by the pool or close to the beach, which is a pebbley beach, but the sea is beautiful and worth going for a dip in. The only downfall to this resort is the entertainment on the night.... some of the acts are a bit cringe worthy but i guess it was to entertain the kids within the crowd. But overall a top place and would go back in a instant. Keep up the great work Avra Beach !

Room Tip: We stayed in a bungerloo with air conditioning. it was spacious and the air conditioning was a god s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Had a great time, good hotel !!!

Location great for exploring the Island by bus or Hire car.

Great Views over to Turkey.

A great choice of food, Traditional Greek and English - All very fresh!

Get up early for the good beds (like all hotels)

Thanks Avra Beach !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank miacattiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
1.5 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#9 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#16 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
3.3 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#10 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows

Property: Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows
Address: Lalysos | Ixia Beach, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#7 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#29 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel bungalow apartments Avra Beach Resort is situated on the beach of Ixia, 6km west of Rhodes town and 7km from Rhodes International Airport. The hotel covers 18.000 square meters of blossom garden and well kept environment. The hotel is closer to the beach than any other hotel in the area (literally on the beach!) and very close to local shops of Ixia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Resort All Inclusive
Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing