We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A touch of spice and friendliness”
Review of Saffron

Saffron
Ranked #11 of 421 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $29
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since our opening on June 2, 2013, our policy has been to serve freshly cooked, authentic Indian food to all our customers according to their individual tastes. That means they can request the full range of seasoning, from mild to very spicy, for all the dishes we serve. For those who tend to avoid Indian food because of its spiciness, they now have the chance to enjoy the delicate flavors of Indian cuisine without worry.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A touch of spice and friendliness”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We saw Saffron high up on Trip Advisor last year and aimed to visit but unfortunately we didn't make it during our holiday, so this year we made sure we visited for an Indian feast!

We were welcomed by a lovely girl who was friendly and when we mentioned missing Saffron last year she highlighted that it had only been open a few weeks at the time. The girl was efficient in taking our order and gave advice where necessary.

Our food was delicious, complimentary poppadoms and chutneys to nibble, Samosas to start, chicken madras for my husband, I chose a vegetable dish and the lady kindly asked the chef to add some chicken for me. (I'm not vegetarian, I just like the Indian dishes with chicken and chunky veg!) The peshwari naan was yummy, with actual sultanas and sliced almonds unlike some places back home which use a bright pink paste! (?)

All in all, a lovely dinner, with great service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SARAH G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    115
    23
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food & Service”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I always look for Indian food when on holiday after eating the same hotel its a must when me and my family go on holiday.
Saffron is a great little friendly family run restaurant,the owners daughter served us and was very pleasant and advised us on portion control!
We were told any food is made from scratch and may take some time, which was absolutely fine by us.
We had samosas and pakoras for starters which were nice.For our main we had a mixture of dishes again all excellent.
The owner then introduced himself which is a nice touch and enjoyed a drink with us after we ordered another bottle of wine, which he kindly offered at the same price as the first bottle as they had ran out of it.
Finally we asked if they had Bailey's, which they didn't ..........however the owner then promptly went out a brought a bottle from a local shop!
A great end to a lovely evening, I am from the midlands and have been to many Indian restaurants in Birmingham this wins hands down.
Thank you Saffron for a lovely evening

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and Great service”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We came a little late, without reservation, they found seats for us very fast. Two of us decided to order the lamb shank, which is made fresh, but because of time, they were all out, the chef could make it for us, if we wanted to wait 30 minutes. We decided to wait for it. GOOD idea ! the lamb was absolutely great !! we also got some starters while we waited which was just as great.
because of the time we had to wait, the first round of drinks was on the house, which was very good service. I can recommend this place to everyone who like good indian food !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mads A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afandou, Greece
Level Contributor
107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A really good use of spices”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Now that the Sunday Buffet has been suspended for the Summer, we now go Sunday evenings for the a la carte menue.
On 3 August 2014, I choose to have lamb Rogan Josh. The waiter asked how spicy I wanted it to be & I replied medium.
It was spot on,how I wanted it.
A chef was outside taking a break as we were leaving so we made a point of telling him how good our meals are @ Saffron.
We were so glad to have phoned first as George the owner & his family were going to be having a family party @ 9 PM & so the restaurant would be closing.
George only made a brief stop @ the restaurant on his way to Faliraki church, but he made a point of coming to our table to say hello.
Do look @ The Saffron page on Facebook, or the web site where you can see photos of the food etc

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, perfect service.”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We love Indian food, so that decided to go Saffron. It was a really good one. We enjoyed our meal. If you are in Rhodes and tired of Greek food, you should have a break and try Saffron.

Helpful?
Thank ulasdegirmenci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing