We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dionysos Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$248
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$248
$229
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Athineon Hotel(Rhodes Town)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$230
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
$184
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$252
$245
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$174
$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$156
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$511
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (849)
Filter reviews
849 results
Traveler rating
371
356
93
17
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
356
93
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouvlakipool arealovely hotelswim up barfantastic poolmattress topperbed and breakfastair conold townpoolside restaurantixia beachbig poolsalt waterbus stopplenty of sunbedsbars and restaurantsenglish channels
Filter
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 849 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My friends and I are in our 'Over 40s Travel club'. We spent 4 nights, bed and breakfast, at the hotel between 24th and 28th May 2012. Every thing was great - the staff, the pool, the service and the food. We had dinner at the hotel on one of our nights and the food and service were superb. We couldn't have expected more. Everyone was so friendly. The weather was wonderful too. During our flight home I realised that I had left cash, my insurance details and EHIC form in my room. I telephoned the hotel as soon as I arrived home and was told that my property had been found - I really didn't think anyone would find it let alone hand it in! The hotel promptly put it in the post and I received it a few days later. I asked the hotel to thank the housemaid who found it and handed it in.
I would stay at the hotel again in a flash and would recommend anyone else to do so. We had no problem with the Euro crisis in Greece. So come on and support Greece in their hour of need and take a holiday there.

Room Tip: Corner suites are big and roomy and have a 'wraparound' balcony'
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroljones1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

stayed here from 4th-11th june 2012.after reading many hotel reviews on trip advisor for places to stay near rhodes we chose the dionysos in ixia,well we are glad we did,4 star yes in greece,3 star in england.firstly rooms,very comfortable and very clean,bed is massive queen size,sheets were clean,plenty of storage space,safe deposit box(payable at receiption),clean bathroom,overall very good size.only down side to room is the tv,it was about 15 yrs old,had buttons missing from the remote and then only 1 english channel,bbc world news.which repeats its self every 15mins.but there are 5 german channels,3 dutch channels ?why they get more i dont know,,also the air con worked and is included in price.food next,excellent choice for breakfast ,continental,,eggs ,hams,,cheese,fresh bread and lurpak butter,yum yum.your usual fry up,bacon grill,mini sausages,fried toms.never got boring ,always something to choose from.next poolside,the pools are salt water pools max height is 5ft all the way round,yep you will never drown in this pool.and its very clean.we stopped b+b which was enough as there are plenty of restaurants nearby to choose from within a 15min walk.night time ? every night some thing different in the hotal,always a show on from exotic dancers,to african dancers,to singing along to the elec piano.but if your not into that get a bus every 15mins into rhodes,cost is 1.60 euro,which is about 1.20p in english each way per person.or 8 euros in a taxi,which i think is over priced,no wonder they afford to run mercedes benzes.next internet,,,oh yes the dreaded internet,you have to pay for it,its a room with 6 computers in and 1 printer,7.5 euros for 1.5hrs.a total rip off it is.its like old english dial up.never works,always crashes,and u wait forever to get connected, i payed but got my money refunded,as no connection.they have wi-fi but dont let any customers use it.your better going round the corner to the restaurants who have free wifi.buy a beer and stop for as long as u want.overall though for the money we paid it was very good.come on dionysos get some new tv`s,more english channels and a decent internet connection and you would be faultless.

Room Tip: we had a room at the front of the hotel on the 3rd floor,with good views of the sea.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave196945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Came to the Dionysos for 4 nights at the end of May with 8 girlfriends (the 'over-40s gang!).
We were taken by surprise that the twin rooms we had asked for were actually 'doubles' but housekeeping made up the couch bed and apart from the room that 3 of the ladies were sharing, we all had a bed each!
Check-in was quick and very courteous, other staff were lovely and happy to chat if you were.
All parts of the hotel were clean and comfortable. Agree pool was cold but a dip was very refreshing after baking in the sun for a hour! Beds were at a premium on some days but staff were true to their word and removed any towels that were set out early morning when folk tried to reserve beds - they were folded and placed on nearby tables.
Had lunch/snack in hotel a couple of days and dinner one evening - food was lovely.
Bus into Rhodes takes about 15 mins and is 1.60 euros. Taxi for 4 is a set fare of 8 euros.
Would recommend the hotel but agree Ixia is a bit barren and not particularly interesting.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corsicacaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Dionysos Hotel. Travelled with my husband, daughter,her husband and their 11 month old baby. Plus points first. Very clean, beautiful gardens, plentiful and varied breakfast, good food in the restaurants and pool bar. The staff removed towels on reserved sun beds... good to see they are not tolerating this as there are enough beds for everyone, Hotel supermarket was very handy and it was only a short taxi ride into Rhodes town.
However, on the negative side Ixia is a dump. There is a very busy main road and a very poor beach, and the tavernas all seem to sell the same food with chips, chips and more chips. We found the hotel staff ok..some friendly but some surly/not very welcoming...a smile would help! I suspect if you drank in the bar every night you would get a better reception. Still on friendliness, there were few Brits staying and the different nationalities didn't seem to interact..we tried smiling and saying hello but got very little response. The hotel also had a lot of rules posted up everywhere ( for example you cannot take pushchairs upstairs,and have to leave them in a luggage room. We found this difficult as we had to disturb our sleeping grandchild to go to our room), however they missed some basic safety measures..there was a trampoline in the kid's playground that was unsupervised so children were allowed to place benches next to the trampoline so they could jump /somersault higher. As my daughter is a solicitor she comes across at least 3-4 cases each year of severe injuries on trampolines so she was shocked at the hotel's and parent's lack of supervision.
All in all we cannot agree with the high rating given by many other contributors.

Room Tip: We were put in a room above the main entrance, so had to put up with the noise of coaches and taxies dropping off.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janjan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Just back from a lovely week in Rhodes and the Dionysos Hotel in Ixia. We arrived late and having only booked 4 weeks before [and checked it out on trip advisor] were thrilled with the hotel. Entrance and reception all lit up and beautiful views all round, wonderful maintained gardens also,quick checkin and staff very helpful. Our room was very large with large queen size bed and large sofa which makes into another double bed for families, large balcony and room very clean as was all areas of the hotel. The pool area was a bit of a pain getting a good spot and lounger as most were already taken after breakfast, even though the hotel stipulates you cannot reserve them, but generally we found two we liked, pool is very cold even with temp at around 24-25c most of the week we were there. Breakfast was a variety of hot, cold, cereals, continental cheese etc so something to please all but by end of the week did get a bit samey. Lunch at the souvlaki hut by the pool was cheap at 2.40 euros each and the main restaurant on other side of the pool did sandwiches, pizza and lite bites for around 5euros each. Drinks were expensive in the hotel but found the little supermarket in the grounds sold their version of Bacardi for 12 euros for litre bottle and coke etc so mostly had drinks on our balcony after dinner. We found a lovely taverna just on the main road called Elysee which was pretty much the first one you came to when you turned left at the main traffic lights, very good prices and service and no hassling you to eat at their restaurant unlike many on that stip of road. Further down, around 15 mins walk from hotel were some more restaurants which we tried, more expensive but good food but you felt obliged to eat in these as usually staff were outside trying to get people in and was a little intimidating at times but overall the people of Rhodes are lovely and friendly. Went into Rhodes town on the local bus for just over a euro each and visited the old and new town. The old town is beautiful and full of history and offers a multitude of things once inside the old walled town, beautiful leather goods, good restaurants and variety of shops to browse around. The only thing I could see which lets the island down is the beaches are not very inviting, the sea was quite choppy and its all shingle and very little sand but apart from that little gripe loved our stay in Rhodes and would highly recommend the Dionysos hotel to anyone, its worthy of its 4 star rating and we would re-visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingduberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews