We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic holiday in a culture rich island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smartline Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #21 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic holiday in a culture rich island”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

My daughter and me has had an wonderful trip! Highly recommend! Everything felt very good! We are extremely happy and are already planning to go back next year. If you want a great vacation so choose cosmopolitan!
We are very disappointed that we got another info from the wing, travelagancy in Swden, about what the weather may be there. But thanks to the hotel which was nice and the location was very close to Rhodes city, we could forget about this.
We stayed in the main hotel and were very happy with the room though the room is in need of renovation but it was clean and well cleaned (2veckor).

Good service. The staff did everything they could to make gestures feel cozy and comfortable, all the managers were available around the day and observed everything to be good and pleasant, especially the service manager Michalis, he respond both staff and gestures with a lovely and calm attitude but still very professional and had an eye on everything that happened in the hotel to provide the best service and a lovely and pleasant surroundings, he observed everything in order to improve service in the future. He was open to all 'proposal and took gestures opinion seriously, thanks Michalis and all staff!!
The views surrounded the hotel are magnificent, if you want a holiday for a sea view, this place is beyond perfect. We arrived at 11.00 am, and everything was beautiful. When we woke up, the view from our hotel room was amazing! We had a hotel room in the main building on the 7th floor, the room was in need of refurbishment but this was not a problem for us as the view was amazing and the room was a perfect size. We could walk to and from the hotel room without a problem.

The food is nice, but it could be much better! One can have lunch at the snack bar that serves various foods, such as pasta always with two different sauces as meat sauce and another, hotdogs and good salad, fresh olives, tzatziki and watermelon. The snack bar also had ice cream that had a variety of flavors with chocolate and vanilla, which is my doughters favorite!
There was always a large selection of salads and fresh fruit, bread was always available which was delicious with the soup!
The pools were always clean and the bar staff regularly come around to collect glass. We found all the staff were very helpful and friendly.
  The entertainment team always did their best to cater entertainment for all the day and night, with dancing and aerobics classes, water zumba, and waterpoolo held every day (we participated in some of these), and the entertainment went on until 23:00! Thank you!
Drinks were served continuously through the day with a cocktail menu, 9 cocktails which were all delicious! But I loved Ouzo most of all ... I miss it most av everything ;-)

  sometimes it was a long queue couse fetch drinks and It was not real comfortable!! but it is high season nothing to complain...

Housekeeping was good when it was done, but I am sensitive person and want my leach and towels changed every day, not every other
To be 3and half star was really good hotel, with some small changes can be more than 3.5 star.

Here we can think of to go again :-)
Thank you for everything....

Parisa and Sanna :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, General Manager at Smartline Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience in Cosmopolitan Hotel. It was an absolute pleasure to host you and we hope that your very nice comments regarding our facilities will make you visit us again in the near future. We would be honord to welcome you again.

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    300
    145
    19
    10
See reviews for
272
339
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Our room was large and had an amazing view which was helped by the fact we were on the top floor, everyday we could watch the sunset over turkey which was just over the sea. The staff were nice and helpful and the all inclusive buffet was very high quality with a good range of options. The pools were very nice and we could always get a couple of sunbeds at any time of day. The internet (Wi-Fi) was fairly expensive (around €25 a week) if you wanted it anywhere in the hotel but was free if you used it in the lobby but the connection was very touch and go especially if the lobby has a lot of people in. I can't comment on how the internet is around the hotel as I didn't buy it. The beach is across the road, which is quite busy, and is quite rocky so going in without footwear can be painful. The taxi's (there is a taxi rank just outside the hotel) are very good and the prices are displayed on sign posts so you don't get ripped off. There are enough attractions to keep you busy for a week but it is quite a small island. Overall a very good holiday and I recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, General Manager at Smartline Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear guest,

It was very kind of you writing a review about your holidays at Cosmopolitan Hotel. I was so pleased that you enjoyed your experience in our hotel and we all be very happy to welcome you again for another wonderful stay.

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We arrived at the hotel at around 3pm in the afternoon, check in was quick and easy but had to find our own way to the room with very little direction given by the receptionist. We did however find the room quite easily by using the lift, we were on the fifth floor with a beautiful sea view.

The room was nice, free air conditioning, basic tea and coffee making facilities but with two single beds pushed together, with booking a double room we were expecting a double bed, but it wasn't a huge problem. The maid was very good, clean towels every day and the room was always cleaned thoroughly. We were disappointed that we didn't have an iron, we rang reception to ask if we could have one as a few of our outfits were creased from being in the suitcase. We were told that this was not possible unless we paid extra to have our clothes sent out of the hotel to be ironed. I don't go on holiday to iron but sometimes it is handy to quickly run over your dress to look a little nicer. A few creased outfits we just had to put up with, again, not a massive issue though.

Wifi in reception is free but not the best connection, anywhere else to use wifi is €1 an hour which is cheap compared to other hotels we have stayed in, but again, the connection isn't brilliant.

Cleanliness of the hotel as a whole was very good, fresh water swimming pool (was very cold but the strong breeze made the heat bearable enough to lie in). If you want a sun bed in a decent spot, get up early! Maybe we just went on a busy week but we did struggle with sunbeds and spent most days at the beach because of this. The beach is just across the road, 30 seconds walk away. The sea is very rough with big waves which myself and my partner found quite fun to (attempt!) to swim in. Please note though that it's a pebble beach which is painful on bare feet, make sure you have some sort of sandals or flip flops you can wear into the sea. There is also a charge of €4 per person for the day.

Staff at the hotel were not at all friendly, we had very little contact with the animation team, to us they seemed more interested in any other nationality than English. The pool bar staff always seemed tired and like they simply couldn't be bothered. "Yes?" Was all that was said by most staff, when they were asking what you would like to drink. The all inclusive closes at 11pm, at which point you must pay for your drinks after this time. The all inclusive cocktails weren't very nice, and each person was only allowed to order two drinks at a time. My partner drank the local beer, which two drinks in the small glasses didn't even equal one pint so he was constantly up and down the to bar. As a couple in our early 20's we found 11 o clock very early, the hotel suddenly went very quiet because everybody disappeared to bed! The main bar was also very busy with only two members of staff at a time with long queues, maybe we just spent our time there on a busy week. Because we found the animation team quite rude we spent a lot of nights down at the pool bar and had a few games of pool, but at €2 a game it can get quite expensive!!

The food was excellent, plenty to choose from and always something available. Breakfast 7.00-10.00, continental breakfast 10.00-10.30, lunch 12.30-2.30 (I think) with the snack bar at the pool open 12.00-4.00 serving pizza, chips, burgers, fruit and cakes etc all on a self service basis. Also an ice cream stand which is self service which is delicious and open all day. Evening meal is 6.30-9.30. We found the food very good for all inclusive with something different every night, three sections to choose from, Chinese, Italian and Greek with a huge salad bar also. My partner particularly enjoyed the desserts at all meal times, the cakes were delicious. Everybody is given a free visit to the Elie's restaurant at the pool, we didn't find this as good as the usual buffet, but as it's free you may as well try it, it was okay. The barbecue which is held weekly is €13 per person, we didn't actually go so can't personally comment but we didn't hear great reviews about it.

The location is quite central, a 15 minute walk into the main resort of Ixia with bars, restaurants and shops and a bit further into Rhodes town. Buses are available into Rhodes town at around €2 each or a taxi is €8. 'Bar street' as they call it is extremely lively, the taxi driver actually describing it as 'the new Faliraki'. Lots of bars and clubs (including a strip club!) which we were not expecting!! The old town however is beautiful, we ate at a gorgeous restaurant with reasonable prices of €9 each for a delicious traditional Greek dish.

Check out was very quick, literally saying our hotel room and the receptionist just said "okay thank you, good bye". We weren't even asked if we'd had a nice stay. Again, the staff weren't the friendliest we've come across in what is rated a 4/5 star hotel.

All in all we had a relaxing stay, but mainly kept ourselves to ourselves as there weren't many other English people there despite the hotel being full. The English we did meet we're lovely, special hello to Matt, Sarah, Tabitha, Yan, Claire and Nevaeh. (Sorry we didn't get to say goodbye, we fell asleep down at the beach for a couple of hours!!) hope you had a nice journey home. 3 and a half stars from us, but with recent reviews we had higher expectations.

Lois and Cristian

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lois1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, General Manager at Smartline Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this detailed letter you have posted on Tripadvisor.
There are many comments which are really useful and they will help us very much to provide you a better service to each and everyone of you.
Thank you for selecting our hotel in Rhodes and we will sure take very much in mind everything that we will makes us even a better team for our quests.

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have just landed home after visiting this hotel. Was greeted with welcoming arms from reception. Really helpful at all times throughout our stay. We had a bungalow between 3 adults and one child. Two big beds. (Not the softest mattress tbh) free air conditioning and fridge. We had to pay £2.50 a day for the safe key which is cheap enough for security. The wi-fi is not good in the rooms so not worth purchasing.. The reception is a good place for free wi-fi. The pools are ideal for families as their is a great children's pool. The hotel has a nice pool bar where there is always something to munch on till 4. All inclusive could be longer as 11 o'clock is too early to be putting people to bed. Not much after 11 going on but before their is always a good entertainment with mini disco for kids and some really funny sketches led by the animation team. Big shout out to my man Desmond!!!! The darts champ lol. My little girl who is 4 loved him as he is a funny kind nice genuine guy. Mario is very funny with his acts. Mama Mia!! All the girls are very good with kids and are also funny.
The manager michalis is one of the nicest men I have ever met. Loves everyone very helpful and always smiles!! The food at Elies which you are aloud once for free is outstanding. Excellent quality food all day long to be honest. Great weather. Sunny with a good breeze so your not too hot when your tanning. Overall my stay was very pleasing and relaxing just what you need on holiday. Thanks a lot guys for everything.
YAN. ( the guy from Cyprus lol)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yinyan2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, General Manager at Smartline Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience at Cosmopolitan Hotel. It is always a great relief to hear so nice words about our service which gives us the motive to become even better day by day!!

Thank you once more and we do hope that will soon have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have just spent a week at this hotel in Ixia and was pleasantly surprised as we had paid a budget price for all inclusive. The hotel is exceptionally clean with friendly staff and an excellent entertainment team, who all work extremely hard. We had a great room on the top floor with spectacular views of the coast line and pool. The food was varied and catered for everybody's different tastes. The only downside was the all inclusive spirits which were poor quality, wine and beer were ok. Sunbeds can be a problem due to the volume of guest, but there were plenty. There is always a breeze on this coastline, which was wonderful in the heat! Special mention must go to Desmond in the entertainments team and Mika our chambermaid. Would definitely return

Room Tip: Top floor at the front with own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, General Manager at Smartline Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this detailed letter you have posted on Tripadvisor.
We were delighted to learn that your accommodation in our hotel was such a success, and that our team were able to create such a memorable experience.
Feel always welcome and we would be honored to see you again.

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just returned from a very comfortable stay at this Hotel. Michalis and all the staff are friendly, helpful and the entertainment team good fun. The room which had a wonderful sea view was spotless and cleaned daily. Food offered a wide choice and was very good quality. The location is ideal and easy for travelling to Rhodes town. The buses get busy but there is always the taxi rank across the road which is reasonably priced. The beach is close and has a bit of shingle at the waters edge but if you have sensitive feet you can buy water shoes at the supermarket, again reasonably priced. All in all a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toni j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, General Manager at Smartline Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent comments from your recent stay with us.
Each and everyone of our collegues is thanking you for your kind words about the provided service.
We are hoping to welcome you again at Cosmopolitan Hotel and we once more thank you for the time that you spend to share your feedback on this website.

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Excellent hotel, very good food, drinks by the pool. The hotel has a good location - 3 km to the old town of Rhodes, great as a base, the hotel can rent a car. Beach average, but beautiful views of Turkey. Team nice, helpful front desk and very, very nice in restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kamila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, General Manager at Smartline Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear guest,

It was very kind of you writing a review about your holidays in Cosmopolitan Hotel of Rhodes.
Thank you for showing your pleasure in every kind of service we provided you in our hotel.

We do hope that we will soon have the opportunity to welcome you back for another wonderful stay

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#16 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#29 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#7 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smartline Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smartline Cosmopolitan Hotel

Property: Smartline Cosmopolitan Hotel
Address: Rhodes Town 851 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#14 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#20 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Smartline Cosmopolitan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All Inclusive hotel smartline Cosmopolitan is ideally located on Rhodes' west coast. on a hillside between Ixia and Rhodes town.. A stunning view of Trianda Bay is guaranteed. The hotel comprises a total of nine buildings and has a nice pool area with two pools and a large kids' pool. The hotel's animation team arranges various activities throughout the day, including water aerobics, boccia and evening entertainment several nights a week. The easiest way to get to Rhodes town's narrow alleys is by taxi or bus both stations are in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Smartline Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Cosmopolitan Ixia
Mareblue Cosmopolitan Hotel Ixia
Cosmopolitan Hotel Rhodes
Smartline Cosmopolitan Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing