We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“multi level hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #12 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“multi level hotel”
Reviewed September 15, 2010

this hotel is not a 5 stars hotel there are different rooms ,some of which sould be rated probably 2-3 star rooms and others which could be called 4 stars rooms .you must know that the lousey rooms do not apear on the web site at all!!!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank veterez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    473
    182
    64
    29
See reviews for
397
646
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

After reading previous reviews I was slightly worried about this hotel, however, we found the hotel to completely exceed our expectations! We didnt request a sea view room however, we overlooked the pool and had more than an ample seaview at no extra cost!

Our room was modern and very spacious, especially the balcony which was massive! The hotel grounds and room were very clean with maid service provided everyday, however, if you do not use your do not disturb sign they may come in to clean at 9am!

The pools are all clean with plenty of sunbeds to use free of charge. The swim up bar is a nice novelty however, as with the rooftop bar, drink prices are quite steep but you are paying for the experience so it is worth visiting both at least once during your stay.

All the other hotel amenities we found to be really high quality, however, the gym does consist of just a few exercise machines which look twenty years old but we didnt want to use this anyway!

The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring Rhodes with a bus stop just outside the hotel. Ixia itself is a typical holiday resort with minimarkets and bars. There are plenty of bars which open late however, I wouldnt reccommend this resort for a party holiday.

We were halfboard and were more than happy with the choice of food, which was centrered around a different theme each night with salads and desserts available every night. Only negative I could find was the desserts were quite samey each night, mostly cream cakes or gateaus but not a huge deal!

Overall, I would thoroughly reccomend this hotel to anybody looking for a quality, luxury hotel base to explore Rhodes which would suit most people of most ages.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allie123Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Have just returned from a wonderful weeks' holiday at the Olympic Palace Hotel, Ixia with my two teenage sons and a freind and her two teenagers (booked through Thomas Cook).
We had a 'Superior' room and paid extra for a sea view and were not disappointed!! Wow! I would recommend anyone visiting to do the same as the view and balconies on the other side are not as good. The room was beautiful and kept immaculately clean with daily housekeeping service and fresh towels daily.
The hotel has been stunningly refurbished and the pools beautifully maintained. Plenty of sunloungers and prices in the restaurants and hotel shop very competative.
The staff and facilities were phenomenal and I would like to give a mention to George in the main restaurant who ensured we didn't want for anything and made mealtimes not only entertaining but a pleasure. The boys have asked me to put that he was 'awesome' - quite an accolade!!
As for the food (we were on half board basis) .... EXCEPTIONAL quality and choice.
So overall - a fabulous hotel and superb value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debspolarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

This was our second trip to the Olympic Palace Hotel and usually don't go back to places, but it was the right choice. The staff were great and animation team fun and friendly, food was good and its worth paying extra for a sea view. Found several people there who had been there on our previous trip which just goes to show its worth a return trip. Visit waterpark in Falaraki its a great day out. All in all we had a very happy, fun and relaxing holiday and am sure its not our last trip there!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EscapeSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

great hotel sea veiw rooms are worth the extra cost please dont complain if you get to the hotel and see what other people have paid for in advance it is not nice for the staff who are only doing there jobs ...........

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We went to Rhodes to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary and stayed in Olympic Palace, and it was a great experience!

Yes, after we booked our holiday and read some negative reviews on the hotel, we started getting worried, but in the end we decided to accept what it would offer to us. On arrival, we were pleasantly surprised and realised we needed not to worry.

The hotel has been recently refurbished (the only non-refurbished part is some self-catering rooms for families). The room was decorated in a nice modern taste, the furniture was new, the beds were firm and comfortable, and the bathroom was very clean. No complaints. Our tip: the hotel building is fan-shaped, its outer side facing the sea. So, a sea-view room not only commands a spectacular view of azure sea and Turkey, it is much bigger than a mountain-view room. Make sure you book a sea-view room, or if, like us, you didn't, we would strongly recommend arranging for a room-upgrade on arrival. It costs 20 euro per night, but it is worth every penny. They don’t have a private beach, and the beach in front of the hotel is good but pebbly. If you fancy a sandy beach, you have to go to the east coast of Rhodes.

We went for half-board, and the meal they serve was very good, if not excellent. For dinner, they offered varieties of main meal and salad. Unfortunately, the choices of vegetarian food were very limited, and I heard some vegetarians complaining to the staff. Breakfast was fine and not as bad as some reviewers claim: after all, you would not expect much variation in breakfast, would you? One thing they could improve is they did not serve any soft drink for dinner and we had to order mineral water (2.80 euro) every day. As mineral water was inexpensive to buy elsewhere (50 cents for 1.5 litre bottle at the hotel shop), it was a bit steep.

The hotel is also very convenient to go everywhere. You can catch a bus to Rhodes Town at the bus stop in front of the hotel gate; it costs 2.10 euro one way, and the service is frequent, every 10-15 mins. Or, you can catch a taxi to the town, the official taxi rate being 8 euro to the Rhodes Town, so worth considering if there are three of you. The Old Town is a majestic World Heritage, and you cannot miss it.

From Rhodes Town, you can go to Lindos, a beautiful old town, by bus (4.70 euro, every 30-60 mins), or you can go for a cruise trip from Rhodes Harbour. Another tip: Avoid Rhodian Sea Cruises like plague. We booked a cruise to Lindos and a swim at Stegna two days before, and it was cheap (20 euro per person), but on the day, we were suddenly told they changed the itinerary and would visit Lindos only. They said, “you have no choice!” After some fierce protest from us, they reluctantly gave us a refund, in a very repulsive manner, without apologising. And their boat was old, with plastic chairs like those you find in an NHS hospital waiting room (Mind you, it takes more than two hours one way to Lindos). Our recommendation is Sofia: a family-run business, the boat was very new, with comfortable seats, the bathroom was sparklingly clean, and Sofia, the proprietor, was educated in Australia and her English did not give us a headache! She took every care of the passengers. It was 25 euro per person, 5 euro more, but again, it was worthwhile.

Our return flight was 3am, and we were lucky to be able to arrange for late check-out until 1am (70Euro), so we could have a very good rest before our flight, and it was splendid. Actually, because we arrived very late on the first day and missed the dinner, we were offered a free dinner on the last day, thanks to the assistant manager’s discretion. So, late check-out worked out to be not that expensive.

On the whole, we had a wonderful time in Rhodes, and were very happy with Olympic Palace. We hope everyone will also have a good time there!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken_yLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Very enjoyable holiday. Staff courteous and most obliging. Hotel clean with great facilities but probably between 3-4 star. Good location near bars and restaurants. Hotel food very nice with plenty of selection at breakfast and dinner. No rush for sunbeds at pool because always some available.Entertainment a bit ropey but we weren't there for that! Drinks in resort very reasonable-try the Blue Palm, a little way out of the rest of the resort but only a 5-10 minute walk. Very good service and exceptionally good prices-2.50 euros for glass of wine and large beer!! Caught service bus to Lindos from Rhodes town for 10 euros each way-much cheaper than organised trip. We'd return to the Olympic Palace without hesitation!! Many thanks to them all.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianmorgan1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
1.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#19 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 127 in Rhodes Town
569 reviews
2.2 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover refined elegance and genuine hospitality. Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, with its unique architectural structure most recently renovated in 2008-12, welcoming and gracious with contemporary and chic interior design, offer's attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility. Tastefully designed for comfort, 65% of our guest rooms are sea view with amazingly large verandas, ideal spots to take advantage of the amazing first rays of the sunlight or indulge in the enticing sunsets dipping in the Aegean Sea. Relax in our attractive and spacious gardens, or simply 'chill out' by the swimming pool, and enjoy a warm welcome from our genuinely friendly and hospitable staff. Alternatively you can take a stroll down to the beach and enjoy a swim in the crystal clear blue waters of the Aegean Sea and capture the breathtaking scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Ixia
Hotel Olympic Palace
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing