We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you Olympic Palace; we had a splendid time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #12 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Thank you Olympic Palace; we had a splendid time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

We went to Rhodes to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary and stayed in Olympic Palace, and it was a great experience!

Yes, after we booked our holiday and read some negative reviews on the hotel, we started getting worried, but in the end we decided to accept what it would offer to us. On arrival, we were pleasantly surprised and realised we needed not to worry.

The hotel has been recently refurbished (the only non-refurbished part is some self-catering rooms for families). The room was decorated in a nice modern taste, the furniture was new, the beds were firm and comfortable, and the bathroom was very clean. No complaints. Our tip: the hotel building is fan-shaped, its outer side facing the sea. So, a sea-view room not only commands a spectacular view of azure sea and Turkey, it is much bigger than a mountain-view room. Make sure you book a sea-view room, or if, like us, you didn't, we would strongly recommend arranging for a room-upgrade on arrival. It costs 20 euro per night, but it is worth every penny. They don’t have a private beach, and the beach in front of the hotel is good but pebbly. If you fancy a sandy beach, you have to go to the east coast of Rhodes.

We went for half-board, and the meal they serve was very good, if not excellent. For dinner, they offered varieties of main meal and salad. Unfortunately, the choices of vegetarian food were very limited, and I heard some vegetarians complaining to the staff. Breakfast was fine and not as bad as some reviewers claim: after all, you would not expect much variation in breakfast, would you? One thing they could improve is they did not serve any soft drink for dinner and we had to order mineral water (2.80 euro) every day. As mineral water was inexpensive to buy elsewhere (50 cents for 1.5 litre bottle at the hotel shop), it was a bit steep.

The hotel is also very convenient to go everywhere. You can catch a bus to Rhodes Town at the bus stop in front of the hotel gate; it costs 2.10 euro one way, and the service is frequent, every 10-15 mins. Or, you can catch a taxi to the town, the official taxi rate being 8 euro to the Rhodes Town, so worth considering if there are three of you. The Old Town is a majestic World Heritage, and you cannot miss it.

From Rhodes Town, you can go to Lindos, a beautiful old town, by bus (4.70 euro, every 30-60 mins), or you can go for a cruise trip from Rhodes Harbour. Another tip: Avoid Rhodian Sea Cruises like plague. We booked a cruise to Lindos and a swim at Stegna two days before, and it was cheap (20 euro per person), but on the day, we were suddenly told they changed the itinerary and would visit Lindos only. They said, “you have no choice!” After some fierce protest from us, they reluctantly gave us a refund, in a very repulsive manner, without apologising. And their boat was old, with plastic chairs like those you find in an NHS hospital waiting room (Mind you, it takes more than two hours one way to Lindos). Our recommendation is Sofia: a family-run business, the boat was very new, with comfortable seats, the bathroom was sparklingly clean, and Sofia, the proprietor, was educated in Australia and her English did not give us a headache! She took every care of the passengers. It was 25 euro per person, 5 euro more, but again, it was worthwhile.

Our return flight was 3am, and we were lucky to be able to arrange for late check-out until 1am (70Euro), so we could have a very good rest before our flight, and it was splendid. Actually, because we arrived very late on the first day and missed the dinner, we were offered a free dinner on the last day, thanks to the assistant manager’s discretion. So, late check-out worked out to be not that expensive.

On the whole, we had a wonderful time in Rhodes, and were very happy with Olympic Palace. We hope everyone will also have a good time there!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken_yLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    461
    180
    63
    29
See reviews for
376
608
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

Very enjoyable holiday. Staff courteous and most obliging. Hotel clean with great facilities but probably between 3-4 star. Good location near bars and restaurants. Hotel food very nice with plenty of selection at breakfast and dinner. No rush for sunbeds at pool because always some available.Entertainment a bit ropey but we weren't there for that! Drinks in resort very reasonable-try the Blue Palm, a little way out of the rest of the resort but only a 5-10 minute walk. Very good service and exceptionally good prices-2.50 euros for glass of wine and large beer!! Caught service bus to Lindos from Rhodes town for 10 euros each way-much cheaper than organised trip. We'd return to the Olympic Palace without hesitation!! Many thanks to them all.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianmorgan1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

after reading many reports on this hotel i was very sceptical on my arrival, i need not have worried, the staff here are wonderful from the desk clerk to the waiting staff nothing is too much trouble for any one. The room we had was lovely with the most comfortable bed i have ever had in greece, if i could have got it in my suitcase i would have it here now. The only down side i would say was hte mountain veiw and small balcony, but for the amount of times spent in the room i could live with it, the sheets and towels were changed every day and the room was spotless. Being a vegetarian(that's allergic to garlic) i normally live on salad and fruit whilst away but once they found out my meal was prepeared for me every evening.It is the usual type of food you find in any buffet serving hotel. The beach across the road is very pebbley, I would suggest taking some form of shoe with you to walk into the sea as it does hurt. Dara the Irish girl looks after your beds with her 2 boys in tow and is a lovely person, there is a welcoming breeze at the beach every day and this makes the heat bareable. The luna bar run by Steve, his wife Natasha, Brother NIck, with mum and dad cooking is a great palce to drink, they are so friendly and work very hard, try the frozen cocktails, berry cush, mai tai, long island tea to name but a few. All in all we had a great relaxing holiday just what we needed, in a comfortable hotel with lovely staff and a drink with the staff at luna. The only down side i would say was the Isrealis, they are very ignorant and can look at you as if you have not 2 but 3 heads, they do not care if you have been waiting for the lift , if it comes they just barged through, same at meal times too, they do need manners, but hey ho every where has a problem of 1 thing or another

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenie2694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

I have just returned from a two week holiday at The Olympic Palace Hotel in Ixia, Rhodes with my wife and two children (3/5); my fourth visit to Ixia and my first visit to this particular hotel.
The hotel is excellent and really made our holiday the best visit to this resort over a seven year period. We had a family room, which was very spacious, modern and very clean. The room had essentially two double beds (Or a large sofa bed and two singles put together to be more precise), complementary air conditioning, modern/clean bathroom, television, safe(18 Euro for one week) and balcony overlooking the mountain at the rear of the hotel. Our room was serviced thoroughly each day, with beds made, sheets and towels changed as appropriate. Each day we returned to a very clean and tidy room, for which we tipped the maids at the end of the holiday. On one particular morning, my youngest had wet the bed, but the maids did a complete change and sorted this out for us with no hassle at all.
The hotel has a restaurant, for which we had half board; breakfast and evening meal. The restaurant is very large servicing 850 guests each morning and evening during our stay. The food is often buffet style with alternate evenings of buffet, plus gourmet menu option. There is a wide range of food available of excellent quality, with some evenings following a particular theme; such as Greek, Italian, etc. You will not want for anything in the restaurant, especially if you like a selection of cakes and puddings in the evening! Be aware that in peak season the restaurant gets very busy between 1945 and 2100 so do attempt to eat at the beginning or end of service to avoid queues at the restaurant entrance and slow table service. Similarly, the hotel offers breakfast from 07:00 to 10:00 but most people turn up at 09:45 all at once. Be sensible and try to turn up to eat at a reasonable time as the hotel does not run a schedule by room or by floor seating service, although it is of course a holiday too. This hotel works hard to make every guest happy, but there is not much they can do if all 850 guests turn up for breakfast 10 minutes before service finishes.
The facilities at the hotel are excellent; offering 2 outdoor pools, a children’s paddling pool and an indoor pool. One of the pools has a swim up bar, which we enjoyed refreshing beers in the afternoon whilst are feet were still in the water and our children swimming around our feet in the wide shallow step that surrounds the pool bar area. Other facilities include a 5-A-Side football pitch, tennis court, sand volleyball court, table tennis tables, kids club, spa, games room and crazy golf.
There are excellent entertainments throughout the day around the pool area offering the following timetable:
• 10:30 Poolside Stretching
• 11:00 Volleyball Tournament
• 11:30 Water Gym
• 12:00 Poolside Darts Competition
• Various Table Tennis Tournaments
• 15:00 WaterPolo
• 16:00 VolleyBall Tournament
Whilst my wife enjoyed the stretching classes and water gym, which are both excellent activities, I enjoyed a variety of water polo, volleyball, table tennis and darts contests. These entertainments are great fun to either take part in or watch, where you and your children will make friends instantly.
We made good friends with people at the hotel through other couples or large groups via the entertainments. If you’re not looking for an active holiday and want to keep yourself to yourself, the pool area is large enough to allow you to sunbath and relax in relative peace and quiet. The indoor pool offers a quiet retreat if sun is not your thing. The pool area also offers a café at lunch time, with the opportunity to sacrifice your evening meal for vouchers at the café or a packed lunch when you choose to eat out.
The evening entertainment varies from shows to karaoke and bingo, which you may wish to attend, which vary from the poolside entertainments area to the roof bar and lobby bar.
The people at the hotel are very nice and friendly and will do all they can to ensure you have a wonderful stay. I can’t fault this hotel and neither could the people who we shared our holiday with!
We have returned to Ixia on several occasions for a number of reasons; Ixia offers a smattering of excellent restaurants and a couple of nice bars, with no noisy night clubs. It’s a quiet resort opposite a pebble and windy beach, excellent for windsurfing which I have done each year. Ixia is 15-20 minutes from the airport offering a short transfer and is only 10 minutes via taxi to the wonderful Rhodes town and harbour areas. If you’re looking for a base away from the hustle and bustle within easy reach of the main town and airport, this is the place for you. BUT, the main road is very busy at certain times of the day so please be careful when crossing to the beach, which faces the wonderful bay overlooking the Turkish coastline.
If you’re a windsurfer, Dinos at www.windsurfersworld.gr will welcome you to this awesome windsurf location. All new JP boards, North sails at this wave/jump and bump location offering cross onshore wind each day usually bft 4-6 each afternoon in the summer, located directly opposite the hotel.
In summary, if you want a very very quiet spa like hotel with no atmosphere then visit the Amaethus next door, however, if you’re looking for a wonderful, friendly hotel to keep you and your kids of any age rested, fed and entertained by awesome staff with great facilities, then visit the Olympic Palace Hotel.
One more tip, there are no mosquitoes at this hotel! My wife always gets eaten alive, which puts a dampener on her holiday, but zero bites this time. The hotel is cleaned thoroughly and the trees and surrounding mountains are sprayed at 4am each morning relieving you of this worry.
Ixia 10/10. Olympic Palace 11/10.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xenon1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

My partner and I have just arrived back from the Olympic Palace and after reading the reviews before going over we were both unsure with what to expect. Given that people had either something really good to say or really bad there was no in between. We went very open minded and prepared for the worst but this wasn't needed at all! From start to finish, the staff at the hotel were absolutely fantastic. Whether serving you-or simply staying for a chat they were always friendly, polite and most welcoming-they made us feel so at ease. The hotel looks lovely inside, and the pools were always clean, our room was modern, and clean. We had fresh towels and sheets everyday and the staff really go out of their way to make you feel welcomed. It was partners birthday the day after we arrived, and even with no mention of this to any of the staff we found a bottle of wine and a "happy birthday" card from the Olympic Palace-a very thoughtful gesture!
We were especially impressed with Seva the assistant manager, as were many others, she always went out of her way to make sure you were happy and always greeted us with a smile. The waiters and bar tenders were great too, Irene-always had something to say that would make us laugh a very cheerful and honest lady. Even Kyriacos and Seva who served us on numerous occasions whether at 7am for breakfast or 9pm for dinner they were always smiling and happy people. Absolutely everything ran smoothly throughout our whole stay, and although we were a party of 2 the families around the hotel did not affect us at all. It was a very chilled out and relaxed atmosphere in the whole hotel. Even the animation staff were a treat-entertaining children or adults they did their very best and it was noted.
I can not think of any complaints with this hotel, staff or location everything made our stay that much nicer! There was a great variety of food so no complaints there at all!

I really could go on and on about our fabulous holiday but i will stop as i think i have made my point now.

A HUGE THANK YOU TO ALL THE STAFF AT THE OLYMPIC PALACE-WE WILL BE BACK!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLuuvely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

The Hotel rooms are a BIG disapointment...roughly half are renovated in a very nice way (see the hotel web site pictuers) while the rest are from the 70's ( this is of course not shown on the web site)....old furniture with Green carpets, a 14" TV and the most uncomfortable bed ever.
We are a family of 5 and the first night we recieved a "Family room" with 5 seperate beds....only on the second night did we get a double bed for me and the wife....seems all 'Family rooms" are from the 70's and not renovated.
The facilities and location is not bad...but the rooms are a shocker if you end up with the old ones.

Insure you get the new ones , or as they are known as the "Superior" types by the Management.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slug_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

We checked into the Olympic after checking out of a truly awful place (Alkmini Hotel, Tholos), and were delighted.

We were offered an upgrade to a junior suite with a sea view (and great view it was). The rooms were lovely and clean, spacious and well-appointed. We had two bathrooms, both large and very clean.

The facilities at the hotel were very nice: two large pools, plenty of activities (water polo; volley ball; tennis; table tennis etc), and a good children's club. It was busy with plenty of other guests vying for space, but it was never over-crowded.

Breakfast was ok - nothing special, and, as with all buffets at large hotels, a bit of a bun fight.

The staff were nice, polite and helpful.

It's a nice hotel, in a pretty good location (just opposite the nice beach, a few miles from Rodos Town - served by a good bus route). It's not really 5 star, though. I would go back, if I were to return to Rhodes.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
1.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#11 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 32 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#3 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#9 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover refined elegance and genuine hospitality. Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, with its unique architectural structure most recently renovated in 2008-12, welcoming and gracious with contemporary and chic interior design, offer's attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility. Tastefully designed for comfort, 65% of our guest rooms are sea view with amazingly large verandas, ideal spots to take advantage of the amazing first rays of the sunlight or indulge in the enticing sunsets dipping in the Aegean Sea. Relax in our attractive and spacious gardens, or simply 'chill out' by the swimming pool, and enjoy a warm welcome from our genuinely friendly and hospitable staff. Alternatively you can take a stroll down to the beach and enjoy a swim in the crystal clear blue waters of the Aegean Sea and capture the breathtaking scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Ixia
Hotel Olympic Palace
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing