We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Don't Listen to the Mood Hoovers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #12 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - Don't Listen to the Mood Hoovers”
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I have just returned from a two week holiday at The Olympic Palace Hotel in Ixia, Rhodes with my wife and two children (3/5); my fourth visit to Ixia and my first visit to this particular hotel.
The hotel is excellent and really made our holiday the best visit to this resort over a seven year period. We had a family room, which was very spacious, modern and very clean. The room had essentially two double beds (Or a large sofa bed and two singles put together to be more precise), complementary air conditioning, modern/clean bathroom, television, safe(18 Euro for one week) and balcony overlooking the mountain at the rear of the hotel. Our room was serviced thoroughly each day, with beds made, sheets and towels changed as appropriate. Each day we returned to a very clean and tidy room, for which we tipped the maids at the end of the holiday. On one particular morning, my youngest had wet the bed, but the maids did a complete change and sorted this out for us with no hassle at all.
The hotel has a restaurant, for which we had half board; breakfast and evening meal. The restaurant is very large servicing 850 guests each morning and evening during our stay. The food is often buffet style with alternate evenings of buffet, plus gourmet menu option. There is a wide range of food available of excellent quality, with some evenings following a particular theme; such as Greek, Italian, etc. You will not want for anything in the restaurant, especially if you like a selection of cakes and puddings in the evening! Be aware that in peak season the restaurant gets very busy between 1945 and 2100 so do attempt to eat at the beginning or end of service to avoid queues at the restaurant entrance and slow table service. Similarly, the hotel offers breakfast from 07:00 to 10:00 but most people turn up at 09:45 all at once. Be sensible and try to turn up to eat at a reasonable time as the hotel does not run a schedule by room or by floor seating service, although it is of course a holiday too. This hotel works hard to make every guest happy, but there is not much they can do if all 850 guests turn up for breakfast 10 minutes before service finishes.
The facilities at the hotel are excellent; offering 2 outdoor pools, a children’s paddling pool and an indoor pool. One of the pools has a swim up bar, which we enjoyed refreshing beers in the afternoon whilst are feet were still in the water and our children swimming around our feet in the wide shallow step that surrounds the pool bar area. Other facilities include a 5-A-Side football pitch, tennis court, sand volleyball court, table tennis tables, kids club, spa, games room and crazy golf.
There are excellent entertainments throughout the day around the pool area offering the following timetable:
• 10:30 Poolside Stretching
• 11:00 Volleyball Tournament
• 11:30 Water Gym
• 12:00 Poolside Darts Competition
• Various Table Tennis Tournaments
• 15:00 WaterPolo
• 16:00 VolleyBall Tournament
Whilst my wife enjoyed the stretching classes and water gym, which are both excellent activities, I enjoyed a variety of water polo, volleyball, table tennis and darts contests. These entertainments are great fun to either take part in or watch, where you and your children will make friends instantly.
We made good friends with people at the hotel through other couples or large groups via the entertainments. If you’re not looking for an active holiday and want to keep yourself to yourself, the pool area is large enough to allow you to sunbath and relax in relative peace and quiet. The indoor pool offers a quiet retreat if sun is not your thing. The pool area also offers a café at lunch time, with the opportunity to sacrifice your evening meal for vouchers at the café or a packed lunch when you choose to eat out.
The evening entertainment varies from shows to karaoke and bingo, which you may wish to attend, which vary from the poolside entertainments area to the roof bar and lobby bar.
The people at the hotel are very nice and friendly and will do all they can to ensure you have a wonderful stay. I can’t fault this hotel and neither could the people who we shared our holiday with!
We have returned to Ixia on several occasions for a number of reasons; Ixia offers a smattering of excellent restaurants and a couple of nice bars, with no noisy night clubs. It’s a quiet resort opposite a pebble and windy beach, excellent for windsurfing which I have done each year. Ixia is 15-20 minutes from the airport offering a short transfer and is only 10 minutes via taxi to the wonderful Rhodes town and harbour areas. If you’re looking for a base away from the hustle and bustle within easy reach of the main town and airport, this is the place for you. BUT, the main road is very busy at certain times of the day so please be careful when crossing to the beach, which faces the wonderful bay overlooking the Turkish coastline.
If you’re a windsurfer, Dinos at www.windsurfersworld.gr will welcome you to this awesome windsurf location. All new JP boards, North sails at this wave/jump and bump location offering cross onshore wind each day usually bft 4-6 each afternoon in the summer, located directly opposite the hotel.
In summary, if you want a very very quiet spa like hotel with no atmosphere then visit the Amaethus next door, however, if you’re looking for a wonderful, friendly hotel to keep you and your kids of any age rested, fed and entertained by awesome staff with great facilities, then visit the Olympic Palace Hotel.
One more tip, there are no mosquitoes at this hotel! My wife always gets eaten alive, which puts a dampener on her holiday, but zero bites this time. The hotel is cleaned thoroughly and the trees and surrounding mountains are sprayed at 4am each morning relieving you of this worry.
Ixia 10/10. Olympic Palace 11/10.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xenon1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    473
    182
    64
    29
See reviews for
397
646
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2010

My partner and I have just arrived back from the Olympic Palace and after reading the reviews before going over we were both unsure with what to expect. Given that people had either something really good to say or really bad there was no in between. We went very open minded and prepared for the worst but this wasn't needed at all! From start to finish, the staff at the hotel were absolutely fantastic. Whether serving you-or simply staying for a chat they were always friendly, polite and most welcoming-they made us feel so at ease. The hotel looks lovely inside, and the pools were always clean, our room was modern, and clean. We had fresh towels and sheets everyday and the staff really go out of their way to make you feel welcomed. It was partners birthday the day after we arrived, and even with no mention of this to any of the staff we found a bottle of wine and a "happy birthday" card from the Olympic Palace-a very thoughtful gesture!
We were especially impressed with Seva the assistant manager, as were many others, she always went out of her way to make sure you were happy and always greeted us with a smile. The waiters and bar tenders were great too, Irene-always had something to say that would make us laugh a very cheerful and honest lady. Even Kyriacos and Seva who served us on numerous occasions whether at 7am for breakfast or 9pm for dinner they were always smiling and happy people. Absolutely everything ran smoothly throughout our whole stay, and although we were a party of 2 the families around the hotel did not affect us at all. It was a very chilled out and relaxed atmosphere in the whole hotel. Even the animation staff were a treat-entertaining children or adults they did their very best and it was noted.
I can not think of any complaints with this hotel, staff or location everything made our stay that much nicer! There was a great variety of food so no complaints there at all!

I really could go on and on about our fabulous holiday but i will stop as i think i have made my point now.

A HUGE THANK YOU TO ALL THE STAFF AT THE OLYMPIC PALACE-WE WILL BE BACK!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLuuvely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

The Hotel rooms are a BIG disapointment...roughly half are renovated in a very nice way (see the hotel web site pictuers) while the rest are from the 70's ( this is of course not shown on the web site)....old furniture with Green carpets, a 14" TV and the most uncomfortable bed ever.
We are a family of 5 and the first night we recieved a "Family room" with 5 seperate beds....only on the second night did we get a double bed for me and the wife....seems all 'Family rooms" are from the 70's and not renovated.
The facilities and location is not bad...but the rooms are a shocker if you end up with the old ones.

Insure you get the new ones , or as they are known as the "Superior" types by the Management.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slug_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We checked into the Olympic after checking out of a truly awful place (Alkmini Hotel, Tholos), and were delighted.

We were offered an upgrade to a junior suite with a sea view (and great view it was). The rooms were lovely and clean, spacious and well-appointed. We had two bathrooms, both large and very clean.

The facilities at the hotel were very nice: two large pools, plenty of activities (water polo; volley ball; tennis; table tennis etc), and a good children's club. It was busy with plenty of other guests vying for space, but it was never over-crowded.

Breakfast was ok - nothing special, and, as with all buffets at large hotels, a bit of a bun fight.

The staff were nice, polite and helpful.

It's a nice hotel, in a pretty good location (just opposite the nice beach, a few miles from Rodos Town - served by a good bus route). It's not really 5 star, though. I would go back, if I were to return to Rhodes.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

The hotel itself is nowhere near worthy of a five star rating. The service was terrible, the staff treated myself and my friends as rudely as possible, the noise level was completely unacceptable and the facilities were lacking. The large pool area was overcrowded every day with other travelers arriving early in the morning to "reserve" chairs with personal belongings. The food in the dining room is of poor quality and the menu frequently repeats the same dishes, while the dining room service ranged from slow at best to totally absent and rude. The breakfast was of almost no variety whatsoever - the same few items were available daily. The hotel is apparently being renovated but I had the misfortune to stay in one of the unrenovated variety, which was totally unacceptable. There were roaches in the room, a funny smell that never went away, a lack of consistency with housekeeping services (there were days we received none at all), mold growing in the bathroom, and the beds were the most uncomfortable I've ever experienced. Also, the amount of fellow travelers with children created a decibel of noise that I would not expect at ANY hotel, much less one that claims to be 5 star. At this price, I would have expected much more. The best thing about this hotel was the beautiful pool (if you can get a chair). The worst thing about this hotel was the quality of the room, the rude service, and the level of noise.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed at the Olympic Palace hotel for the last week of July and the weather was fantastic every day. On arrival at the hotel we checked in and we were immediately offered an upgrade to a sea view room (well pool view room). The room was nicely decorated and had everything we needed in a room ie: bed, shower and balcony. You only get changed and sleep in a room after all right. Having been delayed at Bournemouth because of air strikes in France we arrived later than we were supposed to at around 11.30pm. So we immediately unpacked showered changed and went out to explore the area getting back to our hotel at about 2.00am the next morning.

The restaurant in the hotel was large and we were seated promptly. The food really was the same everyday with no real variations except maybe having the menu on the table some days, but even then the choice was limited with only two choices to choose from. I am a fussy eater and ended up eating salad every day. To get bread in the morning to toast was a nightmare because there were so many Germans (rude, obnoxious and very loud) getting in the way and hogging the toaster. My back was immediately put up as I was reached around by a German man who then started spooning stuff on to his plate around me. (Watch out for them). Mary the waitress is very nice and friendly and is very efficient. Make sure you get her

The beach is across the busy road outside the hotel and can be a little difficult to cross at times. The beach is narrow and very stony but don’t let this put you off as the water is gorgeous once you are in and is sandy the further out you get. Buy some beach shoes from the shops they all sell them. The sun beds cost 4 euros each. There is a lovely breeze on the beach also so when its gets really hot it is most welcome, but don’t forget to slap on the sun cream. You can also hire jet skies and go wind surfing. We went to the beach 3 times during our stay and it was nice quiet and very hot.

There are 4 pools at the hotel an inside pool which was never really used and 3 outside pools where all the entertainment happened during the day. The pool area was always noisy due to the loud music, entertainment team trying there best to get everybody involved in things and again the loud obnoxious Germans. Me personally I just like to lie in the sun and get a nice tan, not play table tennis or water polo everyday. There is a pool bar which you can order most things from and they make to order also. There is a small gym in the hotel which is off the outside toilets by the pool. It consists of 2 exercise bikes a stepper machine, running machine and a couple of weight machines and some free weights. It is not air conditioned.

There is a roof top bar which I admit we did not use. They say the sunset is fantastic from there, but we watched it from the beach and its was really nice to see, we took some pictures of it. There is also the piano bar which we didn’t venture into. It was off the reception area and it had a bar. It sounded very karaoke ish unfortunately.

The lifts have a mind of there own and there are only 4 of them for the whole hotel, they were a bit lethal some times opening up in between floors and opening up to nothing just a hole. We used the stairs all the time as we were on the 2nd floor room 203 and were much safer.

The grounds to the hotel were well looked after and there was always someone gardening or cleaning. Out the front of the hotel there was crazy golf which was always being used. There were 3 kittens which came out at night in the hotel and they were always playing around down by the crazy golf chasing the gold balls and fighting with each other. They were friendly little things and loved being stroked.

The buses to Rhodes town are directly outside the hotel and cost 2.10 euros each a bit cheaper than the taxi who charged 6 euros. In the evenings the busses get very full. You need to press the bell when getting off at your stop although they shout out the names of the hotels they will not stop at them unless requested.

Butterfly Valley is very pretty and a nice place to go to get away from the heat of the day as covered by trees. There is a walk through the valley and is very nice to do, coming back at the end to a nice drink and an ice cream at the café. We took the bus to butterfly valley it cost 25 euros return for 2 people and you can catch this directly outside the hotel on the opposite side of the road, but I would recommend going into Rhodes town to the bus terminal to get the timetable as the busses are very irregular. There were many butterflies, which were all the same. If you do not like things flying at you then this is not the best place to go as the butterflies sometimes land on you or fly directly at you.

We went to Turkey which was an early start we got picked up from the hotel 7.05 am in the morning which meant we missed breakfast and took us to the port. The boat trip there took 2 hours and was very busy. We were taken to one of the bazaars, via a Turkish delight making place and a jewellery shop come carpet shop to have the usual lecture on how things were made and that the jewellery was the best in Turkey yada yada yada. My husband brought me some jewellery and I tried to get a nice bag but I wasn’t going to pay 60 euros for a bag which was only genuine fake as they liked to say and not the real deal. He did try his best bless him. (A top tip for you tell them its your last day and that you are camping that soon gets rid of them because then they thing you are poor).
Also there was one guy trying to sell us a leather jacket, who wants a leather jacket when the temperature was at around 45 degrees.

Ixia its self is very small with a few shops and restaurants. Ignore the first couple of Greek restaurants as they are expensive. Keep walking along the strip until you reach the FBI bar, here you can get free wifi and very friendly attentive staff who remember what you are drinking from the previous day and have a long chat with you.

Rhodes Old Town is lovely with lots of narrow cobbled streets and alley ways with lots of shops and Tavernier’s to sit and have a drink at. There are small children around busking and playing instruments in the streets and sometimes they are very good. Watch out for the wild cats and dogs they are every where. Rhodes new town has a Marks and Spencer’s a BHS and a McDonalds if you are homesick and craving something English, although we did come across an English run pub with no one in. We found a lovely family run Greek restaurant in Rhodes old town which was fantastic; they were very friendly and gave us a free desert. Definitely value for money we paid 27 euros for the meal and got fantastic service, back in Ixia in Jason’s restaurant we paid the same for a Greek meze which consisted of frozen fish fingers. It’s a shame I can’t remember the name of the restaurant we went to in Rhodes town.

On our last day we had a late flight which was at 9.45pm so we were not getting picked up till 7.15pm from the hotel. We asked in reception if we could keep out room and was told no. I asked if they had any late check out rooms and was told we could have a courtesy room for half and hour to shower and change in. Also we weren’t due to be out of our rooms until 12.00 lunchtime but we had the cleaners knocking on the door at 9.30 asking if we had finished with it, we had just got up, not showered or packed or had breakfast so we told them no we would be out before 12.00. They then sat outside our room waiting for us to pack and leave which I though was a bit off, so we took as long as possible to pack and then left every thing in the room and went to the pool for a bit before coming back to collect our luggage at 11.45 and then leaving the room.

We were sitting in reception waiting for our coach to collect us and we were told off for putting our feet on the furniture by the young lad that worked in the reception area, he told us we couldn’t sleep in reception because it didn’t look very good when new guests arrived, the fact that we were not asleep, but relaxing put my back up for the second time of our stay. The hotel is not a 5 star but more of a 3 star at the most.

All in all I enjoyed my holiday, but I wouldn’t come back to the Olympic Palace hotel, not because of the location as this was great, but I prefer to stay places I have not been to before and coming back to the same hotel year after year would get a bit tedious.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank s0ftf4c3e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haifa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

first of all if you book this hotel make sure you take the sea view room and not the mountain view room there is a huge different between them in all parameters.
The sea view room is very nice, large and comfortable, clean and seems that they where remodel lately.
The pools area is also very good.
However the food is a big disappointed. Very 70’s, like a poor restaurant defiantly not like a 5* hotel. In the 70’s this is exactly what they serve in a 5* hotel. For today its poor, feet to 2*.
The animation team is very poor not trained, the worst I ever saw.
The elevators are very old, slow, unventilator, and they stop in the middle of nowhere twice which was very scary.
In conclusion for 3* not 5*.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilay75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
1.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#19 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 127 in Rhodes Town
568 reviews
2.2 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover refined elegance and genuine hospitality. Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, with its unique architectural structure most recently renovated in 2008-12, welcoming and gracious with contemporary and chic interior design, offer's attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility. Tastefully designed for comfort, 65% of our guest rooms are sea view with amazingly large verandas, ideal spots to take advantage of the amazing first rays of the sunlight or indulge in the enticing sunsets dipping in the Aegean Sea. Relax in our attractive and spacious gardens, or simply 'chill out' by the swimming pool, and enjoy a warm welcome from our genuinely friendly and hospitable staff. Alternatively you can take a stroll down to the beach and enjoy a swim in the crystal clear blue waters of the Aegean Sea and capture the breathtaking scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Ixia
Hotel Olympic Palace
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing