We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel & really good holiday!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Sky City Beach Hotel
Ranked #63 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel & really good holiday!!!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just got back from a week at the Blue Sky Hotel in Rhodes. I would definitely like to go back next year. I travelled with my family (4 adults) and all of us really enjoyed this hotel. ALL of the staff are 'super helpful' and really polite. It was a nice walking distance from Rhodes old town and the harbour for boat trips etc.... (a taxi wasn't too expensive). It was nice visiting the areas around the hotel but it was nice to 'chill out' around the hotel too - the choice of cocktails and other drinks (alcoholic and soft drinks) were really good!!
The rooms were 'adequate' but could do with more power sockets (only two in our room and they were being used by the tv & the dvd player) & there was only one English speaking channel available so not much choice on tv (during the holiday, one of our rooms was given a new flatscreen tv with more channels available but the other room didn't get one - not sure why!?!?).
The food was nice but, personally, would have preferred more variety.
The swimming pool was a good size but was really COLD!!!! Soon warmed up once you were in it though.
Just over the road from the beach BUT beware of the rocks because a member of my family went 'paddling' on the first day and was thrown by the waves into some rocks and cut their thigh and ankle. The result being that they had a bruise for the week!!!! (nothing too serious though luckily!!).
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would like to go back again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperManager, Manager at Blue Sky City Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you very much for your review. Your detailed informations are helpfull and we consider your suggestions about the electric facilities in the rooms. I will inform our staff about your kind feedback.
thank you once more and we hope to welcome you agian in our hotel.
Greetings the Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    143
    74
    36
    32
See reviews for
65
188
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I wish there was an option for a 3.5 choice here...

We checked several hotels' reviews on TripAdvisor, on booking.com and their own websites and based on location, reviews and pictures we decided on this one.
The location is indeed really good and you can walk everywhere in the city and I must say that the staff was really nice and helpful, this is the reason i don't give a lower rating.
The hotel itself however, is nothing like the pictures and the services are not what expected.

First of all we got a room with two single beds even though we booked one with a double bed and there was no possibility of changing (not the best for a couple getaway), the sun came straight to our window every morning and the sun-blocking curtains were smaller than the windows which meant waking up early every morning, also, this is after we asked for an extra one.
One of the most annoying things however, was the fact that the half board price did not include the dinner drinks, not even plane water, you had to pay for it. I had never seen this when booking half board. Ridiculous and not specified anywhere when booking.

There were other annoying things such as the fact that you weren't allowed to take the towels to the pool or the beach but they did not provide nor rent beach towels; there was no fridge in the room, only a minibar which was not allowed to use to put your own things (warning that they would be thrown away when cleaning); all rooms seemed to have a hanger for clothes on the balcony but ours didn't for some reason.

Again, i want to thank the staff, especially the receptionists for all the help and kindness, if it wasn't for them i would give a 1 point review.

All in all the hotel itself was pretty disappointing and taking into account that in Rhodes you do end up spending more time in the hotel and surroundings than in other places i would not recommend this place for your holiday. Choose other one more spoiling and with better services.

Room Tip: If you do choose to go there, it's better to pay the extra money and get the sea view room, make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mafalditus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperManager, Manager at Blue Sky City Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

I would like to apologize that we could not fulfill your expectations concerning the double bed. Our standard procedure is to change the room, if it is possible. In this case I have to explain to you, that we do not have in all our rooms double beds. So, in the high season it can be that we cannot change rooms.
Also, I would like to explain that in our hotel, so in the most of the hotels in Greece, the drinks are not included in the half board price.
Concerning the beach towels, I like to inform you, that we are thinking about renting beach towels.
I am pleased that your contact with the receptionists was memorable ant I will be sure to thank them personally for this.
The philosophy of our hotel is to make every stay for our guest as pleasant as possible.
I also want to underline that Rhodes is offering a lot more than bars in the surroundings. Our receptionists are always helpful to show ant to provide with maps the sightseeing and the beauty of Rhodes Island.

Please feel free to contact myself directly via the below details if you are traveling to Rhodes again so that I may personally take care of you and your next stay.

Once again please accept my apologies.

Greetings
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Blue Sky Beach in Rhodes and were very impressed by the hotel.
It is located right next to the beach but within a 15 minute walk from the old town and port. We paid 90 Euros to upgrade to a sea view room and this was well worth it as the balconly gives you a stunning outlook and is large enough to sit out on. The room itself was very spacious with new flooring and a reasonably sized bathroom.
The staff throughout the hotel were EXCELLENT and were most helpful and friendly.
The buffet breakfast was plentiful offering both hot and cold choices.
The only slight grumble with the hotel was that the toiletries ( including toilet roll!) were not replenished daily. And make sure you ask for a room with a bath/shower as opposed to just a shower. The shower in our first room, before we upgraded, was tiny with no room to get a cat in, never mind swing it round!! These showers were definitely not designed for those of us with a 'fuller figure'!
However, all in all it was a very enjoyable and comfortable week. We would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view and DEFINITELY ask for a room with a bath/shower as opposed to just a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperManager, Manager at Blue Sky City Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you a lot for your review. Your informations are very helpful for us, but also for our guests who will visit us in the future. I will also inform our hotel staff about your positive feedback.
Greetings the Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel-aviv
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

it was a very nice hotel. the location very good. we could walk to the port and the old city. all the people in this hotel are very nice from the reception to the cleaning lady and the restaurant. verybody smile and helpfull. the breakfast with a lot of things to chose from. the evening meal less good but o.k. the only thing that was not good is the light in the bathroom. it was too dark and not enought for makeup

Room Tip: better to ask for 3 floor and up so you don't hear noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank josi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperManager, Manager at Blue Sky City Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you for your review and the nice feedback abour our staff.We also thank you for your helpful comment about the lights in the bathroom,we already changed the lamps in the rooms where it was necessary .
Greetings the Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just returned from a week at this hotel. Great location with easy access to both the old and new town. Rooms were cleaned with fresh towels daily. Our room was very spacious with new flooring and was well worth the extra for the sea view. The road is quite busy, but didnt really bother us.
We dont usually go half board but the deal we got included it, and I was really surprised at the quality and presentation of the food. You would have to be really picky not to find something to eat. Staff were lovely, very friendly and welcoming. All in all, a good location, handy for everything, friendly staff and lovely pool area.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jojowoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperManager, Manager at Blue Sky City Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive review. It is good to read that you had a pleasent stay in our hotel.
I will inform our hotel staff about your nice feedback.
Greetings the Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton Lanc's
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here for 12 nights in May 2013, as a couple and found the location to be excellent. Beach is accessed by crossing the busy road, or via an underpass further up the street near the Belvedere Hotel. Rooms cleaned / towels changed 6 days per week, staff service was good and very friendly. The food was plentiful, of good quality and varied. Sunbeds around the pool seem quite limited (around 40) for the size of the hotel.

Room Tip: Sunsets over the Turkish coastline can be viewed from the sea view rooms. 2 lifts to access all flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan5852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperManager, Manager at Blue Sky City Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest ,
We thank you for your nice review. It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Thank you also for the helpfull information about the sun beds. We wil try our best.
Greetings the Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed here a few times now and the staff always make me feel very welcome!

The location is good but it is quite noisy on an evening due to the main road. However this doesn't bother me as i'm quite a deep sleeper and i even sleep with the balcony doors open for that nice breeze! You can also get some noise from bar street which is literally just over the road but again this has never bothered me!

When booking make sure you book a 'sea view' as the sunsets are amazing............

The rooms are quite spacious and clean! I wouldn't say it's a 4 star but a good 3 :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G33NA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel
Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel
#56 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#23 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#19 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
#25 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#15 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
#70 of 127 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sky City Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky City Beach Hotel

Property: Blue Sky City Beach Hotel
Address: Psaropoulas Square, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#37 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Sky City Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Blue Sky City Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Sky Beach
Blue Sky Hotel Rhodes
Blue Sky Beach Rhodes Town
Blue Sky City Beach Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing