We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inside the ancient walls of Rhodes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge
Ranked #81 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Idaho USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Inside the ancient walls of Rhodes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in the Minos Pension in February and were the only guests in the facility. The owner and his wife were in the middle of preparing for their son's upcoming wedding and understandably were somewhat indifferent to our needs.

Be sure that you call ahead upon your arrival in Rhodes, either by air or at the ferry port, to make sure someone will be available at the hotel to meet you where the taxi driver drops you...better yet, have the taxi driver call them to get directions. The hotel is hard to find the first go round.

A good place and we probably will stay there again.

Room Tip: Some have a kitchen some apparently don't. The upper level rooms certainly must have a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyIdahoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    53
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
9
68
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
736 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,280 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Nice location in Old Town, though a bit far from the harbor area.

Room was nice size, tile floor, small refridgerator, with a small bathroom. There was a split a/c in the room, but one night it started to leak on the closet. We had to remove our things, luckily nothing was damaged/wet. There was a bed net for bugs. We would have liked to open the window more but alot of street noise came in. So, we really couldn't. Bathroom needed more room for sure. The shower was a challenge! All was kept clean during our stay.

The rooftop lounge was pretty dirty, with worn cushions/covers. It needed alot of TLC.

The owner seemed to be indifferent to guests. We would most likely look for another place to stay next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiiKaiGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In transit
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The room was clean, and was spacious enough. The bed was comfortable. The en-suite bathroom worked. The location in the heart of Rhodes Old Town is excellent (if you don't mind carrying your bags through the streets to and from the hotel, as it's not easy for taxis to get in). The price paid represented excellent value.

On the roof there's a stunning roof garden with views across the Old Town. The beers aren't cheap, but what do you expect?.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Situated towards the top of Rhodes Old Town, Minos Pension is an excellent base for exploring the highlights, with easy access to the ferry port. It's in a quiet area beyond the noisy bars, and just up the road from a square/area of very good, less "touristy" restaurants. The rooftop lounge bar is lovely with comfortable couches and exceptional views.

The Artemis Room is small and looks out onto a wall, but includes a kitchenette. Room was clean and bed very comfortable. This is a pleasant hotel, and very fairly priced considering the location. Recommended for a peaceful, relaxing stay in the Old Town.

Most Old Town accommodation can only be reached by foot via long bumpy cobble stone alleyways: not recommended for people with lots of luggage or with mobility difficulties.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are cost less but look out directly on to a wall. Front rooms overlook the courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at the Minos Pension for a week in late August - early September 2012.
We booked through booking.com and the room was as advertised (they have full descriptions of each room on their website).
We arrive at night and got a little lost trying to find it when our taxi dropped us off outside one of the Old Town gates, so I would recommend properly studying a map before venturing in with luggage!

Our room was Poseidon, which is on the ground floor and has no views from the windows as the neighbour's walls mostly block them, although this suited us as we could get a nice siesta in the afternoon, and we didn't spend too much time in the room aside from sleeping and getting ready to go out for the day.
The room was small, but just the right size for the two of us, with a shower room and a small kitchen area. It was cleaned up every day and fresh towels and sheets ever other day. The beds were very comfortable!

The family who own and run the pension were all very friendly and helpful.
The location is great, and overall the pension is very good value for money.
The view from the roof terrace is fantastic, and we found the drinks prices to be very reasonable. Sitting with a glass of retsina and admiring the view was a very nice way to spend an evening in the Old Town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Nice terrace but terrible furniture. Our room was small and stuffy but reasonably clean. Overpriced room. The hosts were just interested in making money out of us with 3.50Eur for a frappe and 50% charge on the daily rate for a 6 hour extension on the check-out. Moreover one of them ended up shouting to us and threatening us for leaving our room late!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The 2 of us have been in Minos Pension for 7 days in middle August.
We have been given the "Hermes Room", about 25 sqm and a shared small terrace for which we paid €80 x day.
Our overall evaluation is a positive one.

PROs
The building is quite nice for local standards and our room was cleaned up every day.
The room is provided with all the basics such as TV, Air Con, cooking tools etc.
There's a truly beautiful view of the city from the roof garden.

CONs
The Hermes Room is just enough for two; the toilet is very small and located next to the kitchen.
Please note that the Hermes Room was the last available at the time we booked.
One of the two fires of the kitchen wasn't working properly and we found some cooking pots not really clean at our arrival.
We do not suggest to book from the pension website as the booking downpayment by credit card wasn't truly processed although the booking engine confirmed it; that caused unpleasant misunderstanding with the hotel owner and we had to waste time to call the credit card company to understand what happened.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenzo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Galaxias
Hotel Galaxias
#43 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Niki's Hotel
Niki's Hotel
#77 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#37 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spot Hotel
Spot Hotel
#58 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
#31 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#62 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge

Property: Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge
Address: 5 Omirou | Old Town, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Pension And Roof Garden Lounge
Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge Hotel Rhodes Town
Minos Hotel Rhodes Town
Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing